DETAILED ACTION
This communication is response to the application filed 01/23/2024. Claims 1-7, 15-21, 30, and 37-41 are pending and presented for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/23/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 15-21, 30, and 37-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Pub. 2020/0204333 to Agiwal et al. (hereafter Agiwal).
Regarding claim 1, Agiwal discloses method of bandwidth part (BWP) switching (see Agiwal, Fig 1-Fig 4), comprising:
starting/restarting, by a terminal device, a timer associated with a plurality of active BWPs in a cell (see Agiwal, ¶ 0017: starting or restarting the DL BWP inactivity timer associated with the active DL BWP or the serving cell; ¶ 0029: based on identifying that there is no ongoing random access procedure or the ongoing random access procedure is successful, starting or restarting the DL BWP inactivity timer associated with the active DL BWP or the serving cell; ¶ 0208: start or restart the BWP Inactivity Timer(bwp-InactivityTimer) associated with this active DL BWP) in response to any active BWP of the plurality of active BWPs satisfying a starting/restarting condition of the timer (see Agiwal, ¶ 0017: starting or restarting the DL BWP inactivity timer associated with the active DL BWP or the serving cell; identifying whether there is no ongoing random access procedure associated with at least one of the active DL BWP, the serving cell, or the active UL BWP and the active DL BWP has the same BWP identifier as the active UL BWP, or the ongoing random access procedure associated with the active DL BWP or the serving cell is successfully completed based on reception of the PDCCH; ¶ 0206; ¶ 0207); and
switching, by the terminal device, from the plurality of active BWPs to a default downlink BWP or an initial downlink BWP in response to expiration of the timer (see Agiwal, ¶ 0011: determining whether a bandwidth part (BWP) inactivity timer associated with an active downlink (DL) BWP of a serving cell expires; determining whether a switching of the active DL BWP associated with the BWP inactivity timer is required, in a case that the BWP inactivity timer associated with the active DL BWP expires; and switching the active DL BWP to a default DL BWP or initial DL BWP, in case that the switching of the at active DL BWP is required; ¶ 0014: the switching the active DL BWP comprises switching the active DL BWP to a default DL BWP or initial DL BWP, in case that at least one of the active DL BWP is the only active DL BWP of the serving cell, the information indicating that switching the active DL BWP based on an expiration of the BWP inactivity timer is received; ¶ 0073: upon expiry of BWP inactivity timer, active DL BWP is switched to default DL BWP; ¶ 0111; ¶ 0112).
Regarding claim 2, Agiwal discloses the method of claim 1, wherein switching, by the terminal device, from the plurality of active BWPs to the default downlink BWP or the initial downlink BWP in response to expiration of the timer, comprises: switching, by the terminal device, from the plurality of active BWPs to the default downlink BWP indicated by a default downlink BWP-identifier (ID) in response to the terminal device being configured with the default downlink BWP-ID and expiration of the timer (see Agiwal, ¶ 0034 and ¶ 0044: wherein the switching of the active DL BWP to the another DL BWP includes: switching the active DL BWP to a default DL BWP, if the default DL BWP-ID is configured, or switching the active DL BWP to an initial DL BWP, if the default DL BWP-ID is not configured).
Regarding claim 3, Agiwal discloses the method of claim 1, wherein switching, by the terminal device, from the plurality of active BWPs to the default downlink BWP or the initial downlink BWP in response to expiration of the timer, comprises: Switching, by the terminal device from the plurality of active BWPs to the initial downlink BWP in response to the terminal device not being configured with a default downlink BWP-identifier (ID) and expiration of the timer (see Agiwal, ¶ 0034 and ¶ 0044: wherein the switching of the active DL BWP to the another DL BWP includes: switching the active DL BWP to a default DL BWP, if the default DL BWP-ID is configured, or switching the active DL BWP to an initial DL BWP, if the default DL BWP-ID is not configured).
Regarding claim 4, Agiwal discloses the method of claim 1,wherein the starting/restarting condition of the timer comprises: a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) indicating downlink assignment or uplink grant is received by the terminal device on any active BWP of the plurality of active BWPs, and an ongoing random access procedure associated with a serving cell is successfully completed upon reception of the PDCCH addressed to a cell-radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) or a group-radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI) by the terminal device, or no ongoing random access procedure associated with the serving cell exists, wherein the PDCCH indicating downlink assignment or uplink grant is addressed to one of: a C-RNTI, a configured scheduling-radio network temporary identifier (CS-RNTI), a G- RNTI, or a configured scheduling-group-radio network temporary identifier (G-CS-RNTI) (see Agiwal, ¶ 0074-¶ 0076: for a serving cell, if a PDCCH addressed to cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) or configured scheduling RNTI (CS-RNTI) indicating downlink assignment or uplink grant is received on the active BWP; or if a PDCCH addressed to C-RNTI or CS-RNTI indicating downlink assignment or uplink grant is received for the active BWP…if there is no ongoing random access procedure associated with this serving cell; or if the ongoing random access procedure associated with this serving cell is successfully completed upon reception of this PDCCH addressed to C-RNTI; ¶ 0205-¶ 0211; ¶ 0229-¶ 0232).
