DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 7 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In regards to the applicants arguments regarding amended claim 1 with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Adusumilli (Of Record), the examiner respectfully disagrees. For example the applicant argues amended claim 1 which recites features from previous dependent claims 2 and 3, now cancelled. More specifically the applicant argues on (Pg. 11 of the remarks), that however Adusumilli does not teach or suggest “the handover instruction comprises at least one of: a base station type of the target base station corresponding to the behavior control policy for the target base station; or at least one behavior control policy”.
However the examiner does not rely on the feature in claim 1 argued by the applicant of “the handover instruction comprises at least one of: a base station type of the target base station corresponding to the behavior control policy for the target base station” since the claim feature claims at least one of “a base station type…” or…”at least one behavior control policy” in which the examiner relies on the handover instruction comprises at least one of: at least one behavior control policy (Adusumilli ,see Para’s [0080-0085] i.e., the target BS 110 may determine a configuration (i.e., “behavior control policy”) for the UE 120 which may identify one or more power-saving mode states for the UE 120, each associated with a respective power-saving configuration which is sent via the RRC connection reconfiguration message (i.e., “handover instruction”) to the UE)
In regards to the claim feature in claim 1 of controlling a non-wireless communication behavior of the terminal according to the behavior control policy for the target base station as recited in amended claim 1 ((In light of the applicants specification in Para [0066], the non-wireless communication behavior may be a power supply behavior that includes adjusting to a power saving mode. Therefore the “non-wireless communication behavior” is interpreted as the terminal adjusting to a power saving mode, (Adusumilli, see Fig. 4 & Para’s [0076] i.e., a handover of the UE 120 from the source BS 110 to the target BS 110 & [0083-0084] i.e., the configuration may identify one or more power-saving mode states for the UE 120, each associated with a respective power-saving configuration & [0085] i.e., the BS 110 may transmit a connection reconfiguration (e.g., an RRC connection reconfiguration message) that includes the configuration. In this way, the UE 120 may operate in the connected state (e.g., after reconnecting to the source BS 110 or the target BS 110) according to the configuration, thereby conserving power (i.e., controlling a non-wireless communication behavior such as adjusting to the power-saving mode according to the configuration (i.e., “behavior control policy”))
In regards to the applicants argument from the bottom of (Pg. 11-Pg. 12 of the remarks), that however, in Adusumilli, the configuration is for the UE 120, and not for the target BS 110, the examiner respectfully disagrees as, with broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim feature in claim 1 of “the behavior control policy for the target base station”, the configuration is for both the UE 120 and the target base station. For example, Adusumilli discloses the target BS 110 may determine the configuration that is to be used by the UE in the target BS 110 after the UE successfully hands over to the target base station (see Para’s [0083-0085]). Since the configuration is also associated with the target BS 110, then the configuration (i.e., “behavior control policy”) is also for the target base station with broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim feature of “the behavior control policy for the target base station”.
In regards to the applicants argument on Pg. 12 of the remarks, that Adusumilli is silent on controlling a non-wireless communication behavior of the terminal according to the behavior control policy for the target base station, the examiner respectfully disagrees for the reasons explained above with respect to Adusumilli disclosing the claim limitation.
For the reasons explained, Adusumilli does disclose the claim features of amended claim 1, and therefore the rejection of 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Adusumilli is maintained for claim 1. The dependent claims 4-7, and 33-34 remain rejected over the prior art (Of Record) based at least one their dependence to independent claim 1. Independent claims 9 and 14, although different in scope from claim 1 which recite elements similar to those of claim 1, also remain rejected over the prior art (Of Record) for similar reasons discussed above for claim 1. Claims 13, 17-18, and 20 also remain rejected over the prior art (Of Record) based at least on their dependence to independent claims 9 and 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1, 4-6, and 33-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Adusumilli et al. US (2021/0112493).
Regarding Claim 1, Adusumilli discloses a behavior control method, performed by a terminal (see Fig. 4 i.e., UE 120), and comprising: receiving a handover instruction sent by a source base station (see Fig. 4 i.e., RRC Connection Reconfiguration message (i.e., “handover instruction”) sent from source BS 110 to UE 120 & Para’s [0076] i.e., a handover of the UE 120 from the source BS 110 to the target BS 110, & [0085] i.e., Upon receiving the configuration from the target BS 110, the source BS 110 may transmit, and the UE 120 may receive, a message (e.g., an RRC message) (i.e., “handover instruction”) that includes the configuration. For example, the BS 110 may transmit a connection reconfiguration message (e.g., an RRC connection reconfiguration message) (i.e., “handover instruction”) that includes the configuration. In this way, the UE 120 may operate in the connected state (e.g., after reconnecting to the source BS 110 or the target BS 110) according to the configuration, thereby conserving power),
wherein the handover instruction is configured to instruct the terminal to hand over from the source base station to a target base station (see Fig. 4 i.e., RRC Connection Reconfiguration message & Para’s [0076] i.e., a handover of the UE 120 from the source BS 110 to the target BS 110 & [0085]), and to indicate a behavior control policy for the target base station, (see Fig. 4 & Para’s [0080-0083] i.e., the target BS 110 may determine a configuration (“behavior control policy”) for the UE 120, [0084] i.e., In some aspects, the configuration (i.e., “behavior control policy”) may identify one or more power-saving mode states for the UE 120, each associated with a respective power-saving configuration, & [0085] i.e., Upon receiving the configuration from the target BS 110, the source BS 110 may transmit, and the UE 120 may receive, a message (e.g., an RRC message) that includes the configuration (i.e., includes “behavior control policy”). For example, the BS 110 may transmit a connection reconfiguration message (e.g., an RRC connection reconfiguration message) (i.e., “handover instruction”) that includes the configuration (i.e., “behavior control policy”). In this way, the UE 120 may operate in the connected state (e.g., after reconnecting to the source BS 110 or the target BS 110) according to the configuration, thereby conserving power).
