DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after May 19, 2022, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Preliminary Amendment
Receipt of the preliminary amendment filed 01/23/2024 is acknowledged. This amendment cancelled claims 2-5, 13-14, 16-17 and 27-29. The examiner notes that claims 1, 6-12, 15, 18-26 and 30 have been amended. The Applicant is advised to remove the text content of cancelled claims.
Claim Interpretation
Such claim limitation(s) are:
In Claim 22, lines 1-2 recite the limitation: “means for locking the mechanism” (A- “means” is a placeholder term; B- “locking” is the function, and C- no structure is recited to perform the function of engaging; thus, there is no structural element that constitutes locking mechanism. Considering the details outlined in the specification (page 4, line 6), the limitation “means for locking the mechanism” is understood to be (e.g., clamp mechanism or locking connection), or equivalent.
In claim 1, line 6: the phrase “pseudo-rigid structure” is understood to be not inherently rigid (like a rope or cable or telescopic tube) because the geometry and preload create stiffness.
In claim 7, line 2: the phrase “hitch location is real” is understood to be a real connection which is not perfectly rigid or perfectly free, removes the slack and stiffens the geometry rather than a virtual point defined by linkage geometry.”
In claim 8, lines 2-3, the limitation “forms a virtual hitch point” is understood to be “a mathematically derived effective hitch location or forms a virtual hitch point defined by the intersection of the tensioned members.”
Claim Objections
Claims 15 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 15, line 1, the phrase “comprising a plurality of actuators in which actuators deploy in sequence or actuators deploy simultaneously” should read “comprising a plurality of actuators in which the actuators deploy in sequence, or the actuators deploy simultaneously.”
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore,
In claim 22, line 2: “locking the mechanism” is not shown in the figures 1-22.
In claim 30, line 1, “a mine clearance system” is not shown in figures 1 to 22. The features must be shown, or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 22 recites the limitation “means for locking the mechanism” in lines 1-2. The limitation “means for locking the mechanism” fails to disclose any corresponding structure, material or acts for performing the claimed locking function [specification page: 4, line 6 does not specify any such a structure]. The claim recites a place holder “means” element without identifying, describing, or illustrating any locking component, latch, detent, pin, catch, or equivalent mechanism in the written description. As a result, a person of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to recognize what structure performs the locking function, and the claim therefore lacks adequate written description and enablement under § 112(a).
Claims 2, 7-8 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2, recites the limitation “locking the mechanism” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7, line 2 recites the limitation: “the hitch location is real”. The terms “real” is not a recognized mechanical term of art, is not defined in the specification, and does not convey with reasonable certainty whether the hitch location refers to a physical pivot, a non-virtual boundary condition, or some other characteristic. It does not show structural boundaries for the scope of the claim. As a result, a person of ordinary skill in the art cannot determine the metes and bound of the claim with the required clarity. Accordingly, claim 7 does not particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter as the invention. Therefore, scope of the claim cannot be determined with reasonably certainty; and claim 7 is rejected under 35 USC §112(b). For the sake of compact prosecution: the phrase “hitch location is real” is understood to be “a real connection which is not perfectly rigid or perfectly free, removes the slack and stiffens the geometry rather than a virtual point defined by linkage geometry,” (also see claim interpretation above).
Claim 8 recites the limitation “forms a virtual hitch point” in lines 2-3. The phrase “virtual hitch point” does not provide clear structural boundaries for the scope of the claim. It is unclear whether it is a part of a hitch location that forms a virtual hitch point which again lacks structural clarity. Or an explanation that the virtual hitch point is the “apex of the tensioned triangular structure.” What specific linkage is being referenced? Or kinematic instantaneous center on rotation, or a geometric projection point, or a mathematically derived effective hitch location that forms a virtual hitch point defined by the intersection of the tensioned members? Accordingly, claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §112(b) as being indefinite. In the sake of compact prosecution, the phrase “forms a virtual hitch point” is understood to be “a mathematically derived effective hitch location or forms a virtual hitch point defined by the intersection of the tensioned members.”
In claim 22, lines 1-2, the limitation “means for locking the mechanism” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Any claim not specifically addressed under 112(b) is rejected as being dependent on a claim rejected under 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6-12, 18-20, 22-24, 26 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) being anticipated by Doering Manuel (DE102012002700 A1; hereinafter, “Manuel”).
