DETAILED ACTION
I. This office action is in response to the correspondence filed on January 23, 2024. Claims 1-20 are pending and are being examined.
II. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Priority
III. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). An English translation of the foreign priority document 202110882120.9 is required because the international application was not in English and not published in English.
Allowable Subject Matter
IV. Claims 2, 12, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but may be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 8 and 18 contain allowable subject matter based on their dependency on claims 2 and 12 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
V. Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 9-11, 13, 15, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over James (WO 2018/055437 A1) in view of Yuan (US 8,805,322 B2) and Moon (US 2021/0250430 A1).
Regarding claim 1 James teaches method, applied to a first electronic device, wherein a first subscriber identity module (SIM) card is disposed in the first electronic device (see page 5, lines 30-32 and Fig. 1, A main user equipment 102 comprising a first identification module 103, such as a SIM. This reads on a first electronic device, wherein a first subscriber identity module (SIM) card is disposed in the first electronic device), the first SIM card is associated with a first phone number (see page 2, lines 20-23, A telephone number that is also associated to a subscriber identity module of a main user equipment. This reads on the first SIM card is associated with a first phone number), and a second SIM card associated with the first phone number, and the second SIM card is disposed in a second electronic device (see page 7, lines 11-13 & 21-24; page 10, lines 11-28; and Fig. 1, An alternative user equipment 104 includes a second identification module called SIM-a which is similar to the first identification module 103, and has associated the same mobile telephone number as that of SIM 103. This reads on a second SIM card associated with the first phone number, and the second SIM card is disposed in a second electronic device).
James does not teach a traffic statistics collection method, applied to a first electronic device, and the traffic statistics collection method comprises: displaying a second interface, wherein mobile traffic information corresponding to the second SIM card is displayed in the second interface.
Yuan teaches a traffic statistics collection method, applied to a first electronic device, and the traffic statistics collection method comprises: displaying a second interface, wherein mobile traffic information corresponding to the second SIM card is displayed in the second interface (see col. 1, lines 15-18 & 58-61; col. 4, lines 40-50 & 55-60, Internet traffic of each of a SIM card 1 and SIM card 2 can be measured and displayed respectively so that the user can view a current Internet-surfing condition of each SIM 1 and SIM 2. This reads on a traffic statistics collection method, applied to a first electronic device, and the traffic statistics collection method comprises: displaying a second interface, wherein mobile traffic information corresponding to the second SIM card is displayed in the second interface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make James adapt to include a traffic statistics collection method, applied to a first electronic device, and the traffic statistics collection method comprises: displaying a second interface, wherein mobile traffic information corresponding to the second SIM card is displayed in the second interface because it would allow for an efficient and user friendly mechanism for querying and managing data usage on multiple SIM cards (see col. 1, lines 43-51).
James and Yuan do not teach wherein a first control is displayed in the first interface, the first control corresponds to a second SIM card; detecting a selection operation performed on the first control; and displaying a second interface.
Moon teaches displaying the first interface, wherein a first control is displayed in the first interface, the first control corresponds to a second SIM card (see paragraph [0206] and Fig. 8B & 8D, The screen 820a including SIM-related information may include a tab 822 corresponding to the second SIM. This reads on displaying the first interface, wherein a first control is displayed in the first interface, the first control corresponds to a second SIM card); detecting a selection (input) operation performed on the first control; and displaying a second interface (see paragraph [0242] and Fig. 8B & 8D, The electronic device 101 may display a screen including all of a tab corresponding to the first SIM 531 (SIM 1), a tab corresponding to the second SIM 541 (SIM 2), and a tab corresponding to the eSIM 550 (eSIM 1). On the basis of an input on the screen, the electronic device 101 may determine a SIM which is to be enabled among the second SIM 541 (SIM 2) and the eSIM 550 (eSIM 1). The electronic device 101 may control the switch 560 such that the SIM that is determined to be to be enabled is connected to at least one processor. This reads on detecting a selection (input) operation performed on the first control; and displaying a second interface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the James and Yuan combination adapt to include a first control is displayed in the first interface, the first control corresponds to a second SIM card; detecting a selection operation performed on the first control; and displaying a second interface because it would allow for an effective and well-known mechanism for efficient user control of multiple subscriber identity modules (SIMs).