and the handover instruction comprises at least one of: a base station type of the target base station corresponding to the behavior control policy for the target base station; or at least one behavior control policy (see Para [0083] i.e., the target BS 110 may determine a configuration (“behavior control policy”) for the UE 120, [0084] i.e., In some aspects, the configuration (i.e., “behavior control policy”) may identify one or more power-saving mode states for the UE 120, each associated with a respective power-saving configuration, & [0085] i.e., the BS 110 may transmit a connection reconfiguration (e.g., an RRC connection reconfiguration message) that includes the configuration. In this way, the UE 120 may operate in the connected state (e.g., after reconnecting to the source BS 110 or the target BS 110) according to the configuration, thereby conserving power)
handing over, based on the handover instruction, from the source base station to the target base station, (see Fig. 4 & Para’s [0076] i.e., a handover of the UE 120 from the source BS 110 to the target BS 110 & [0085])
and after successfully handing over to the target base station, controlling a non-wireless communication behavior of the terminal according to the behavior control policy for the target base station, (In light of the applicants specification in Para [0066], the non-wireless communication behavior may be a power supply behavior that includes adjusting to a power saving mode. Therefore the “non-wireless communication behavior” is interpreted as the terminal adjusting to a power saving mode, (Adusumilli, see Fig. 4 & Para’s [0076] i.e., a handover of the UE 120 from the source BS 110 to the target BS 110 & [0083-0084] i.e., the configuration may identify one or more power-saving mode states for the UE 120, each associated with a respective power-saving configuration & [0085] i.e., the BS 110 may transmit a connection reconfiguration (e.g., an RRC connection reconfiguration message) that includes the configuration. In this way, the UE 120 may operate in the connected state (e.g., after reconnecting to the source BS 110 or the target BS 110) according to the configuration, thereby conserving power (i.e., controlling a non-wireless communication behavior such as adjusting to the power-saving mode according to the configuration (i.e., “behavior control policy”))
Regarding Claim 4, Adusumilli discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the behavior control policy comprises at least one of: an identification for the non-wireless communication behavior (see Para’s [0084] i.e., In some aspects, the configuration may identify one or more power-saving mode states (i.e., identification of the non-wireless communication behavior) for the UE 120, each associated with a respective power-saving configuration & [0085] i.e., the BS 110 may transmit a connection reconfiguration (e.g., an RRC connection reconfiguration message) that includes the configuration (i.e., includes the identification of the non-wireless communication behavior). In this way, the UE 120 may operate in the connected state (e.g., after reconnecting to the source BS 110 or the target BS 110) according to the configuration, thereby conserving power); a control mode for the non-wireless communication behavior; a control duration for the non-wireless communication behavior; or a control magnitude for the non-wireless communication behavior.
Regarding Claim 5, Adusumilli discloses the method of claim 4, wherein controlling the non-wireless communication behavior of the terminal according to the behavior control policy comprises: controlling the non-wireless communication behavior within the control duration according to the control mode, (see Para [0084] i.e., the configuration, whether determined based at least in part on a power-saving indication provided by the UE 120 or the source BS 110, may cause less power consumption by the UE 120 over a time period (i.e., “control duration”) relative to a typical configuration for a UE not in a power-saving mode…In some aspects, the configuration may identify one or more power-saving mode states (i.e., identification of the non-wireless communication behavior) for the UE 120, each associated with a respective power-saving configuration)
wherein the behavior control policy comprises the identification for the non-wireless communication behavior (see Para [0084] i.e., In some aspects, the configuration may identify one or more power-saving mode states (i.e., “non-wireless communication behavior”)), the control mode for the non-wireless communication behavior (see Para [0084] i.e., In some aspects, the configuration may identify one or more power-saving mode states for the UE 120 each associated with a respective power-saving configuration), and the control duration for the non-wireless communication behavior, (see Para’s [0074] i.e., time period for power consumption by the UE 120 is configured in the configuration, [0084] i.e., the configuration, whether determined based at least in part on a power-saving indication provided by the UE 120 or the source BS 110, may cause less power consumption by the UE 120 over a time period (i.e., “control duration”) relative to a typical configuration for a UE not in a power-saving mode…power-saving configuration)
Regarding Claim 6, Adusumilli discloses the method of claim 4, wherein controlling the non-wireless communication behavior of the terminal according to the behavior control policy comprises: controlling the non-wireless communication behavior with the control magnitude according to the control mode, (see Para’s [0083] i.e., the target BS 110 may determine a configuration for the UE 120…the configuration may indicate a relative change to one or more parameters (i.e., “control magnitude”) of the power-saving configuration, [0084] i.e., i.e., the configuration, whether determined based at least in part on a power-saving indication provided by the UE 120 or the source BS 110, may cause less power consumption (i.e., “control magnitude” is associated with the configuration) by the UE 120 over a time period relative to a typical configuration for a UE not in a power-saving mode…In some aspects, the configuration may identify one or more power-saving mode states (i.e., “control mode”) for the UE 120, each associated with a respective power-saving configuration & [0085] i.e., the BS 110 may transmit a connection reconfiguration (e.g., an RRC connection reconfiguration message) that includes the configuration. In this way, the UE 120 may operate in the connected state (e.g., after reconnecting to the source BS 110 or the target BS 110) according to the configuration, thereby conserving power)
wherein the behavior control policy comprises the identification for the non-wireless communication behavior, (see Para’s [0084-0085] i.e., In some aspects, the configuration may identify one or more power-saving mode states (i.e., identification of the non-wireless communication behavior) for the UE 120, each associated with a respective power-saving configuration)
the control mode for the non-wireless communication behavior, (see Para [0084] i.e., In some aspects, the configuration may identify one or more power-saving mode states (i.e., “control mode”) for the UE 120 each associated with a respective power-saving configuration)
and the control magnitude for the non-wireless communication behavior. (see Para’s [0083] i.e., the target BS 110 may determine a configuration for the UE 120…the configuration may indicate a relative change to one or more parameters (i.e., “control magnitude”) of the power-saving configuration & [0084] i.e., i.e., the configuration, whether determined based at least in part on a power-saving indication provided by the UE 120 or the source BS 110, may cause less power consumption (i.e., “control magnitude” is associated with the configuration) by the UE 120 over a time period relative to a typical configuration for a UE not in a power-saving mode)
Regarding Claim 33, Adusumilli discloses a behavior control device (see Figures 2 & 4 i.e., UE 120, & Fig. 7), comprising: a processor (see Fig. 2 i.e., UE 120 processor 280 & Para [0042]); and a memory storing computer programs (see Fig. 2 i.e., UE 120 memory 282 & Para’s [0010], [0042] i.e., Memory 242 may store program codes for UE 120 and may comprise a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing one or more instructions for wireless communication & [0112]); wherein the processor is configured (see Para’s [0010], [0042], & [0112]) to perform the behavior control method of claim 1, (see rejection of claim 1)
Regarding Claim 34, Adusumilli discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (see Fig. 2 i.e., UE 120 memory 282 & Para’s [0010], [0042] i.e., Memory 242 may store program codes for UE 120 and may comprise a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing one or more instructions for wireless communication & [0112]), storing computer programs thereon (see Para’s [0010], [0042], & [0112]), wherein the computer programs, when executed by a processor (see Para’s [0010], [0042], & [0112]), cause the processor to perform the behavior control method of claim 1, (see rejection of claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adusumilli et al. US (2021/0112493) in view of Cetinkaya et al. US (2021/0314839).
