DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “dry air supply device” in claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DE 4033331 A1 to Ohtani et al. (Ohtani).
In reference to independent claim 1, Ohtani discloses:
An air purge mechanism (see Fig. 6 or 8), comprising:
a plurality of containers accommodating electrical connection parts (motors 207, 210, 211, 268, 269, and 270 or motors 408, 431 and 447); and
a cable (323, 328, 333, 337, 338, and 339 or K2, K3, and K4) connecting the containers (see Figs. 6 or 8),
wherein one of the containers is provided with an air supply port (via connecting elements 321, 326, 331, and 342) through which compressed air (from compressor 362) is supplied thereto (via valves 358, 359, 360, and 361 and tubes 327, 332, 336, and 357, 353),
the cable includes a wire bundle (see Figs. 6, 8, 9, and 10) formed by bundling a group of wires connected to the electrical connection parts, and a sheath covering an exterior surface of the wire bundle (see Figs. 6, 8, and 9), and
interior spaces of two of the containers are connected to each other via gaps between the wires inside the sheath (see Figs. 8 and 9, page 10 of the translation “(2) How it works”).
In reference to dependent claim 2, Ohtani further discloses: the containers are enclosed containers (see Figs. 1, 2, 5, and 8).
In reference to dependent claim 3, Ohtani further discloses: any of the containers not provided with the air supply port is provided with a pressure detection port or a pressure sensor for detecting a pressure inside (all of the motors of the robot of Ohtani is supplied with compressed air, see Fig. 6, and are thus provided with an air supply port).
In reference to dependent claim 4, Ohtani further discloses: a dry air supply device (363) connected to the air supply port (see Fig. 6).
In reference to claim 5, Ohtani further discloses:
A robot (201), comprising:
a base (202) fixed to an installation surface;
a movable part (203) provided so as to be movable relative to the base (in directions A and B, see Fig. 1); and
the air purge mechanism according to Claim l (see rejection above), wherein the one of the containers (207) provided with the air supply port (via connecting element 321, see Fig. 6) is fixed to the base (202) (see Fig. 1), and another of the containers (268, 269, and 270) not provided with the air supply port (via connecting element 342, i.e. that is not connecting element 321, see Fig. 6) is fixed to the movable part (203) (see Fig. 1).
In reference to independent claim 6, Ohtani discloses an air purge method performed by the air purge mechanism as recited in claim 1 (see rejection above).
Conclusion
/NGOC T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799