Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the invention of Group I (claims 1-5 drawn to kits) in the reply filed on 04/30/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 6-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04/30/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al (US PG Pub 20130040842) in view of Nilsson et al (1997) (cited on the IDS of 02/02/2024 and Ahern (1995).
Relevant to the limitations of claims 1 and 3, Lim et al teaches reagents for the amplification of a target nucleic acid including a first oligonucleotide primer and a second oligonucleotide primer that are complementary to a target and attached to a bead by a photocleavable linker (e.g.: para 0034).
Lim et al teaches that a pair of primers can be on a bead or on separate bead (relevant to claim 2), and teaches that reagents may include a plurality of primer pairs (relevant to claim 4) (e.g.: para 0034-0037; para 0319).
Further relevant to the limitations of the claims, Lim et al teaches that the primers attached to a bead by a photocleavable linker may be used in nucleic acid amplification reactions with a polymerase (e.g.: para 0037).
Relevant to the limitations of claim 5, Lim et al teaches photocleavable linkers that comprise a 2-nitrobenzyl (i.e.: o-nitrobenzyl) moiety.
Lim et al does not provide for a polymerase enzyme attached to a bead (claims 1 and 2), or specifically with a thermally cleavable linker (claim 3).
However, a polymerase enzyme attached to a bead with a thermally cleavable linker was known in the prior art and is taught by Nilsson et al.
Nilsson et al PCR reagents including a DNA-polymerase immobilized on polymer particle beads by means of a thermolabile compound (p.748 - Hot-Start PCR).
It would have been prima facie obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the rejected claims to have include the bead-bound polymerase of Nilsson et al with the bead-bound primers of Lim et al. the Skilled artisan would have been motivated to include the bead-bound polymerase of Nilsson et al based on the expressed teachings of Nilsson et al that bead-bound polymerase allows for hot-start PCR with improved amplification performance. With regard to the claims as they are directed to a kit-of-parts, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have packaged the reagents of Lim et al and Nilsson et al in a kit as taught by Ahern. One would have been motivated to provide a kit based on the assertion of Ahern that kits of reagents are convenient and save time (p.20 - The kit concept), and the skilled artisan would recognize that such a kit comprising the reagents of the Lim et al and Nilsson et al would be convenient in performing the analyses of Lim et al.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wendell, et al (2015) provides that the terms 2-nitrobenzyl and o-nitrobenzyl are synonymous (e.g.: p.897 “The 2-nitrobenzyl protecting group (o-NB) is photolabile and removable under mild conditions).
Stephen Kapushoc
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1683
/STEPHEN T KAPUSHOC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1683