DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated Zhang et al. (CN 111901837, publication of CN application 202010093882.6, cited in IDS filed 01/23/2024. All prior art citations are based on the English equivalent US 2023/0078059 and referred to as Zhang hereafter).
RE claims 10 and 12, Zhang discloses a terminal and method for a terminal comprising: a receiver that receives reference signals associated with a second physical cell ID (PCI) that is different from a first PCI corresponding to a serving cell (Paragraph 56, 61 and 119-122, teaches a communication node receiving control signaling comprised of a plurality of “(PCI, second-type parameter) combinations. Each combination corresponds to one measurement reference signal resource set list); and a processor that controls beam failure detection (BFD) using the reference signals (Paragraph 45 discloses “The measurement reference signal includes one of the following … a measurement reference signal in a beam failure candidate reference signal resource set”, this is interpreted as disclosure that reference signal measurement for the purposes of beam failure detection is one function of the disclosure of Zhang), wherein when two sets of reference signals are configured, the processor determines a TCI state of the reference signals associated with the second PCI only for a second set (Paragraph 61: “The measurement reference signal resource in the CSI-ReportConfig includes at least one of the following: a channel measurement reference signal resource or an interference measurement reference signal resource. (PCI, second-type parameter) may be configured for the channel measurement reference signal resource and the interference measurement reference signal resource in the CSI-ReportConfig respectively so that the channel measurement signal and the interference measurement signal may correspond to different (PCI, second-type parameter)” and paragraph 122: “the primary PCI is a PCI corresponding to the first TCI state in the activated TCI states, where the activated TCI states include TCI states activated for a PDSCH in a BWP”).
RE claim 11, Zhang discloses the terminal according to claim 10 as set forth above. Note that Zhang further discloses wherein reference signals in the second set are all associated with a same PCI (Paragraph 56, 61 and 119-122, teaches a communication node receiving control signaling comprised of a plurality of “(PCI, second-type parameter) combinations. Each combination corresponds to one measurement reference signal resource set list).
RE claims 13, Zhang discloses base station comprising: a transmitter that transmits reference signals associated with a second physical cell ID (PCI) that is different from a first PCI corresponding to a serving cell (Paragraph 56, 61 and 119-122, teaches a communication node receiving control signaling comprised of a plurality of “(PCI, second-type parameter) combinations. Each combination corresponds to one measurement reference signal resource set list); and a processor that controls beam failure detection (BFD) using the reference signals (Paragraph 45 discloses “The measurement reference signal includes one of the following … a measurement reference signal in a beam failure candidate reference signal resource set”, this is interpreted as disclosure that reference signal measurement for the purposes of beam failure detection is one function of the disclosure of Zhang), wherein when two sets of reference signals are configured, a TCI state of the reference signals associated with the second PCI is determined only for a second set (Paragraph 61: “The measurement reference signal resource in the CSI-ReportConfig includes at least one of the following: a channel measurement reference signal resource or an interference measurement reference signal resource. (PCI, second-type parameter) may be configured for the channel measurement reference signal resource and the interference measurement reference signal resource in the CSI-ReportConfig respectively so that the channel measurement signal and the interference measurement signal may correspond to different (PCI, second-type parameter)” and paragraph 122: “the primary PCI is a PCI corresponding to the first TCI state in the activated TCI states, where the activated TCI states include TCI states activated for a PDSCH in a BWP”).
RE claim 14, Zhang discloses a system comprising a terminal and a base station, wherein the base station comprises: a transmitter that transmits reference signals associated with a second physical cell ID (PCI) that is different from a first PCI corresponding to a serving cell (Paragraph 56, 61 and 119-122, teaches a communication node receiving control signaling comprised of a plurality of “(PCI, second-type parameter) combinations. Each combination corresponds to one measurement reference signal resource set list), and the terminal comprises: a receiver that receives the reference signals; and a processor that controls beam failure detection (BFD) using the reference signals (Paragraph 45 discloses “The measurement reference signal includes one of the following … a measurement reference signal in a beam failure candidate reference signal resource set”, this is interpreted as disclosure that reference signal measurement for the purposes of beam failure detection is one function of the disclosure of Zhang. Figure 9 discloses the node comprised of at least a processor, memory and receiver), wherein when two sets of reference signals are configured, the processor determines a TCI state of the reference signals associated with the second PCI only for a second set (Paragraph 61: “The measurement reference signal resource in the CSI-ReportConfig includes at least one of the following: a channel measurement reference signal resource or an interference measurement reference signal resource. (PCI, second-type parameter) may be configured for the channel measurement reference signal resource and the interference measurement reference signal resource in the CSI-ReportConfig respectively so that the channel measurement signal and the interference measurement signal may correspond to different (PCI, second-type parameter)” and paragraph 122: “the primary PCI is a PCI corresponding to the first TCI state in the activated TCI states, where the activated TCI states include TCI states activated for a PDSCH in a BWP”)
Conclusion
/James P Duffy/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461