DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14, 23-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fakoorian et al., US2019/0124598 A1, and further in view of Balasubramanian et al., US2017/0265148 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Fakoorian teaches A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (Fig. 11 item 1105, par. 0165; The device 1105 may be an example of or include the components of a UE 115), comprising: a memory (par. 0165; memory 1125); and one or more processors (par. 0165; processor 1120), coupled to the memory, configured to: receive signaling identifying a plurality of power control configurations, wherein each power control configuration, of the plurality of power control configurations, includes one or more power control parameters (par. 0109, 0113; the base station 105-c may transmit the one or more power control parameters via RRC signaling, and the UE 115-c may identify a subset of power control parameters based on the indication of the process.); and transmit uplink traffic using a power control configuration, of the plurality of power control configurations (par. 0114; the UE 115-c may transmit the uplink channel that corresponds to the process in accordance with the identified subset of the power control parameters.).
Fakoorian fails to teach the following recited limitation. However, Balasubramanian teaches transmit uplink traffic using a power control configuration, of the plurality of power control configurations, selected based at least in part on a channel type (par. 0092; the UE transmitting data (i.e., uplink traffic) containing adjusted transmission power (i.e., interpreted as power control configurations) based on priority of data (i.e., interpreted as channel type) carried in the one or more packets.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Fakoorian’s teachings with Balasubramanian’s teachings in order to manage uplink transmission power at the UE (Balasubramanian, par. 0091).
Regarding claims 2 and 24, Fakoorian and Balasubramanian teach all the limitations in claims 1 and 23. Balasubramanian further teaches wherein the power control configuration is selected based at least in part on a traffic type or a traffic priority (par. 0083). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Fakoorian’s teachings with Balasubramanian’s teachings in order to manage uplink transmission power at the UE (Balasubramanian, par. 0091).
Regarding claims 3 and 25, Fakoorian and Balasubramanian teach all the limitations in claims 1 and 23. Fakoorian further teaches wherein the channel type is at least one of: a physical random access channel, a physical uplink control channel, a physical uplink shared channel, or a sounding reference signal (par. 0005).
Regarding claims 4 and 26, Fakoorian and Balasubramanian teach all the limitations in claims 1 and 23. Fakoorian further teaches wherein power control configurations, of the plurality of power control configurations, differ with respect to at least one of: a power control parameter, or a pathloss reference signal (par. 0050).
Regarding claims 5 and 27, Fakoorian and Balasubramanian teach all the limitations in claims 1 and 23. Fakoorian further teaches wherein the signaling includes one of radio resource control signaling, a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (MAC-CE), or downlink control information (par. 0005).
Regarding claims 6 and 28, Fakoorian and Balasubramanian teach all the limitations in claims 1 and 23. Fakoorian further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: select the power control configuration from the plurality of power control configurations based at least in part on a received indication or a static rule (par. 0027).
Regarding claim 7, Fakoorian and Balasubramanian teach all the limitations in claim 1. Fakoorian further teaches wherein the power control configuration includes one or more power control parameters associated with a transmission configuration indicator state (par. 0049).
Regarding claim 8, Fakoorian and Balasubramanian teach all the limitations in claim 7. Fakoorian further teaches wherein the transmission configuration indicator state is associated with one or more power control parameter set lists corresponding to one or more channel types (par. 0049), wherein a power control parameter set list, of the one or more power control parameter set lists, includes one or more power control parameter sets corresponding to one or more traffic types or priorities (par. 0049), and wherein the one or more power control parameters of the power control configuration are based at least in part on a power control parameter set of the one or more power control parameter sets (par. 0049).
Regarding claim 9, Fakoorian and Balasubramanian teach all the limitations in claim 8. Fakoorian further teaches wherein information identifying the association between the transmission configuration indicator state and the one or more power control parameter set lists is received in connection with transmission configuration indicator state activation signaling (par. 0049).
