DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 6, 12, 16, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al (USPN 20200007208) in view of 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #90, R1-1712454, provided by Applicant’s IDS, hereafter ZTE.
Regarding claim 1, Zhou discloses
an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: (UE for wireless device/UE, FIG. 12 #1200, comprising [0097-0099]
a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory, the memory and the one or more processors configured to: (memory, FIG. 12 #1212, coupled to processor, FIG. 12 #1204, and the processor operable to perform [0098-0099], FIG. 8
receive a configuration for a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource for a transmission that uses multiple beams in a same time domain resource, (receive from base station configuration for multi-beam transmission on same UL PUCCH resource [0077, 0087, 0042, 0064-0066]
transmit uplink control information (UCI) using the multiple beams (transmits PUCCH/SRS using multi-beams [0070, 0087]
Zhou does not expressly disclose a same time domain resource; the PUCCH resource including multiple sets of physical resource blocks (PRBs); transmit uplink control information (UCI) in a respective set of PRBs of the multiple sets of PRBs of the PUCCH resource
ZTE discloses a same time domain resource (PUCCH resource in time domain (section 2.3)
the PUCCH resource including multiple sets of physical resource blocks (PRBs); (slot for transmitting PUCCH contains multiple sets of PRBs (Sections 2.2.1-2.4)
transmit uplink control information (UCI) in a respective set of PRBs of the multiple sets of PRBs of the PUCCH resource (UE transmits PUCCH in an indicated set of PRBs (Sections 2.2.1-2.4)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “a same time domain resource; the PUCCH resource including multiple sets of physical resource blocks (PRBs); transmit uplink control information (UCI) in a respective set of PRBs of the multiple sets of PRBs of the PUCCH resource” as taught by ZTE into Zhou’s system with the motivation to perform uplink transmission using a PUCCH resource allocated for simultaneous transmission (ZTE, sections 2.2.1-2.4).
Regarding claim 12, Zhou discloses
an apparatus for wireless communication at a base station, comprising: (base station for wireless communication, FIG. 12 #1200, comprising [0097-0099]
a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory, the memory and the one or more processors configured to: (memory, FIG. 12 #1212, coupled to processor, FIG. 12 #1204, and the processor operable to perform [0098-0099], FIG. 8
transmit a configuration for a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource for a transmission that uses multiple beams in a same time domain resource, (receive from base station configuration for multi-beam transmission on same UL PUCCH resource [0074, 0077, 0087, 0042, 0064-0066], FIG. 7
Zhou does not expressly disclose a same time domain resource; the PUCCH resource including multiple sets of physical resource blocks (PRBs); receive uplink control information (UCI) in a respective set of PRBs of the multiple sets of PRBs of the PUCCH resource
ZTE discloses a same time domain resource (PUCCH resource in time domain (section 2.3)
the PUCCH resource including multiple sets of physical resource blocks (PRBs); (slot for transmitting PUCCH contains multiple sets of PRBs (Sections 2.2.1-2.4)
receive uplink control information (UCI) in a respective set of PRBs of the multiple sets of PRBs of the PUCCH resource (UE transmits PUCCH in an indicated set of PRBs (Sections 2.2.1-2.4)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “a same time domain resource; the PUCCH resource including multiple sets of physical resource blocks (PRBs); transmit uplink control information (UCI) in a respective set of PRBs of the multiple sets of PRBs of the PUCCH resource” as taught by ZTE into Zhou’s system with the motivation to perform uplink transmission using a PUCCH resource allocated for simultaneous transmission (ZTE, sections 2.2.1-2.4).
Regarding claims 5, 16, Zhou does not expressly disclose “wherein a quantity of PRBs for the PUCCH resource is split between a first set of PRBs of the multiple sets of PRBs and a second set of PRBs of the multiple sets of PRBs”
ZTE discloses 2 groups of 2 PRBs in each group of resources (Section 2.3), FIG. 3TC
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “wherein a quantity of PRBs for the PUCCH resource is split between a first set of PRBs of the multiple sets of PRBs and a second set of PRBs of the multiple sets of PRBs” as taught by ZTE into Zhou’s system with the motivation to perform uplink transmission using a PUCCH resource allocated for simultaneous transmission (ZTE, sections 2.2.1-2.4).
