DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 12 and 13 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Groups II and III, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on December 4, 2025.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-11 and Species I, A, and 1 (Figs. 1-3) in the reply filed on December 4, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “clearance adjustment part” in claim 1 and “fixing member” in claim 3.
In light of the specification the limitation “clearance adjustment part” has been interpreted to cover the structure “fixing member and differential screw” in paragraph 0027.
In light of the specification the limitation “fixing member” has been interpreted to cover the structure “lid portion with a through hole” in paragraph 0039.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites “a use state in which the disperser is used and the clearance distance is small.” The term “small” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “small” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. As a result, it is unclear where the boundary lies between a “small” clearance distance and other clearance distances, rendering the scope of claim 4 uncertain. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to determine with reasonable certainty whether a given clearance distance satisfies the claimed “small” limitation.
Claim 8 recites the phrase “may accumulate” that introduces uncertainty because it is speculative and does not provide an objective criterion for determine when fluid accumulation is considered to occur. The claim does not define the conditions under which fluid accumulation would be assessed or the degree of accumulation that would fall within the scope of the claim. As a result, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to determine with reasonable certainty and the scope of claim 8 renders the claim indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, 8, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Enomura (WO 2020/136923 A1).
With regard to claim 1, Enomura discloses a disperser, comprising: a cylindrical outer member (61) extending in a predetermined direction and having a tapered inner circumferential surface (63) as a part of an inner circumferential surface thereof (Fig. 5A);
an inner member (10) located radially inside the outer member (61) and having a tapered outer circumferential surface (11) as a part of an outer circumferential surface thereof (Fig. 5 A), the tapered outer circumferential surface (11) facing the tapered inner circumferential surface (63) of the outer member (61);
and a clearance adjustment part (“gap adjusting mechanism (not shown)”, Par. [0062]) that allows a clearance distance between the tapered inner circumferential surface and the tapered outer circumferential surface to be adjusted by moving the outer member and the inner member relative to each other in the predetermined direction (Fig. 5B and 5C and Par. [0062]); wherein
a flow path (represented by arrows in in space 81, Fig. 5A) is formed between the inner circumferential surface (63) of the outer member (61) and the outer circumferential surface (11) of the inner member (10), through which fluid flows from one side to an other side in the predetermined direction (flows from lower side to upper side as shown in Fig. 5A),
the flow path includes a dispersion region (processing space 81 shown in Fig. 5A) defined by the tapered inner circumferential surface (63) and the tapered outer circumferential surface (11), and
the tapered inner circumferential surface (63) and the tapered outer circumferential surface (11) are formed such that an angle therebetween in a cross section in the predetermined direction changes in a middle of the dispersion region (angle between surfaces 11 and 63 in a cross section changes by protruding portions 16 as shown in Fig. 5A) .
With regard to claim 3, the disperser of Enomura discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Enomura further discloses that the clearance adjustment part includes: a fixing member (76) that supports the inner member (10) to be slidable in the predetermined direction (inner member 10 slidably rotated by shaft 31, Fig. 5A) and is fixed to the outer member (61), and a differential screw (“The specific configuration of the gap adjusting mechanism is not particularly limited, and linear feeding means such as a screw feeding mechanism”, Par. [0062]) configured to slide the inner member (10) in the predetermined direction with respect to the fixing member (76).
With regard to claim 4, the disperser of Enomura discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Enomura further discloses that the clearance adjustment part (“gap adjusting mechanism (not shown)”, Par. [0062]) can be used to selectively place the disperser in any one of the following states without disassembling the outer member and the inner member: a contact state in which the tapered inner circumferential surface and the tapered outer circumferential surface are in contact with each other, a use state in which the disperser is used and the clearance distance is small, and a separate state in which the clearance distance is larger than in the use state (as shown in Fig. 5B-C and Par. [0062], the gap adjusting mechanism is capable of performing the recited contact state, the use state and separate state).
With regard to claim 8, the disperser of Enomura discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Enomura further discloses that the inner circumferential surface (63) of the outer member (61) and the outer circumferential surface (11) of the inner member (10) that define the flow path have no horizontal portion where the fluid flowing through the flow path may accumulate (as shown in Fig. 5 A, the space 81 does not have any horizontal portion that would allow fluid to accumulate).
With regard to claim 9, the disperser of Enomura discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Enomura further discloses that the inner circumferential surface (63) of the outer member (61) and the outer circumferential surface (11) of the inner member (10) that define the flow path are covered with a coating made of a corrosion-resistant material (“The inner wall 10 and the outer wall 61 can be configured by a single member or a combination of a plurality of members, and the materials thereof include various metals, ceramics such as silicon carbide (SiC), sintered metal, and abrasion resistance. It is possible to employ steel, sapphire, or other metal that has been hardened, or hard material that has been subjected to lining, coating, plating, or the like.”) .
With regard to claim 11, the disperser of Enomura discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Enomura further discloses that at least one of the outer member (61) and the inner member (10) has a jacket through which another fluid can flow to adjust temperature of the fluid flowing through the flow path (“temperature adjusting mechanism T is attached to the outer peripheral surface of the cylindrical wall 63 of the outer wall 61 and fluid processing” and Fig. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enomura in view of Enomura et al. (JP 6762058 B1).
With regard to claim 10, the disperser of Enomura discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Enomura does not disclose that the coating is a fluoropolymer coating.
Enomura in the Japanese reference teaches the coating is a fluoropolymer coating (“polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) or polyetheretherketone (PEEK) can be selected and used”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coating material of Enomura, by employing the fluoropolymer coating as taught in the Japanese reference, since the modification is a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2143 B).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 5-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
JOEL . ZHOU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3752
/QINGZHANG ZHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752