Regarding Claim 7, Adusumilli discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the non-wireless communication behavior comprises at least one of: an audio output behavior, a display behavior, a prompting behavior, or a power supply behavior (see Para’s [0084-0085] i.e., the configuration may identify one or more power-saving mode states for the UE 120 each associated with a respective power-saving configuration), but does not disclose wherein the target base station comprises at least one of a subway base station, or a high-speed rail base station. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Cetinkaya et al. US (2021/0314839).
Cetinkaya discloses performing handover of a UE to a target base station which comprises a subway base station (see Fig. 2 i.e., base station 205 may include a subway base station & Para’s [0056] i.e., handover UE 215 to a designated target cell site, [0059] i.e., For example, mobility management optimization function 230 may determine that the location, speed, and direction of travel information indicates that UE 215 is on or is entering a high-speed roadway or other transportation venue (e.g., railway, subway, etc.) which may cause frequent intra- and inter-cell handovers (i.e., handovers include handover of UE to a subway base station when the UE enters the venue (e.g., subway)) & [0065] i.e., target cell site).
(Cetinkaya suggests handover to the target cell or base station is performed and required based on mobility of the UE when entering a transportation venue such as a subway for achieving optimal communication of the UE when traveling and for optimized mobility management, (see Para’s [0018], [0021], [0056], [0059], & [0065])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date handover performed for the terminal to the target base station as disclosed in Adusumilli to be performed for handover to a to a target base station which comprises a subway base station as disclosed in the teachings of Cetinkaya who discloses performing handover of a UE to a target base station which comprises a subway base station, because the motivation lies in Cetinkaya that handover to the target cell or base station is performed and required based on mobility of the UE when entering a transportation venue such as a subway for achieving optimal communication of the UE when traveling and for optimized mobility management.
Claims 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adusumilli et al. US (2021/0112493) in view of Pillay-Esnault US (2018/0007604), further in view of Liang et al. US (2021/0007028), further in view of Jung et al. US (2018/0077624), and further in view of LI et al. US (2014/0348008).
Regarding Claim 9, Adusumilli discloses a behavior control method, performed by a source base station (see Fig. 4 i.e., Source BS 110), and comprising: sending a handover instruction to a terminal (see Fig. 4 i.e., RRC Connection Reconfiguration message (i.e., “handover instruction”) sent from source BS 110 to UE 120 & Para’s [0076] i.e., a handover of the UE 120 from the source BS 110 to the target BS 110, & [0085] i.e., Upon receiving the configuration from the target BS 110, the source BS 110 may transmit, and the UE 120 may receive, a message (e.g., an RRC message) (i.e., “handover instruction”) that includes the configuration. For example, the BS 110 may transmit a connection reconfiguration message (e.g., an RRC connection reconfiguration message) (i.e., “handover instruction”) that includes the configuration. In this way, the UE 120 may operate in the connected state (e.g., after reconnecting to the source BS 110 or the target BS 110) according to the configuration, thereby conserving power),
wherein the handover instruction is configured to instruct the terminal to hand over from the source base station to a target base station, (see Fig. 4 i.e., RRC Connection Reconfiguration message & Para’s [0076] i.e., a handover of the UE 120 from the source BS 110 to the target BS 110 & [0085])
and to indicate a behavior control policy for the target base station, (see Fig. 4 & Para’s [0080-0083] i.e., the target BS 110 may determine a configuration (“behavior control policy”) for the UE 120, [0084] i.e., In some aspects, the configuration (i.e., “behavior control policy”) may identify one or more power-saving mode states for the UE 120, each associated with a respective power-saving configuration, & [0085] i.e., Upon receiving the configuration from the target BS 110, the source BS 110 may transmit, and the UE 120 may receive, a message (e.g., an RRC message) that includes the configuration (i.e., includes “behavior control policy”). For example, the BS 110 may transmit a connection reconfiguration message (e.g., an RRC connection reconfiguration message) (i.e., “handover instruction”) that includes the configuration (i.e., “behavior control policy”). In this way, the UE 120 may operate in the connected state (e.g., after reconnecting to the source BS 110 or the target BS 110) according to the configuration, thereby conserving power).
