DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: The instant claim is directed to an apparatus, however, it appears that the subsequent limitations are directed to steps of a method. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
RE Claim 6, the instant claim recites “when receiving a sector sweep (SSW) frame in the groupcast frame…”. However, in parent claim 1, the groupcast frame is transmitted, not received. It is unclear how the SSW frame is received in the groupcast frame when the claimed groupcast frame is transmitted, not received.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashemi (US# 2020/0229067) in view of Zhang et al. (US# 2022/0394671 hereinafter referred to as Zhang) and Salonidis et al. (US# 2012/0202432 hereinafter referred to as Salonidis).
RE Claim 1, Hashemi discloses a communication apparatus (See Hashemi FIG 11; Summary), comprising:
MAC control circuitry (See Hashemi [0116, [0151]), which, in operation, controls a procedure of discovering a plurality of communication partner apparatuses (See Hashemi [0131]-[0133] – STA discovers neighboring STAs) and a procedure of determining a plurality of transmission best sectors in which respective radio communication qualities with the plurality of communication partner apparatuses are best (See Hashemi [0016], [0080], [0148] – STA performs sector sweeping (SSW) to find best sector to communicate with neighboring STAs); and
radio circuitry, which, in operation, transmits a unicast frame to each of the plurality of communication partner apparatuses using a corresponding one of the plurality of transmission best sectors (See Hashemi Summary; [0018], [0274] – communicates with each neighboring STA respectively and transmits frame to neighboring STA using discovered best sector).
Hashemi does not specifically disclose
the MAC control circuitry
starts a timer for each of the discovered plurality of communication partner apparatuses after the procedure of determining the plurality of transmission best sectors is completed, or
controls, when receiving a request for transmitting a groupcast frame from a higher layer, the radio circuitry to transmit the groupcast frame using a different antenna pattern for each of at least one of the plurality of communication partner apparatuses for which the timer is active.
However, Zhang teaches of
starting a timer for each of the discovered plurality of communication partner apparatuses after the procedure of determining the plurality of transmission best sectors is completed (See Zhang [0131], [0147] – starting a timer for expecting responses from neighboring UE); and
using a different antenna pattern for each of at least one of the plurality of communication partner apparatuses for which the timer is active (See Zhang [0131], [0147] – determining the best beam pattern per neighbor UE; starting a timer for expecting responses from neighboring UE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the best sector transmission system, as disclosed in Hashemi, comprising starting a timer for each of the discovered plurality of communication partner apparatuses after the procedure of determining the plurality of transmission best sectors is completed, and using a different antenna pattern for each of at least one of the plurality of communication partner apparatuses for which the timer is active, as taught in Zhang. One is motivated as such in order to save power while still providing proper notifications (See Zhang Background; Summary).
Hashemi, modified by Zhang, does not specifically disclose
controlling, when receiving a request for transmitting a groupcast frame from a higher layer, the radio circuitry to transmit the groupcast frame using a different antenna pattern for each of at least one of the plurality of communication partner apparatuses.
However, Salonidis teaches of controlling, when receiving a request for transmitting a groupcast frame from a higher layer (See Salonidis [0133] – all devices send/receive broadcast request from other neighboring devices; can also be construed as the broadcast request response received ([0017]-[0018]) as the broadcast request response is part of the broadcast request process used to adjust the antenna pattern for subsequent broadcast), the radio circuitry to transmit the groupcast frame using a different antenna pattern (See Salonidis [0030] – broadcast using new antenna pattern) for each of at least one of the plurality of communication partner apparatuses (See Salonidis [0013]-[0022], [0033] – device performing broadcast to neighboring devices based on result of broadcast request/response indicating change to antenna pattern).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the best sector transmission system, as disclosed in Hashemi, modified by Zhang, comprising controlling, when receiving a request for transmitting a groupcast frame from a higher layer, the radio circuitry to transmit the groupcast frame using a different antenna pattern for each of at least one of the plurality of communication partner apparatuses, as taught in Salonidis. One is motivated as such in order to mitigate interference, increase capacity, and optimize network topology (See Salonidis Summary).
RE Claim 2, Hashemi, modified by Zhang and Salonidis, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein the MAC control circuitry generates information on at least one of the plurality of communication partner apparatuses for which the started timer has expired (See Zhang [0147] – when timer expires, if no response has been received, performing error handling; Error handling may be implemented in different ways. In one example, the UE and base station may revert to a method like in FIG. 6 in which the UE can find the strongest beam in the beam sweeping pattern associated with a SS burst and then obtain a notification message on the beam of that pattern, e.g. FIG. 6 modified such that the notification indication 358 is transmitted in the PDCCH in FIG. 6 and the notification message 360 is transmitted in the PDSCH in FIG. 6. In some embodiments, error handling may involve increasing the number and/or power strength of beams (e.g. UE-specific beams), and/or implementing some known and conservative beam patterns (e.g., SSB patterns) to send the notification message or notification indication to the UE, where either unicast or group-cast may be used).
