DETAILED ACTION
1. This communication is response to the application filed 03/29/2019 havingclaims 1-20 pending and presented for examination.
Priority
2. Application filed on 01/23/2024 is a 371 of PCT/CN2021/121567 09/29/2021 are acknowledged.
Drawings
3. The drawings were received on 1/23/2024 and these drawings are accepted.
4. Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/23/2024is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Oath/Declaration
4. The Oath/Declaration filed on 1/23/2024 is accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7, 11-13, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by US Publication US 20230421414 A1 Sun et al. (Hereinafter “Sun ").
As per claim 1, Sun teaches a method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising: transmitting, to a base station, a message indicating that the UE is capable of supporting multiple sounding reference signal resources in one sounding reference signal resource set associated with differing numbers of antenna ports (para 0070], UE is transmitting to a base station regarding capability of UE of supporting multiple sounding reference signal resources in one sounding reference signal resource set associated with differing numbers of antenna ports` ); receiving, from the base station, control signaling indicating a mapping of a first number of antenna ports and a first number of transmit chains to a first sounding reference signal resource of a sounding reference signal resource set and a second number of number of antenna ports to a second sounding reference signal resource of the sounding reference signal resource set (para 0071], 0088], UE receives from the base station SRS configuration and a sounding reference signal resource set symbols and determines and maps plurality of antenna such as second and fourth second SRS resources and map fourth symbol to fourth to second antenna port of the sounding reference signal resource set received from base station); receiving, from the base station, an uplink grant indicating a sounding reference signal resource index corresponding to the first sounding reference signal resource (para 0077], UE is receiving from the base station grants the communication configuration mapped corresponding SRS mapped information and uplink grant indicating a sounding reference signal resource index corresponding from UE to base station and ); and transmitting, via the first sounding reference signal resource, a plurality of sounding reference signals via the first number of antenna ports using the first number of transmit chains ((para 0077], 0083UE is transmitting via a plurality of sounding reference signals via the first number of antenna ports using the first number of transmit chains).
As per claim 2, Sun teaches the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the control signaling comprises: receiving the control signaling indicating a mapping of the first number of transmit chains to the second sounding reference signal resource of the sounding reference signal resource set (para 0085], control information including mapping offset sounding reference signal symbols to respective antennas in accordance with one or more aspects, including operations performed by an SRS port mapper ).
As per claim 3, Sun teaches the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the control signaling comprises: receiving the control signaling indicating a mapping of a second number of transmit chains to the second sounding reference signal resource of the sounding reference signal resource set (para 0089], receiving the control signaling indicating a mapping of a second number of transmit chains to the second sounding reference signal resource of the sounding reference signal resource set ).
As per claim 7, Sun teaches the method of claim 1, wherein transmitting the plurality of sounding reference signals comprises: transmitting the plurality of sounding reference signals on a single component carrier (para 0089], transmitting the plurality of sounding reference signals on a single component carrier).
As per claim 11, Sun teaches a method for wireless communications at a base station, comprising: receiving, from a user equipment (UE), a message indicating that the UE is capable of supporting multiple sounding reference signal resources in one sounding reference signal resource set associated with differing numbers of antenna ports(para 0070], UE is receiving from a base station based on the received information regarding capability of UE of supporting multiple sounding reference signal resources in one sounding reference signal resource set associated with differing numbers of antenna ports); transmitting, to the UE, control signaling indicating a mapping of a first number of antenna ports and a first number of transmit chains to a first sounding reference signal resource of a sounding reference signal resource set and a second number of number of antenna ports to a second sounding reference signal resource of the sounding reference signal resource set(para 0071], 0088], base station transmitting to UE regarding SRS configuration and a sounding reference signal resource set symbols and determines and maps plurality of antenna such as second and fourth second SRS resources and map fourth symbol to fourth to second antenna port of the sounding reference signal resource set received from base station); transmitting, to the UE, an uplink grant indicating a sounding reference signal resource index corresponding to the first sounding reference signal resource(para 0077], transmitting, to the UE from the base station grants the communication configuration mapped corresponding SRS mapped information and uplink grant indicating a sounding reference signal resource index corresponding from UE to base station and ); and receiving, via the first sounding reference signal resource, a plurality of sounding reference signals via the first number of antenna ports using the first number of transmit chains((para 0077], 0083], base station is receiving via a plurality of sounding reference signals via the first number of antenna ports using the first number of transmit chains)..
As per claim 12, Sun teaches the method of claim 11, wherein transmitting the control signaling comprises: transmitting the control signaling indicating a mapping of the first number of transmit chains to the second sounding reference signal resource of the sounding reference signal resource set (para 0085], control information including mapping offset sounding reference signal symbols to respective antennas in accordance with one or more aspects, including operations performed by an SRS port mapper ).
As per claim 13, Sun teaches the method of claim 11, wherein transmitting the control signaling comprises: transmitting the control signaling indicating a mapping of a second number of transmit chains to the second sounding reference signal resource of the sounding reference signal resource set (para 0089], receiving the control signaling indicating a mapping of a second number of transmit chains to the second sounding reference signal resource of the sounding reference signal resource set ).
As per claim 16, Sun teaches the method of claim 11, wherein receiving the plurality of sounding reference signals comprises: receiving the plurality of sounding reference signals on a single component carrier (para 0089], transmitting the plurality of sounding reference signals on a single component carrier).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 4-6, 14-15, 20, 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun further view of US PG Pub US 20210135730 A1 to CHAI et al (hereinafter CHAI).
