DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is responsive to communications: Application filed on January 23, 2024, and Drawings filed on January 23, 2024.
2. Claims 1–14 are pending in this case. Claim 1 is the independent claims.
Applicant’s election without traverse of claim 1-14 in the reply filed on 2/11/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 101
35 U.S.C. § 101 reads as follows:
Claims 1-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
As to claim 1:
Step 1 Analysis: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter? See MPEP § 2106.03.
Yes, the claim is to a process.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon? See MPEP § 2106.04(II)(A)(1).
Yes, the limitation “determining one or more implement motion parameters by tracking a position or an orientation of the haircare implement using the sequence of images;” is the abstract idea of a mental process that can practically be performed in the human mind, with or without the use of a physical aid such as pen and paper (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Yes, the limitation “determining a detangling event if one or more of: linear velocity, angular velocity, linear acceleration, and angular acceleration of the haircare implement is less than a corresponding detangling motion threshold, the detangling event being an event in which tangles from hair of the user are being removed;” is the abstract idea of a mental process that can practically be performed in the human mind, with or without the use of a physical aid such as pen and paper (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Yes, the limitation “and generating feedback for providing to the user based on the determined detangling event.” is the abstract idea of a mental process that can practically be performed in the human mind, with or without the use of a physical aid such as pen and paper (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? See MPEP § 2106.04(d).
No, the limitation “receiving a sequence of images of a head of the user and a haircare implement, the haircare implement being a hairstyling implement;” is an additional element that amounts to adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception. See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d), 2106.05(g).
Step 2B Analysis: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? See MPEP § 2106.05.
No, the limitation “receiving a sequence of images of a head of the user and a haircare implement, the haircare implement being a hairstyling implement;” is an additional element that amounts to adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception. See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d), 2106.05(g). (“The collecting step is recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as a general means of gathering network traffic data for use in the comparison step), and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.”).
As to claim 2:
Step 1 Analysis: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter? See MPEP § 2106.03.
Yes, the claim is to a process.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon? See MPEP § 2106.04(II)(A)(1).
Yes, the limitation “determining one or more implement motion parameters by tracking a position or an orientation of the haircare implement using the sequence of images;” is the abstract idea of a mental process that can practically be performed in the human mind, with or without the use of a physical aid such as pen and paper (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? See MPEP § 2106.04(d).
The analysis of the parent claim is incorporated.
Step 2B Analysis: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? See MPEP § 2106.05.
The analysis of the parent claim is incorporated.
v1.2 7/9/2024
As to claim 3:
Step 1 Analysis: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter? See MPEP § 2106.03.
Yes, the claim is to a process.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon? See MPEP § 2106.04(II)(A)(1).
Yes, the limitation “tracking the position or the orientation of the haircare implement comprises tracking a fiducial marker coupled to an end of the haircare implement.” is the abstract idea of a mental process that can practically be performed in the human mind, with or without the use of a physical aid such as pen and paper (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? See MPEP § 2106.04(d).
The analysis of the parent claim is incorporated.
Step 2B Analysis: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? See MPEP § 2106.05.
The analysis of the parent claim is incorporated.
As to claim 4:
Step 1 Analysis: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter? See MPEP § 2106.03.
Yes, the claim is to a process.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon? See MPEP § 2106.04(II)(A)(1).
Yes, the limitation “wherein the fiducial marker comprises a substantially spherical marker having a plurality of coloured quadrants disposed around a longitudinal axis corresponding to a longitudinal axis of the haircare implement.” is the abstract idea of a mental process that can practically be performed in the human mind, with or without the use of a physical aid such as pen and paper (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? See MPEP § 2106.04(d).
The analysis of the parent claim is incorporated.
Step 2B Analysis: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? See MPEP § 2106.05.
The analysis of the parent claim is incorporated.
As to claim 5:
Step 1 Analysis: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter? See MPEP § 2106.03.
Yes, the claim is to a process.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon? See MPEP § 2106.04(II)(A)(1).
Yes, the limitation “wherein the one or more implement motion parameters include one or more of: implement position; implement orientation; linear velocity; angular velocity; linear acceleration; angular acceleration; and implement path.” is the abstract idea of a mental process that can practically be performed in the human mind, with or without the use of a physical aid such as pen and paper (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? See MPEP § 2106.04(d).
The analysis of the parent claim is incorporated.
Step 2B Analysis: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? See MPEP § 2106.05.
The analysis of the parent claim is incorporated.
