DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Pursuant to communications filed on 23 January 2024, this is a First Action Non-Final Rejection on the Merits. Claims 1-16 are currently pending in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 23 January 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakayama (EP 3,168,122 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nakayama teaches a method to adaptively control a vehicle inverter system that is operable to power a vehicle powertrain, wherein the vehicle powertrain comprises a plurality of operating modes (Figure 7; at least as in paragraph 0073, wherein “the CPU 51 receives mode information indicating an operating mode which has been designated from among plural operating modes”); the method comprising:
adaptively controlling the AC power output of the vehicle inverter system to vary the AC power output of the vehicle inverter system for the vehicle powertrain according to each operating mode of the vehicle powertrain (Figure 7; at least as in paragraph 0073, wherein “the CPU 51 receives mode information indicating an operating mode which has been designated from among plural operating modes, and based on this mode information, outputs a control signal to the inverter circuit 52 for controlling the electric motor 6” and further at least as in paragraph 0074, wherein “To the inverter circuit 52, the power lines from the battery unit 20 are connected. The inverter circuit 52 converts the DC electric power from the battery 22 into AC power. Based on the control signal received from the CPU 51, the inverter circuit 52 adjusts the amount of current to be flowed in the electric motor 6.”).
Regarding claim 2, Nakayama further teaches wherein adaptively controlling the vehicle inverter system comprises:
adaptively controlling the AC power output of the vehicle inverter system using a pre-defined control strategy associated with each operating mode of the vehicle powertrain (Figures 10 & 11; at least as in paragraphs 0099-0102, wherein “the CPU 51 extracts mode information from the communication data, and sets an N-T map which is in accordance with the mode information”).
Regarding claim 3, Nakayama further teaches wherein the vehicle powertrain has a predetermined optimum torque for each operating mode of the vehicle powertrain; and wherein adaptively controlling the AC power output comprises:
adaptively controlling the AC power output of the vehicle inverter system by the pre-defined control strategy such that the vehicle powertrain operates with the predetermined optimum torque according to each operating mode of the vehicle powertrain (Figures 10 & 11; at least as in paragraphs 0099-0102, wherein “FIG. 11 is a diagram showing exemplary N-T maps a, b and c corresponding to plural operating modes, each showing a relationship between the number of revolutions N and the torque T. The N-T map a corresponds to the beginner mode; the N-T map b corresponds to the normal mode; and the N-T map c corresponds to the power mode. As will be understood from FIG. 11, even if the electric motor 6 may be rotating at the same number of revolutions, the output torque of the electric motor 6 differs under different operating modes. The upper limits of the output torque and the number of revolutions increase in ascending order from the beginner mode, the normal mode, to the power mode”).
Regarding claim 4, Nakayama teaches a method to adaptively control a vehicle inverter system that is operable to power a vehicle powertrain, wherein the vehicle powertrain comprises a plurality of operating modes (Figure 7; at least as in paragraph 0073, wherein “the CPU 51 receives mode information indicating an operating mode which has been designated from among plural operating modes”); the method comprising:
identifying a real-time operating mode of the vehicle powertrain, wherein the real-time operating mode is one of the plurality of operating modes of the vehicle powertrain (Figures 7 & 8; at least as in paragraph 0073, wherein “the CPU 51 receives mode information indicating an operating mode which has been designated from among plural operating modes, and based on this mode information, outputs a control signal to the inverter circuit 52 for controlling the electric motor 6” and further at least as in paragraphs 0077-0079, specifically at least as in paragraph 0079 wherein “At step S11, the CPU 41 senses pressing of the indicator switch 24a. At step S12, the CPU 41 determines an operating mode which is in accordance with the amount of time of pressing. At step S13, the CPU 41 stores mode information identifying the operating mode to the memory 43.”); and
adaptively controlling the AC power output of the vehicle inverter system for the vehicle powertrain according to the real-time operating mode of the vehicle powertrain (Figure 7; at least as in paragraph 0073, wherein “the CPU 51 receives mode information indicating an operating mode which has been designated from among plural operating modes, and based on this mode information, outputs a control signal to the inverter circuit 52 for controlling the electric motor 6” and further at least as in paragraph 0074, wherein “To the inverter circuit 52, the power lines from the battery unit 20 are connected. The inverter circuit 52 converts the DC electric power from the battery 22 into AC power. Based on the control signal received from the CPU 51, the inverter circuit 52 adjusts the amount of current to be flowed in the electric motor 6.”).