Regarding claim 4, Agiwal discloses the method of claim 1,wherein the starting/restarting condition of the timer comprises: a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) indicating downlink assignment or uplink grant is received by the terminal device on any active BWP of the plurality of active BWPs, and an ongoing random access procedure associated with a serving cell is successfully completed upon reception of the PDCCH addressed to a cell-radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) or a group-radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI) by the terminal device, or no ongoing random access procedure associated with the serving cell exists, wherein the PDCCH indicating downlink assignment or uplink grant is addressed to one of: a C-RNTI, a configured scheduling-radio network temporary identifier (CS-RNTI), a G- RNTI, or a configured scheduling-group-radio network temporary identifier (G-CS-RNTI) (see Agiwal, ¶ 0074-¶ 0076: for a serving cell, if a PDCCH addressed to cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) or configured scheduling RNTI (CS-RNTI) indicating downlink assignment or uplink grant is received on the active BWP; or if a PDCCH addressed to C-RNTI or CS-RNTI indicating downlink assignment or uplink grant is received for the active BWP…if there is no ongoing random access procedure associated with this serving cell; or if the ongoing random access procedure associated with this serving cell is successfully completed upon reception of this PDCCH addressed to C-RNTI; ¶ 0205-¶ 0211; ¶ 0229-¶ 0232).
Regarding claim 5, Agiwal discloses the method of claim 1,wherein the starting/restarting condition of the timer comprises: a PDCCH indicating downlink assignment or uplink grant is received by the terminal device for any active BWP of the plurality of active BWPs, and an ongoing random access procedure associated with a serving cell is successfully completed upon reception of the PDCCH addressed to a C-RNTI or a G-RNTI by the terminal device, or no ongoing random access procedure associated with the serving cell exists, wherein the PDCCH indicating downlink assignment or uplink grant is addressed to one of: a C-RNTI, a CS-RNTI, a G-RNTI, or a G-CS-RNTI (see Agiwal, ¶ 0074: for a serving cell, if a PDCCH addressed to cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) or configured scheduling RNTI (CS-RNTI) indicating downlink assignment or uplink grant is received on the active BWP; or if a PDCCH addressed to C-RNTI or CS-RNTI indicating downlink assignment or uplink grant is received for the active BWP; or if a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) is transmitted in a configured uplink grant or received in a configured downlink assignment; ¶ 0075: if there is no ongoing random access procedure associated with this serving cell; ¶ 0076: if the ongoing random access procedure associated with this serving cell is successfully completed upon reception of this PDCCH addressed to C-RNTI; ¶ 0205¶ 0211; ¶ 0230-¶ 0232).
Regarding claim 7, Agiwal discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the starting/restarting condition of the timer comprises: a MAC PDU is received by the terminal device in a configured downlink assignment (see Agiwal, ¶ 0074: if a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) is transmitted in a configured uplink grant or received in a configured downlink assignment; ¶ 0077: the UE start or restart the BWP Inactivity Timer (bwp-InactivityTimer) associated with the active DL BWP), and
an ongoing random access procedure associated with a serving cell is successfully completed upon reception of the PDCCH addressed to a C-RNTI or a G-RNTI by the terminal device, or no ongoing random access procedure associated with the serving cell exists (see Agiwal, ¶ 0206: if there is no ongoing random access procedure associated with this active DL BWP of this serving cell; ¶ 0207: if the ongoing random access procedure associated with this active DL BWP of this serving cell is successfully completed upon reception of this PDCCH addressed to C-RNTI; ¶ 0215: start or restart the BWP Inactivity Timer(bwp-InactivityTimer) associated with the active DL BWP having the same BWP ID as this active UL BWP).
Regarding claim 15, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 17, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 3.
Regarding claim 18, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 4.
Regarding claim 19, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 5.
Regarding claim 20, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 6.
Regarding claim 21, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 7.
Regarding claim 30, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1. Although phrased as an apparatus claim, the claim is nevertheless simple repetitions of the subject matter of claim 1.
Regarding claim 37, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claims 2 and 3. Although phrased as an apparatus claim, the claim is nevertheless simple repetitions of the subject matter of claims 2 and 3.
