BATTERY AND MANUFACTURING METHOD FOR BATTERY
DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/5/2023, 5/22/2025, and 1/23/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3,5, 8-13, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ito et al. (US 2021/0280837 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ito et al. teach a battery (Abstract; Fig. 1, element 1) comprising:
a charge/discharge body having an electrode with an electrode tab (Paragraph 0015; Fig. 1 discloses a positive electrode, element 15, having electrode tabs, elements 15B.); and
a current collector joined to the electrode tab (Abstract; Figs. 1 and 3 disclose a clip plate, element 21, attached to the electrode tab, element 15B.), wherein
the current collector has a convex joining section (Paragraph 0036; Fig. 1 discloses a joint, element 25, with a convex shape.), and
the electrode tab and the joining section are welded (Paragraph 0036 discloses the clip plate is ultrasonically welded to the electrode tab.).
Regarding claim 2, Ito et al. teach the battery according to claim 1, wherein the electrode tab deformed into a convex shape along the joining section and the joining section are welded (Paragraph 0036; Fig. 3.).
Regarding claims 3 and 16, Ito et al. teach the battery according to claim 1, wherein the electrode tab and at least a distal end of the joining section are welded (Fig. 3 shows the entirety of the joint, element 25, is welded to the tab, element 15B).
Regarding claim 5, Ito et al. teach the battery according to claim 1, wherein a bound plurality of the electrode tabs and the joining section are welded (Fig. 3 shows multiple electrode tabs, element 15B, being welded.).
Regarding claim 8, Ito et al. teach the battery according to claim 1, wherein the electrode tab is formed to project from a side edge of a current collection layer of the electrode (Fig. 1 shows electrode tabs, element 15B project from a side of an electrode current collector, element 15A, of the electrode body, element 2.).
Regarding claim 9, Ito et al. teach the battery according to claim 1, wherein
the charge/discharge body is formed in a rectangular parallelepiped shape (Fig. 1 shows the electrode body, element 2, being rectangular.), and
the joining section of the current collector extends in a longitudinal direction of the charge/discharge body while facing the charge/discharge body (Figs. 1 and 3 show element 21 facing the electrode group and extending in a longitudinal direction.).
Regarding claim 10, Ito et al. teach the battery according to claim 1, further comprising:
a container that houses the charge/discharge body and has conductivity (Fig. 1, element 3 discloses an outer container.); and
an insulator that insulates the container and the electrode tab (Paragraph 0024; Fig. 1 discloses the inner cavity, element 10, of the outer container, element 3, are electrically insulated from the tab, element 15B.).
Regarding claim 11, Ito et al. teach the battery according to claim 1, wherein the joining section has any one shape among a triangular shape, a trapezoidal shape, an arcuate shape, and an arcuate shape having a flat section at a tip (Fig. 3 shows element 25 in a trapezoidal shape.).
Regarding claim 12, Ito et al. teach the battery according to claim 1, wherein the charge/discharge body is configured by a positive electrode and a negative electrode being wound or stacked via an insulation member (Paragraph 0017).
Regarding claims 13 and 15, Ito et al. teach a manufacturing method for a battery (Abstract; Fig. 1, element 1), the battery comprising:
a charge/discharge body having an electrode with an electrode tab (Paragraph 0015; Fig. 1 discloses a positive electrode, element 15, having electrode tabs, elements 15B.); and
a current collector joined to the electrode tab (Abstract; Figs. 1 and 3 disclose a clip plate, element 21, attached to the electrode tab, element 15B.), wherein
the current collector has a convex joining section (Paragraph 0036; Fig. 1 discloses a joint, element 25, with a convex shape.), and
the electrode tab and the joining section are welded (Paragraph 0036 discloses the clip plate is ultrasonically welded to the electrode tab.),
the manufacturing method for the battery comprising:
a first step of bringing the electrode tab and the joining section into contact (Paragraph 0047; Fig. 5 disclose an ultrasonic horn, element 41, is abutted on the plate part, element 26.); and
a second step of welding the electrode tab and the current collector (Paragraph 0047; Fig. 5 disclose the plate part, element 26, is joined to the tab, element 15b, by ultrasonic vibrations transmitted by the ultrasonic horn, element 41.).
