Detailed Office Action
This office action is in response to the communication 8/20/24.
Claims 21-32 are pending.
Claims 23-24, 26 29-30 and 32 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-22, 27-28, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG et al. EP 4013133[hereinafter ZHANG} in view of Abotabl et al. U.S Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0014342[hereinafter Abotabl].
As per claims 21 and 27 Zhang discloses a method of operating a user equipment, UE, in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
reporting switching time information to a base station, wherein the switching time information informs a required switching time which is required when the UE switches (see fig. 5 5, ref. 310, and pars.0320-0321, where the reported switching delay between a first bandwidth part BWP and a second BWP corresponds to the claimed switching time information);and
receiving configuration information from the base station, wherein the configuration information informs a configured switching time (Figure 5, ref. 320, and par. 0349),
wherein the UE skips transmission and reception with the base station in the configured switching time (par. 0003 , 0233, 0251 the processing time may be referred to as a BWP switching delay (TBWPswitchDelay), and the terminal device does not send or receive data within the switching delay.").
Zhang does not explicitly discloses UE switches between a sub-band full duplex (SBFD) symbol and a non-SBFD symbol.
Abotabl discloses a system for a bandwidth part (BWP) configurations that may be used for full-duplex operation including UE switches between a sub-band full duplex (SBFD) symbol and a non-SBFD symbol(see the abstract and par. 0100). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings to incorporate the teaching of Abotabl into the system of Zhang ,thus by switching to the half-duplex operation, the UE 115 may conserve power as compared to the full-duplex operation Additionally, switching the UE 115 between use of the different RBWs of a BWP may be performed faster than switching between use of different BWPs. Accordingly, the use of a dormant BWP, that includes multiple RBWs, may improving an operational efficiency of the UE and reduce service delays and interruptions.
As per claim 22 and 28 Abotabl discloses method of claim 21, wherein the configured switching time is located in the non-SBFD symbol(see pars. 0120, 011).
As per claims 25 and 31 AbotabL discloses the method of claim 21, wherein the configured switching time is configured in a form of a number of symbols(see pars 0118-0119).
Conclusion
/ABDULLAHI E SALAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466