Regarding claim 38, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 4. Although phrased as an apparatus claim, the claim is nevertheless simple repetitions of the subject matter of claim 4.
Regarding claim 39, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 5. Although phrased as an apparatus claim, the claim is nevertheless simple repetitions of the subject matter of claim 5.
Regarding claim 40, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 6. Although phrased as an apparatus claim, the claim is nevertheless simple repetitions of the subject matter of claim 6.
Regarding claim 41, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 7. Although phrased as an apparatus claim, the claim is nevertheless simple repetitions of the subject matter of claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agiwal in view of US 2020/0221495 to CHEN et al. (hereafter Chen).
Regarding claim 6, Agiwal discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the starting/restarting condition of the timer comprises: a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) is transmitted in a configured uplink grant (see Agiwal, ¶ 0074: if a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) is transmitted in a configured uplink grant or received in a configured downlink assignment), and
an ongoing random access procedure associated with a serving cell is successfully completed upon reception of the PDCCH addressed to a C-RNTI or a G-RNTI by the terminal device, or no ongoing random access procedure associated with the serving cell exists (see Agiwal, ¶ 0206: if there is no ongoing random access procedure associated with this active DL BWP of this serving cell; ¶ 0207: if the ongoing random access procedure associated with this active DL BWP of this serving cell is successfully completed upon reception of this PDCCH addressed to C-RNT; ¶ 0208: start or restart the BWP Inactivity Timer(bwp-InactivityTimer) associated with this active DL BWP).
Agiwal does not explicitly disclose a listen before talk (LBT) failure indication is not received by the terminal device from layers lower than an MAC layer.
However, Chen discloses a listen before talk (LBT) failure indication is not received by the terminal device from layers lower than an MAC layer (see Chen, ¶ 0036: the UE (e.g., the MAC entity of the UE) may reset the LBT failure counter after the MAC entity has not received the LBT failure indication for a time period; ¶ 0042: the MAC entity may consider LBT for a UL transmission attempt as successful after the MAC entity has not received an LBT failure indication for a time period. In one implementation, when the MAC entity considers LBT for a UL transmission attempt as successful, the MAC entity may reset the LBT failure counter (e.g., set the LBT failure counter to 0)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Chen and incorporate it into the system of Agiwal to achieve an improved and efficient mechanism for a UE to handle LBT failure (see Chen, ¶ 0003).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2019/0357300 to Zhou et al. discloses a MAC entity may start or restart the BWP-InactivityTimer associated with the active DL BWP if a PDCCH for BWP switching is received and the wireless device switches an active DL BWP to the DL BWP, and/or if one or more of the following occur: if a default downlink BWP is configured and the DL BWP is not the default downlink BWP, and/or if a default downlink BWP is not configured and the DL BWP is not the initial downlink BWP.
US 2022/0007365 to JUNG et al. discloses starting a BWP inactivity timer corresponding to the activated multiple BWPs; and when communication of data transmitted and received through each of the activated multiple BWPs succeeds, starting the BWP inactivity timer, wherein, when the BWP inactivity timer expires, at least one of an operation of stopping using all activated BWPs except an initial BWP and performing a random access procedure through the initial BWP.
US 2021/0045184 to SATO et al. discloses in a case that multiple Bandwidth Parts (BWPs) are configured on the serving cell, and in a case that a downlink BWP other than the default downlink IMP (the initial downlink BWP in a case that a default downlink BWP is not configured) is in the active state, the BWP inactivity timer (bandwidthPartInactivityTimer) is configured and started. The BWP inactivity timer is restarted in a case that an uplink grant or a downlink assignment is received on the Physical Downlink Control CHannel (PDCCH) of the active downlink BWP for which the BWP inactivity timer is configured, but the BWP inactivity timer is not restarted in a case that an uplink grant or a downlink assignment for the active downlink BWP is received on a PDCCH of another serving cell.
US 2019/0103953 to Liao et al. discloses apparatus and methods are provided for efficient bandwidth adaptation for wideband carrier. In one novel aspect, timer-based active BWP switching are provided. The UE with multiple BWP configured starts a BWP timer upon detecting one or more BWP timer starting triggering events, resets the BWP timer upon detecting one or more BWP timer resetting triggering events, and switches to the default BWP upon expiration of the BWP timer. The UE sets an initial BWP or one of the configured BWPs as a default BWP based on a higher-layer configuration. In one embodiment, the UE is in a discontinuous reception (DRX) mode, and wherein the UE switches to an active BWP different from the default BWP during the DRX-on duration upon receiving higher-layer signaling.
/RASHEED GIDADO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464