and the behavior control policy is configured to instruct the terminal to control a non-wireless communication behavior of the terminal after the terminal hands over from the source base station to the target base station. (In light of the applicants specification in Para [0066], the non-wireless communication behavior may be a power supply behavior that includes adjusting to a power saving mode. Therefore the “non-wireless communication behavior” is interpreted as the terminal adjusting to a power saving mode, (Adusumilli, see Fig. 4 & Para’s [0076] i.e., a handover of the UE 120 from the source BS 110 to the target BS 110 & [0083-0084] i.e., the configuration may identify one or more power-saving mode states for the UE 120, each associated with a respective power-saving configuration & [0085] i.e., the BS 110 may transmit a connection reconfiguration (e.g., an RRC connection reconfiguration message) that includes the configuration. In this way, the UE 120 may operate in the connected state (e.g., after reconnecting to the source BS 110 or the target BS 110) according to the configuration, thereby conserving power (i.e., controlling a non-wireless communication behavior such as adjusting to the power-saving mode according to the configuration (i.e., “behavior control policy”))
Adusumilli does not disclose obtaining indication information for the behavior control policy for the target base station from a core network device which is performed according to an S1 handover procedure. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Pillay-Esnault US (2018/0007604).
Pillay-Esnault discloses an S1 handover procedure which includes before sending the handover instruction to the terminal by a source base station (see Fig. 4 i.e., handover command 422 from S-BS 310 to UE 300 & Para [0049]): obtaining indication information for the target base station from a core network device, (see Fig. 4 i.e., S1 handover command 420 (i.e., “indication information”) from MME to S-BS 310 & Para’s [0048-0049] i.e., At step 420, the MME sends an S1 handover command message to the source BS).
(Pillay-Esnault suggests the handover procedure which is performed for successfully handing over the UE from the source base station to the target base station may be applicable to an S1 handover procedure or an X2 handover procedure, (see Para’s [0006] & [0048-0052])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the X2 handover procedure including sending the handover instruction to the terminal as disclosed in Adusumilli to alternatively be performed according to the S1 handover procedure disclosed in the teachings of Pillay-Esnault who discloses an S1 handover procedure which includes before sending the handover instruction to the terminal by a source base station, obtaining indication information for the target base station from a core network device, because the motivation lies in Pillay-Esnault that the handover procedure which is performed for successfully handing over the UE from the source base station to the target base station may be applicable to an S1 handover procedure or an X2 handover procedure.
While Adusumilli discloses the handover ACK sent from the target base station 110 to the source base station 110 includes indication information for the behavior control policy (i.e., “configuration”) for the target base station (see Fig. 4 i.e., step 404 & Para’s [0084-0085]), the combination of Adusumilli in view of Pillay-Esnault does not explicitly disclose the source base station obtaining the indication information for the behavior control policy (i.e., “configuration”) for the target base station from the core network device. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Liang et al. US (2021/0007028).
Liang discloses an S1 handover procedure which includes before sending the handover instruction to the terminal by a source base station (see Fig. 3b i.e., RRC connection reconfiguration sent from source base station to UE & Para [0056]) obtaining indication information for the configuration for the target base station from a core network device (see Fig. 3b i.e., handover command from control network element to the source base station & Para’s [0054] i.e., After receiving the handover request, the target base station returns a handover acknowledgement to the MME. The handover request acknowledgement may include…configuration information provided by the target base station for the user equipment & [0055] i.e., The MME sends, to the source base station through a handover command…the configuration information provided by the target base station for the user equipment & [0056] i.e., the source base station sends a RRC connection reconfiguration message to the user equipment based on the received information in the handover command. The message is used to reconfigure the user equipment based on the configuration information provided by the target base station. That is, the configuration information provided by the target base station is sent to the user equipment).
(Liang suggests the source base station sends the handover instruction (i.e., handover command) which includes the configuration information provided by the target base station for the user equipment via the handover request acknowledgement from the target base station, for reconfiguring the user equipment based on the configuration information provided by the target base station for successfully handing over the UE to the target base station, (see Fig. 3b & Para’s [0052-0056])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the handover ACK sent from the target base station 110 to the source base station 110 including the indication information for the behavior control policy (i.e., “configuration”) for the target base station as disclosed in Adusumilli in view of Pillay-Esnault to be received by the source base station from the target base station via the control network element (i.e., “core network device”) according to the S1 handover procedure disclosed in the teachings of Liang who discloses an S1 handover procedure which includes before sending the handover instruction to the terminal by a source base station, obtaining indication information for the configuration for the target base station from a core network device, because the motivation lies in Liang that the source base station sends the handover instruction (i.e., handover command) which includes the configuration information provided by the target base station for the user equipment via the handover request acknowledgement from the target base station, for reconfiguring the user equipment based on the configuration information provided by the target base station for successfully handing over the UE to the target base station.
The combination of Adusumilli in view of Pillay-Esnault, and further in view of Liang does not disclose wherein the indication information comprises a base station type of the target base station, and determining, based on a correspondence between a preset base station type and a behavior control policy, the behavior control policy for the target base station. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Jung et al. US (2018/0077624).
Jung discloses wherein the indication information comprises a base station type of the target base station (see Para’s [0200-0203] i.e., the source receives a handover command message from the MME for transmission to a UE, [0208] i.e., target cell ID & [0485] i.e., The handover command received by the UE from the source cell includes information that enables the UE to identify a target cell that the UE is going to move by performing the handover)
and the method further comprises: determining, based on a correspondence between a preset base station type and a behavior control policy, the behavior control policy for the target base station (see Para’s [0200-0203], [0207-0208] i.e., UE performs a handover to a target RN (i.e., relay node may be a “base station type”), [0230] i.e., normal mode may mean that the first UE performs paging scheduling procedures, [0275], [0489-0490] i.e., the first UE is switched from the power saving mode to the normal mode (i.e., normal mode may be a “behavior control policy”), [0496] i.e., target cell does not support the proxy operation and/or the proxy mobility (i.e., suggests normal mode is supported by the target cell). [0497-0498] i.e., first UE performs handover to target cell (i.e., target base station) and the first UE is switched to the normal mode (i.e., “behavior control policy”), [0430-0432] i.e., power saving mode may mean an operation mode in which a UE (e.g., the first UE) may not operate to monitor the paging message or system information & [0501]).