Regarding claims 6, 17, Zhou does not expressly disclose “wherein a quantity of PRBs for the PUCCH resource is used for a first set of PRBs of the multiple sets of PRBs and the quantity of PRBs for the PUCCH resource is used for a second set of PRBs of the multiple sets of PRBs”
ZTE discloses first set of PRBs comprise 2 PRBs, the second set of PRBs also comprise 2 PRBs
(Section 2.3), FIG. 3
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “wherein a quantity of PRBs for the PUCCH resource is used for a first set of PRBs of the multiple sets of PRBs and the quantity of PRBs for the PUCCH resource is used for a second set of PRBs of the multiple sets of PRBs” as taught by ZTE into Zhou’s system with the motivation to perform uplink transmission using a PUCCH resource allocated for simultaneous transmission (ZTE, sections 2.2.1-2.4).
Claim 2, 13, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of ZTE as applied to claims 1, 12 respectively and in further view of He et al (USPN 20220303079).
Regarding claims 2, 13, combined system of Zhou and ZTE does not expressly disclose “wherein the UCI is rate matched across the multiple sets of PRBs”
He discloses each PUCCH resource in paired resource and its repetition comprises configured maximum code rate, additionally He discloses simultaneous HARQ-ACK and CSI transmission across paired PUCCH resources [0058, 0060-0075], FIG. 6
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “wherein the UCI is rate matched across the multiple sets of PRBs” as taught by He into combined system of Zhou and ZTE with the motivation to perform PUCCH transmission with repetitions with different spatial relations for multi-TRP operation and enhanced performance and coverage (He, paragraph [0001]).
Claims 23, 24, 25, 27, 28, 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of He et al (USPN 20220303079).
Regarding claim 23, Zhou discloses
an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: (UE for wireless device/UE, FIG. 12 #1200, comprising [0097-0099]
a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory, the memory and the one or more processors configured to: (memory, FIG. 12 #1212, coupled to processor, FIG. 12 #1204, and the processor operable to perform [0098-0099], FIG. 8
receive a configuration for a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource for a transmission that uses multiple beams in a same time domain resource, (receive from base station configuration for multi-beam transmission on same UL PUCCH resource [0077, 0087, 0042, 0064-0066]
transmit uplink control information (UCI) using the multiple beams (transmits PUCCH/SRS using multi-beams [0070, 0087]
Zhou does not expressly disclose a same time domain resource; the PUCCH resource including a single set of physical resource blocks (PRBs); transmit uplink control information (UCI) in the single set of PRBs
He discloses a same time domain resource (paired PUCCH resource in time domain [0050-0053, 0056], FIGs. 7, 10
the PUCCH resource including a single set of physical resource blocks (PRBs); (paired PUCCH resource for PUCCH repetitions with different spatial relations with single set of PRBs [0050, 0053, 0056], FIGs. 5-7,
transmit uplink control information (UCI) in the single set of PRBs (UE transmits PUCCH using single set of PRBs [0064, 0066], FIG. 4
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “a same time domain resource; the PUCCH resource including a single set of physical resource blocks (PRBs); transmit uplink control information (UCI) in the single set of PRBs” as taught by He into Zhou’s system with the motivation to perform PUCCH transmission with repetitions with different spatial relations for multi-TRP operation and enhanced performance and coverage (He, paragraph [0001]).
