DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sotowa (WO 2020/116324 A1, cited by applicant).
Re Claim 1. Sotowa teaches a negative electrode (abstract) for an energy storage device (intended use) comprising a negative active material layer (abstract) containing solid graphite (P3), wherein the solid graphite has an average circularity of 0.5 to 0.94 (P3), and the negative active material layer further contains carbon fine particles (P6).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). "[A] prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness." In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). See MPEP § 2144.05, I.
Re Claim 2. Sotowa teaches wherein the solid graphite has an average particle size of 0.1 to 10 µm (P3).
Re Claim 4. Sotowa teaches an energy storage device (abstract) comprising the negative electrode according to claim 1 (see rejection of Claim 1).
Claim(s) 3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sotowa as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kimura et al. (WO 2019/098200 A1, hereinafter Kimura).
The teachings of Sotowa have been discussed above.
Re Claim 3. Sotowa fails to specifically teach that a ratio of an average pore size of the negative active material layer to the average particle size of the solid graphite is less than 0.14.
The invention of Kimura encompasses non-aqueous lithium-type electricity storage element. Kimura teaches that an average pore size of the negative active material layer is 20 to 50 nm (0.02 to 0.05 µm, P27).
In view of Kimura, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the invention of Sotowa to have an average pore size of the negative active material layer to be 20 to 50 nm (0.02 to 0.05 µm), since Kimura teaches the advantage of doing it, which is to achieve excellent low temperature resistance (P27).
The average pore size of the negative active material layer is 0.02 to 0.05 µm, while the average particle size of the solid graphite is 0.1 to 10 µm. Therefore, a ratio of an average pore size of the negative active material layer to the average particle size of the solid graphite is 0.002 to 0.5.
Re Claim 5. The combination teaches an energy storage device (Sotowa, abstract) comprising the negative electrode according to claim 3 (see rejection of Claim 3).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
The rejections above rely on the references for all the teachings expressed in the text of the references and/or one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably understood from the texts. Only specific portions of the texts have been pointed out to emphasize certain aspects of the prior art, however, each reference as a whole should be reviewed in responding to the rejection, since other sections of the same reference and/or various combinations of the cited references may be relied on in future rejections in view of amendments.
/KEVIN E YOON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735
6/10/2026