Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 1-2, 4, 13, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shih et al. (US 2022/0095410, hereinafter Shih) in view of Jeon et al. (US 2022/0132596, hereinafter Jeon).
Regarding claim 1, Shih discloses a method performed by a radio access network (RAN) node (para 0030; 100 of fig. 1), the method comprising: receiving a radio resource control (RRC) resume request message (para 0074; 0366; Fig. 11; The UE initiates the procedure when upper layers or AS (when responding to RAN paging, upon triggering RNA updates while the UE is in RRC_INACTIVE, or for sidelink communication requests the resume of a suspended RRC connection) associated with a small data transmission (SDT) from a user equipment (UE) that is in a non RRC_CONNECTED state (para 0044; 0055; 0057-0058; small data transmission in INACTIVE state); and transmitting a RRC resume message to the UE (Fig. 11; RRC resume message from gNB to UE; para 0072-0073), the RRC resume message for causing the UE to enter into a RRC_CONNECTED state from the non RRC_CONNECTED state (para 0044; 0148; 0365-0368; RRC_CONNECTED state), in response to receiving at least one of the following:
an indication associated with a downlink non-SDT transmission from another RAN node;
downlink non-SDT data (para 0381; 0385; 0416; 0427; 0430-0430; 0433; 0443; 0367; the data that cannot be transmitted via SDT could be referred to non-SDT data – initiate RRC resume procedure when new data/non-SDT data arrives);
and downlink non-SDT signaling from an access and mobility management function (AMF).
Shih does not explicitly disclose that the non-SDT data is received from a user plane function (UPF).
In an analogous art Jeon discloses that the non-SDT data is received from a user plane function (UPF) (para 0054; 0059; 0061 and 0065; regular/normal data is non-SDT data). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shih’s method/system by having Jeon’s disclosure in order to improve resource utilization by selectively implementing different protocols.
Regarding claims 2, Shih discloses receiving an indication indicating whether the PDU session or the QoS flow is subject to a SDT or non-SDT data transmission during an establishment procedure of the PDU session or an establishment procedure of the QoS flow (para 0005; 0044; 0132; 0369; 0378; 0381; 0385; 0392; 0429; data is classified as SDT or non-SDT during QoS flow).
Shih does not explicitly disclose wherein receiving the downlink non-SDT data from the UPF includes receiving data of non-SDT quality of service (QoS) flow or data of non-SDT protocol data unit (PDU) session from the UPF during a SDT procedure.
In an analogous art, Jeon discloses receiving the downlink non-SDT data from the UPF includes receiving data of non-SDT quality of service (QoS) flow or data of non-SDT protocol data unit (PDU) session from the UPF during a SDT procedure (para 0054; The UPF may serve as a gateway between the NG-RAN and the one or more DNs. The UPF may perform functions such as packet routing and forwarding, packet inspection and user plane policy rule enforcement, traffic usage reporting, uplink classification to support routing of traffic flows to the one or more DNs, quality of service (QoS) handling for the user plane (e.g., packet filtering, gating, uplink/downlink rate enforcement, and uplink traffic verification), downlink packet buffering, and downlink data notification triggering. The UPF may serve as an anchor point for intra-/inter-Radio Access Technology (RAT) mobility, an external protocol (or packet) data unit (PDU) session point of interconnect to the one or more DNs, and/or a branching point to support a multi-homed PDU session). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shih’s method/system by having Jeon’s disclosure in order to improve resource utilization by selectively implementing different protocols.
Regarding claim 4, Shih discloses wherein the indication associated with the downlink non-SDT transmission indicates the UE to enter into the RRC_CONNECTED state (para 0044; RRC_INACTIVE state does not support non-SDT data and UE moves to RRC_CONNECTED state), and the method further comprises: in response to receiving the indication, transmitting the RRC resume message to the UE to cause the UE to enter into the RRC_CONNECTED state for transmission of at least one of the downlink non-SDT data and the downlink non-SDT signaling (para 0378; if a UE detects new data arrival during a SDT procedure (or subsequent data transmission in the SDT procedure), and the data cannot be transmitted via a SDT procedure (e.g. the data belongs to a Logical Channel (LCH) or Data Radio Bearer (DRB) that is not configured to use SDT), the UE may stop the SDT procedure. The UE may fallback to (or initiate) a RRC resume procedure (e.g. without small data transmission). The data may be with higher priority than the current data (in the buffer) to be transmitted during the SDT procedure).