As to claim 6:
Step 1 Analysis: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter? See MPEP § 2106.03.
Yes, the claim is to a process.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon? See MPEP § 2106.04(II)(A)(1).
Yes, the limitation “wherein the haircare implement comprises a hairbrush.” is the abstract idea of a mental process that can practically be performed in the human mind, with or without the use of a physical aid such as pen and paper (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? See MPEP § 2106.04(d).
The analysis of the parent claim is incorporated.
Step 2B Analysis: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? See MPEP § 2106.05.
The analysis of the parent claim is incorporated.
As to claim 7:
Step 1 Analysis: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter? See MPEP § 2106.03.
Yes, the claim is to a process.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon? See MPEP § 2106.04(II)(A)(1).
Yes, the limitation “determining a detangling event if one or more of: linear velocity, angular velocity, liner acceleration and angular acceleration are less than a corresponding detangling motion threshold.” is the abstract idea of a mental process that can practically be performed in the human mind, with or without the use of a physical aid such as pen and paper (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? See MPEP § 2106.04(d).
The analysis of the parent claim is incorporated.
Step 2B Analysis: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? See MPEP § 2106.05.
The analysis of the parent claim is incorporated.
As to claim 8:
Step 1 Analysis: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter? See MPEP § 2106.03.
Yes, the claim is to a process.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon? See MPEP § 2106.04(II)(A)(1).
Yes, the limitation “determining an inadequate implement stroke based on an implement path.” is the abstract idea of a mental process that can practically be performed in the human mind, with or without the use of a physical aid such as pen and paper (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? See MPEP § 2106.04(d).
The analysis of the parent claim is incorporated.
Step 2B Analysis: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? See MPEP § 2106.05.
The analysis of the parent claim is incorporated.
As to claim 9:
Step 1 Analysis: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter? See MPEP § 2106.03.
Yes, the claim is to a process.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon? See MPEP § 2106.04(II)(A)(1).
Yes, the limitation “identifying a suitable chemical treatment in accordance with a detected performance parameter or haircare event; wherein generating the feedback comprises generating instructions to the user to perform the identified chemical treatment.” is the abstract idea of a mental process that can practically be performed in the human mind, with or without the use of a physical aid such as pen and paper (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? See MPEP § 2106.04(d).
The analysis of the parent claim is incorporated.
Step 2B Analysis: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? See MPEP § 2106.05.
The analysis of the parent claim is incorporated.
As to claim 10:
Step 1 Analysis: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter? See MPEP § 2106.03.
Yes, the claim is to a process.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon? See MPEP § 2106.04(II)(A)(1).
Yes, the limitation “wherein generating the feedback comprises generating instructions for the user to operate the haircare implement in a particular way.” is the abstract idea of a mental process that can practically be performed in the human mind, with or without the use of a physical aid such as pen and paper (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? See MPEP § 2106.04(d).
The analysis of the parent claim is incorporated.
Step 2B Analysis: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? See MPEP § 2106.05.
The analysis of the parent claim is incorporated.
As to claim 11:
Step 1 Analysis: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter? See MPEP § 2106.03.
Yes, the claim is to a process.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon? See MPEP § 2106.04(II)(A)(1).
Yes, the limitation “identifying an implement technique in accordance with a detected performance parameter or haircare event; wherein generating the feedback comprises generating instructions to the user to perform the implement technique.” is the abstract idea of a mental process that can practically be performed in the human mind, with or without the use of a physical aid such as pen and paper (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? See MPEP § 2106.04(d).
The analysis of the parent claim is incorporated.
Step 2B Analysis: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? See MPEP § 2106.05.
The analysis of the parent claim is incorporated.
As to claim 12:
Step 1 Analysis: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter? See MPEP § 2106.03.
Yes, the claim is to a process.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon? See MPEP § 2106.04(II)(A)(1).
Yes, the limitation “determining a facial expression of the user in the sequence of images; and determining the detected performance parameter based on the facial expression of the user and the one or more implement motion parameters; wherein the implement technique is identified in accordance with the detected performance parameter.” is the abstract idea of a mental process that can practically be performed in the human mind, with or without the use of a physical aid such as pen and paper (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? See MPEP § 2106.04(d).
The analysis of the parent claim is incorporated.
Step 2B Analysis: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? See MPEP § 2106.05.
The analysis of the parent claim is incorporated.
Claim 13 is rejected for the same reason as claim 1.
Claim 14 is rejected for the same reason as claim 1.
