DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims and Other Notes
Claims 1–12 are pending.
The paragraph numbers cited in this Office Action in reference to the instant application are referring to the paragraph numbering of the PG-Pub of the instant application. See US 2025/0096302 A1.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 23 January 2024, 02 February 2024, 21 April 2025, and 28 April 2025 were filed before the mailing of a first Office Action on the merits. The submissions comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
The numbers and letters identifying the views are associated with brackets. Numbers and letters identifying the views must be simple and clear and must not be used in association with brackets, circles, or inverted commas. The view numbers must be larger than the numbers used for reference characters. See 37 CFR 1.84 (u)(2).
FIGS. 1–7 do not have satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter is not sufficiently dense and dark to permit adequate reproduction. See US 2025/0096302 A1. All drawings must be made by a process, which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well defined. The weight of all lines and letters must be heavy enough to permit adequate reproduction. This requirement applies to all lines however fine, to shading, and to lines representing cut surfaces in sectional views. Lines and strokes of different thicknesses may be used in the same drawing where different thicknesses have a different meaning. See 37 CFR 1.84 (l).
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: BATTERY CELL PRESSING JIG INCLUDING UPPER AND LOWER PLATES WITH PRESSING MEMBERS AND SENSING MEMBERS COUPLED TO UPPER PLATE.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1–3, 5, 6, and 9–12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (US 2010/0047676 A1, hereinafter Park).
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses a battery cell pressing jig (FIG. 1, [0037]) for assembling a battery cell (200, [0037]), the battery cell pressing jig comprising:
a lower plate (102) having an upper surface is provided with a first pressing member (110) for seating and arranging a plurality of battery cells (200) thereon (FIG. 2, [0038]);
an upper plate (101) above the lower plate (102) and having a lower surface provided with a second pressing member (110) thereon (FIG. 2, [0038]);
a pressing part (140) configured to press the upper plate (101) and the lower plate (102) toward the plurality of battery cells (200, [0044]); and
a plurality of sensing members (310) coupled onto the upper plate (101) to be electrically connected to the plurality of battery cells (200, [0050]).
Regarding claim 2, Park discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell pressing jig:
wherein the plurality of battery cells (200) are cylindrical battery cells (FIG. 1, [0037]).
Regarding claim 3, Park discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell pressing jig:
wherein a plurality of first seating grooves (see hollow cylindrical structure, [0040]), in which a lower outer periphery of each of the plurality of battery cells (200) are seated, are formed in an upper surface of the first pressing member (110, [0039]), and
wherein a plurality of second seating grooves (see hollow cylindrical structure, [0040]) see hollow cylindrical structure, [0040]), in which an upper outer periphery of each of the plurality of battery cells (200) are seated, are formed in a lower surface of the second pressing member (110, [0039]).
Regarding claim 5, Park discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell pressing jig:
wherein a plurality of sensing holes (130) in which the plurality of sensing members (310) are inserted and installed pass through the upper plate (101, [0050]).
Regarding claim 6, Park discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell pressure jig:
wherein each of the plurality of sensing members (310) is disposed in a vertical direction corresponding to a position of an electrode terminal (210) of a corresponding one of the plurality of battery cells (200) seated on the first pressing member (110) and the second pressing member (110, [0050]).
Regarding claim 9, Park discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell pressing jig, further comprising:
a measurement device (400) configured to measure a current or voltage of a battery cell (200) of the plurality of battery cells (200) electrically connected to a sensing member (310) of the plurality of sensing members (310, [0037]).
Regarding claim 10, Park discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell pressing jig, further comprising:
a charge/discharge device (350) configured to charge or discharge a battery cell (200) of the plurality of battery cells (200) electrically connected through a sensing member (310) of the plurality of sensing members (310, [0050]).
Regarding claim 11, Park discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell pressing jig:
wherein each of the first pressing member (110) and the second pressing member (110) has a plurality of projections (110) around a plurality of seating grooves (see hollow cylindrical structure, [0040]).
Regarding claim 12, Park discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell pressing jig:
wherein each of the plurality of projections (110) has four flat side surfaces (FIG. 2, [0038]).
Claims 1, 3, 4, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakamura (US 2022/0045397 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nakamura discloses a battery cell pressing jig (FIG. 3A, [0048]) for assembling a battery cell (21, [0036]), the battery cell pressing jig comprising:
a lower plate (30A) having an upper surface is provided with a first pressing member (32) for seating and arranging a plurality of battery cells (21) thereon (FIG. 3A, [0056]);
an upper plate (30B) above the lower plate (30A) and having a lower surface provided with a second pressing member (32) thereon (FIG. 3A, [0055]);
a pressing part (11) configured to press the upper plate (30B) and the lower plate (30A) toward the plurality of battery cells (21, [0060]); and
a plurality of sensing members (23B) coupled onto the upper plate (30B) to be electrically connected to the plurality of battery cells (21, [0042]).
Regarding claim 3, Nakamura discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell pressing jig:
wherein a plurality of first seating grooves (33), in which a lower outer periphery of each of the plurality of battery cells (21) are seated, are formed in an upper surface of the first pressing member (32, [0056]), and
wherein a plurality of second seating grooves (33), in which an upper outer periphery of each of the plurality of battery cells (21) are seated, are formed in a lower surface of the second pressing member (32, [0055]).
Regarding claim 4, Nakamura discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell pressing jig:
wherein the first pressing member (32) and the second pressing member (32) are made of foam (see foamed resin, [0058]).
Regarding claim 11, Nakamura discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell pressing jig:
wherein each of the first pressing member (32) and the second pressing member (32) has a plurality of projections (32) around a plurality of seating grooves (33, [0056]).
Regarding claim 12, Nakamura discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell pressing jig:
wherein each of the plurality of projections (32) has four flat side surfaces (FIG. 5, [0059]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2010/0047676 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (KR 2022-0013849 A, hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Park discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose a battery cell pressing jig:
wherein each of the plurality of sensing members is a pogo pin having a conductive tip electrically connected to an electrode terminal of a corresponding one of the plurality of battery cells and is movable upwardly and downwardly by an embedded elastic member; and
wherein each of the plurality of sensing members is a measurement pin including a tip made of a conductive material to be electrically connected to an electrode terminal of a corresponding one of the plurality of battery cells.
Kim discloses a sensing member (100) that is a pogo pin (100) having a conductive tip (140) electrically connected to an electrode terminal (40) of a battery cell (30) and is movable upwardly and downwardly by an embedded elastic member (120, [0039]); and the sensing member (100) that is a measurement pin (100) including a tip (140) made of a conductive material to be electrically connected to the electrode terminal (40) of the battery cell (30, [0039]) to improve the safety of the battery cell (FIG. 4, [0049]). Park and Kim are analogous because they are directed to battery cells. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the sensing member of Park with the sensing member of Kim in order to improve the safety of the battery cell.
Conclusion
/Sean P Cullen, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725