DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3 and 5-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 8 recites the broad recitation “a ventilated area which is not covered by the baseplate has at least a portion of 25 percent with respect to the area covered by the monitoring device and a maximum portion of 85 percent”, and the claim also recites “especially a portion between 40 and 75 percent” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Additionally, claim 21 recites the limitation " the adhesive layer" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 9, 11-16, 19 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tang et al. (US 20200029834 A1).
As to claim 1, Tang et al. discloses a retaining device (bottom portion of housing, depicted as 70 in Figure 4) for retaining a wearable monitoring device (optical system, depicted as 60 in Figure 4) for gathering a bio-electrical signal from a body region of a person (optical system 60 is part of the optical sensor 36 in Figure 4; [0061]) comprising a holding frame (depicted as 70 in Figure 4) having a baseplate (bottom portion which has cut-out portions 86 in Figure 4) and retaining means (snaps, depicted as 84 and 85 in Figure 4) for reversibly retaining the monitoring device onto the baseplate (snaps 84, 85 anchor the bottom portion of the housing 70 to the top portion of the housing 53 and thus retain the monitoring device 60 onto the baseplate; [0062]; Figure 3B), wherein an area covered by the baseplate is reduced (see cut-out portions, depicted as 86 in Figure 4) with respect to an area covered by the monitoring device (Figure 4) for ventilation of the skin during wearing the monitoring device (the cut-outs, depicted as 86 in Figure 4, create open spaces in the baseplate that would create portions capable of ventilating the skin during wearing of the monitoring device); wherein the holding frame has a number of apertures (cut-out portions, depicted as 86 in Figure 4) penetrating the baseplate (Figure 4); and wherein the baseplate comprises means for ventilation of at least some of the number of apertures (the baseplate, depicted as 70 in Figure 4, includes two cylindrical protrusions located on the upper side of the baseplate facing the monitoring device at the base of the snap depicted as 84 in Figure 4. The fiberglass circuit board, depicted as 80, would be situated on top of the cylindrical protrusions and thus be elevated from the baseplate. Such elevation would provide ventilation between the monitoring device and the apertures within the baseplate. Therefore, the examiner considers the protrusion on the baseplate to be the “means for ventilation” of at least some of the number of apertures), said means for ventilation located at an upper side of the baseplate (Figure 4), the upper side of the baseplate facing the monitoring device during intended use (Figure 4).
As to claim 3, the examiner considers the baseplate (depicted as 70 in Figure 4) to have a skeleton-like structure of interconnected bars outlining the number of apertures (Figure 4).
As to claim 5, in addition to the protrusions depicted in Figure 4, Tang et al. further depicts channels disposed on either side of the snap (snaps depicted as 84 and 85). The two channels, or grooves are formed into the upper side of the baseplate (Figure 4) and connect one of the number of apertures with a rim of the baseplate (Figure 4). Therefore, the examiner considers Tang et al. to disclose “means for ventilation comprise at least one ventilation channel embossed into the upper side of the baseplate and connecting one of the number of apertures with a rim of the baseplate” (Figure 4).
As to claim 6, as stated above, the examiner considers the two cylindrical protrusions to be the means for ventilation (see section # above). Therefore, Tang et al. discloses the means for ventilation comprise at least one protrusion (Figure 4) serving as a spacer between the surface of the upper side and the surface of the monitoring device being directed to the baseplate during intended use.
As to claim 7, Tang et al. discloses the baseplate has a beam-like structure connecting the retaining (Figure 4; snaps 84, 85 are located at the distal end of a beam-like structure as seen in Figure 4) means leaving a number of recesses open to a border defined by the area covered by the monitoring device (Figure 4).
As to claim 9, Tang et al. discloses the retaining means comprise a snap-on hook (see 84 and 85 in Figure 4).
As to claim 11, Tang et al. discloses the retaining means comprise an overhanging structure into the clearing of which the monitoring device is inserted during intended use (see 84 and 85 in Figure 4).
As to claim 12, Tang et al. discloses the overhanging structure is positioned in a region of the baseplate facing upwards during intended use (see 84 and 85 in Figure 4).
As to claim 13, Tang et al. discloses the snap-on hook (84, 85 in Figure 4) is provided at a rim confining a heel part of the baseplate being tapered with respect to a remaining main part of the baseplate (Figure 4).
As to claims 14-15, the Applicant discloses “According to a further expedient embodiment the retaining device additionally comprises means for preventing an unintended allocation of the monitoring device to the holding frame. In other words, there is a fool proof attaching mechanism with the retaining device. Said means for preventing an unintended allocation of the monitoring device preferably comprise the baseplate having a curvature. Especially, such curvature is a convex bulge of the baseplate towards the monitoring device. Preferably, such curvature is adapted to a curvature of the monitoring device. In that case, a wrong allocation of the monitoring device would prevent the snap-on hook and/or the overhanging structure from getting a hold on the monitoring device” ([0038-00039]). As such, since Tang et al discloses the baseplate having a curvature (Figure 4), especially the curvature being adapted to a curvature of the monitoring device (Figure 4), the examiner considers Tang et al. to disclose a “means for preventing an unintended allocation of the monitoring device to the holding frame” wherein the “means for preventing an unintended allocation of the monitoring device comprise the baseplate having a curvature, especially the curvature being adapted to a curvature of the monitoring device”.