Claims 3 and 4 and 12 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6, 7, 13, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia, Pub. No.: CN 112116696 A, in view of Jeffery, Pub. No.: 20180104573 A1.
With regard to claim 1:
Jia discloses a computer-implemented method for generating feedback for a user performing haircare, the computer-implemented method comprising: receiving a sequence of images (The first and second cameras continuously collect user data, “the user handheld comb-shaped intelligent hair processing device for combing action, at the same time, the first camera 171 and the fourth camera continuously collecting the user head portrait 200 data, using intelligent calculating image recognition technology for identifying the user face contour of the user for the head of the user for the initial construction of the 3 D head portrait outline and continuously perfecting; at the same time according to the primary 3 D head portrait profile to the intelligent hair processing device 100 combing action track data and the inertial sensor data of the collection, and combining the intelligent hair processing device 100 known structure size of the parameter of the nearest scalp carding track for judging; so as to construct the user of the user 3 D head portrait model 501 on the operation interface 700 (display screen, AR prism projection display screen; projection screen), and the intelligent hair processing device 100 on the limiting comb 12 of the light sensing type micro imaging sensor 122 collected by the hair data as a hairstyle parameter into the construction of the user in the user of the 3 D head portrait model;”) of a head of the user and a haircare implement, the haircare implement being a hairstyling implement (the image collecting module dynamically collects the image of the user head and the intelligent hair processing device, and calculating to obtain the relative movement and movement state of the intelligent hair processing device and the user head through the intelligent calculating module. “the user head portrait hair layer of the intelligent hair processing device of the carding track collecting mode comprises at least one of the following: (a) when the intelligent hair processing device is in the image collecting range; the intelligent calculation module calculates the relative position of the intelligent hair processing device and the face outline (user head) of the user through the intelligent identification of the face outline of the user or the outline of the intelligent hair processing device by the image collecting module; (b) the intelligent calculating module collects data of the image collecting module and the data transmitted by the action sensing module through intelligent calculation to obtain the intelligent hair processing device under the user head hair layer carding track, position and motion state of the data; (c) the intelligent calculation module dynamically collects the image of the face outline of the user and the known structural parameter of the intelligent hair processing device through the image collecting module so as to know the combing track of the intelligent hair processing device under the hair layer;
(d) the image collecting module dynamically collects the image of the user head and the intelligent hair processing device, and calculating to obtain the relative movement and movement state of the intelligent hair processing device and the user head through the intelligent calculating module.”); determining one or more implement motion parameters by tracking a position or an orientation of the haircare implement using the sequence of images (claim 6: “the intelligent calculation module calculates the relative position of the intelligent hair processing device and the face outline (user head) of the user through the intelligent identification of the face outline of the user or the outline of the intelligent hair processing device by the image collecting module; (b) the intelligent calculating module collects data of the image collecting module and the data transmitted by the action sensing module through intelligent calculation to obtain the intelligent hair processing device under the user head hair layer carding track, position and motion state of the data; (c) the intelligent calculation module dynamically collects the image of the face outline of the user and the known structural parameter of the intelligent hair processing device through the image collecting module so as to know the combing track of the intelligent hair processing device under the hair layer; (d) the image collecting module dynamically collects the image of the user head and the intelligent hair processing device, and calculating to obtain the relative movement and movement state of the intelligent hair processing device and the user head through the intelligent calculating module; wherein the data of the innermost layer of the irregular arc-shaped carding track of the intelligent hair processing device under the user head hair layer is determined as the data of the head-shaped profile under the hair layer of the user.”); determining a detangling event based one or more of: linear velocity, angular velocity, linear acceleration, and angular acceleration (the system collect angular velocity to determine detangling event: “the action sensing module comprises at least one of the following: an inertial sensor and a motion sensor. the inertial sensor comprises at least one of the following: accelerometer (or acceleration sensor), angular velocity sensor (gyro) and their single, double, three-axis combined IMU (inertia measuring unit), AHRS (including the attitude reference system of the magnetic sensor)”) of the haircare implement (claim 6: “wherein the data of the head-shaped profile under the hair layer of the user is calculated by the intelligent calculating module when the intelligent hair processing device