Claims 1-3,5, 8-13, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Minamigata et al. (JP 2013-161757 A).
Regarding claim 1, Minamigata et al. teach a battery (Abstract; Fig. 1, element 2) comprising:
a charge/discharge body having an electrode with an electrode tab (Paragraph 0019; Fig. 5 discloses an electrode body, element 5, having electrode tabs, elements 16.); and
a current collector joined to the electrode tab (Paragraph 0024; Fig. 6 discloses a current collector mounting portion, element 28, connected to tabs, element 16.), wherein
the current collector has a convex joining section (Paragraph 0024; Fig. 6 discloses a welding spot, element 31, which is convex.), and
the electrode tab and the joining section are welded (Paragraph 0024 discloses the collector mounting portion is welded to the electrode tab.).
Regarding claim 2, Minamigata et al. teach the battery according to claim 1, wherein the electrode tab deformed into a convex shape along the joining section and the joining section are welded (Paragraph 0024; Fig. 6, element 31.).
Regarding claims 3 and 16, Minamigata et al. teach the battery according to claim 1, wherein the electrode tab and at least a distal end of the joining section are welded (Fig. 6 shows the entirety of the welding spot, element 31, is welded to the tab, element 16).
Regarding claim 5, Minamigata et al. teach the battery according to claim 1, wherein a bound plurality of the electrode tabs and the joining section are welded (Fig. 6 shows multiple electrode tabs, element 16, being welded.).
Regarding claim 8, Minamigata et al. teach the battery according to claim 1, wherein the electrode tab is formed to project from a side edge of a current collection layer of the electrode (Fig. 6shows electrode tabs, element 16 project from a side of an electrode current collector, element 13, of the electrode body, element 5.).
Regarding claim 9, Minamigata et al. teach the battery according to claim 1, wherein
the charge/discharge body is formed in a rectangular parallelepiped shape (Fig. 1 shows the electrode body, element 5, being rectangular.), and
the joining section of the current collector extends in a longitudinal direction of the charge/discharge body while facing the charge/discharge body (Paragraph 0024; Fig. 6 shows the current collector mounting portion, element 28, is plate-shaped and is positioned parallel to the upper surface of an electrode pair, element 23.).
Regarding claim 10, Minamigata et al. teach the battery according to claim 1, further comprising:
a container that houses the charge/discharge body and has conductivity (Fig. 1, element 3 discloses a case.); and
an insulator that insulates the container and the electrode tab (Paragraph 0016; Fig. 1 disclose ring-shaped insulating members, element 9, attached between the electrode terminals, elements 7 and 8, and the case, element 3.).
Regarding claim 11, Minamigata et al. teach the battery according to claim 1, wherein the joining section has any one shape among a triangular shape, a trapezoidal shape, an arcuate shape, and an arcuate shape having a flat section at a tip (Fig. 6 shows element 31 in a trapezoidal shape.).
Regarding claim 12, Minamigata et al. teach the battery according to claim 1, wherein the charge/discharge body is configured by a positive electrode and a negative electrode being wound or stacked via an insulation member (Paragraph 0048).
Regarding claims 13 and 15, Minamigata et al. teach a manufacturing method for a battery (Abstract; Fig. 1, element 2), the battery comprising:
a charge/discharge body having an electrode with an electrode tab (Paragraph 0019; Fig. 5 discloses an electrode body, element 5, having electrode tabs, elements 16.); and
a current collector joined to the electrode (Paragraph 0024; Fig. 6 discloses a current collector mounting portion, element 28, connected to tabs, element 16.), wherein
the current collector has a convex joining section (Paragraph 0024; Fig. 6 discloses a welding spot, element 31, which is convex.), and
the electrode tab and the joining section are welded (Paragraph 0024 discloses the collector mounting portion is welded to the electrode tab.),
the manufacturing method for the battery comprising:
a first step of bringing the electrode tab and the joining section into contact (Paragraph 0024; Fig. 6 disclose the tabs, element 16, are firmly fixed to the lead, element 25, which has the welding spot, element 31.) and
a second step of welding the electrode tab and the current collector (Paragraph 0024; Fig. 6 discloses welding then occurs forming welded section, element 32, between the tab, element 16, and the collector mounting portion, element 28.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 6, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (US 2021/0280837 A1).