Regarding claim 13, Shih discloses a radio access network (RAN) node (para 0030; 100 of fig. 1), comprising:
at least one memory (232 of fig. 2);
at least one processor (220) coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the RAN node to:
receive a radio resource control (RRC) resume request message (para 0074; 0366; Fig. 11; The UE initiates the procedure when upper layers or AS (when responding to RAN paging, upon triggering RNA updates while the UE is in RRC_INACTIVE, or for sidelink communication requests the resume of a suspended RRC connection) associated with a small data transmission (SDT) from a user equipment (UE) that is in a non RRC_CONNECTED state (para 0044; 0055; 0057-0058; small data transmission in INACTIVE state); and transmit a RRC resume message to the UE (Fig. 11; RRC resume message from gNB to UE; para 0072-0073), the RRC resume message for causing the UE to enter into a RRC_CONNECTED state from the non RRC_CONNECTED state (para 0044; 0148; 0365-0368; RRC_CONNECTED state), in response to receiving at least one of the following:
an indication associated with a downlink non-SDT transmission from another RAN node;
downlink non-SDT data (para 0381; 0385; 0416; 0427; 0430-0430; 0433; 0443; 0367; the data that cannot be transmitted via SDT could be referred to non-SDT data – initiate RRC resume procedure when new data/non-SDT data arrives);
and downlink non-SDT signaling from an access and mobility management function (AMF).
Shih does not explicitly disclose that the non-SDT data is received from a user plane function (UPF).
In an analogous art Jeon discloses that the non-SDT data is received from a user plane function (UPF) (para 0054; 0059; 0061 and 0065; regular/normal data is non-SDT data). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shih’s method/system by having Jeon’s disclosure in order to improve resource utilization by selectively implementing different protocols.
Regarding claim 17, Shih discloses the at least one processor is configured to cause the RAN node to receive an indication indicating whether the PDU session or the QoS flow is subject to a SDT or non-SDT data transmission during an establishment procedure of the PDU session or an establishment procedure of the QoS flow (para 0005; 0044; 0132; 0369; 0378; 0381; 0385; 0392; 0429; data is classified as SDT or non-SDT during QoS flow).
Shih does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one processor is configured to cause the RAN node to receive the downlink non-SDT data from the UPF by receiving data of non-SDT quality of service (QoS) flow or data of non-SDT protocol data unit (PDU) session from the UPF during a SDT procedure.
In an analogous art, Jeon discloses wherein at least one processor is configured to cause the RAN node to receive the downlink non-SDT data from the UPF by receiving data of non-SDT quality of service (QoS) flow or data of non-SDT protocol data unit (PDU) session from the UPF during a SDT procedure (para 0054; The UPF may serve as a gateway between the NG-RAN and the one or more DNs. The UPF may perform functions such as packet routing and forwarding, packet inspection and user plane policy rule enforcement, traffic usage reporting, uplink classification to support routing of traffic flows to the one or more DNs, quality of service (QoS) handling for the user plane (e.g., packet filtering, gating, uplink/downlink rate enforcement, and uplink traffic verification), downlink packet buffering, and downlink data notification triggering. The UPF may serve as an anchor point for intra-/inter-Radio Access Technology (RAT) mobility, an external protocol (or packet) data unit (PDU) session point of interconnect to the one or more DNs, and/or a branching point to support a multi-homed PDU session). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shih’s method/system by having Jeon’s disclosure in order to improve resource utilization by selectively implementing different protocols.