Regarding claim 27, Zhou discloses
an apparatus for wireless communication at a base station, comprising: (base station for wireless communication, FIG. 12 #1200, comprising [0097-0099]
a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory, the memory and the one or more processors configured to: (memory, FIG. 12 #1212, coupled to processor, FIG. 12 #1204, and the processor operable to perform [0098-0099], FIG. 8
Zhou does not expressly disclose transmit a configuration for a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource for a transmission that uses multiple beams in a same time domain resource the PUCCH resource including a single set of physical resource blocks (PRBs); receive uplink control information (UCI) using the multiple beams in the single set of PRBs of the PUCCH resource
He discloses transmit a configuration for a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource for a transmission that uses multiple beams in a same time domain resource the PUCCH resource including a single set of physical resource blocks (PRBs) (base station transmits configuration for paired PUCCH resource utilizing different spatial relations with single set of PRBs [0041, 0045, 0050, 0053, 0056], FIGs. 4-7,
receive uplink control information (UCI) using the multiple beams in the single set of PRBs of the PUCCH resource (receives UCI using paired PUCCH resource utilizing different spatial relations with single set of PRBs [0046, 0064,0041, 0045, 0050, 0053, 0056], FIGs. 4-7,
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “transmit a configuration for a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource for a transmission that uses multiple beams in a same time domain resource the PUCCH resource including a single set of physical resource blocks (PRBs); receive uplink control information (UCI) using the multiple beams in the single set of PRBs of the PUCCH resource” as taught by He into Zhou’s system with the motivation to perform PUCCH transmission with repetitions with different spatial relations for multi-TRP operation and enhanced performance and coverage (He, paragraph [0001]).
Regarding claims 24, 28, Zhou does not expressly disclose “wherein the UCI is transmitted using the multiple beams in the single set of PRBs of the PUCCH resource in a single frequency network manner”
He discloses wherein the UCI is transmitted using the multiple beams in the single set of PRBs of the PUCCH resource (receives UCI using paired PUCCH resource utilizing different spatial relations with single set of PRBs [0046, 0064,0041, 0045, 0050, 0053, 0056], FIGs. 4-7,
“in a single frequency network manner” PUCCH frequency hopping for constructive PUCCH transmission occasions indicating multiple beams transmit the same UCI on same frequency resource simultaneous to be combined at receiver [0059, 0065]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “wherein the UCI is transmitted using the multiple beams in the single set of PRBs of the PUCCH resource in a single frequency network manner” as taught by He into Zhou’s system with the motivation to perform PUCCH transmission with repetitions with different spatial relations for multi-TRP operation and enhanced performance and coverage (He, paragraph [0001]).
Regarding claims 25, 29, combined system of Zhou does not expressly disclose “wherein the UCI is rate matched to the single set of PRBs in connection with a first beam of the multiple beams and a second beam of the multiple beams”
He discloses each PUCCH resource in paired resource comprises configured maximum code rate, additionally He discloses simultaneous HARQ-ACK and CSI transmission across paired PUCCH resources [0058, 0060-0075], FIG. 6
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “wherein the UCI is rate matched to the single set of PRBs in connection with a first beam of the multiple beams and a second beam of the multiple beams” as taught by He into Zhou’s system with the motivation to perform PUCCH transmission with repetitions with different spatial relations for multi-TRP operation and enhanced performance and coverage (He, paragraph [0001]).
Claims 26, 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of He as applied to claims 23, 27 respectively an in further view of NPL titled “ETSI TS 138 211 V16.2 (2020-07), hereafter ETSI.
Regarding claims 26, 30, He discloses UE transmits/base station receives UCI using paired PUCCH resource utilizing different spatial relations with single set of PRBs [0046, 0064,0041, 0045, 0050, 0053, 0056], FIGs. 4-7,
Combined system of Zhou and He does not expressly disclose “in accordance with the transmission using a single antenna port”
ETSI discloses PUCCH antenna port mapping, PUCCH transmitted on a single antenna port (Section 6.3)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “in accordance with the transmission using a single antenna port” as taught by ETSI into combined system of Zhou and He with the motivation to perform PUCCH transmission with repetitions with different spatial relations for multi-TRP operation and enhanced performance and coverage (He, paragraph [0001]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4, 7-11, 14, 15, 18-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Abebe et al (20240137179) FIG. 10
/THAI NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469