Regarding claims 4 and 6, Ito et al. teach the battery of claims 1 and 13. However, they do not disclose wherein the joining section has higher rigidity in a stacking direction of the electrode tab and the current collector than the electrode tab; wherein the joining section has higher rigidity in a stacking direction of the electrode tab and the current collector than the bound plurality of electrode tabs.
MPEP 2112.01 Composition, Product, and Apparatus Claims
I. PRODUCT AND APPARATUS CLAIMS — WHEN THE STRUCTURE RECITED IN THE REFERENCE IS SUBSTANTIALLY IDENTICAL TO THAT OF THE CLAIMS, CLAIMED PROPERTIES OR FUNCTIONS ARE PRESUMED TO BE INHERENT
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. In re Best, 562 F.2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433. See also Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985)
Regarding claim 17, Ito et al. teach the manufacturing method for the battery according to claim 14, wherein, in the first step, the electrode tab and sides of both ends of the joining section of the current collector are pressed against each other using a pressing member (Paragraph 0047; Fig. 42 discloses an anvil, element 42, is abutted on the opposite side of the ultrasonic horn, element 41.).
Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minamigata et al. (JP 2013-161757 A).
Regarding claims 4 and 6 Minamigata et al. teach the battery of claims 1 and 13. However, they do not disclose wherein the joining section has higher rigidity in a stacking direction of the electrode tab and the current collector than the electrode tab; wherein the joining section has higher rigidity in a stacking direction of the electrode tab and the current collector than the bound plurality of electrode tabs.
MPEP 2112.01 Composition, Product, and Apparatus Claims
I. PRODUCT AND APPARATUS CLAIMS — WHEN THE STRUCTURE RECITED IN THE REFERENCE IS SUBSTANTIALLY IDENTICAL TO THAT OF THE CLAIMS, CLAIMED PROPERTIES OR FUNCTIONS ARE PRESUMED TO BE INHERENT
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. In re Best, 562 F.2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433. See also Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985)
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (US 2021/0280837 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Jeong et al. (US 2020/0235369 A1).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Ito et al. teach the battery and manufacturing method for the battery according to claims 1 and 13. However, they do not teach wherein welding is done by a laser beam.
Jeong et al. teach a method of making a secondary battery (Abstract). Further, Jeong discloses welding multiple first tabs (Fig. 4B, element 124) , a conductive cover member (Fig. 4B, element 136), and a conductive base member (Fig. 4B, element 131) can be welded by ultrasonic or laser welding (Paragraph 0046).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ito with Jeong in order to prevent deformation and cracking of the electrode assembly.
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minamigata et al. (JP 2013-161757 A) as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Jeong et al. (US 2020/0235369 A1).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Minamigata et al. teach the battery and manufacturing method for the battery according to claims 1 and 13. However, they do not teach wherein welding is done by a laser beam.
Jeong et al. teach a method of making a secondary battery (Abstract). Further, Jeong discloses welding multiple first tabs (Fig. 4B, element 124), a conductive cover member (Fig. 4B, element 136), and a conductive base member (Fig. 4B, element 131) can be welded by ultrasonic or laser welding (Paragraph 0046).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Minamigata with Jeong in order to prevent deformation and cracking of the electrode assembly.
Conclusion
Daniel S. Gatewood, Ph.D.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1729
/DANIEL S GATEWOOD, Ph. D/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729 June 3rd, 2026