Regarding claim 19, Shih discloses wherein the indication associated with the downlink non-SDT transmission indicates the UE to enter into the RRC_CONNECTED state (para 0044; RRC_INACTIVE state does not support non-SDT data and UE moves to RRC_CONNECTED state), and the at least one processor is configured to cause the RAN node to : in response to receiving the indication, transmitting the RRC resume message to the UE to cause the UE to enter into the RRC_CONNECTED state for transmission of at least one of the downlink non-SDT data and the downlink non-SDT signaling (para 0378; if a UE detects new data arrival during a SDT procedure (or subsequent data transmission in the SDT procedure), and the data cannot be transmitted via a SDT procedure (e.g. the data belongs to a Logical Channel (LCH) or Data Radio Bearer (DRB) that is not configured to use SDT), the UE may stop the SDT procedure. The UE may fallback to (or initiate) a RRC resume procedure (e.g. without small data transmission). The data may be with higher priority than the current data (in the buffer) to be transmitted during the SDT procedure).
3. Claims 3 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shih/Jeon in view of in view of Miklos (EP 2822176, hereinafter Miklos).
Regarding claim 3, Shih discloses in response to receiving the indication, transmitting the RRC resume message to the UE to cause the UE to enter into the RRC_CONNECTED state for transmission of at least one of the downlink non-SDT data and the downlink non-SDT signaling (fig. 11; para 0207; 0378; if a UE detects new data arrival during a SDT procedure (or subsequent data transmission in the SDT procedure), and the data cannot be transmitted via a SDT procedure (e.g. the data belongs to a Logical Channel (LCH) or Data Radio Bearer (DRB) that is not configured to use SDT), the UE may stop the SDT procedure. The UE may fallback to (or initiate) a RRC resume procedure (e.g. without small data transmission). The data may be with higher priority than the current data (in the buffer) to be transmitted during the SDT procedure).
Shih/Jeon does not explicitly disclose wherein the indication associated with the downlink non-SDT transmission from the other RAN node indicates at least one of arrival of the downlink non-SDT data and arrival of the downlink non-SDT signaling.
In an analogous art, Miklos discloses wherein the indication associated with the downlink non-SDT transmission from the other RAN node indicates at least one of arrival of the downlink non-SDT data and arrival of the downlink non-SDT signaling (page 04; last para…page 05; first para; normal data transmission is non-SDT; RAN entity sends notification to other RAN entities when normal downlink data arrives and total size of the data). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shih/Jeon’s method/system by having Mikos’s disclosure in order to dynamically adjust the network load and improve the quality of service.
Regarding claim 18, Shih discloses the at least one processor is configured to cause the RAN node to in response to receiving the indication, transmitting the RRC resume message to the UE to cause the UE to enter into the RRC_CONNECTED state for transmission of at least one of the downlink non-SDT data and the downlink non-SDT signaling (fig. 11; para 0207; 0378; if a UE detects new data arrival during a SDT procedure (or subsequent data transmission in the SDT procedure), and the data cannot be transmitted via a SDT procedure (e.g. the data belongs to a Logical Channel (LCH) or Data Radio Bearer (DRB) that is not configured to use SDT), the UE may stop the SDT procedure. The UE may fallback to (or initiate) a RRC resume procedure (e.g. without small data transmission). The data may be with higher priority than the current data (in the buffer) to be transmitted during the SDT procedure).
Shih/Jeon does not explicitly disclose wherein the indication associated with the downlink non-SDT transmission from the other RAN node indicates at least one of arrival of the downlink non-SDT data and arrival of the downlink non-SDT signaling.
In an analogous art, Miklos discloses wherein the indication associated with the downlink non-SDT transmission from the other RAN node indicates at least one of arrival of the downlink non-SDT data and arrival of the downlink non-SDT signaling (page 04; last para…page 05; first para; normal data transmission is non-SDT; RAN entity sends notification to other RAN entities when normal downlink data arrives and total size of the data). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shih/Jeon’s method/system by having Mikos’s disclosure in order to dynamically adjust the network load and improve the quality of service.
4. Claims 5 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shih/Jeon in view of in view of TSENG et al. (US 2022/0408403, hereinafter Tseng).