(Jung suggests the UE receives a handover instruction from the source base station for successfully performing handover of the UE from the source base station to the target base station type, (see Figures 10-11 & [0200-0208])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the obtained indication information as disclosed in Adusumilli in view of Pillay-Esnault, and further in view of Liang to include the indication information in the handover command comprising a base station type of the target base station for performing handover according to a determined behavior control policy for the target base station as disclosed in Jung, because the motivation lies in Jung that the UE receives a handover instruction from the source base station for successfully performing handover of the UE from the source base station to the target base station type.
While Adusumilli discloses the behavior control policy may correspond to a preset base station type (see Para’s [0028], [0031], & [0082-0085]), the combination of Adusumilli in view of Pillay-Esnault, further in view of Liang, and further in view of Jung does not explicitly disclose the claim feature of determining, based on a correspondence between a preset base station type and a behavior control policy, the behavior control policy for the target base station. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of LI et al. US (2014/0348008).
LI discloses determining, based on a correspondence between a preset base station type and a behavior control policy, the behavior control policy for the target base station (see Para [0009-0010] i.e., For example, based on the type of base station connected to the user device, the call processing system may apply a policy (i.e., “behavior control policy”) to the connection between the user device and the base station, [0021] i.e., inter-eNB handovers includes a target base station of the UE, [0024] i.e., policies and rules regarding QoS (i.e., “behavior control policy”), [0025] i.e., In some implementations SGW, MME, PGW, and/or PCRF may apply and/or enforce connection policies and/or QoS treatments based on a type of base station 220 connected to user device 210, [0060] i.e., For example, data structure 400 may store information that identifies a policy and/or a QoS treatment (i.e., “behavior control policy”) to apply to a connection between user device 210 and devices in environment 200 based on the type of base station 220 connected to the user device, & [0076] i.e., In some implementations SGW 230, MME 240, PGW 250, and/or PCRF 260 may identify the base station type to apply a policy or QoS treatment (i.e., “behavior control policy”) to the connection between user device 210 and devices in, or communicating via, environment 200).
(LI suggests the base station type corresponds to a behavior control policy for a target base station in order to apply an appropriate policy based on the base station type and for ensuring quality of service (QoS) for the UE, (see Para’s [0009], [0024-0025], & [0076])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the handover of the UE from the source base station to the target base station according to the determined behavior control policy for the target base station as disclosed in Adusumilli in view of Pillay-Esnault, further in view of Liang, and further in view of Jung to be determined, based on a correspondence between a preset base station type and a behavior control policy, the behavior control policy for the target base station as disclosed in the teachings of LI, because the motivation lies in LI that the base station type corresponds to a behavior control policy for a target base station in order to apply an appropriate policy based on the base station type and for ensuring quality of service (QoS) for the UE.
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Adusumilli in view of Pillay-Esnault discloses the method of claim 9, but does not disclose wherein obtaining the indication information for the behavior control policy for the target base station from the core network device comprises: sending a handover required signaling to the core network device, wherein the handover required signaling carries request information for obtaining the indication information; and receiving a handover command returned by the core network device, wherein the handover command carries the indication information. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Liang et al. US (2021/0007028).
Liang discloses wherein obtaining the indication information for the configuration for the target base station from the core network device comprises: sending a handover required signaling to the core network device (see Fig. 3b i.e., handover request sent from the source base station to the control network element & Para [0052] i.e., the handover request may be handover required (HO required) signaling on an S1 interface between the source base station and the MME), wherein the handover required signaling carries request information for obtaining the indication information (see Para [0052] i.e., source base station sends a handover request to the MME), and receiving a handover command returned by the core network device (see Fig. 3b i.e., handover command received by the source base station from the control network element & Para [0055]), wherein the handover command carries the indication information (see Fig. 3b i.e., handover command received by the source base station from the control network element & Para’s [0052-0055] i.e., The MME sends, to the source base station through a handover command, the configuration information (i.e., “indication information”) provided by the target base station for the user equipment)
(Liang suggests the source base station sends the handover instruction (i.e., handover command) which includes the configuration information provided by the target base station for the user equipment via the handover command received from the control network element (see Fig. 3b i.e., handover command received by the source base station from the control network element, for reconfiguring the user equipment based on the configuration information provided by the target base station for successfully handing over the UE to the target base station, (see Fig. 3b & Para’s [0052-0056])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the handover procedure as disclosed in Adusumilli in view of Pillay-Esnault to be performed by the source base station sending a handover required signaling to the core network device, wherein the handover required signaling carries request information for obtaining the indication information; and receiving a handover command returned by the core network device, wherein the handover command carries the indication information as disclosed in the teachings of Liang for obtaining the indication information for the behavior control policy for the target base station, because the motivation lies in Liang that the source base station sends the handover instruction (i.e., handover command) which includes the configuration information provided by the target base station for the user equipment via the handover command received from the control network element, for reconfiguring the user equipment based on the configuration information provided by the target base station for successfully handing over the UE to the target base station.
Claims 14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adusumilli et al. US (2021/0112493) in view of Pillay-Esnault US (2018/0007604), further in view of Liang et al. US (2021/0007028), further in view of Sharma et al. USP (10,091,701), and further in view of LI et al. US (2014/0348008).
