DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “dry air supply device” in claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 4033331 A1 to Ohtani et al. (Ohtani).
In reference to independent claim 1, Ohtani discloses:
An air purge mechanism (see Fig. 6 or 8), comprising:
a plurality of containers, each of which includes an interior space (see e.g. 401, 601, 616, 701 in Figs. 8-9) in which electrical connection parts are accommodated (motors 207, 210, 211, 268, 269, and 270 or motors 408, 431 and 447); and
a cable (323, 328, 333, 337, 338, and 339 or K2, K3, and K4) connecting the containers (see Figs. 6 or 8),
wherein one of the containers is provided with an air supply port (via connecting elements 321, 326, 331, and 342) through which compressed air (from compressor 362) is supplied to the interior space (see page 10 of the machine generated translation of Ohtani submitted on April 7, 2026, particularly the section “(2) How it Works”) of the one of the containers (via valves 358, 359, 360, and 361 and tubes 327, 332, 336, and 357, 353),
the cable includes a wire bundle (see Figs. 6, 8, 9, and 10) formed by bundling a group of wires connected to the electrical connection parts, and a sheath covering an exterior surface of the wire bundle (see Figs. 6, 8, and 9), and
the interior spaces of two of the containers are connected to each other via gaps between the wires inside the sheath (see Figs. 8 and 9, page 10 of the translation “(2) How it works”).
Ohtani is silent regarding the sheath extending into the interior space. However, such a configuration would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art based on the disclosure of Ohtani. For instance, Fig. 6 of Ohtani shows tubes (322, 327, 332, and 336), i.e. sheaths, housing the cables (323, 328, 333, 337, 338, and 339) connected to the motors (207, 210, 211, 268, 269, and 270). It is conceivable that the tubes would extend into the interiors of the motors in order to ensure a secure connection to the motors fastened by the connecting elements (321, 326, 331, and 342) for effective delivery of compressed air.
In reference to dependent claim 2, Ohtani further discloses: the containers are enclosed containers (see Figs. 1, 2, 5, and 8).
In reference to dependent claim 3, Ohtani further discloses: any of the containers not provided with the air supply port is provided with a pressure detection port or a pressure sensor for detecting a pressure inside (all of the motors of the robot of Ohtani are supplied with compressed air, see Fig. 6, and are thus provided with an air supply port).
In reference to dependent claim 4, Ohtani further discloses: a dry air supply device (363) connected to the air supply port (see Fig. 6).
In reference to claim 5, Ohtani further discloses:
A robot (201), comprising:
a base (202) fixed to an installation surface;
a movable part (203) provided so as to be movable relative to the base (in directions A and B, see Fig. 1); and
the air purge mechanism according to Claim l (see rejection above), wherein the one of the containers (207) provided with the air supply port (via connecting element 321, see Fig. 6) is fixed to the base (202) (see Fig. 1), and another of the containers (268, 269, and 270) not provided with the air supply port (via connecting element 342, i.e. that is not connecting element 321, see Fig. 6) is fixed to the movable part (203) (see Fig. 1).
In reference to independent claim 6, Ohtani discloses an air purge method performed by the air purge mechanism as recited in claim 1 (see rejection above).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6 have been considered but are moot in light of the new ground of rejection presented above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NGOC T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799