Regarding claim 5, Shih discloses determining whether there is an ongoing SDT procedure for the UE (para 0376; during a SDT procedure); and in the case that if there is an ongoing SDT procedure for the UE, transmitting the RRC resume message to cause the UE to enter into a RRC_CONNECTED state for transmission of at least one of the downlink non-SDT data and the downlink non-SDT signaling (fig. 11; para 0207; 0376; 0378; if a UE detects new data arrival during a SDT procedure (or subsequent data transmission in the SDT procedure), and the data cannot be transmitted via a SDT procedure (e.g. the data belongs to a Logical Channel (LCH) or Data Radio Bearer (DRB) that is not configured to use SDT), the UE may stop the SDT procedure. The UE may fallback to (or initiate) a RRC resume procedure (e.g. without small data transmission). The data may be with higher priority than the current data (in the buffer) to be transmitted during the SDT procedure).
Shih/Jeon does not explicitly disclose wherein the indication associated with the non-SDT transmission is a RAN paging message including an identity of the UE.
In an analogous art, Tseng discloses wherein the indication associated with the non-SDT transmission is a RAN paging message including an identity of the UE (para 0103-0105). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shih/Jeon’s method/system by having Tseng’s disclosure in order to improve data rate, reliability and mobility of a communication system.
Regarding claim 20, Shih discloses that the at least one processor is configured to cause the RAN node to determine whether there is an ongoing SDT procedure for the UE (para 0376; during a SDT procedure); and if there is an ongoing SDT procedure for the UE, transmitting the RRC resume message to cause the UE to enter into a RRC_CONNECTED state for transmission of at least one of the downlink non-SDT data and the downlink non-SDT signaling (fig. 11; para 0207; 0376; 0378; if a UE detects new data arrival during a SDT procedure (or subsequent data transmission in the SDT procedure), and the data cannot be transmitted via a SDT procedure (e.g. the data belongs to a Logical Channel (LCH) or Data Radio Bearer (DRB) that is not configured to use SDT), the UE may stop the SDT procedure. The UE may fallback to (or initiate) a RRC resume procedure (e.g. without small data transmission). The data may be with higher priority than the current data (in the buffer) to be transmitted during the SDT procedure).
Shih/Jeon does not explicitly disclose wherein the indication associated with the non-SDT transmission is a RAN paging message including an identity of the UE.
In an analogous art, Tseng discloses wherein the indication associated with the non-SDT transmission is a RAN paging message including an identity of the UE (para 0103-0105). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shih/Jeon’s method/system by having Tseng’s disclosure in order to improve data rate, reliability and mobility of a communication system.
Claims 6, 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (WO 2021/231578, hereinafter Kim) in view of Miklos (EP 2832176, hereinafter Miklos).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses a radio access network (RAN) node (para 0054 and 0058; base station). comprising: at least one memory (0200; a memory); and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (para 0201; a processor) and
configured to cause the RAN node to:
receive, from another RAN node, a first retrieve user equipment (UE) context request message associated with a small data transmission (SDT) of a user equipment that is in a non radio resource control (RRC)-CONNECTED state (para 0244-0245; 0291-0292; based on receiving the RRC reestablishment request message, the target base station may check whether the UE context of the UE is locally available. Based on the UE context being not locally available, the target base station may perform a retrieve UE context procedure by sending a retrieve UE context request message to the source base station (the last serving base station) of the UE).
Kim does not explicitly disclose in response to at least one of arrival of downlink non-SDT data and arrival of downlink non-SDT signaling, transmit an indication associated with a downlink non-SDT transmission to the other RAN node.
In an analogous art, Miklos discloses in response to at least one of arrival of downlink non-SDT data and arrival of downlink non-SDT signaling, transmit an indication associated with a downlink non-SDT transmission to the other RAN node (page 04; last para…page 05; first para; normal data transmission is non-SDT; RAN entity sends notification to other RAN entities when normal downlink data arrives and total size of the data). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim’s method/system by having Mikos’s disclosure in order to dynamically adjust the network load and improve the quality of service.
Regarding claim 8, Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the indication associated with the downlink non-SDT transmission indicates at least one of arrival of downlink non-SDT data and arrival of downlink non-SDT signaling.