As per claim 4, Sun teaches the method of claim 1, CHAI teaches wherein receiving the uplink grant comprises: receiving a downlink control information message comprising the uplink grant and an indication of a precoding matrix indicator for transmitting the plurality of sounding reference signal (para 0124 0193], sending an uplink grant for transmitting plurality of sounding reference signal as an indication of a precoding matrix indicator).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify the combination system of Sun by receiving a downlink control information message comprising the uplink grant and an indication of a precoding matrix indicator for transmitting the plurality of sounding reference signal as suggested by CHAI , this modification would benefit Sun for reducing system performance loss in a mobile communication network.
As per claim 5, Sun teaches the method of claim 4, CHAI teaches further comprising: precoding the plurality of sounding reference signals according to the precoding matrix indicator, wherein transmitting the plurality of sounding reference signals is based at least in part on the precoding (para 0022],precoding plurality of sounding channels which are based on precoding and wherein transmitting the plurality of sounding reference signals is based at least in part on the precoding).
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 4.
As per claim 6, Sun teaches the method of claim 4, CHAI teaches further comprising: receiving, from the base station, control signaling indicating a set of precoding matrix indicators, wherein the indication of the precoding matrix indicator is one of the set of precoding matrix indicators (para 0124 0193], receiving, from the base station, control signaling indicating a set of precoding matrix indicators, wherein the indication of the precoding matrix indicator is one of the set of precoding matrix indicators).
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 4.
As per claim 14, Sun teaches the method of claim 11, CHAI teaches wherein transmitting the uplink grant comprises: transmitting a downlink control information message comprising the uplink grant and an indication of a precoding matrix indicator for transmitting the plurality of sounding reference signal(para 0022],precoding plurality of sounding channels which are based on precoding and wherein transmitting the plurality of sounding reference signals is based at least in part on the precoding)..
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 4.
As per claim 15, Sun teaches the method of claim 14, CHAI teaches further comprising: transmitting, to the UE, control signaling indicating a set of precoding matrix indicators, wherein the indication of the precoding matrix indicator is one of the set of precoding matrix indicators(para 0124 0193], receiving, from the base station, control signaling indicating a set of precoding matrix indicators, wherein the indication of the precoding matrix indicator is one of the set of precoding matrix indicators).
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 4.
As per claim 20, Sun teaches a method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising: transmitting, to a base station, a message indicating that the UE is capable of supporting multiple sounding reference signal resources in one sounding reference signal resource set associated with differing numbers of antenna ports(para 0070], UE is transmitting to a base station regarding capability of UE of supporting multiple sounding reference signal resources in one sounding reference signal resource set associated with differing numbers of antenna ports` );; receiving, from the base station, control signaling indicating a first mapping of a first number of one or more antenna ports to a first sounding reference signal resource of a plurality of sounding reference signal resources of a sounding reference signal resource set (para 0071], 0088], UE receives from the base station SRS configuration and a sounding reference signal resource set symbols and determines and maps plurality of antenna such as second and fourth second SRS resources and map fourth symbol to fourth to second antenna port of the sounding reference signal resource set received from base station);
CHAI teaches receiving, from the base station, an uplink grant indicating a sounding reference signal resource index corresponding to the first sounding reference signal resource and indicating a precoding matrix indicator corresponding to a first number of transmit chains (para 0124 0193], receiving from a base station uplink grant information for UE wherein the uplink grant corresponds to the first sounding reference signal resource and indicating a precoding matrix indicator corresponding to a first number of transmit chains ); and transmitting, via the first sounding reference signal resource and in accordance with the precoding matrix indicator, a plurality of sounding reference signals via the first number of one or more antenna ports using the first number of transmit chains (para 0147- 0148], UE is transmitting back to the base station based on the precoding matrix indicator a plurality of sounding reference signals via the first number of one or more antenna ports using the available resources).
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 4.
As per claim 26, Sun teaches a method for wireless communications at a base station, comprising: receiving, from a user equipment (UE), a message indicating that the UE is capable of supporting multiple sounding reference signal resources in one sounding reference signal resource set associated with differing numbers of antenna ports(para 0070], UE is receiving from a base station based on the received information regarding capability of UE of supporting multiple sounding reference signal resources in one sounding reference signal resource set associated with differing numbers of antenna ports); transmitting, to the UE, control signaling indicating a first mapping of a first number of one or more antenna ports to a first sounding reference signal resource of a plurality of sounding reference signal resources of a sounding reference signal resource set (para 0071], 0088], base station transmitting to UE regarding SRS configuration and a sounding reference signal resource set symbols and determines and maps plurality of antenna such as second and fourth second SRS resources and map fourth symbol to fourth to second antenna port of the sounding reference signal resource set received from base station);
CHAI teaches transmitting, to the UE, an uplink grant indicating a sounding reference signal resource index corresponding to the first sounding reference signal resource and indicating a precoding matrix indicator corresponding to a first number of transmit chains (para 0124 0193], base station is transmitting to a UE uplink grant information for UE wherein the uplink grant corresponds to the first sounding reference signal resource and indicating a precoding matrix indicator corresponding to a first number of transmit chains );; and receiving, via the first sounding reference signal resource and in accordance with the precoding matrix indicator, a plurality of sounding reference signals via the first number of one or more antenna ports using the first number of transmit chains(para 0147- 0148], base station is receiving from UE based on the precoding matrix indicator a plurality of sounding reference signals via the first number of one or more antenna ports using the available resources).
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 4.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8-10, 18-19, 21-25, 27-30 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Prior arts made of record, not relied upon: US Patent Publication US 20210051608 A1; US Patent Publication US 20220109474 A1, US Patent Publication US 20210153143 A1
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANEZ EBRAHIM whose telephone number is (571)270-7153. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 8 AM to 5 PM If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Hassan Phillips can be reached on (571) 272-3940. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ANEZ C EBRAHIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467