DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 23, the phrase “further comprising has solid faces on the front side” is indefinite. The claim has not established a structural relationship between the solid faces and the corresponding structure with the solid faces (in other words, it is unclear what structure has the solid faces).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-20, 23, and 25-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent No. 7,137,877 to Uhl et al.
In re claim 16, Uhl teaches a profile structure for a component of a power tool, the profile structure comprising:
a front side (26) and a rear side (as indicated by the arrow below), at least two corrugations on the front side and at least one corrugation on the other of the rear side (as shown in at least Figure 4).
In re claim 17, wherein the corrugations (26) (are capable of extending in) extend in the longitudinal direction of the component (see Annotated Figure 1).
In re claim18, wherein the corrugations (26) are (capable of being) arranged substantially symmetrically about a virtual central axis of the component of the power tool.
The term “virtual” does not raise a 112 in this instance, the term is replete through out the specification and in direct relation to the central axis of the component.
In re claim 19, Uhl teaches wherein the corrugations (26) number n corrugations on the front side V and (n-1) corrugations on the rear side (as shown in at least Figure 4).
In re claim 20, comprising reinforcement ribs (see Annotated Figure 1, above).
In re claim 21, wherein the reinforcement ribs (see Annotated Figure 1, above) are arranged in the corrugations.
In re claim 23, further comprising has solid faces on the front side (as shown in Figure 4).
In re claim 25, Uhl teaches a power tool (1) comprising a component (7) including the profile structure as recited in claim 16.
In re claim 26, a corrugation region (26) arranged between a transmission cylinder (12) and a tool cylinder (8) of the component.
In re claim 27, wherein the component (7) is a cutting arm for a power tool.
In re claim 28, wherein the power tool (1) is a cutting device (Abstract, Col. 2, lines 11-30).
In re claim 29, a cutting arm for a power tool, the cutting arm comprising the profile structure (26) as recited in claim 16.
In re claim 30, wherein the cutting arm (7) is formed in one piece (Col. 3, lines 14-33).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uhl.
In re claim 22, Uhl teaches wherein the reinforcement ribs (26) enclose various angles with respect to a virtual central axis. The reinforcement ribs appear to lie at various angles less than 90 degrees.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to angle the reinforcement ribs of Uhl at various angles in order to maintain increased rigidity of the component (Col. 3, lines 14-25). A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. MPEP 2143, Section I, Part E. The modification of Uhl would have been obvious to try for the reasons set forth below:
(1) A finding that at the time of the invention, there had been a recognized problem or need in the art, which may include a design need or market pressure to solve a problem.
The Examiner recognized there was a recognized problem in the art to provide structural rigidity to bracket in parting-off grinders. Uhl provides a teaching of solving this problem by providing a plurality of reinforcement ribs angled within a recess extending parallel to the longitudinal axis of the bracket. Based on the teachings provided by Uhl, the Examiner concluded reinforcement ribs art can be disposed as various angles which aids in maintaining the desired rigidity of the bracket.
(2) a finding that there had been a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions to the recognized need or problem.
The Examiner recognized Uhl teaches the bracket has a recessed area extending parallel to the axis of the bracket and disposed in the recess are a plurality of reinforcement ribs at angles less than 90 degrees to the axis of the bracket. Uhl provided a teaching of angling reinforcement ribs less than 90 degrees to the axis of the bracket. Based on the teachings of Uhl, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found that there are a finite number of angles (between 1 and 90 degrees) with respect to the axis of the bracket values that could be implemented to maintain rigidity of the bracket. The value of 1 to 90 degrees as taught by Uhl, would have provided one of ordinary skill in the art with a baseline value to being experimentation. In other words, one would have been prompted to try various angles between 1 and 90 degrees, based on the angular arrangement of the reinforcement ribs of Uhl before arriving at the angular range which allows the integrity of the bracket to be retained.
(3) A finding that one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success.
The Examiner determined that based on the teachings of Uhl, that the modified bracket could have reinforcement ribs at various angles that would not jeopardize the rigidity of the bracket. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been knowledgeable that the expectation of success, of providing the bracket with reinforcement ribs at an angle between 30 and 60 degrees with respect to the longitudinal axis of the bracket would still permit the bracket to maintain the desired rigidity.
(4) Whatever additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries may be necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness.
The Examiner recognized that Uhl teaches angling reinforcement ribs between 1 and 90 degrees relative to the longitudinal axis of the bracket, which is in view of the facts of the case under consideration. Therefore, based on the facts of the case, one would have been prompted to try various angular orientations of the reinforcement ribs between 1 and 90 degrees as taught by Uhl to find the angular orientation that did not jeopardize the integrity of the bracket.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uhl in view of EP3670077 to Specht et al.
In re claim 24, Uhl teaches the profile structure is manufactured from a material, but does not teach wherein the profile structure is manufactured from more than one material, wherein a basic structure of the profile structure includes a metal or reinforcement ribs include a plastic.
Specht teaches a support arm (17) is cast from a light weight metal which permit forces to be transmitted to the arm without damage (Pg. 2, lines 30-35).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to manufacture the bracket of Uhl of a light weight metal as taught by Specht to permit forces to be transmitted to the arm without damage (Pg. 2, lines 30-35) during use of the device. Uhl teaches the bracket is a one-piece monolith design which results in both high rigidity and high strength; therefore, fabricating the bracket of Uhl would (subsequently) lead to the profile structure including a metal. The limitations of claim 24 are product by process. "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Conclusion
/JENNIFER S MATTHEWS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724