Regarding claim 3 Yuan teaches displaying, in the second interface, mobile traffic information of each application in the second electronic device, wherein mobile traffic information of an application is used to record mobile traffic consumed by the application by using the second SIM card (see col. 4, lines 40-48 & 55-59, The Internet traffic of each SIM card can be measured and displayed respectively, for example Internet surfing time is displayed or the amount of used data resources is displayed to the user. This reads on displaying, in the second interface, mobile traffic information of each application in the second electronic device, wherein mobile traffic information of an application is used to record mobile traffic consumed by the application by using the second SIM card).
Regarding claim 5 Yuan teaches before the displaying a second interface, the traffic statistics collection method further comprises: obtaining the mobile traffic information corresponding to the second SIM card; and the displaying a second interface comprises: displaying the second interface based on the mobile traffic information corresponding to the second SIM card (see col. 3, lines 57-62 and col. 4, lines 4-8 & 40-47, A unique identity of the SIM card is extracted from each SIM card to create a SIM card account. The traffic measuring module measures the Internet traffic of each SIM card account respectively, and the traffic displaying module displays the Internet traffic of each SIM cared account respectively. This reads on before the displaying a second interface, the traffic statistics collection method further comprises: obtaining the mobile traffic information corresponding to the second SIM card; and the displaying a second interface comprises: displaying the second interface based on the mobile traffic information corresponding to the second SIM card).
Regarding claim 7 Yuan teaches wherein the obtaining the mobile traffic information corresponding to the second SIM card comprises: obtaining, from a first server, the mobile traffic information corresponding to the second SIM card, wherein the mobile traffic information corresponding to the second SIM card is transmitted by the second electronic device to the first server; or obtaining, from the second electronic device, the mobile traffic information corresponding to the second SIM card (see col. 3, lines 57-62 and col. 4, lines 4-8 & 40-59, A unique identity of the SIM card is extracted from each SIM card to create a SIM card account. The traffic measuring module measures the Internet traffic of each SIM card account respectively, and the traffic displaying module displays the Internet traffic of each SIM cared account respectively. The internet traffic may be measured and displayed for Sim 1 and SIM 2 so that the user can view a current Internet-surfing condition of SIM 2. This reads on obtaining, from the second electronic device, the mobile traffic information corresponding to the second SIM card).
Regarding claim 9 Moon teaches wherein the second SIM card is an eSIM card (see paragraph [0007] and Fig. 8B, An electronic device may include multiple slots and one or more eSIMs. The electronic device may switch connection to the eSIM or connection to another SIM. The second SIM may be eSIM 1 (see Fig. 8B). This reads on wherein the second SIM card is an eSIM card).
Regarding claim 10 James teaches an electronic device (see page 5, lines 30-32 and Fig. 1, A main user equipment 102 comprising a first identification module 103, such as a SIM. This reads on an electronic device), a second subscriber identity module (SIM) card associated with a first phone number, and the second SIM card is disposed in a second electronic device (see page 7, lines 11-13 & 21-24; page 10, lines 11-28; and Fig. 1, An alternative user equipment 104 includes a second identification module called SIM-a which is similar to the first identification module 103, and has associated the same mobile telephone number as that of SIM 103. This reads on a second subscriber identity module (SIM) card associated with a first phone number, and the second SIM card is disposed in a second electronic device), and wherein a first SIM card is disposed in the electronic device (see page 5, lines 30-32 and Fig. 1, A main user equipment 102 comprising a first identification module 103, such as a SIM. This reads on wherein a first SIM card is disposed in the electronic device), and the first SIM card is associated with the first phone number (see page 2, lines 20-23, A telephone number that is also associated to a subscriber identity module of a main user equipment. This reads on the first SIM card is associated with the first phone number).