Regarding claim 1, Manuel discloses: a vehicle (“trailer”; ‘Title’)-to-implement hitch (tipping device”, figs. 1-2; [0001]) comprising a force transfer (“absorb the forces that occur”; [0005]) hitch connector (“tipping device”; [0005]) adapted to provide a hitch point (“pivot point”- 8, 9; [claim 1]) to which an implement can be connected, (“attached”; [claim 1]) wherein the hitch is movable between a stowed configuration (“stowed on the trailer”; [claim 10]) and a deployed configuration (via extendable connecting rod or telescoping connecting rod; [0005 and claim 5])and is deployable from a vehicle in use (“trailer”; [0005]), wherein the connector (tipping device) is couplable (figs. 1-2) to the vehicle (trailer) by two or more flexible tensioning members (cable 3; para. 0006 teaches that alternatively, a pulling device, such as a cable winch, can optionally be mounted on the trailer, via which the connecting rod ( 1 ) can be pulled together; note that: Since, there are two drawbars (3) as depicted in figs 1 and 2; so does two flexible tensioning members exist, such as cable) which are relaxed in the stowed configuration fig. 2 configuration) and taut in the deployed position (fig. 1 shows deployed position) and which, or can be moved so as to be, taut whereby to create a pseudo-rigid structure (fig. 1 shows pseudo-rigid structure, see claim interpretation above) in the deployed configuration (as depicted in fig. 1) comprising a hitch location (at hitch location bearing points 10; [0005]) such that the hitch point (9, fig. 1) is movable, whereby the pseudo-rigid structure (as shown in fig. 1) provides for a controlled over-load reaction (“absorbs the force”; [0005]) from which the structure can recover without damage (“potential damage”; [0004, line 1-5]; also para. 0005 teaches that the flexible member (cable 3) of the trailer creates a tipping angle (α) which can also be varied by pushing the connecting rod (1) further in or pulling it out. Corresponding stable bearing points (8), (9), (10) absorb the forces (controlled over-load reaction) that occur; thus, the pseudo-rigid structure provides for a controlled over-load reaction from which the structure can recover without damage.])
Regarding claim 6, Manuel further teaches that the hitch (“tipping device”, figs. 1-2; [0001]) in which the connector is a boom (“telescoping connecting rod”; claim 5).
Regarding claim 7, Manuel further teaches that the hitch in which the hitch location (10) is real (as depicted in fig. 1, the hitch location 10 is real; see claim interpretation above).
Regarding claim 8, Manuel further teaches that the hitch in which the hitch location (10) is a pivot point (fig. 1) that is part of a linkage (“variable triangle formed”; [claim 5]) that forms a virtual hitch point (8, 9, fig. 1 and [0005]).
Regarding claim 9, Manuel further teaches that the hitch in which the connector (“tipping device” with connections; [0005]) is in advance of the hitch location (10; [ see 8 and 9 which are positioned in advance of the hitch location]).
Regarding claim 10, Manuel further teaches that the hitch in which the connector is part of the hitch point [ as depicted in fig. 1, connector as constituted by cable 3 is a part of hitch points 8 and 9.]
Regarding claim 11, Manuel further teaches that the hitch further comprising one or more actuators (connecting rod 1, fig. 1) for moving the hitch from the stowed to the deployed configuration (figs. 1 and 2; and [para. 0005 teaches that another support rod (2) together with
the actuator (1) and the original drawbar (3) of the trailer creates a tipping angle (α) which can also be varied by pushing the connecting rod (1) further in or pulling it out; note that “further in or pulling it out” is designed for moving the hitch from the stowed to the deployed configuration.])
Regarding claim 12, Manuel further teaches that the hitch in which the or each actuator (1) is pre-charged and stored energised and/or in which the or each actuator (1) is connected or connectable to an external power source [ claim 5 teaches that the hitch connector according to claim 5, characterized in that the towing device on the trailer can be a winch, a rack and pinion drive, a hydraulic, an electromechanical towing device (note that energized and connectable to power source), or any other suitable towing device, optionally with deflection; note that the phrase “electromechanical optionally with deflection” is understood to be a device which is pre-charged and stored energised and/or connectable to an external power source.]
Regarding claim 18, depending on claim 1, Manuel further teaches that the hitch in which in the deployed position (fig. 1) tensioning members (cable 3) assume a triangular configuration (fig. 1 shows triangular position) with the hitch point (9) formed at an apex thereof (fig. 1 shows 9 is forming the apex thereof).
Regarding claim 19, depending on claim 1, Manuel further teaches that the hitch in which at least one of the two or more tensioning members (cable 3) is a cable (“cable”; [0006]), rope, strap, cord, or chain.
Regarding claim 20, depending on claim 1, Manuel further teaches that the hitch in which the tensioning member (3) is a wire rope (“cable”; [para. 0006; note that cable is considered to be a wire rope type of tensioning member.])
Regarding claim 22, depending on claim 1, Manuel further teaches that the hitch further comprising means for locking the mechanism (“clamp mechanism”; [0007]; see § 112(f) interpretation above), or parts of the mechanism, into the stowed position [ para. 0007 teaches that for very high support loads, a support wheel can optionally be used, which can be attached near the coupling head (5) to the connecting rod (1) by means of a clamp connection (equivalent to locking mechanism); thus, the hitch further comprising means for locking the mechanism, or parts of the mechanism, into the stowed position.]
Regarding claim 23, depending on claim 1, Manuel further teaches that the hitch comprising consisting of two or three tautable tensioning members (left and right cable 3 as depicted in fig. 1 and [para. 0006 teaches that alternatively, a pulling device, such as a cable winch, can optionally be mounted on the trailer, via which the connecting rod (1) can be pulled together; note that: Since, there are two drawbars (3) as depicted in figs 1 and 2; so, does two flexible tensioning members exist.])