RE Claim 3, Hashemi, modified by Zhang and Salonidis, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein the MAC control circuitry generates, in a case of non-operation in which the procedure of discovering the plurality of communication partner apparatuses does not operate, no information on the non-operation (See Hashemi [0133], [0178] – tables and neighbor information are generated based on the neighboring device discovery process returning results; if discovery process fails to return results (e.g. no neighbor devices) or if discovery process does not run (e.g. failure, device is not operating), no information is generated on the “non-operation” (i.e. table information is not generated)).
RE Claim 4, Hashemi, modified by Zhang and Salonidis, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein the MAC control circuitry performs the procedure of discovering the plurality of communication partner apparatuses while omitting an association procedure or before the association procedure (See Hashemi [0016], [0080], [0131]-[0133], [0148] – STA performs discovery process of neighboring devices before an “association” procedure (i.e. determining best sector (sweeping) and “associating” the best sector with the neighboring device/s for communication)).
RE Claim 10, Hashemi discloses a communication apparatus (See Hashemi FIG 11; Summary), comprising:
Executing a procedure of discovering a plurality of communication partner apparatuses (See Hashemi [0131]-[0133] – STA discovers neighboring STAs);
executing a procedure of determining a plurality of transmission best sectors in which respective radio communication qualities with the plurality of communication partner apparatuses are best (See Hashemi [0016], [0080], [0148] – STA performs sector sweeping (SSW) to find best sector to communicate with neighboring STAs);
transmitting a unicast frame to each of the plurality of communication partner apparatuses using a corresponding one of the plurality of transmission best sectors (See Hashemi Summary; [0018], [0274] – communicates with each neighboring STA respectively and transmits frame to neighboring STA using discovered best sector).
Hashemi does not specifically disclose
starting a timer for each of the discovered plurality of communication partner apparatuses after the procedure of determining the plurality of transmission best sectors is completed, or
transmitting, when receiving a request for transmitting a groupcast frame from a higher layer, the groupcast frame using a different antenna pattern for each of at least one of the plurality of communication partner apparatuses for which the timer is active.
However, Zhang teaches of
starting a timer for each of the discovered plurality of communication partner apparatuses after the procedure of determining the plurality of transmission best sectors is completed (See Zhang [0131], [0147] – starting a timer for expecting responses from neighboring UE); and
using a different antenna pattern for each of at least one of the plurality of communication partner apparatuses for which the timer is active (See Zhang [0131], [0147] – determining the best beam pattern per neighbor UE; starting a timer for expecting responses from neighboring UE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the best sector transmission system, as disclosed in Hashemi, comprising starting a timer for each of the discovered plurality of communication partner apparatuses after the procedure of determining the plurality of transmission best sectors is completed, and using a different antenna pattern for each of at least one of the plurality of communication partner apparatuses for which the timer is active as taught in Zhang. One is motivated as such in order to save power while still providing proper notifications (See Zhang Background; Summary).
Hashemi, modified by Zhang, does not specifically disclose
transmitting, when receiving a request for transmitting a groupcast frame from a higher layer, the groupcast frame using a different antenna pattern for each of at least one of the plurality of communication partner apparatuses.
However, Salonidis teaches of transmitting, when receiving a request for transmitting a groupcast frame from a higher layer (See Salonidis [0133] – all devices send/receive broadcast request from other neighboring devices; can also be construed as the broadcast request response received ([0017]-[0018]) as the broadcast request response is part of the broadcast request process used to adjust the antenna pattern for subsequent broadcast), the groupcast frame using a different antenna pattern (See Salonidis [0030] – broadcast using new antenna pattern) for each of at least one of the plurality of communication partner apparatuses (See Salonidis [0013]-[0022], [0033] – device performing broadcast to neighboring devices based on result of broadcast request/response indicating change to antenna pattern).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the best sector transmission system, as disclosed in Hashemi, modified by Zhang, comprising transmitting, when receiving a request for transmitting a groupcast frame from a higher layer, the groupcast frame using a different antenna pattern for each of at least one of the plurality of communication partner apparatuses, as taught in Salonidis. One is motivated as such in order to mitigate interference, increase capacity, and optimize network topology (See Salonidis Summary).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashemi (US# 2020/0229067) in view of Zhang et al. (US# 2022/0394671 hereinafter referred to as Zhang), Salonidis et al. (US# 2012/0202432 hereinafter referred to as Salonidis), and Grandhi et al. (US# 2006/0050742 hereinafter referred to as Grandhi).