James does not teach wherein mobile traffic information corresponding to the second SIM card is displayed in the second interface.
Yuan teaches wherein mobile traffic information corresponding to the second SIM card is displayed in the second interface (see col. 1, lines 15-18 & 58-61; col. 4, lines 40-50 & 55-60, Internet traffic of each of a SIM card 1 and SIM card 2 can be measured and displayed respectively so that the user can view a current Internet-surfing condition of each SIM 1 and SIM 2. This reads on wherein mobile traffic information corresponding to the second SIM card is displayed in the second interface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make James adapt to include wherein mobile traffic information corresponding to the second SIM card is displayed in the second interface because it would allow for an efficient and user friendly mechanism for querying and managing data usage on multiple SIM cards (see col. 1, lines 43-51).
James and Yuan do not teach the electronic device, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to perform operations comprising: displaying a first interface, wherein a first control is displayed in the first interface, the first control corresponds to a second subscriber identity module (SIM) card; detecting a selection operation performed on the first control; and displaying a second interface.
Moon teaches the electronic device, comprising: at least one processor (120, Fig. 1A); and at least one memory (130, Fig. 1A) coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions (software (e.g., the program 140) for execution by the at least one processor to perform operations (see paragraphs [0086] – [0087] & [0089] and Fig. 1A, processor, memory, program of Fig. 1A reads on the electronic device, comprising: at least one processor and at least one memory coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to perform operations) and comprising: displaying a first interface, wherein a first control is displayed in the first interface, the first control corresponds to a second subscriber identity module (SIM) card (see paragraph [0206] and Fig. 8B & 8D, The screen 820a including SIM-related information may include a tab 822 corresponding to the second SIM. This reads on displaying a first interface, wherein a first control is displayed in the first interface, the first control corresponds to a second subscriber identity module); detecting a selection (input) operation performed on the first control; and displaying a second interface (see paragraph [0242] and Fig. 8B & 8D, The electronic device 101 may display a screen including all of a tab corresponding to the first SIM 531 (SIM 1), a tab corresponding to the second SIM 541 (SIM 2), and a tab corresponding to the eSIM 550 (eSIM 1). On the basis of an input on the screen, the electronic device 101 may determine a SIM which is to be enabled among the second SIM 541 (SIM 2) and the eSIM 550 (eSIM 1). The electronic device 101 may control the switch 560 such that the SIM that is determined to be to be enabled is connected to at least one processor. This reads on detecting a selection (input) operation performed on the first control; and displaying a second interface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the electronic device in the James and Yuan combination adapt to include at least one processor; and at least one memory coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to perform operations comprising: displaying a first interface, wherein a first control is displayed in the first interface, the first control corresponds to a second subscriber identity module (SIM) card; detecting a selection operation performed on the first control; and displaying a second interface because it would allow for an effective and well-known mechanism for efficient user control of multiple subscriber identity modules (SIMs).
Regarding claim 11 James teaches a second subscriber identity module (SIM) card associated with a first phone number, and the second SIM card is disposed in a second electronic device (see page 7, lines 11-13 & 21-24; page 10, lines 11-28; and Fig. 1, An alternative user equipment 104 includes a second identification module called SIM-a which is similar to the first identification module 103, and has associated the same mobile telephone number as that of SIM 103. This reads on a second subscriber identity module (SIM) card associated with a first phone number, and the second SIM card is disposed in a second electronic device), and wherein a first SIM card is disposed in the electronic device (see page 5, lines 30-32 and Fig. 1, A main user equipment 102 comprising a first identification module 103, such as a SIM. This reads on wherein a first SIM card is disposed in the electronic device), and the first SIM card is associated with the first phone number (see page 2, lines 20-23, A telephone number that is also associated to a subscriber identity module of a main user equipment. This reads on the first SIM card is associated with the first phone number).