In an analogous art, Miklos discloses wherein the indication associated with the downlink non-SDT transmission indicates at least one of arrival of downlink non-SDT data and arrival of downlink non-SDT signaling (page 04; last para…page 05; first para; normal data transmission is non-SDT; RAN entity sends notification to other RAN entities when normal downlink data arrives and total size of the data). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim’s method/system by having Mikos’s disclosure in order to dynamically adjust the network load and improve the quality of service.
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses wherein the indication associated with the downlink non-SDT transmission indicates the UE to enter into a RRC_CONNECTED state (para 0093; 0161; 0163; RRC_CONNECTED).
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the RAN node to further comprising: in response to at least one of arrival of downlink non-SDT data and arrival of downlink non-SDT signaling (para 0074), transmit transmitting a RRC release message with the indication associated with the downlink non-SDT transmission (para 0038 -0039; 0045; 0092;0094; 0277).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim/Miklos in view of Jeon.
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses wherein the arrival of downlink non-SDT data includes receiving data of non-SDT quality of service (QoS) flow or data of non-SDT physical data unit (PDU) session from a user plane function (UPF) during a SDT procedure (para 0063; 0074; QoS handling for user plane function ; PDU sessions may have one or more QoS flows), and the at least one processor is configured to cause the RAN node to method further comprises: receive, from the other RAN node, an indication indicating whether the PDU session or the QoS flow is subject to a SDT or non-SDT data transmission during an establishment procedure of the PDU session or the QoS flow.
Kim/Miklos does not explicitly disclose wherein receive, from the other RAN node, an indication indicating whether the PDU session or the QoS flow is subject to a SDT or non-SDT data transmission during an establishment procedure of the PDU session or the QoS flow. .
In an analogous art, Jeon discloses receive, from the other RAN node, an indication indicating whether the PDU session or the QoS flow is subject to a SDT or non-SDT data transmission during an establishment procedure of the PDU session or the QoS flow (para 0054; The UPF may serve as a gateway between the NG-RAN and the one or more DNs. The UPF may perform functions such as packet routing and forwarding, packet inspection and user plane policy rule enforcement, traffic usage reporting, uplink classification to support routing of traffic flows to the one or more DNs, quality of service (QoS) handling for the user plane (e.g., packet filtering, gating, uplink/downlink rate enforcement, and uplink traffic verification), downlink packet buffering, and downlink data notification triggering. The UPF may serve as an anchor point for intra-/inter-Radio Access Technology (RAT) mobility, an external protocol (or packet) data unit (PDU) session point of interconnect to the one or more DNs, and/or a branching point to support a multi-homed PDU session). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim/Miklos’s method/system by having Jeon’s disclosure in order to improve resource utilization by selectively implementing different protocols.
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon in view of TSAI et al. (US 2021/0410180, hereinafter Tsai).
Regarding claim 15, Jeon discloses a user equipment (UE) (1502 of fig. 15), comprising:
at least one memory (1524); and at least one processor (1518) coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to: initialize a SDT procedure for a small data transmission (SDT) (para 0270; 0315; wireless device initializes SDT procedure); and monitor a radio access network (RAN) paging message (para 0102; The UE monitors for paging message from the RAN).
Jeon does not explicitly disclose that the UE monitors the message after
initializing the SDT procedure.
In an analogous art, Tsai discloses that the UE monitors the message after
initializing the SDT procedure (para 0156; 0230; 02470248; and 0253; monitoring happens after initializing SDT). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jeon’s method/system by having Tsai’s disclosure in order to provide flexibility and configurability to optimize the network services and types.
Regarding claim 16, Jeon does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to stop monitoring the RAN paging message if the SDT procedure is successful.
In an analogous art, Tsai discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to stop monitoring the RAN paging message if the SDT procedure is successful (para 0107; 0168; 0221; 0230; 0253; 0277; 0302; monitoring ends if the procedure is successful). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jeon’s method/system by having Tsai’s disclosure in order to provide flexibility and configurability to optimize the network services and types.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Yemane Mesfin can be reached on (571)272-3927. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SAMINA F CHOUDHRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462