DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alder et al. (US 2008/0177280) in view of Uber et al. (WO 2016138449) and Tran (US 2020/0077892).
Adler et al. teaches monitoring patient motion during medical imaging and/or radiation therapy using physiological signals and generating control signals to reduce motion artifacts and improve treatment delivery; [0096]-[0099].
Uber et al. teaches acquiring physiological measurements including EEG measurements from a patient during imaging procedures; [0070]-[0071], [0087]-[0088].
Tran teaches determining a readiness potential (RP) from EEG signals; [0350].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to the EEG-based readiness potential measurements taught by Tran as the physiological signal input of Adler et al. because Alder et al. is directed to predicting and compensating for patient motion during imaging and radiation therapy, and Tran teaches that the readiness potentials may be derived from EEG signals. Substituting one known physiological signal source for another known physiological signal source suitable for anticipating patient movement would have represented a predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions and provide the predictable results pertaining to improving the prediction of impending patient motion and thereby improve motion compensation during imaging and radiation therapy.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 14, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues the following points in which the examiner provides a reason(s) as to why the arguments are not persuasive:
The applicant argues that neither Adler et al. nor Uber et al. teaches determining a readiness potential (RP) from an EEG signal or predicting imminent voluntary motion based on the EEG signal. The argument is not persuasive.
Tran expressly teaches readiness potential measurement from EEG signals; [0350]. Adler et al. teaches utilizing physiological signals to predict patient motion and generate control signals for controlling imaging and radiation therapy operations based upon the predicted motion; [0096]-[0099]. Thus, the combination teaches both determining an RP from an EEG signal and utilizing physiological information to predict patient motion.
The applicant further argues that Uber et al. merely lists EEG as a measurable physiological parameter and does not teach using EEG to predict patient motion. The examiner agrees that Uber et al. does not expressly teach readiness protocol determination or motion prediction from EEG. However, these teachings are supplied by Tran and Adler et al., respectively. The rejection relies upon the combined teachings of the references rather than Uber et al. alone.
Therefore, the arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Conclusion
/NICOLE F JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796