executes the hair combing action, wherein the data is calculated by the intelligent calculating module; the user head portrait hair layer of the intelligent hair processing device of the carding track collecting mode comprises at least one of the following: (a) when the intelligent hair processing device is in the image collecting range; the intelligent calculation module calculates the relative position of the intelligent hair processing device and the face outline (user head) of the user through the intelligent identification of the face outline of the user or the outline of the intelligent hair processing device by the image collecting module; (b) the intelligent calculating module collects data of the image collecting module and the data transmitted by the action sensing module through intelligent calculation to obtain the intelligent hair processing device under the user head hair layer carding track, position and motion state of the data; (c) the intelligent calculation module dynamically collects the image of the face outline of the user and the known structural parameter of the intelligent hair processing device through the image collecting module so as to know the combing track of the intelligent hair processing device under the hair layer; (d) the image collecting module dynamically collects the image of the user head and the intelligent hair processing device, and calculating to obtain the relative movement and movement state of the intelligent hair processing device and the user head through the intelligent calculating module; wherein the data of the innermost layer of the irregular arc-shaped carding track of the intelligent hair processing device under the user head hair layer is determined as the data of the head-shaped profile under the hair layer of the user.”), the detangling event being an event in which tangles from hair of the user are being removed (The system track detangling/split hair event: “the beam splitting comb teeth are the comb teeth of the transmission structure for splitting the hair; the limiting comb teeth are comb teeth for limiting the displacement of the hair; the separating comb teeth are comb teeth of the acting area with different separating comb teeth; the optical sensor is set on the limiting comb teeth. the intelligent hair processing device is provided with a displacement sensor. The displacement sensor includes: a piezoelectric displacement sensor, a Hall displacement sensor, a light sensing type micro imaging sensor. Preferably, the optical displacement sensor for detecting hair displacement.”); and generating feedback for providing to the user based on the determined detangling event (the feedback is displayed as 3d avatar of the user, “the user handheld comb-shaped intelligent hair processing device for combing action, at the same time, the first camera 171 and the fourth camera continuously collecting the user head portrait 200 data, using intelligent calculating image recognition technology for identifying the user face contour of the user for the head of the user for the initial construction of the 3 D head portrait outline and continuously perfecting; at the same time according to the primary 3 D head portrait profile to the intelligent hair processing device 100 combing action track data and the inertial sensor data of the collection, and combining the intelligent hair processing device 100 known structure size of the parameter of the nearest scalp carding track for judging; so as to construct the user of the user 3 D head portrait model 501 on the operation interface 700 (display screen, AR prism projection display screen; projection screen), and the intelligent hair processing device 100 on the limiting comb 12 of the light sensing type micro imaging sensor 122 collected by the hair data as a hairstyle parameter into the construction of the user in the user of the 3 D head portrait model; step 3, obtaining the optimized user 3 D head portrait model, and displaying the optimized user avatar 3 D model on the operation interface (display screen, AR prism projection display screen, projection screen); selecting proper hairstyle in the operation interface 700 according to the optimized user 3 D head portrait model, calculating and pruning the selected hairstyle of the intelligent hair processing device 100 at the head 200 of the user each relative position needs to execute the instruction parameter set;”).
Jia does not disclose the aspect of determining a detangling event if one or more of: linear velocity, angular velocity, linear acceleration, and angular acceleration of the haircare implement is less than a corresponding detangling motion threshold.
However Jeffery discloses the aspect of determining an event if one or more of: linear velocity, angular velocity, linear acceleration, and angular acceleration of the implement is less than a corresponding motion threshold (paragraph 76: “FIG. 5 illustrates angular velocity {dot over (θ)} 006 data (change in pitch with time) from an iPhone 6 gyroscope sensor as a function of time corresponding to the shooting gesture embodiment of FIG. 4(a). Human motor function naturally takes the control device back slightly before motioning forward. An embodiment of the method detects an event 140 of a shot when the angular velocity 006 is less than a predetermined threshold, −3 radians/sec in the embodiment illustrated in FIG. 5. The maximum negative rotational velocity 006, corresponding to the maximum speed of the gesture, is scaled and input to the physics engine 175 to render the arc of the ball flight 050.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the filing was made to apply Jeffery to Jia so the system can accurately determine a detangling event based on a threshold of linear velocity, angular velocity, linear acceleration, or angular acceleration in order to provide the user with helpful information based on the determination.