Regarding claim 5, Nakayama further teaches wherein adaptively controlling the vehicle inverter system comprises:
adaptively controlling the AC power output of vehicle inverter system using a pre-defined control strategy associated with the real-time operating mode of the vehicle powertrain (Figures 10 & 11; at least as in paragraphs 0099-0102, wherein “the CPU 51 extracts mode information from the communication data, and sets an N-T map which is in accordance with the mode information”).
Regarding claim 6, Nakayama further teaches wherein the vehicle powertrain has a predetermined optimum torque for each of operating mode of the vehicle powertrain, and wherein adaptively controlling the AC power output comprises:
adaptively controlling the AC power output of the vehicle inverter system by the pre- defined control strategy such that the vehicle powertrain operates with the predetermined optimum torque according to each operating mode of the vehicle powertrain (Figures 10 & 11; at least as in paragraphs 0099-0102, wherein “FIG. 11 is a diagram showing exemplary N-T maps a, b and c corresponding to plural operating modes, each showing a relationship between the number of revolutions N and the torque T. The N-T map a corresponds to the beginner mode; the N-T map b corresponds to the normal mode; and the N-T map c corresponds to the power mode. As will be understood from FIG. 11, even if the electric motor 6 may be rotating at the same number of revolutions, the output torque of the electric motor 6 differs under different operating modes. The upper limits of the output torque and the number of revolutions increase in ascending order from the beginner mode, the normal mode, to the power mode”).
Regarding claim 7, Nakayama further teaches wherein identifying the real time operating mode comprises:
monitoring real time power data of the vehicle inverter system as the vehicle powertrain operates in the real-time operating mode (Figures 6-8 & 10-11; at least as in paragraphs 0066-0069, 0073-0079 and 0099-0102); and
determining the real time operating mode of the vehicle powertrain by comparatively analyzing the real time power data of the vehicle inverter system with respect to a classifying model (Figures 6-8 & 10-11; at least as in paragraphs 0066-0069, 0073-0079 and 0099-0102).
Regarding claim 8, Nakayama further teaches wherein monitoring the real time power data of the vehicle inverter system comprises:
monitoring real-time DC input power data of the vehicle inverter system (Figures 6-8 & 10-11; at least as in paragraphs 0066-0069, 0073-0079 and 0099-0102); and
monitoring real-time AC output power data in each phase of the vehicle inverter system (Figures 6-8 & 10-11; at least as in paragraphs 0066-0069, 0073-0079 and 0099-0102).
Regarding claim 9, Nakayama further teaches wherein monitoring real-time DC input power data comprises monitoring real-time DC input current and DC input voltage (Figures 6-8 & 10-11; at least as in paragraphs 0066-0069, 0073-0079 and 0099-0102); and
wherein monitoring real-time AD output power data comprises monitoring real-time AC output current and AC output voltage, at each phase (Figures 6-8 & 10-11; at least as in paragraphs 0066-0069, 0073-0079 and 0099-0102).
Regarding claim 10, Nakayama teaches a system to adaptively control a vehicle inverter system that is operable to power a vehicle powertrain, wherein the vehicle powertrain has a plurality of operating modes (Figure 7; at least as in paragraph 0073, wherein “the CPU 51 receives mode information indicating an operating mode which has been designated from among plural operating modes”), the system comprising:
a controller (Figure 7, CPU 51) configured to use a pre-defined control strategy associated with each operating mode to adaptively control the AC power output of the vehicle inverter system for the vehicle powertrain according to each operating mode of the vehicle powertrain (Figure 7; at least as in paragraph 0073, wherein “the CPU 51 receives mode information indicating an operating mode which has been designated from among plural operating modes, and based on this mode information, outputs a control signal to the inverter circuit 52 for controlling the electric motor 6” and further at least as in paragraph 0074, wherein “To the inverter circuit 52, the power lines from the battery unit 20 are connected. The inverter circuit 52 converts the DC electric power from the battery 22 into AC power. Based on the control signal received from the CPU 51, the inverter circuit 52 adjusts the amount of current to be flowed in the electric motor 6.”).