Regarding claim 24, depending on claim 1, Manuel further teaches that the hitch formed as a 2D mechanism (see fig. 1 where hitch formed as a 2D mechanism.)
Regarding claim 26, Manuel teaches that a hitch mechanism (“tipping mechanism”; [0001]) comprising a deployable structure (figs. 1 and 2) which is deployed from a compact (fig. 2), stowed configuration (fig. 2 configuration) using actuators (connecting rod 1) and flexible members (cable 3) which becomes rigid ( via “positive locking connection”; [0005]) when tensioned (fig. 2) and create a hitch location (10) in which the resulting structure (figs. 1-2) is able to collapse if hits an obstacle and then re-form after passing the obstacle [para. 0002 discloses: “the tipping process is initiated here by pushing back the towing vehicle. Excessive, uncontrolled reversing can cause the trailer to bottom out at the rear and damage the lamp holder. Furthermore, if the trailer wheels are blocked, it is essential to always reverse in a perfectly straight line, otherwise lateral forces will occur which can damage the entire device due to the long lever arms, or even damage the original coupling socket on the trailer, as these are generally very sensitive to lateral forces; thus, the resulting structure is able to collapse if hits an obstacle and then re-form after passing the obstacle via actuator 1.]
Regarding claim 30, Manuel further teaches that a mine clearance system (“a support wheel”; [0007]) comprising a vehicle-to-implement and a surface clearance implement connected to the vehicle via the hitch [ para. 0007 teaches that for very high support loads, a support wheel (equivalent to mine clearance system) can optionally be used, which can be attached near the coupling head (5) to the connecting rod (1) by means of a clamp connection; thus, the hitch further comprising means for locking the mechanism, or parts of the mechanism, into the stowed position.]
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15, 21 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manuel in view of Reece (US 8185989 B2).
Regarding claim 15, Manuel teaches the actuator, such as telescopic connecting rod or boom, but fails to teach a plurality of actuators in which actuators deploy in sequence or actuators deploy simultaneously; however,
Reece in another bridge transporting vehicle incorporating such apparatus similar to Manuel teaches that a plurality of actuators (“cylinder actuators” 28, 30, 34; col 4, lines 40-55) in which actuators deploy in sequence or actuators deploy simultaneously [see figs. 5 and page 1 where an excess length of the cable is positioned and controlled to ensure they pack neatly.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system to include a plurality of actuators as taught by Reece into the invention of Manuel for deploying the similar mechanism as cited in the claimed invention, or to duplicate the use of single actuator used by Manuel with the intent of the mechanism is to increase force, improve reliability, or provide balanced deployment and deploy safely. Using more than one actuator to perform the same known function is a predictable variation yielding no unexpected results and is a routine optimization well within the skill of the ordinary practitioner.
Regarding claim 21, depending on claim 19, Manuel does not appear to explicitly teach that the hitch in which excess length of the cable, rope, strap, cord, or chain or the like is controlled to ensure they pack neatly; however,
Reece teaches the hitch (“deploying apparatus”; ‘Title’) in which excess length of the cable “tension-only actuators”; col. 6, lines 15-20), rope, strap, cord, or chain or the like is controlled to ensure they pack neatly [see fig. 5 where the cable or the like is controlled to ensure they pack neatly and Col 6, lines 15-20 discloses: “ it would be possible to control the rotation of the bridge 1 using pressure in only the annular side the cylinder actuators 28, 30 or by using tension-only actuators (such as a cable and winch).”]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system to include the tensioning flexible cable or the like, such that it is controlled to ensure they pack neatly as taught by Reece into the invention of Manuel for deploying the similar mechanism as cited in the claimed invention, to incorporate length-management features to prevent entanglement, ensure reliability deployment, and maintain orderly stowage, and doing so would have involved only a routine optimization well within the skill of the ordinary practitioner.
Regarding claim 25, depending on claim 1, Manuel does not appear to explicitly teach that the hitch formed as a 3D mechanism; however,
Reece teaches the hitch (“deploying apparatus”; ‘Title’) formed as a 3D mechanism [as depicted in fig. 5, the hitch, or the deploying apparatus is formed in 3D mechanism; also see annotated fig. 5 of Reece below.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system to include the tensioning flexible cable or the like, such that the hitch is formed in 3D mechanism as taught by Reece into the invention of Manuel for deploying the similar mechanism as cited in the claimed invention. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have motivated to implement a three-dimensional configuration to improve stability, load distribution, and such modification would have required only ordinary engineering judgment without producing any unexpected results.
Annotated fig. 5 of Reece
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CA 2813395 A1 to Wu Weimin discloses: 3-sectioned or more hydraulic extendable boom and reinforcing cable.
DE 4021884 C1 to Hans Gerd discloses: the swivel limiter connects to the hitch point bottom rod. It employs a bar supported on the tractor and freely coupled by pin and slotted link to the bottom rod between two parallel planes to the sides of the rod.
/NABIN KUMAR SHARMA/Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/VIVEK D KOPPIKAR/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3612
April 28, 2026