Regarding Claim 14, Adusumilli discloses a behavior control method, performed by a target base station (see Fig. 4 i.e., Target BS 110), and comprising: sending indication information for a behavior control policy for the target base station (see Fig. 4 i.e., X2 handover request ACK sent by target BS 110 & Para’s [0082-0084] i.e., the target BS 110 may determine a configuration for the UE 120…In some aspects, the configuration (i.e., the configuration is “indication information”) may identify one or more power-saving mode states for the UE 120, each associated with a respective power-saving configuration (“behavior control policy”) & [0085] i.e., As shown by reference number 404, the target BS 110 may transmit, and the source BS 110 may receive, an acknowledgement message that includes the configuration (i.e., “indication information”) for the UE 120. For example, the target BS 110 may transmit a handover request acknowledgement…In this way, the UE 120 may operate in the connected state (e.g., after reconnecting to the source BS 110 or the target BS 110) according to the configuration, thereby conserving power),
wherein the behavior control policy is configured to instruct the terminal to control a non-wireless communication behavior of the terminal after the terminal hands over from the source base station to the target base station. (In light of the applicants specification in Para [0066], the non-wireless communication behavior may be a power supply behavior that includes adjusting to a power saving mode. Therefore the “non-wireless communication behavior” is interpreted as the terminal adjusting to a power saving mode, (Adusumilli, see Fig. 4 & Para’s [0076] i.e., a handover of the UE 120 from the source BS 110 to the target BS 110 & [0083-0084] i.e., the configuration may identify one or more power-saving mode states for the UE 120, each associated with a respective power-saving configuration & [0085] i.e., the BS 110 may transmit a connection reconfiguration (e.g., an RRC connection reconfiguration message) that includes the configuration. In this way, the UE 120 may operate in the connected state (e.g., after reconnecting to the source BS 110 or the target BS 110) according to the configuration, thereby conserving power (i.e., controlling a non-wireless communication behavior such as adjusting to the power-saving mode according to the configuration (i.e., “behavior control policy”))
While Adusumilli discloses the target BS 110 sends the handover request acknowledgement message which includes indication information for the behavior control policy (i.e., “configuration”) for the target base station according to a X2 handover procedure (see Fig. 4 & Para’s [0080-0085]), Adusumilli does not disclose sending the indication information to a core network device which is performed according to an S1 handover procedure. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Pillay-Esnault US (2018/0007604).
Pillay-Esnault discloses an s1 handover procedure which include the target base station sending the handover request acknowledgement message to a core network device (see Fig. 4 i.e., S1 handover Ack sent from T-BS 320 to MME 330 & Para [0048] i.e., At step 418, the target BS 320 responds back to the MME 330 with a handover request acknowledgment)
(Pillay-Esnault suggests the handover procedure which is performed for successfully handing over the UE from the source base station to the target base station may be applicable to an S1 handover procedure or an X2 handover procedure, (see Para’s [0006] & [0048-0052])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the X2 handover procedure including the target base station sending the handover request acknowledgement message as disclosed in Adusumilli to alternatively be performed according to the S1 handover procedure disclosed in the teachings of Pillay-Esnault who discloses an S1 handover procedure which includes the target base station sending the handover request acknowledgement message to a core network device, because the motivation lies in Pillay-Esnault that the handover procedure which is performed for successfully handing over the UE from the source base station to the target base station may be applicable to an S1 handover procedure or an X2 handover procedure.
While Adusumilli discloses the target BS 110 sends the handover request acknowledgement message which includes indication information for the behavior control policy (i.e., “configuration”) for the target base station according to a X2 handover procedure (see Fig. 4 & Para’s [0080-0085]), the combination of Adusumilli in view of Pillay-Esnault does not explicitly disclose the handover request acknowledgement sent to the core network device includes the indication information (i.e., the “configuration”). However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Liang et al. US (2021/0007028).
Liang discloses a handover request acknowledgement sent from a target base station (see Fig. 4 i.e., target base station) to a core network device (see Fig. 4 i.e., control network element) includes configuration information used for reconfiguring a UE for handover to the target base station (see Fig. 4 & Para’s [0054-0056] i.e., After receiving the handover request, the target base station returns a handover request acknowledgement to the MME (i.e., “core network device”). The handover request acknowledgement may include…configuration information provided by the target base station for the user equipment)
(Liang suggests the source base station sends a handover instruction which includes the configuration information provided by the target base station for the user equipment via the handover request acknowledgement from the target base station, for reconfiguring the user equipment based on the configuration information provided by the target base station for successfully handing over the UE to the target base station, (see Fig. 3b & Para’s [0052-0056])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the handover request acknowledgement sent from the target base station to the core network device as disclosed in Adusumilli in view of Pillay-Esnault to include the indication information (i.e., the “configuration”) based on the teachings of Liang who discloses a handover request acknowledgement sent from a target base station to a core network device includes configuration information used for reconfiguring a UE for handover to the target base station, because the motivation lies in Liang that the source base station sends a handover instruction which includes the configuration information provided by the target base station for the user equipment via the handover request acknowledgement from the target base station, for reconfiguring the user equipment based on the configuration information provided by the target base station for successfully handing over the UE to the target base station.
Adusumilli in view of Pillay-Esnault, and further in view of Liang does not disclose wherein the indication information comprises a base station type of the target base station. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Sharma et al. USP (10,091,701).
Sharma discloses a target LTE enodeB sends a handover request acknowledgement (i.e., “indication information”) comprises a base station type of the target base station (see Col. 5 lines 25-36 i.e., target LTE eNodeB 511 sends a handover request acknowledgement message to source LTE eNodeB 510 indicating a target LTE eNodeB identifier (i.e., indicates a “base station type”)).
(Sharma suggests the target base station sends the handover request acknowledgement message in order to successfully handover the UE from the source base station to the target base station, (see Col. 5 lines 25-36)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the handover acknowledgement message sent from the target base station comprising the indication information as disclosed in Adusumilli in view of Pillay-Esnault, and further in view of Liang to comprise the base station type of the target base station included in the handover request acknowledgement disclosed in the teachings of Sharma, because the motivation lies in Sharma that the target base station sends the handover request acknowledgement message in order to successfully handover the UE from the source base station to the target base station
While Adusumilli discloses the behavior control policy may correspond to a preset base station type (see Para’s [0028], [0031], & [0082-0085]), the combination of Adusumilli in view of Pillay-Esnault, further in view of Liang, and further in view of Sharma does not disclose the claim feature of and the base station type corresponds to the behavior control policy for the target base station. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of LI et al. US (2014/0348008).