With regard to claim 2:
Jia and Jeffery disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein tracking the position or the orientation of the haircare implement comprises tracking the position or the orientation relative to the head of the user (Jia, “the user handheld comb-shaped intelligent hair processing device for combing action, at the same time, the first camera 171 and the fourth camera continuously collecting the user head portrait 200 data, using intelligent calculating image recognition technology for identifying the user face contour of the user for the head of the user for the initial construction of the 3 D head portrait outline and continuously perfecting; at the same time according to the primary 3 D head portrait profile to the intelligent hair processing device 100 combing action track data and the inertial sensor data of the collection, and combining the intelligent hair processing device 100 known structure size of the parameter of the nearest scalp carding track for judging; so as to construct the user of the user 3 D head portrait model 501 on the operation interface 700 (display screen, AR prism projection display screen; projection screen), and the intelligent hair processing device 100 on the limiting comb 12 of the light sensing type micro imaging sensor 122 collected by the hair data as a hairstyle parameter into the construction of the user in the user of the 3 D head portrait model; step 3, obtaining the optimized user 3 D head portrait model, and displaying the optimized user avatar 3 D model on the operation interface (display screen, AR prism projection display screen, projection screen); selecting proper hairstyle in the operation interface 700 according to the optimized user 3 D head portrait model, calculating and pruning the selected hairstyle of the intelligent hair processing device 100 at the head 200 of the user each relative position needs to execute the instruction parameter set;”).
With regard to claim 5:
Jia and Jeffery disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the one or more implement motion parameters include one or more of: implement position (Jia “(b) the second processor through intelligent calculation to the collected data of the first camera and the data transmitted by the inertial sensor to obtain the data of the intelligent hair processing device under the user head hair layer carding track, position and motion state;”); implement orientation; linear velocity; angular velocity; linear acceleration; angular acceleration; and implement path (Jia “the intelligent hair processing device in the process of the hair carding, the intelligent calculating module through the picture collecting module collects the relative orientation between the intelligent hair processing device and the user head as the correction data of the track of the hair carding.”).
With regard to claim 6:
Jia and Jeffery disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the haircare implement comprises a hairbrush (see fig. 1 for the hair brush: “In the first aspect, the present embodiment provides a hardware of the intelligent hair processing system comprises an intelligent hair processing device and an intelligent terminal.”).
With regard to claim 7:
Jia and Jeffery disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising determining an event if one or more of: linear velocity, angular velocity, liner acceleration and angular acceleration are less than a corresponding detangling motion threshold (Jeffery paragraph 76: “FIG. 5 illustrates angular velocity {dot over (θ)} 006 data (change in pitch with time) from an iPhone 6 gyroscope sensor as a function of time corresponding to the shooting gesture embodiment of FIG. 4(a). Human motor function naturally takes the control device back slightly before motioning forward. An embodiment of the method detects an event 140 of a shot when the angular velocity 006 is less than a predetermined threshold, −3 radians/sec in the embodiment illustrated in FIG. 5. The maximum negative rotational velocity 006, corresponding to the maximum speed of the gesture, is scaled and input to the physics engine 175 to render the arc of the ball flight 050.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the filing was made to apply Jeffery to Jia so the system can accurately determine a detangling event based on a threshold of linear velocity, angular velocity, linear acceleration, or angular acceleration in order to provide the user with helpful information based on the determination.
Claim 13 is rejected for the same reason as claim 1.
Claim 14 is rejected for the same reason as claim 1.
Claim 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia, Pub.. No.: CN 201910528989 A, in view of Jeffery, and further in view of Kimura, Pub. NO.: 2015/0125043A1.
With regard to claim 8:
Jia and Jeffery do not disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising determining an inadequate implement stroke based on an implement path.
However Kimura discloses the aspect comprising determining an inadequate implement stroke based on an implement path. (“The information processing system of any of (9) to (12), wherein the circuitry is configured to: determine the distance between the target object and the imaging device; compare the distance to a predetermined threshold value; and determine that the distance between the target object and the imaging device is inadequate for recognition of a gesture made by the target object when the distance is less than the predetermined threshold value.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the filing was made to apply Kimura to Jia and Jeffery so the system can accurately determine whether the stroke is adequate or not based on the path of the user’s stroke and provide feedback to the user according to the determination.
Claims 9, 10, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia, Pub.. No.: CN 201910528989 A, in view of Jeffery, and further in view of Thiebaut et al., Pub. No.: 2019/0098978A1.