James does not teach wherein mobile traffic information corresponding to the second SIM card is displayed in the second interface.
Yuan teaches wherein mobile traffic information corresponding to the second SIM card is displayed in the second interface (see col. 1, lines 15-18 & 58-61; col. 4, lines 40-50 & 55-60, Internet traffic of each of a SIM card 1 and SIM card 2 can be measured and displayed respectively so that the user can view a current Internet-surfing condition of each SIM 1 and SIM 2. This reads on wherein mobile traffic information corresponding to the second SIM card is displayed in the second interface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make James adapt to include wherein mobile traffic information corresponding to the second SIM card is displayed in the second interface because it would allow for an efficient and user friendly mechanism for querying and managing data usage on multiple SIM cards (see col. 1, lines 43-51).
James and Yuan do not a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium stores programming instructions for execution by at least one processor to perform operations comprising: displaying a first interface, wherein a first control is displayed in the first interface, the first control corresponds to a second subscriber identity module (SIM) card; detecting a selection operation performed on the first control; and displaying a second interface.
Moon teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium stores programming instructions (software (e.g., the program 140) for execution by at least one processor (120, Fig. 1A) to perform operations (see paragraphs [0086] – [0087] & [0089] and Fig. 1A, processor, program of Fig. 1A reads on a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium stores programming instructions (software (e.g., the program 140) for execution by at least one processor) and comprising: displaying a first interface, wherein a first control is displayed in the first interface, the first control corresponds to a second subscriber identity module (SIM) card (see paragraph [0206] and Fig. 8B & 8D, The screen 820a including SIM-related information may include a tab 822 corresponding to the second SIM. This reads on displaying a first interface, wherein a first control is displayed in the first interface, the first control corresponds to a second subscriber identity module); detecting a selection (input) operation performed on the first control; and displaying a second interface (see paragraph [0242] and Fig. 8B & 8D, The electronic device 101 may display a screen including all of a tab corresponding to the first SIM 531 (SIM 1), a tab corresponding to the second SIM 541 (SIM 2), and a tab corresponding to the eSIM 550 (eSIM 1). On the basis of an input on the screen, the electronic device 101 may determine a SIM which is to be enabled among the second SIM 541 (SIM 2) and the eSIM 550 (eSIM 1). The electronic device 101 may control the switch 560 such that the SIM that is determined to be to be enabled is connected to at least one processor. This reads on detecting a selection (input) operation performed on the first control; and displaying a second interface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the James and Yuan combination adapt to include a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium stores programming instructions for execution by at least one processor to perform operations comprising: displaying a first interface, wherein a first control is displayed in the first interface, the first control corresponds to a second subscriber identity module (SIM) card; detecting a selection operation performed on the first control; and displaying a second interface because it would allow for an effective and well-known mechanism for efficient user control of multiple subscriber identity modules (SIMs).
Regarding claim 13 James, Yuan, and Moon teach limitations as recited in claim 3 and therefore claim 13 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 15 James, Yuan, and Moon teach limitations as recited in claim 5 and therefore claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 17 James, Yuan, and Moon teach limitations as recited in claim 7 and therefore claim 17 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 19 James, Yuan, and Moon teach limitations as recited in claim 9 and therefore claim 19 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
VI. Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over James (WO 2018/055437 A1) in view of Yuan (US 8,805,322 B2), Moon (US 2021/0250430 A1), and Zhu et al. (US 2021/0200494 A1).
Regarding claim 4 James, Yuan, and Moon teach the traffic statistics collection method according to claim 1 except for before the displaying a first interface obtaining a card identifier of the second SIM card; and the displaying a first interface comprises: displaying the first interface based on the card identifier of the second SIM card, wherein the first control corresponds to the card identifier of the second SIM card.