RE Claim 5, Hashemi, modified by Zhang and Salonidis, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 1 above. Hashemi, modified by Zhang and Salonidis, does not specifically disclose wherein the MAC control circuitry restarts, when receiving an Ack frame from at least one of the plurality of communication partner apparatuses, the timer for the at least one of the plurality of communication partner apparatuses that has transmitted the Ack frame.
However, Grandhi teaches of wherein the MAC control circuitry restarts, when receiving an Ack frame from at least one of the plurality of communication partner apparatuses, the timer for the at least one of the plurality of communication partner apparatuses that has transmitted the Ack frame (See Grandhi [0201] – receiving ACK restarts inactivity timer; inactivity timer related to the device that the ACK is received from).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the best sector transmission system, as disclosed in Hashemi, modified by Zhang and Salonidis, wherein the MAC control circuitry restarts, when receiving an Ack frame from at least one of the plurality of communication partner apparatuses, the timer for the at least one of the plurality of communication partner apparatuses that has transmitted the Ack frame, as taught in Grandhi. One is motivated as such in order to enhance device transfer of data and support relay operation to extend service area coverage and rates (See Grandhi Summary).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashemi (US# 2020/0229067) in view of Zhang et al. (US# 2022/0394671 hereinafter referred to as Zhang), Salonidis et al. (US# 2012/0202432 hereinafter referred to as Salonidis), Bareket et al. (US# 2020/0228176 hereinafter referred to as Bareket), and Takahashi et al. (US# 2016/0277976 hereinafter referred to as Takahashi).
RE Claim 7, Hashemi, modified by Zhang and Salonidis, discloses an apparatus, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein when the communication apparatus operates out of the context of a basic service set - BSS (OCB) (See Hashemi [0087]), the MAC control circuitry executes sector level sweep for at least one of the plurality of communication partner apparatuses (See Hashemi [0016], [0080], [0148] – STA performs sector sweeping (SSW) to find best sector to communicate with neighboring STAs).
Hashemi, modified by Zhang and Salonidis, does not specifically disclose wherein when the MAC control circuitry executes sector level sweep for at least one of the plurality of communication partner apparatuses for which the timer has expired, and notifies the higher layer when the sector level sweep does not succeed.
However, Bareket teaches of executing sector level sweep for at least one of the plurality of communication partner apparatuses for which the timer has expired (See Bareket [0072] – performing sector sweep after expiration of BF timer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the best sector transmission system, as disclosed in Hashemi, modified by Zhang and Salonidis, wherein when the MAC control circuitry executes sector level sweep for at least one of the plurality of communication partner apparatuses for which the timer has expired, and notifies the higher layer when the sector level sweep does not succeed, as taught in Bareket. One is motivated as such in order to improve quality and utilize the best transmit/receive beams (See Bareket Background; Summary).
Hashemi, modified by Zhang, Salonidis, and Bareket, does not specifically disclose notifying the higher layer when the sector level sweep does not succeed.
However, Takahashi teaches of notifying the higher layer when the sector level sweep does not succeed (See Takahashi [0044], [0056], [0136]-[0137] – when SLS fails, perform subsequent steps which include notifying higher layer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the best sector transmission system, as disclosed in Hashemi, modified by Zhang, Salonidis, and Bareket, comprising notifying the higher layer when the sector level sweep does not succeed, as taught in Takahashi. One is motivated as such in order to improve communication quality (See Takahashi Background; Summary).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashemi (US# 2020/0229067) in view of Zhang et al. (US# 2022/0394671 hereinafter referred to as Zhang), Salonidis et al. (US# 2012/0202432 hereinafter referred to as Salonidis), and Jia et al. (US# 2023/0067900 hereinafter referred to as Jia).
RE Claim 8, Hashemi discloses a communication apparatus (See Hashemi FIG 11; Summary), comprising:
MAC control circuitry (See Hashemi [0116, [0151]), which, in operation, controls a procedure of discovering a plurality of communication partner apparatuses (See Hashemi [0131]-[0133] – STA discovers neighboring STAs) and a procedure of determining a plurality of transmission best sectors in which respective radio communication qualities with the plurality of communication partner apparatuses are best (See Hashemi [0016], [0080], [0148] – STA performs sector sweeping (SSW) to find best sector to communicate with neighboring STAs); and
radio circuitry, which, in operation, transmits a unicast frame to each of the plurality of communication partner apparatuses using a corresponding one of the plurality of transmission best sectors (See Hashemi Summary; [0018], [0274] – communicates with each neighboring STA respectively and transmits frame to neighboring STA using discovered best sector).
