DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/JP2021/027612 filed on 7/26/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on 1/23/2024, 5/6/2025 and 7/15/2025. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 7 recites “control section” (line 2) and “transmission section” (line 4).
Regarding the limitations, “control section” (line 2) and “transmission section” (line 4) in claim 7, it appears that the following are corresponding structures described in the specification: see, device 605 shown in Fig. 11; paragraphs [0188-0198].
Claim Objections
Claims 7-11 are objected because of the following informalities:
In claims 7 and 9, it is suggested to amend to read “… the control information in the cell to a base station, wherein the semi-static control information cell switching is disabled when any secondary cell (SCell) is deactivated.” (in lines 2-3 of claim 7 and in lines 4-5 of claim 7) for clarity.
In claim 10, it is suggested to amend to read “…, and transmits the control information in the cell to the base station; …” (in lines 3-4) and “…, wherein the semi-static control information cell switching is disabled when any secondary cell (SCell) is deactivated.” (in line 6) for clarity.
In claims 8 and 10, it is suggested to amend to read “…, and the semi-static control information cell switching is disabled when the switching pattern is not set.” (in line 3) for clarity.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 8 and 10:
The term “an upper layer” in claims 8 and 10 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “upper layer” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The specification does not provide a clear or objective standard for determining what constitutes “upper layer”. Without a precise definition or specific criteria set forth in the specification, it becomes difficult for a person of ordinary skill in the art to understand the intended meaning or the boundaries of the term. Consequently, the claims fail to convey a clear and definite scope, leaving the term “upper layer” open to subjective interpretation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chien (US 2024/0381366 A1, hereinafter Chien), claiming benefit to and fully-supported by US provisional applications 63/168,278 filed on Mar. 31, 2021, in view of Xu et al. (US 2017/0290015 A1, hereinafter Xu).
Regarding claim 7:
Chein teaches a terminal (see, Chien: Fig. 3, UE 10) comprising:
a control section (see, Chien: Fig. 1, UE 10a and 10b, Processor 11a and 11b, support is found in Fig. 6 of 63/168,278.) that performs semi-static control information cell switching based on a switching pattern of a cell (see, Chien: para. [0238], “Case 5: HARQ-ACK for dynamic scheduled or semi-static scheduled PDSCH, wherein the PUCCH cell/carrier switching is configured to be based on a semi-static PUCCH cell/carrier switching pattern.”, supports are found in pages 1, 2, 12, and 18 of 63/168,278.) for transmitting control information (e.g., PUCCH) (see, Chien: Fig. 3 and para. [0078], “The UE 10 determines to transmit the PUCCH 114a on a determined cell/carrier at the slot/sub-slot location n based on one or more conditions in the PUCCH-related configuration information 111, wherein the determined cell/carrier comprises a first type cell/carrier or at least one second type cell/carrier (S6).”, support is found in page 17 of 63/168,278.); and
a transmission section (see, Chien: Fig. 1, UE 10a and 10b, Transceiver 13a and 13b, support is found in Fig. 6 of 63/168,278) that transmits the control information (e.g., PUCCH) in the cell (see, Chien: Fig. 3 and para. [0079], “The UE 10 transmits the PUCCH 114a on the determined cell/carrier at the slot/sub-slot location n (S7). The gNB 20 receives the PUCCH 114a (S8).”, support is found in page 17 of 63/168,278.).
Chien does not explicitly teach wherein the control information cell switching is disabled when any SCell is deactivated.
In the same field of endeavor, Xu teaches wherein the control information cell switching is disabled when any SCell is deactivated (see, Xu: para. [0135], “Optionally the set of cells for serving the UE which only supports transmission over a single carrier in the uplink includes two cells, i.e., a PCell and an SCell, in both of which there are uplink transmission resources and downlink transmission resources configured, and the UE is capable of switching the uplink transmission primary carrier; if the uplink transmission carrier of the SCell is selected as the uplink transmission primary carrier, then there may be a radio link failure of the UE over the SCell; if the UE detects the radio link failure over the SCell, then the UE will select automatically the uplink transmission carrier of the PCell as the uplink transmission primary carrier, and transmit a D-SR or a CBRA; the UE transmits a radio link failure indicator in a PCell uplink grant (UL grant) allocated by the base station for the UE; and the base station configures the UE to release the uplink transmission resource of the SCell, or reconfigures the UE with an uplink transmission resource of the SCell.”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Chien in combination of the teachings of Xu in order for the terminal (i.e., UE) to select the PCell as the uplink transmission primary carrier if the terminal detects RLF over the SCell or the SCell is released (see, Xu: para. [0135]).
Regarding claim 8:
As discussed above, Chien in view of Xu teaches all limitations in claim 7.
Chien further teaches wherein the switching pattern is notified by an upper layer parameter (para. [0164], “The gNB provides one of the row indexes by via RRC configuration or DCI to indicate which PUCCH cell/carrier switching pattern should be applied for following slots/sub-slots scheduled for PUCCH transmission.”, support is found in page 12 of 63/168,278.), and the control information cell switching is disabled when the switching pattern is not set (see, Chien: para. [0105], “the UE can be configured to activate/deactivate PUCCH cell/carrier switching based on one or more of UE capability and an indication from the gNB, which are detailed in the following.”; para. [0108], “Activate/deactivate PUCCH cell/carrier switching based on an indication from the gNB:”; para. [0109], “The gNB can indicate to the UE whether PUCCH cell/carrier switching is activated or not using a new or existing indication via an RRC signal, medium access control (MAC) signal, or DCI.”, supports are found in pages 8 and 9 of 63/168,278.).
Regarding claim 9:
Claim 9 recites a wireless communication method performed by the terminal of claim 7, and contains no additional limitations. Therefore, claim 9 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 7 above.
Regarding claim 10:
Claim 10 is directed towards a wireless communication method according to claim 9 that is further limited to perform the features of claim 8. Therefore, claim 10 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 8 above.
Regarding claim 11:
Claim 11 is directed towards a system (see, Chien: Fig. 3, support is found in Fig. 6 of 63/168,278) including a terminal (see, Chien: Fig. 3, UE 10, support is found in Fig. 6 of 63/168,278) and a base station (see, Chien: Fig. 3, gNB 20, support is found in Fig. 6 of 63/168,278), wherein: the terminal performs the features of claim 7; and the base station performs the features of claim 7 from the perspective of the base station. Therefore, claim 11 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 7 above.
Conclusion
/JI-HAE YEA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471