As to claim 16, Tang et al. discloses the means for preventing an unintended allocation of the monitoring device comprise the snap-on hook having a length shorter than the thickness of the monitoring device and different to half of the thickness of the monitoring device (see Figure 4).
As to claim 19, Tang et al. discloses a wearable monitoring device for gathering a bio-electrical signal and a retaining device according to claim 1 (optical system 60 is part of the optical sensor 36 in Figure 4; [0061]).
As to claim 20, Tang et al. discloses two channels, one on each side of the snap(s) (depicted as 84 and 85 in Figure 4). The examiner considers each of the channels (disposed on the left and right side of each snap) to be considered the means for ventilation located in the upper side of the baseplate. Furthermore, each of the channels, depicted in Figure 4, has a bottom that is recessed relative to a surface of the baseplate (Figure 4) and configured to contact the monitoring device during intended use (Figure 3B and 4) and that extends from one of the number of apertures to a perimeter of the baseplate (Figure 4). As such, since Tang et al. discloses the channels as a means for ventilation, Tang et al. thus is capable providing “ventilation of the one of the number of apertures”.
As to claim 22, Tang et al. discloses a retaining device (bottom portion of housing, depicted as 70 in Figure 4) for retaining a wearable monitoring device (optical system, depicted as 60 in Figure 4) for gathering a bio-electrical signal from a body region of a person (optical system 60 is part of the optical sensor 36 in Figure 4; [0061]) comprising a holding frame (depicted as 70 in Figure 4) having a baseplate (bottom portion which has cut-out portions 86 in Figure 4) and retaining means (snaps, depicted as 84 and 85 in Figure 4) for reversibly retaining the monitoring device onto the baseplate (snaps 84, 85 anchor the bottom portion of the housing 70 to the top portion of the housing 53 and thus retain the monitoring device 60 onto the baseplate; [0062]; Figure 3B), wherein an area covered by the baseplate is reduced (see cut-out portions, depicted as 86 in Figure 4) with respect to an area covered by the monitoring device (Figure 4) for ventilation of the skin during wearing the monitoring device (the cut-outs, depicted as 86 in Figure 4, create open spaces in the baseplate that would create portions capable of ventilating the skin during wearing of the monitoring device); wherein the holding frame has a number of apertures (cut-out portions, depicted as 86 in Figure 4) penetrating the baseplate (Figure 4); and wherein the baseplate comprises channels (Tang et al. discloses two channels, one on each side of the snap(s) depicted as 84 and 85 in Figure 4) on an upper side of the baseplate facing the monitoring device during intended use (Figure 4), each of said channels recessed relative to a surface of the baseplate that is configured to contact the monitoring device during intended use (Figures 3B and 4), each of said channels extending from one of the number of apertures to a perimeter of the baseplate (Figure 4). As such, since Tang et al. discloses the channels as a means for ventilation, Tang et al. thus is capable providing “ventilation of the one of the number of apertures”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 10 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (US 20200029834 A1).
As to claim 8, Tang et al. discloses the invention substantially as claimed with a ventilated area (Figure 4) but does not explicitly discloses “the ventilated area which is not covered by the baseplate has at least a portion of 25 percent with respect to the area covered by the monitoring device and a maximum portion of 85 percent, especially a portion between 40 and 75 percent”. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the ventilated area to between 40 and 75 percent since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (see MPEP 2144.05). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the percentage of ventilated area to optimize the ventilation to enhance patient comfort and improve device performance.
As to claim 10, Tang et al. discloses the device substantially as claimed with a retaining means to retain the device, but does not explicitly disclose the retaining means comprise a holding magnet. Magnets and magnetic closures and connections are extremely well known in mechanical and medical device arts (Tang et al., [0008]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the retaining means, the snap of Tang et al., with a magnet for a magnetic connection in order to provide the predictable results of ensuring there is sufficient engagement and alignment between the components without the possibility of mechanical fatigue or fracture from the snap mechanism.
As to claim 17, Tang et al. discloses the employment of adhesives for engagement of the device to the patient ([0053, 0062, 0090]) but does not explicitly disclose the retaining device includes an adhesive layer attached to at least a part of the baseplate. As taught by Tang et al., implementing adhesives and adhesive layers on medical devices that engage with the human tissue is well known in the medical device art. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the location of the adhesive layer to the be attached to the baseplate in order to provide the predictable results of ensuring sufficient connection and engagement with the patient. Furthermore, it has been held that that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (see MPEP 2144.04).
As to claim 18, the modified Tang et al., as applied to claim 17 above, would thus have an adhesive layer attached to the baseplate with a number of through-holes corresponding to a respective one of the number of apertures in the baseplate in order to enable the cut out portions (depicted as 86 in Figure 4) to pass optical radiation ([0062]) and maintain the function of Tang et al. while ensuring sufficient adhesive connection with the patient.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALYSSA M ALTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796