DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 10 and 12-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Laddu et al. (US 2022/0322310, Laddu hereafter).
RE claims 10 and 12, Laddu discloses a terminal and method for a terminal comprising: a receiver (Figure 6, transceivers. Paragraph 13: “FIG. 6 is a block diagram of a wireless station (e.g., AP, BS, gNB, TRP, network node, user device, UE, or other wireless node) according to an example embodiment.” )that receives reference signals associated with a second physical cell ID (PCI) that corresponds to a non-serving cell and is different from a first PCI corresponding to a serving cell (Paragraph 52 discloses a UE performs multi-TRP operation and beam failure detection and recovery with respect to each TRP “using respective sets of BFD-RS (q0-0 and q0-1) for serving-cell and non-serving cell determined based on the methods. As an example UE may determine to perform beam failure detection for first TRP that includes a serving cell, and a second TRP that includes at least one non-serving cell using the respective sets of BFD-RS (beam failure detection-reference signal) (e.g. q0-0 for first TRP and q0-1 for the second TRP).” Further, “As a further example when the UE has determined to perform (inter-cell) multi-DCI based multi-TRP operation as if CORESETPoolIndex values were configured (e.g., based on the groups of PCI or two or more distinct values of PCIs) as described herein, UE may determine the first BFD-RS to include the RS indicated by the active TCI States for the CORESETs determined to be associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0 and the second BFD-RS to include the RS indicated by the active TCI States for the CORESETs determined to be associated with CORESETPoolIndex=1”); and a processor (Figure 6, processor) that controls beam failure detection (BFD) using the reference signals (Per the citations above, the UE performs multi-TRP beam failure detection), wherein when two sets of reference signals are configured, the processor determines a TCI state of the reference signals associated with the second PCI only for a second set, and wherein reference signals in the second set are all associated with a same PCI (Paragraph 52, “As a further example when the UE has determined to perform (inter-cell) multi-DCI based multi-TRP operation as if CORESETPoolIndex values were configured (e.g., based on the groups of PCI or two or more distinct values of PCIs) as described herein, UE may determine the first BFD-RS to include the RS indicated by the active TCI States for the CORESETs determined to be associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0 and the second BFD-RS to include the RS indicated by the active TCI States for the CORESETs determined to be associated with CORESETPoolIndex=1”).
RE claim 13, Laddu discloses a base station comprising: a transmitter (Figure 6 transceivers. Paragraph 13: “FIG. 6 is a block diagram of a wireless station (e.g., AP, BS, gNB, TRP, network node, user device, UE, or other wireless node) according to an example embodiment.”) that transmits reference signals associated with a second physical cell ID (PCI) that corresponds to a non-serving cell and is different from a first PCI corresponding to a serving cell (Paragraph 52 discloses a UE performs multi-TRP operation and beam failure detection and recovery with respect to each TRP “using respective sets of BFD-RS (q0-0 and q0-1) for serving-cell and non-serving cell determined based on the methods. As an example UE may determine to perform beam failure detection for first TRP that includes a serving cell, and a second TRP that includes at least one non-serving cell using the respective sets of BFD-RS (beam failure detection-reference signal) (e.g. q0-0 for first TRP and q0-1 for the second TRP).” Further, “As a further example when the UE has determined to perform (inter-cell) multi-DCI based multi-TRP operation as if CORESETPoolIndex values were configured (e.g., based on the groups of PCI or two or more distinct values of PCIs) as described herein, UE may determine the first BFD-RS to include the RS indicated by the active TCI States for the CORESETs determined to be associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0 and the second BFD-RS to include the RS indicated by the active TCI States for the CORESETs determined to be associated with CORESETPoolIndex=1”); and a processor (Figure 6, processor) that controls beam failure detection (BFD) using the reference signals (Per the citations above, the UE performs multi-TRP beam failure detection based on the reference signals allocated and transmitted by each TRP), wherein when two sets of reference signals are configured, a TCI state of the reference signals associated with the second PCI is determined only for a second set, and wherein reference signals in the second set are all associated with a same PCI (Paragraph 52, “As a further example when the UE has determined to perform (inter-cell) multi-DCI based multi-TRP operation as if CORESETPoolIndex values were configured (e.g., based on the groups of PCI or two or more distinct values of PCIs) as described herein, UE may determine the first BFD-RS to include the RS indicated by the active TCI States for the CORESETs determined to be associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0 and the second BFD-RS to include the RS indicated by the active TCI States for the CORESETs determined to be associated with CORESETPoolIndex=1”).
RE claim 14, Laddu discloses a system comprising a terminal and a base station (Figures 1 and 6), wherein the base station comprises: a transmitter (Figure 6) that transmits reference signals associated with a second physical cell ID (PCI) that corresponds to a non-serving cell and is different from a first PCI corresponding to a serving cell (Paragraph 52 discloses a UE performs multi-TRP operation and beam failure detection and recovery with respect to each TRP “using respective sets of BFD-RS (q0-0 and q0-1) for serving-cell and non-serving cell determined based on the methods. As an example UE may determine to perform beam failure detection for first TRP that includes a serving cell, and a second TRP that includes at least one non-serving cell using the respective sets of BFD-RS (beam failure detection-reference signal) (e.g. q0-0 for first TRP and q0-1 for the second TRP).” Further, “As a further example when the UE has determined to perform (inter-cell) multi-DCI based multi-TRP operation as if CORESETPoolIndex values were configured (e.g., based on the groups of PCI or two or more distinct values of PCIs) as described herein, UE may determine the first BFD-RS to include the RS indicated by the active TCI States for the CORESETs determined to be associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0 and the second BFD-RS to include the RS indicated by the active TCI States for the CORESETs determined to be associated with CORESETPoolIndex=1”) and the terminal comprises: a receiver (Figure 6) that receives the reference signals; and a processor (Figure 6) that controls beam failure detection (BFD) using the reference signals (Per the citations above, the UE performs multi-TRP beam failure detection based on the reference signals allocated and transmitted by each TRP), wherein when two sets of reference signals are configured, the processor determines a TCI state of the reference signals associated with the second PCI only for a second set, and wherein reference signals in the second set are all associated with a same PCI (Paragraph 52, “As a further example when the UE has determined to perform (inter-cell) multi-DCI based multi-TRP operation as if CORESETPoolIndex values were configured (e.g., based on the groups of PCI or two or more distinct values of PCIs) as described herein, UE may determine the first BFD-RS to include the RS indicated by the active TCI States for the CORESETs determined to be associated with CORESETPoolIndex=0 and the second BFD-RS to include the RS indicated by the active TCI States for the CORESETs determined to be associated with CORESETPoolIndex=1”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/James P Duffy/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461