Zhu teaches before the displaying a first interface obtaining a card identifier of the second SIM card; and the displaying a first interface comprises: displaying the first interface based on the card identifier of the second SIM card, wherein the first control (I/O functions) corresponds to the card identifier of the second SIM card (see paragraph [0095] and Fig. 1, The corresponding assignment 122 can include an identifier 124 of second SIM 190b linked to identifiers of multiple display surfaces. When second SIM 190b is the active SIM, I/O functions of an active GUI displayed on auxiliary display surface 358b are associated with second SIM 190b, the corresponding active SIM. When second SIM 190b is the active SIM, I/O functions of an active GUI displayed on primary display surface 357 are associated with second SIM 190b, the corresponding active SIM. This reads on before the displaying a first interface obtaining a card identifier of the second SIM card; and the displaying a first interface comprises: displaying the first interface based on the card identifier of the second SIM card, wherein the first control corresponds to the card identifier of the second SIM card).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the James, Yuan, and Moon combination adapt to include before the displaying a first interface obtaining a card identifier of the second SIM card; and the displaying a first interface comprises: displaying the first interface based on the card identifier of the second SIM card, wherein the first control corresponds to the card identifier of the second SIM card because it would allow for an efficient mechanism for displaying multiple subscriber identity modules (SIMs) on an appropriate display screen (see Zhu, paragraph [0002]).
Regarding claim 14 James, Yuan, Moon, and Zhu teach limitations as recited in claim 4 and therefore claim 14 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
VII. Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over James (WO 2018/055437 A1) in view of Yuan (US 8,805,322 B2), Moon (US 2021/0250430 A1), Zhu et al. (US 2021/0200494 A1), and Shen (US 2022/0386119 A1).
Regarding claim 6 James, Yuan, Moon, and Zhu teach the traffic statistics collection method according to claim 4 except for wherein the obtaining a card identifier of the second SIM card comprises: obtaining the card identifier of the second SIM card from a first server, wherein the card identifier of the second SIM card is transmitted by the second electronic device to the first server; obtaining the card identifier of the second SIM card from the second electronic device; obtaining the card identifier of the second SIM card from a first application, wherein the first application is an application for activating a service that associates the second SIM card with the first phone number; or obtaining, from a target interface, information entered by a user, to obtain the card identifier of the second SIM card.
Shen teaches obtaining the card identifier of the second SIM card from the second electronic device (see paragraphs [0030] – [0032] & [0040] and Fig. 1, In response to a first device's requirement for obtaining cellular mobile communication, share request information is sent to a second device through an interactive channel that is established between the first device and the second device. SIM card information that is returned by the second device based on the share request information is received. The SIM card information may include an integrated circuit card identity (ICCID) of the SIM card of the second device. This reads on obtaining the card identifier of the second SIM card from the second electronic device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the James, Yuan, Moon, and Zhu combination adapt to include wherein the obtaining a card identifier of the second SIM card comprises: obtaining the card identifier of the second SIM card from a first server, wherein the card identifier of the second SIM card is transmitted by the second electronic device to the first server; obtaining the card identifier of the second SIM card from the second electronic device; obtaining the card identifier of the second SIM card from a first application, wherein the first application is an application for activating a service that associates the second SIM card with the first phone number; or obtaining, from a target interface, information entered by a user, to obtain the card identifier of the second SIM card because it would allow for an efficient mechanism for tracking traffic of a SIM on another device.
Regarding claim 16 James, Yuan, Moon, Zhu, and Shen teach limitations as recited in claim 6 and therefore claim 16 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Conclusion
VIII. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim Pub. No.: US 2012/0064945 A1 discloses mobile terminal and method of operating the same, and identify module card including displaying a first interface, wherein a first control is displayed in the first interface, detecting a selection operation performed on the first control; and displaying a second interface (see abstract and Fig. 9 & Fig. 10).
/BRANDON J MILLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647
April 8, 2026