LI discloses the base station type corresponds to a behavior control policy for a target base station (see Para [0009-0010] i.e., For example, based on the type of base station connected to the user device, the call processing system may apply a policy (i.e., “behavior control policy”) to the connection between the user device and the base station, [0021] i.e., inter-eNB handovers includes a target base station of the UE, [0024-0025] i.e., policies and rules regarding QoS (i.e., “behavior control policy”), [0060] i.e., For example, data structure 400 may store information that identifies a policy and/or a QoS treatment (i.e., “behavior control policy”) to apply to a connection between user device 210 and devices in environment 200 based on the type of base station 220 connected to the user device, & [0076] i.e., In some implementations SGW 230, MME 240, PGW 250, and/or PCRF 260 may identify the base station type to apply a policy or QoS treatment (i.e., “behavior control policy”) to the connection between user device 210 and devices in, or communicating via, environment 200).
(LI suggests the base station type corresponds to a behavior control policy for a target base station in order to apply an appropriate policy based on the base station type and for ensuring quality of service (QoS) for the UE, (see Para’s [0009], [0024-0025], & [0076])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the handover of the UE from the source base station to the target base station according to the behavior control policy for the target base station as disclosed in Adusumilli in view of Pillay-Esnault, further in view of Liang, and further in view of Sharma to include a base station type corresponding to a behavior control policy for the target base station as disclosed in the teachings of LI, because the motivation lies in LI that the base station type corresponds to a behavior control policy for a target base station in order to apply an appropriate policy based on the base station type and for ensuring quality of service (QoS) for the UE.
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Adusumilli in view of Pillay-Esnault discloses the method of claim 14, but does not disclose the claim feature of wherein sending the indication information for the behavior control policy for the target base station to the core network device comprises: receiving a handover request signaling sent by the core network device, wherein the handover request signaling carries request information for obtaining the indication information; and returning a handover request response to the core network device, wherein the handover request response carries the indication information. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Liang et al. US (2021/0007028).
Liang discloses wherein sending the indication information (i.e., “configuration”) to the core network device comprises: receiving a handover request signaling sent by the core network device (see Fig. 3b i.e., Handover request received by target base station from control network element & Para [0053]), wherein the handover request signaling carries request information for obtaining the indication information (see Para’s [0053-0054] i.e., The handover request may be handover request (HO request) signaling on an S1 interface between the target base station and the MME)
and returning a handover request response to the core network device, (see Fig. 3b i.e., handover request acknowledgement (i.e., “response”) sent from the target base station to the control network element & Para [0054] i.e., After receiving the handover request, the target base station returns a handover request acknowledgement to the MME)
wherein the handover request response carries the indication information (see Para [0054] i.e., After receiving the handover request, the target base station returns a handover request acknowledgement to the MME. The handover request acknowledgement may include…configuration information provided by the target base station for the user equipment)
(Liang suggests the handover request and handover request acknowledgement is performed between the MME and the target base station in order to obtain and send the configuration information to the source base station for sending a handover instruction to the user equipment, for reconfiguring the user equipment based on the configuration information provided by the target base station for successfully handing over the UE to the target base station, (see Fig. 3b & Para’s [0052-0056])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the process of sending the indication information for the behavior control policy for the target base station to the core network device as disclosed in Adusumilli in view of Pillay-Esnault to be performed by exchanging the handover request and handover request acknowledgement between the MME and the target base station as disclosed in the teachings of Liang, because the motivation lies in Liang that the handover request and handover request acknowledgement is performed between the MME and the target base station in order to obtain and send the configuration information to the source base station for sending a handover instruction to the user equipment, for reconfiguring the user equipment based on the configuration information provided by the target base station for successfully handing over the UE to the target base station.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adusumilli et al. US (2021/0112493) in view of Pillay-Esnault US (2018/0007604), further in view of Liang et al. US (2021/0007028), further in view of Sharma et al. USP (10,091,701), and further in view of LI et al. US (2014/0348008) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Park et al. US (2021/0092725).
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Adusumilli in view of Pillay-Esnault, and further in view of Liang, further in view of Sharma, and further in view of LI discloses the method of claim 14, but does not disclose the claim features of wherein sending the indication information for the behavior control policy for the target base station to the core network device comprises: sending the indication information to the core network device during a process of establishing a connection with the core network device, wherein sending the indication information comprises: when a core network is a 4G core network, sending an S1 setup request signaling carrying the indication information to the core network device; and when the core network is a 5G core network, sending an NG setup request signaling carrying the indication information to the core network device. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Park et al. US (2021/0092725).
Park discloses wherein sending indication information for a target base station to the core network device comprises: sending indication information (i.e., “configuration information”) to the core network device during a process of establishing a connection with the core network device, (see Fig. 25 i.e., configuration request message sent from gNB-CU (i.e., may be a target base station that the UE may connect to) to AMF (i.e., “core network device”) & Para [0346] i.e., the base station central unit may send, to the AMF and based on the cell information (e.g., of the configuration request message), a second configuration request message comprising second cell information of the base station and/or the base station central unit (i.e., configuration information of gNB-CU is sent to AMF). In an example, the base station central unit may send the second configuration request message via the N2 interface (e.g., the S1 interface). The second configuration request message may comprise at least one of: a NG setup request message (e.g., S1 setup request message) & [0347-0350] i.e., the second cell information in the second configuration request includes a list of CAGs associated with one or more serving cells of the base station central unit (i.e., configuration information))
wherein sending the indication information comprises: when a core network is a 4G core network, sending an S1 setup request signaling carrying the indication information to the core network device; (see Fig. 25 i.e., configuration request message sent from gNB-CU to AMF & Para’s [0346] i.e., The second configuration request message may comprise at least one of: a S1 setup request message (i.e., when LTE (i.e., 4G) is used S1 setup request message is sent) & [0447] i.e., wireless devices may operate according to LTE or 5G release)
and when the core network is a 5G core network (see Para [0196] i.e., 5G core network (5GC)), sending an NG setup request signaling carrying the indication information to the core network device (see Para’s Fig. 25 i.e., configuration request message sent from gNB-CU to AMF & Para’s [0346] i.e., The second configuration request message may comprise at least one of: NG setup request message (i.e., when 5G is used, NG setup request message is sent), [0196] i.e., 5G core network (5GC) & [0447] i.e., wireless devices may operate according to LTE or 5G release).
