DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-9, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SINGH et al (US 2023/0422235) in view of AWONIYI-OTERI et al (US 2022/0417975).
Regarding claim 1, and 11, SINGH et al (US 2023/0422235) discloses a method of transmitting and receiving a signal by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
configuring a first radio resource set and a second radio resource set, the first radio resource set including one or more first resource within one period (SINGH: Fig. 4b-c, Fig. 8b, ¶140, ¶144, ¶3, a set of dedicated resources for a configuration/CG period is configured at the wireless device), and the second radio resource set including one or more second resources within the one period (SINGH: Fig. 4b-c, Fig. 8b, ¶140, ¶144, a set of shared resources are provided/configured at the wireless device); and
transmitting or receiving the signal, the signal being transmitted or received through one of the first resources or one of the second resources (SINGH: ¶137, ¶140, ¶144, ¶48, a transmission is performed by the wireless device to the network device through at least one of the dedicated resources),
wherein, based on transmission or reception of the signal being performed through one of the first resource within the period, the second resource within the period is not used in transmission or reception of the signal (SINGH: ¶144, ¶200, ¶206, Fig. 8b, Fig 4b, when a transmission is performed in one of the first resource and a certain feedback is received, then the shared resources are not used to transmit and transmission is skipping for the remaining/shared resources), and the first radio resource set is a dedicated resource for the UE, and the second radio resource set is a common resource for a serving cell of the UE (SINGH: ¶209, ¶167, first set of resources are dedicated resources for the UE and the second is a shared for multiple UE/wireless devices covered by the base station).
SINGH remains silent regarding based on that performing of transmission or reception of the signal through the first resources within the period is skipped, one of the second resources within the period is used in transmission or reception of the signal.
However, AWONIYI-OTERI et al (US 2022/0417975) discloses based on that performing of transmission or reception of the signal through the first resources within the period is skipped, one of the second resources within the period is used in transmission or reception of the signal (AWONIYI-OTERI: ¶72-73, ¶89, ¶66, ¶60, Fig. 4, only one of the first or second set of resources are activated based on the expected arrival time of the data to be transmitted by the UE/wireless device; since the data resource before has to be skipped with no data to transmit, the following/subsequent resource is used instead).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of SINGH would have been motivated to use the teachings of AWONIYI-OTERI as delays in communication associated with jitter (such as XR communications) are reduced, throughput is improved, and user experience is improved. User experience may be particularly improved for XR communications, where users are sensitive to issues caused by delays in communications (¶60). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of SINGH with teachings of AWONIYI-OTERI in order to improve throughput and user experience.
Regarding claim 15, SINGH et al (US 2023/0422235) discloses A base station (BS) for transmitting and receiving a signal in a wireless communication system, the BS comprising: at least one transceiver;
at least one processor; and at least one memory operatively connected to the at least one processor and configured to store instructions that when executed causes the at least one processor to perform a specific operation including:
configuring a first radio resource set and a second radio resource set, the first radio resource set including one or more first resource within one period (SINGH: Fig. 5, Fig. 4b-c, Fig. 8b, ¶140, ¶144, ¶3, a set of dedicated resources for a configuration/CG period is configured at the wireless device and the network device by the network device to communicate with each other), and the second radio resource set including one or more second resources within the one period (SINGH: Fig. 5, ¶170, Fig. 4b-c, Fig. 8b, ¶140, ¶144, a set of shared resources are provided/configured at the wireless device); and
transmitting or receiving the signal, the signal being transmitted or received through one of the first resources or one of the second resources (SINGH: Fig. 5a, ¶170, ¶137, ¶140, ¶144, ¶48, a transmission is performed by the wireless device to the network device through at least one of the dedicated resources),
wherein, based on transmission or reception of the signal being performed through one of the first resource within the period, the second resource within the period is not used in transmission or reception of the signal (SINGH: Fig. 5a, ¶170, ¶298, ¶144, ¶200, ¶206, Fig. 8b, Fig 4b, when a transmission is performed in one of the first resource and a certain feedback is received, then the shared resources are not used to transmit and transmission is skipping for the remaining/shared resources), and the first radio resource set is a dedicated resource for a specific UE, and the second radio resource set is a common resource for a serving cell within the BS (SINGH: Fig. 5a, ¶170, ¶298, ¶209, ¶167, first set of resources are dedicated resources for the UE and the second is a shared for multiple UE/wireless devices covered by the base station).
SINGH remains silent regarding based on that performing of transmission or reception of the signal through the first resources within the period is skipped, one of the second resources within the period is used in transmission or reception of the signal.
However, AWONIYI-OTERI et al (US 2022/0417975) discloses based on that performing of transmission or reception of the signal through the first resources within the period is skipped, one of the second resources within the period is used in transmission or reception of the signal (AWONIYI-OTERI: ¶72-73, ¶89, ¶66, ¶60, Fig. 4, only one of the first or second set of resources are activated based on the expected arrival time of the data to be transmitted by the UE/wireless device; since the data resource before has to be skipped, the following/subsequent resource is used instead).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of SINGH would have been motivated to use the teachings of AWONIYI-OTERI as delays in communication associated with jitter (such as XR communications) are reduced, throughput is improved, and user experience is improved. User experience may be particularly improved for XR communications, where users are sensitive to issues caused by delays in communications (¶60). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of SINGH with teachings of AWONIYI-OTERI in order to improve throughput and user experience.