Regarding claim 11, Nakayama teaches a system to adaptively control a vehicle inverter system that is operable to power a vehicle powertrain, wherein the vehicle powertrain has a plurality of operating modes (Figure 7; at least as in paragraph 0073, wherein “the CPU 51 receives mode information indicating an operating mode which has been designated from among plural operating modes”), the system comprising:
a controller (Figure 7, CPU 51) comprising a pre-defined vehicle inverter system control strategy for each of the operating modes of the vehicle powertrain (Figures 10 & 11; at least as in paragraphs 0099-0102, wherein “the CPU 51 extracts mode information from the communication data, and sets an N-T map which is in accordance with the mode information”), and wherein the controller is configured to:
identify a real-time operating mode of the vehicle powertrain, wherein the real-time operating mode is one of the plurality of operating modes of the plurality of operating modes (Figures 7 & 8; at least as in paragraph 0073, wherein “the CPU 51 receives mode information indicating an operating mode which has been designated from among plural operating modes, and based on this mode information, outputs a control signal to the inverter circuit 52 for controlling the electric motor 6” and further at least as in paragraphs 0077-0079, specifically at least as in paragraph 0079 wherein “At step S11, the CPU 41 senses pressing of the indicator switch 24a. At step S12, the CPU 41 determines an operating mode which is in accordance with the amount of time of pressing. At step S13, the CPU 41 stores mode information identifying the operating mode to the memory 43.”);
adaptively control the AC power output of the vehicle inverter system for the vehicle powertrain using the pre-defined control strategy associated with the real-time operating mode of the vehicle powertrain (Figure 7; at least as in paragraph 0073, wherein “the CPU 51 receives mode information indicating an operating mode which has been designated from among plural operating modes, and based on this mode information, outputs a control signal to the inverter circuit 52 for controlling the electric motor 6” and further at least as in paragraph 0074, wherein “To the inverter circuit 52, the power lines from the battery unit 20 are connected. The inverter circuit 52 converts the DC electric power from the battery 22 into AC power. Based on the control signal received from the CPU 51, the inverter circuit 52 adjusts the amount of current to be flowed in the electric motor 6.”).
Regarding claim 12, Nakayama further teaches wherein the vehicle powertrain has an optimum predetermined torque according to each operating mode of the vehicle powertrain, and wherein the controller is configured to:
adaptively control the AC power output of the vehicle inverter system using the pre-defined control strategy associated with the with real-time operating mode of the vehicle powertrain such that the vehicle powertrain operates with the predetermined torque according to the real-time operating mode of the vehicle powertrain (Figures 10 & 11; at least as in paragraphs 0099-0102, wherein “FIG. 11 is a diagram showing exemplary N-T maps a, b and c corresponding to plural operating modes, each showing a relationship between the number of revolutions N and the torque T. The N-T map a corresponds to the beginner mode; the N-T map b corresponds to the normal mode; and the N-T map c corresponds to the power mode. As will be understood from FIG. 11, even if the electric motor 6 may be rotating at the same number of revolutions, the output torque of the electric motor 6 differs under different operating modes. The upper limits of the output torque and the number of revolutions increase in ascending order from the beginner mode, the normal mode, to the power mode”).
Regarding claim 13, Nakayama teaches the system further comprising:
a monitor configured to gather real-time power data of the vehicle inverter system as the vehicle powertrain operates in the real-time operating mode (Figures 6-8 & 10-11; at least as in paragraphs 0066-0069, 0073-0079 and 0099-0102);
a classifying model configured to model power data of the vehicle inverter system in relation to the plurality of operating modes of the vehicle powertrain (Figures 6-8 & 10-11; at least as in paragraphs 0066-0069, 0073-0079 and 0099-0102);
wherein the controller is configured to comparatively analyze the gathered real-time power date of the vehicle inverter system with respect to the classifying model to identify the real-time operating mode of the vehicle powertrain (Figures 6-8 & 10-11; at least as in paragraphs 0066-0069, 0073-0079 and 0099-0102).
Regarding claim 14, Nakayama further teaches wherein the monitor is configured to monitor real-time DC input power data and real-time AC output power data in each phase of the vehicle inverter system (Figures 6-8 & 10-11; at least as in paragraphs 0066-0069, 0073-0079 and 0099-0102).
Regarding claim 15, Nakayama further teaches wherein real-time DC input power data comprises real-time DC input current and DC input voltage; and wherein the real-time AD output power data comprises real-time AC output current and AC output voltage, at each phase (Figures 6-8 & 10-11; at least as in paragraphs 0066-0069, 0073-0079 and 0099-0102).
Regarding claim 16, Nakayama further teaches wherein the classifying model comprises a predetermined classifying model and/or a real-time classifying model (Figures 6-8 & 10-11; at least as in paragraphs 0066-0069, 0073-0079 and 0099-0102).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892 – Notice of References Cited form. Examiner additionally notes the following prior art references, in the same field of endeavor as the instant invention, and also appears to read on some of the currently provided claim limitations above;
US 2016/0052505 A1, issued to Zhou, which is directed towards a vehicle propulsion system having an energy storage system and optimized method of controlling operation of said system(s).
US 2020/0161997 A1, issued to Saitoh et al, which is directed towards a vehicle powertrain system including an electric motor for driving a vehicle, an electric generator for generating an electric power of an ICE and a battery connected in parallel to each of the electric motor and the electric generator via respective inverters.
/JONATHAN L SAMPLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657