Hashemi does not specifically disclose
the MAC control circuitry
starts a timer for each of the discovered plurality of communication partner apparatuses after the procedure of determining the plurality of transmission best sectors is completed, or
controls, when receiving a request for transmitting a groupcast frame from a higher layer, the radio circuitry to omit transmission of the groupcast frame, the transmission using at least one of the plurality of transmission best sectors for at least one of the plurality of communication partner apparatuses for which the timer has expired.
However, Zhang teaches of
starting a timer for each of the discovered plurality of communication partner apparatuses after the procedure of determining the plurality of transmission best sectors is completed (See Zhang [0131], [0147] – starting a timer for expecting responses from neighboring UE); and
the transmission using at least one of the plurality of transmission best sectors for at least one of the plurality of communication partner apparatuses (See Zhang [0131], [0147] – determining the best beam pattern per neighbor UE; starting a timer for expecting responses from neighboring UE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the best sector transmission system, as disclosed in Hashemi, comprising starting a timer for each of the discovered plurality of communication partner apparatuses after the procedure of determining the plurality of transmission best sectors is completed, and the transmission using at least one of the plurality of transmission best sectors for at least one of the plurality of communication partner apparatuses, as taught in Zhang. One is motivated as such in order to save power while still providing proper notifications (See Zhang Background; Summary).
Hashemi, modified by Zhang, does not specifically disclose
controlling, when receiving a request for transmitting a groupcast frame from a higher layer, the radio circuitry to omit transmission of the groupcast frame, the transmission using at least one of the plurality of transmission best sectors for at least one of the plurality of communication partner apparatuses for which the timer has expired.
However, Salonidis teaches of controlling, when receiving a request for transmitting a groupcast frame from a higher layer (See Salonidis [0133] – all devices send/receive broadcast request from other neighboring devices; can also be construed as the broadcast request response received ([0017]-[0018]) as the broadcast request response is part of the broadcast request process used to adjust the antenna pattern for subsequent broadcast), the radio circuitry to transmit (or omit transmission of) the groupcast frame using a different antenna pattern (See Salonidis [0030] – broadcast using new antenna pattern; device could also not transmit broadcast (i.e. “omit”) for any reason it decides not to transmit) for each of at least one of the plurality of communication partner apparatuses (See Salonidis [0013]-[0022], [0033] – device performing broadcast to neighboring devices based on result of broadcast request/response indicating change to antenna pattern).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the best sector transmission system, as disclosed in Hashemi, modified by Zhang, comprising controlling, when receiving a request for transmitting a groupcast frame from a higher layer, the radio circuitry to transmit the groupcast frame using a different antenna pattern for each of at least one of the plurality of communication partner apparatuses, as taught in Salonidis. One is motivated as such in order to mitigate interference, increase capacity, and optimize network topology (See Salonidis Summary).
Hashemi, modified by Zhang and Salonidis, does not specifically disclose
controlling, the radio circuitry to omit transmission of the groupcast frame, the transmission using at least one of the plurality of transmission best sectors for at least one of the plurality of communication partner apparatuses for which the timer has expired (emphasis added).
However, Jia teaches of controlling, the radio circuitry to omit transmission of the groupcast frame, the transmission using at least one of the plurality of transmission best sectors for at least one of the plurality of communication partner apparatuses for which the timer has expired (See Jia [0012]-[0013] – stop sending multicast/broadcast when timer expires).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the best sector transmission system, as disclosed in Hashemi, modified by Zhang and Salonidis, comprising controlling, the radio circuitry to omit transmission of the groupcast frame, the transmission using at least one of the plurality of transmission best sectors for at least one of the plurality of communication partner apparatuses for which the timer has expired, as taught in Jia. One is motivated as such in order to ensure continuity of broadcast/multicast service (See Jia Background; Summary).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashemi (US# 2020/0229067) in view of Zhang et al. (US# 2022/0394671 hereinafter referred to as Zhang), Salonidis et al. (US# 2012/0202432 hereinafter referred to as Salonidis), and Alam et al. (US# 2019/0320340 hereinafter referred to as Alam).