With regard to claim 9:
Jia and Jeffery do not disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: identifying a suitable chemical treatment in accordance with a detected performance parameter or haircare event; wherein generating the feedback comprises generating instructions to the user to perform the identified chemical treatment
However Thiebaut discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: identifying a suitable chemical treatment in accordance with a detected performance parameter or haircare event (Paragraph 84 “As an initial step, the client device collects information regarding a user's desired results. In an example, the user may use the client device to browse a database of images which depict various hair styles. In another example, the user may enter a keyword search to the client device to find a desired look. The client device may store search results locally or may connect to an external system or server to access the database or search results.”); wherein generating the feedback comprises generating instructions to the user to perform the identified chemical treatment (Paragraph 83 “The user interface or the client device can display tutorials on how to use the hair dryer. The user interface can create and download protocols for a regimen or routine. The user interface can coach, track usage and compare the tracked usage to the protocol, the regimen, and the routine. The user interface can calculate a score based on the tracked usage. The user interface can store the scores and the tracked usage of the hair dryer in memory of the client device. The user interface can be used to make a purchase of any products related to the hair dryer. For instance, the hair dryer may be used with a combination of styling products or chemical compositions used for treating the user's hair, and the client device can output recommendations on particular styling products or compositions to be used, and which step in the process they are to be used, based on the desired results inputted by the user.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the filing was made to apply Thiebaut to Jia and Jeffery so the system can determine the chemical treatment that is needed for the user based on tracked haircare event and provide the user with feedback about the treatment and the steps to perform the treatment based on the determination.
With regard to claim 10:
Jia and Jeffery and Thiebaut disclose the aspect wherein generating the feedback comprises generating instructions for the user to operate the haircare implement in a particular way (Thiebaut Paragraph 83 “The user interface or the client device can display tutorials on how to use the hair dryer. The user interface can create and download protocols for a regimen or routine. The user interface can coach, track usage and compare the tracked usage to the protocol, the regimen, and the routine. The user interface can calculate a score based on the tracked usage. The user interface can store the scores and the tracked usage of the hair dryer in memory of the client device. The user interface can be used to make a purchase of any products related to the hair dryer. For instance, the hair dryer may be used with a combination of styling products or chemical compositions used for treating the user's hair, and the client device can output recommendations on particular styling products or compositions to be used, and which step in the process they are to be used, based on the desired results inputted by the user.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the filing was made to apply Thiebaut to Jia and Jeffery so the system can determine the chemical treatment that is needed for the user based on tracked haircare event and provide the user with feedback about the treatment and the steps to perform the treatment based on the determination.
With regard to claim 11:
Jia and Jeffery and Thiebaut the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: identifying an implement technique in accordance with a detected performance parameter or haircare event (Thiebaut Paragraph 84 “As an initial step, the client device collects information regarding a user's desired results. In an example, the user may use the client device to browse a database of images which depict various hair styles. In another example, the user may enter a keyword search to the client device to find a desired look. The client device may store search results locally or may connect to an external system or server to access the database or search results.”); wherein generating the feedback comprises generating instructions to the user to perform the implement technique (Thiebaut Paragraph 83 “The user interface or the client device can display tutorials on how to use the hair dryer. The user interface can create and download protocols for a regimen or routine. The user interface can coach, track usage and compare the tracked usage to the protocol, the regimen, and the routine. The user interface can calculate a score based on the tracked usage. The user interface can store the scores and the tracked usage of the hair dryer in memory of the client device. The user interface can be used to make a purchase of any products related to the hair dryer. For instance, the hair dryer may be used with a combination of styling products or chemical compositions used for treating the user's hair, and the client device can output recommendations on particular styling products or compositions to be used, and which step in the process they are to be used, based on the desired results inputted by the user.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the filing was made to apply Thiebaut to Jia and Jeffery so the system can determine the chemical treatment that is needed for the user based on tracked haircare event and provide the user with feedback about the treatment and the steps to perform the treatment based on the determination.
Pertinent Arts
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cheng, Pub. No: 20200380690 A1, For example, when a camera acquires image frames, a user makes an action of brushing hair aside. Because brushing hair aside is a continuous action, in a series of image frames that are acquired by the camera when the user makes an action of brushing hair aside, the hand is an execution part of the action of brushing hair aside, and therefore the hand area is a target area and dynamically changes in different image frames; and the face is a reference part of the action of brushing hair aside, and therefore the face area is a reference area and is static relative to the hand. In this scenario, the target area is a dynamic area, and the reference area is a relative static area.
Robinson, Pub. No.: US 20180349979 A1, Included is a method for providing a customized product recommendation to a user. Images of people are collected from a database. A neural network is used to evaluate the images to identify a hair trend. Information is collected from the user to determine if the user's hair style falls within the hair trend. A product for the user is selected from at least two available products whose hair style falls within the hair trend. The selected product is recommended to the user.
Conclusion
/DI XIAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2178