Regarding claim 2, SINGH modified by AWONIYI-OTERI discloses method of claim 1, wherein the signal is a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (SINGH: ¶5, PUSCH).
Regarding claim 3, SINGH modified by AWONIYI-OTERI discloses method of claim 1, wherein the first radio resource set is configured based on a first semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration or first configured grant (CG) configuration having a first index, and the second radio resource set is configured based on a second SPS configuration or second CG configuration having a second index (SINGH: ¶170, ¶3, Fig. 5, index (equivalent to first and second index) is used to indicate SPS/CG configurations to the wireless device, by the base station/network device).
Regarding claim 4, SINGH modified by AWONIYI-OTERI discloses method of claim 3, wherein the first radio resource set is configured as the dedicated resource based on a first radio resource control (RRC) parameter in the first SPS configuration or the first CG configuration, and the second radio resource set is configured as the common resource based on a second RRC parameter in the SPS configuration or the second CG configuration (SINGH: ¶191, ¶218, ¶205, respective RRC parameter is used to indicate corresponding CG/SPS configuration).
Regarding claim 5, SINGH modified by AWONIYI-OTERI discloses method of claim 3, wherein the first radio resource set is configured as the dedicated resource for the first SPS configuration or the first CG configuration, and the second radio resource set is configured as the common resource for the second SPS configuration or the second CG configuration (SINGH: ¶209, configuration for both the dedicated and shared resource sets is sent using a downlink signaling).
SINGH modified by AWONIYI-OTERI remains silent regarding, however, an embodiment of AWONIYI-OTERI discloses first and second CG configurations being configured by first and second activation DCI (AWONIYI-OTERI: ¶80, activating DCI signals are sent for first SPS/CG configuration and second SPS/CG configuration).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of SINGH modified by AWONIYI-OTERI would have been motivated to use teachings of an embodiment of AWONIYI-OTERI as DCI activating would be includes flexibility of resource management. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of SINGH modified by AWONIYI-OTERI with teachings of an embodiment of AWONIYI-OTERI in order to improve resource utilization and management.
Regarding claim 6, SINGH modified by AWONIYI-OTERI discloses method of claim 3, wherein the one period is equally configured for (i) the first SPS configuration or the first CG configuration and (ii) the second SPS configuration or the second CG configuration (SINGH: Fig. 8b, Fig. 5, within the CG period, at least a parameter, such as inter repetition gap is equally configured for both the configurations).
Regarding claim 8, SINGH modified by AWONIYI-OTERI discloses method of claim 1, wherein the first radio resource set and the second radio resource set are configured based on one semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration or one configured grant (CG) configuration having one index (SINGH: ¶170, same index is used for configuration for bother the shared and dedicated resource sets).
Regarding claim 9, SINGH modified by AWONIYI-OTERI discloses method of claim 8, wherein the one SPS configuration or the one CG configuration includes a radio resource control (RRC) parameter for a number and/or ratio between the first resources and the second resources (SINGH: ¶191, ¶218, ¶205, respective RRC parameter is used to indicate corresponding CG/SPS configuration)
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SINGH modified by AWONIYI-OTERI as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of AWAD et al (US 2022/0232618).
Regarding claim 10, SINGH modified by AWONIYI-OTERI discloses method of claim 1, wherein data included in the signal is determined based on a data channel configuration (SINGH: ¶137, ¶139, ¶198, data/traffic is included in the transmission signal based on the channel configuration i.e. configured parameters for the data channel).
SINGH modified by AWONIYI-OTERI remains silent regarding the data channel configuration being logical channel configuration.
However, AWAD et al (US 2022/0232618) discloses the data channel configuration being logical channel configuration (AWAD: ¶57, CG resources are mapped to logical channel configuration).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of SINGH modified by AWONIYI-OTERI would have been motivated to use teachings of AWAD as logical channel configuration provides robust control over prioritization, multiplexing and traffic management. This also enables controlled buffer management. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of SINGH with teachings of AWAD in order to improve flexibility of traffic and buffer management.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SINGH modified by AWONIYI-OTERI as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of KANG et al (US 2022/0322063).
Regarding claim 7, SINGH modified by AWONIYI-OTERI discloses method of claim 1, wherein the first radio resource set is configured as the dedicated resource, and the second radio resource set is configured as the common resource (SINGH: ¶209, ¶167, first set of resources are dedicated resources for the UE and the second is a shared for multiple UE/wireless devices covered by the base station).
SINGH modified by AWONIYI-OTERI remains silent regarding the configuration at the UE is by UE assumption.
However, KANG et al (US 2022/0322063) discloses the configuration at the UE is by UE assumption (KANG: ¶205, ¶207, assuming at the UE, a congestion level, the resources from a first or second set is configured at the UE).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of SINGH modified by AWONIYI-OTERI would have been motivated to use teachings of KANG as it provides a default mechanism when other, more accurate determinations of the congestions are not available. This also enables controlled buffer management. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of SINGH with teachings of KANG in order to improve un interrupted selection of the resources.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Document U discloses advancements in the standardization process in Release 15 and 16 for configured grant allocation and the prospective solutions to accommodate semi-deterministic traffic behavior for configured grant allocations.
OMER S. MIAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2461
/OMER S MIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461