RE Claim 9, Hashemi discloses a communication apparatus (See Hashemi FIG 11; Summary), comprising:
MAC control circuitry (See Hashemi [0116, [0151]), which, in operation, controls a procedure of discovering a plurality of communication partner apparatuses (See Hashemi [0131]-[0133] – STA discovers neighboring STAs) and a procedure of determining a plurality of transmission best sectors in which respective radio communication qualities with the plurality of communication partner apparatuses are best (See Hashemi [0016], [0080], [0148] – STA performs sector sweeping (SSW) to find best sector to communicate with neighboring STAs); and
radio circuitry, which, in operation, transmits a unicast frame to each of the plurality of communication partner apparatuses using a corresponding one of the plurality of transmission best sectors (See Hashemi Summary; [0018], [0274] – communicates with each neighboring STA respectively and transmits frame to neighboring STA using discovered best sector).
Hashemi does not specifically disclose
the MAC control circuitry
starts a timer for each of the discovered plurality of communication partner apparatuses after the procedure of determining the plurality of transmission best sectors is completed, or
controls, when receiving a request for transmitting a groupcast frame from a higher layer, the radio circuitry to omit transmission of the groupcast frame, the transmission using a sector different from at least one of the plurality of transmission best sectors for at least one of the plurality of communication partner apparatuses for which the timer is active.
However, Zhang teaches of
starting a timer for each of the discovered plurality of communication partner apparatuses after the procedure of determining the plurality of transmission best sectors is completed (See Zhang [0131], [0147] – starting a timer for expecting responses from neighboring UE); and
the transmission using a sector different from at least one of the plurality of transmission best sectors for at least one of the plurality of communication partner apparatuses (See Zhang [0131], [0147] – determining the best beam pattern per neighbor UE; starting a timer for expecting responses from neighboring UE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the best sector transmission system, as disclosed in Hashemi, comprising starting a timer for each of the discovered plurality of communication partner apparatuses after the procedure of determining the plurality of transmission best sectors is completed, and the transmission using a sector different from at least one of the plurality of transmission best sectors for at least one of the plurality of communication partner apparatuses, as taught in Zhang. One is motivated as such in order to save power while still providing proper notifications (See Zhang Background; Summary).
Hashemi, modified by Zhang, does not specifically disclose
controlling, when receiving a request for transmitting a groupcast frame from a higher layer, the radio circuitry to omit transmission of the groupcast frame, the transmission using a sector different from at least one of the plurality of transmission best sectors for at least one of the plurality of communication partner apparatuses for which the timer is active.
However, Salonidis teaches of controlling, when receiving a request for transmitting a groupcast frame from a higher layer (See Salonidis [0133] – all devices send/receive broadcast request from other neighboring devices; can also be construed as the broadcast request response received ([0017]-[0018]) as the broadcast request response is part of the broadcast request process used to adjust the antenna pattern for subsequent broadcast), the radio circuitry to transmit (or omit transmission of) the groupcast frame using a different antenna pattern (See Salonidis [0030] – broadcast using new antenna pattern; device could also not transmit broadcast (i.e. “omit”) for any reason it decides not to transmit) for each of at least one of the plurality of communication partner apparatuses (See Salonidis [0013]-[0022], [0033] – device performing broadcast to neighboring devices based on result of broadcast request/response indicating change to antenna pattern).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the best sector transmission system, as disclosed in Hashemi, modified by Zhang, comprising controlling, when receiving a request for transmitting a groupcast frame from a higher layer, the radio circuitry to transmit the groupcast frame using a different antenna pattern for each of at least one of the plurality of communication partner apparatuses, as taught in Salonidis. One is motivated as such in order to mitigate interference, increase capacity, and optimize network topology (See Salonidis Summary).
Hashemi, modified by Zhang and Salonidis, does not specifically disclose
controlling, the radio circuitry to omit transmission of the groupcast frame, the transmission using a sector different from at least one of the plurality of transmission best sectors for at least one of the plurality of communication partner apparatuses for which the timer is active (emphasis added).
However, Alam teaches of controlling, the radio circuitry to omit transmission of the groupcast frame, the transmission using a sector different from at least one of the plurality of transmission best sectors for at least one of the plurality of communication partner apparatuses for which the timer is active (See Alam [0032] – refrain from broadcasting when timer is active).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the best sector transmission system, as disclosed in Hashemi, modified by Zhang and Salonidis, comprising controlling, the radio circuitry to omit transmission of the groupcast frame, the transmission using a sector different from at least one of the plurality of transmission best sectors for at least one of the plurality of communication partner apparatuses for which the timer is active, as taught in Alam. One is motivated as such in order to avoid broadcast storms and reduce latency (See Alam [0009]-[0012]).
Conclusion
/STEVE R YOUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477