DETAILED ACTION
Applicant amended claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8, 11, 23, and 24, cancelled claims 3, 7, and 12-22, and added claims 25-33 in the preliminary amendment filed on 01/29/2024.
The claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8-11, and 23-33 are pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, and 23-28 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,438,926 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,438,926 B2 contain(s) every element of claims 1, 2, 4-6, and 23-28 of the instant application and thus anticipate the claim(s) of the instant application. Claims of the instant application therefore are not patently distinct from the earlier patent claims and as such are unpatentable over obvious-type double patenting. A later patent/application claim is not patentably distinct from an earlier claim if the later claim is anticipated by the earlier claim. “A later patent claim is not patentably distinct from an earlier patent claim if the later claim is obvious over, or anticipated by, the earlier claim. In re Longi, 759 F.2d at 896, 225 USPQ at 651 (affirming a holding of obviousness-type double patenting because the claims at issue were obvious over claims in four prior art patents); In re Berg, 140 F.3d at 1437, 46 USPQ2d at 1233 (Fed. Cir. 1998) (affirming a holding of obviousness-type double patenting where a patent application claim to a genus is anticipated by a patent claim to a species within that genus). “ ELI LILLY AND COMPANY v BARR LABORATORIES, INC., United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit, ON PETITION FOR REHEARING EN BANC (DECIDED: May 30, 2001). “Claim 12 and Claim 13 are generic to the species of invention covered by claim 3 of the patent. Thus, the generic invention is "anticipated" by the species of the patented invention. Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (holding that an earlier species disclosure in the prior art defeats any generic claim). This court's predecessor has held that, without a terminal disclaimer, the species claims preclude issuance of the generic application. In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 944, 214 USPQ 761, 767 (CCPA 1982); Accordingly, absent a terminal disclaimer, claims 12 and 13 were properly rejected under the doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting.” (In re Goodman (CA FC) 29 USPQ2d 2010 (12/3/1993).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 23-25, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by “3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP); TSGSSA; System architecture for the 5G System; Stage 2 (Release 17), 3GPP STANDARD; 3GPP TS 23.502 (hereinafter 3GPP).
With respect to claim 1, 3GPP teaches a method for selecting a network slice admission control function (NSACF), performed by an access and mobility management function (AMF) (section 6.3.22 disclose NSACF selection function in the AMF), comprising: selecting the NSACF based on service capabilities of the NSACF (section 6.3.22 disclose NSACF selection function in the AMF selecting an NSACF instance; the NSACF selection is based on the following factors: NSACF service capabilities including support monitoring and controlling the number of registered UEs per network slice for the network slice that is subject to NSAC and support monitoring and controlling the number of established PDU sessions per network slice for the network slice that is subject to NSAC), wherein the service capabilities comprise at least one of: a first service capability that supports monitoring a number of registered user equipments (UEs) of a network slice, or a second service capability that supports monitoring a number of established protocol data unit (PDU) sessions of the network slice (section 6.3.22 disclose the NSACF selection is based on the following factors: NSACF service capabilities including support monitoring and controlling the number of registered UEs per network slice for the network slice that is subject to NSAC and support monitoring and controlling the number of established PDU sessions per network slice for the network slice that is subject to NSAC).
With respect to claim 2, 3GPP teaches wherein selecting the NSACF comprises one of: selecting an NSACF having the first service capability and the second service capability;
or selecting a high-priority NSACF from a plurality of NSACFs when the plurality of NSACFs have the first service capability and the second service capability (section 6.3.22 disclose selection NSACF service capabilities which implies that a NSACF having both capabilities may be selected, as well as selects an NSACF instance based on the available NSACF instances in paragraph 6.3.22, noting that basing the selection on priority is a well-known and commonly implemented criterion for selection).
The limitations of claim 23 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above, and the claim
is rejected on that basis.
The limitations of claim 24 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above, and the claim is
rejected on that basis.
The limitations of claim 25 are rejected in the analysis of claim 2 above, and the claim is
rejected on that basis.
The limitations of claim 33 are rejected in the analysis of claim 2 above, and the claim is
rejected on that basis.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, 8-11, and 26-32 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/CHEIKH T NDIAYE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447
3/7/2026