(Park suggests the configuration information sent via the setup request message from the gNB-CU to the AMF includes configuration information of serving cells associated with the gNB-CU in order for the UE to access, (see Fig. 25 & Para’s [0347-0350], [0352], & [0371-0372] i.e., the transport blocks may be transmitted by the base station central unit)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the sending of the indication information for the behavior control policy for the target base station to the core network such as the configuration as disclosed in Adusumilli in view of Pillay-Esnault, and further in view of Liang, further in view of Sharma, and further in view of LI to be performed by sending an S1 setup request signaling carrying the indication information (i.e., “the configuration”) to the core network device as disclosed in the teachings of Park, because the motivation lies in Park that the configuration information sent via the setup request message from the gNB-CU to the AMF includes configuration information of serving cells associated with the gNB-CU in order for the UE to access.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adusumilli et al. US (2021/0112493) in view of Pillay-Esnault US (2018/0007604), further in view of Liang et al. US (2021/0007028), further in view of Sharma et al. USP (10,091,701), and further in view of LI et al. US (2014/0348008) as applied to claim 14 above, in view of Zhu et al. US (2017/0280340), and further in view of Park et al. US (2021/0092725).
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of Adusumilli in view of Pillay-Esnault, and further in view of Liang, further in view of Sharma, and further in view of LI discloses the method of claim 14, but does not disclose the claim features of wherein sending the indication information for the behavior control policy for the target base station to the core network device comprises: sending the indication information to the core network device after establishing a connection with the core network device, wherein sending the indication information comprises: when a core network is a 4G core network, sending a mobility management entity (MME) configuration update signaling carrying the base station type to the core network device. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Zhu et al. US (2017/0280340).
Zhu discloses wherein sending indication information (i.e., configuration) for a target base station to the core network device comprises: sending the indication information to the core network device after establishing a connection with the core network device, (see Para [0072] i.e., The eNodeB may send the group identifier of the eNodeB to the MME when the eNodeB is initially connected to the MME)
wherein sending the indication information comprises: when a core network is a 4G core network (see Para’s [0003] i.e., LTE communication technology also referred to as 4G, [0004] i.e., EPC, [0066], & [0088]), sending a mobility management entity (MME) configuration update signaling carrying the base station type to the core network device (see Para’s [0046-0052] i.e., The group identifier may be used to indicate a deployment form attribute of the radio access network element…the deployment form attribute of the radio access network element is a common macro base station, a cloud base station, a base station access gateway, a home NodeB (i.e., group identifier indicates “base station type”) & [0072] i.e., Therefore, the eNodeB may send the group identifier of the eNodeB to the MME by using a configuration update message (i.e., “MME configuration update signaling”)…the configuration update message carries the group identifier of the eNodeB).
(Zhu suggests the MME uses the information such as the group identifier in a process such as handover of the user equipment to a specified eNodeB group for successful handover of the UE to a target base station, (see Para’s [0072], [0119], & [0128])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the sending of the indication information for the behavior control policy for the target base station to the core network such as the configuration as disclosed in Adusumilli in view of Pillay-Esnault, and further in view of Liang, further in view of Sharma, and further in view of LI to be performed by sending a mobility management entity (MME) configuration update signaling carrying the base station type to the core network device as disclosed in the teachings of Zhu, because the motivation lies in Zhu that the MME uses the information such as the group identifier in a process such as handover of the user equipment to a specified eNodeB group for successful handover of the UE to a target base station.
The combination of Adusumilli in view of Pillay-Esnault, and further in view of Liang, further in view of Sharma, further in view of LI, and further in view of Zhu does not disclose the claim feature of and when the core network is a 5G core network, sending an access and mobility management function (AMF) configuration update signaling carrying the indication information (i.e., “configuration”) to the core network device. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Park et al. US (2021/0092725).
Park discloses when the core network is a 5G core network (see Para’s [0196] i.e., 5G core network (5GC) & [0447] i.e., wireless devices may operate according to LTE or 5G release, sending an access and mobility management function (AMF) configuration update signaling carrying configuration information to the core network device (see Fig. 25 i.e., configuration request message sent from gNB-CU (i.e., may be a target base station that the UE may connect to) to AMF (i.e., “core network device”) & Para [0346] i.e., the base station central unit may send, to the AMF and based on the cell information (e.g., of the configuration request message), a second configuration request message comprising second cell information of the base station and/or the base station central unit (i.e., configuration information of gNB-CU is sent to AMF). In an example, the base station central unit may send the second configuration request message via the N2 interface (e.g., the S1 interface). The second configuration request message may comprise at least one of: a core node configuration update acknowledgement (e.g., AMF configuration update acknowledgement message)
(Park suggests the configuration information sent via the setup request message from the gNB-CU to the AMF includes configuration information of serving cells associated with the gNB-CU in order for the UE to access, (see Fig. 25 & Para’s [0347-0350], [0352], & [0371-0372] i.e., the transport blocks may be transmitted by the base station central unit)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the sending of the indication information for the behavior control policy for the target base station to the core network such as the configuration as disclosed in Adusumilli in view of Pillay-Esnault, and further in view of Liang, further in view of Sharma, further in view of LI, and further in view of Zhu to be performed by sending an access and mobility management function (AMF) configuration update signaling carrying configuration information to the core network device as disclosed in the teachings of Park, because the motivation lies in Park that the configuration information sent via the AMF configuration update signaling message from the gNB-CU to the AMF includes configuration information of serving cells associated with the gNB-CU in order for the UE to access.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADNAN BAIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461