Regarding claim 10, Fakoorian and Balasubramanian teach all the limitations in claim 1. Fakoorian further teaches wherein the power control configuration includes one or more power control parameters associated with a channel object (par. 0020).
Regarding claim 11, Fakoorian and Balasubramanian teach all the limitations in claim 10. Fakoorian further teaches wherein the power control configuration includes one or more power control parameter sets corresponding to one or more traffic types or priorities (par. 0088).
Regarding claim 12, Fakoorian and Balasubramanian teach all the limitations in claim 1. Fakoorian further teaches wherein the UE is configured with a plurality of resource sets or transmission types, wherein each resource set or transmission type, of the plurality of resource sets or transmission types, is associated with one or more power control parameter sets, wherein each power control parameter set corresponds to a traffic type or priority (par. 0049).
Regarding claim 13, Fakoorian and Balasubramanian teach all the limitations in claim 1. Fakoorian further teaches wherein the power control configuration is based at least in part on a UE capability reported by the UE (par. 0099).
Regarding claim 14, Fakoorian teaches A UE for wireless communication (Fig. 11 item 1105, par. 0165; The device 1105 may be an example of or include the components of a UE 115), comprising: a memory (par. 0165; memory 1125); and one or more processors (par. 0165; processor 1120), coupled to the memory, configured to: receive, from a base station, information configuring a set of resources associated with a set of pathloss reference signals (par. 0098; The first base station 105-a may provide an indication of the SRS process to the first UE 115-a in DCI 210. Based on the indicated process, the first UE 115-a may select parameters corresponding to the indicated SRS process from the previously provided set of power control parameters.); and identify a pathloss reference signal, of the set of pathloss reference signals, based at least in part on a UE capability (par. 0099; The first UE 115-a may identify the corresponding subset of parameters to use for the power control loop of the SRS process based on the set of power control parameters 205 and the indicated process (e.g., the subset of parameters are P.sub.O.sub._.sub.PUSCH(j) and α(j)).).
Fakoorian fails to teach the following recited limitation. However, Balasubramanian teaches communicate with the base station based at least in part on identifying the pathloss reference signal (par. 0037; Some of the access points 105 may communicate with the UEs 115 for which each communication link 125 may be a multi-carrier signal modulated which may be sent on a different carrier and may carry control information (e.g., reference signals, control channels, etc.), overhead information, data, etc.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Fakoorian’s teachings with Balasubramanian’s teachings in order to manage uplink transmission power at the UE (Balasubramanian, par. 0091).
Regarding claim 23, Fakoorian teaches A base station for wireless communication (Fig. 7 item 705, par. 0135; the device 705 may be a base station 105), comprising: a memory (par. 0135; memory 725); and one or more processors (par. 0135; a processor 720), coupled to the memory, configured to: transmit signaling identifying a plurality of power control configurations, wherein each power control configuration, of the plurality of power control configurations, includes one or more power control parameters (par. 0109, 0113; the base station 105-c may transmit the one or more power control parameters via RRC signaling, and the UE 115-c may identify a subset of power control parameters based on the indication of the process.); and receive uplink traffic transmitted using a power control configuration, of the plurality of power control configurations (par. 0114; the UE 115-c may transmit the uplink channel that corresponds to the process in accordance with the identified subset of the power control parameters.).
Fakoorian fails to teach the following recited limitation. However, Balasubramanian teaches receive uplink traffic transmitted using a power control configuration, of the plurality of power control configurations, associated with a channel type (par. 0092; the UE transmitting data (i.e., uplink traffic) containing adjusted transmission power (i.e., interpreted as power control configurations) based on priority of data (i.e., interpreted as channel type) carried in the one or more packets.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Fakoorian’s teachings with Balasubramanian’s teachings in order to manage uplink transmission power at the UE (Balasubramanian, par. 0091).
Conclusion
/AYODEJI O AYOTUNDE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649