DETAILED ACTION
1. This communication is response to the application filed 10/18/2024 havingclaims 1-15 pending and presented for examination.
Priority
2. Application filed on 01/23/2024 is a has 371 of PCT/IB2022/056812 07/22/2022
PCT/IB2022/056812 has PRO 63/225,265 07/23/2021 are acknowledged.
Drawings
3. The drawings were received on 01/23/2024 and these drawings are accepted.
4. Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/23/2024is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Oath/Declaration
4. The Oath/Declaration filed on 01/23/2024 is accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by US Publication US 20230239763 A1 WEI et al. (Hereinafter “WEI ").
As per claim 1, WEI teaches a user equipment (“UE”) apparatus, comprising: a transceiver; and a processor coupled to the transceiver, the processor configured to cause the apparatus to: receive a group handover configuration comprising a first identifier and a second identifier, the first identifier for a group of UE apparatuses and the second identifier for the UE apparatus within the group of UE apparatuses (para 0065, 0092], remote UE is receiving a group handover command from a relay station comprising first identifier and second identifier wherein first identifier is associated with S node or T Node, and second identifier is associated with relay station which is small group of UE such as UE1 and UE2 whereas S-Node comprises other UEs.as shown in fig.2 ); receive a group handover command message based on the first identifier (para 0065, 0092], receive a group handover command message based on the first identifier); and perform handover of the UE apparatus to a target cell in response to determining that the group handover command comprises handover information for the UE apparatus based on the second identifier(para 0065, 0092], UE perform handover based on the information associated with relay station group identifier since UE is moving out of relay station to different S node or Target). US 20230239763 A1 WEI
As per claim 2, WEI teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first identifier is assigned to the group of UE apparatuses and the second identifier corresponds to a UE index of the UE apparatus within the group of UE apparatuses ((para 0065, cell identifier is associated to group of UE and second identifier corresponds to a UE index of the UE apparatus within the group of UE apparatuses).
As per claim 3, WEI teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the handover information for the UE apparatus comprises a handover parameter set in the group handover command message, the handover parameter set addressed to the UE apparatus based on the second identifier ((para 0065, handover comprises in the group handover command and handover parameter set addressed to the UE apparatus based on the second identifier).
As per claim 4, WEI teaches the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the handover parameter set comprises at least one selected from the group comprising a new cell radio network temporary identifier (“C-RNTI”) for a target cell, at least one dedicated physical random access channel (“PRACH”) resource, a first active downlink (“DL”) bandwidth part (“BWP”), a first active uplink (“UL”) BWP, and a timer value (para 0092], handover parameter set comprises at least one selected from the group comprising a new cell radio network temporary identifier (“C-RNTI”) for a target cell).
As per claim 5, WEI teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to cause the apparatus to determine when to initiate the handover in response to determining to perform the handover based on a determined initiation time (para 0088], UE monitors and determine when to initiate the handover in response to determining to perform the handover based on a determined initiation time).
As per claim 10, WEI teaches the method of a user equipment (“UE”) apparatus, comprising: receiving a group handover configuration comprising a first identifier and a second identifier, the first identifier for a group of UE apparatuses and the second identifier for the UE apparatus within the group of UE apparatuses(para 0065, 0092], remote UE is receiving a group handover command from a relay station comprising first identifier and second identifier wherein first identifier is associated with S node or T Node, and second identifier is associated with relay station which is small group of UE such as UE1 and UE2 whereas S-Node comprises other UEs.as shown in fig.2 ); receiving a group handover command message based on the first identifier(para 0065, 0092], receive a group handover command message based on the first identifier);; and performing handover of the UE apparatus to a target cell in response to determining that the group handover command comprises handover information for the UE apparatus based on the second identifier(para 0065, 0092], UE perform handover based on the information associated with relay station group identifier since UE is moving out of relay station to different S node or Target)..
As per claim 11, WEI teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the first identifier is assigned to the group of UE apparatuses and the second identifier corresponds to a UE index of the UE apparatus within the group of UE apparatuses(para 0065, cell identifier is associated to group of UE and second identifier corresponds to a UE index of the UE apparatus within the group of UE apparatuses)..
As per claim 12, WEI teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the handover information for the UE apparatus comprises a handover parameter set in the group handover command message, the handover parameter set addressed to the UE apparatus based on the second identifier((para 0065, handover comprises in the group handover command and handover parameter set addressed to the UE apparatus based on the second identifier).
As per claim 13, WEI teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the handover parameter set comprises at least one selected from the group comprising a new cell radio network temporary identifier (“C-RNTI”) for a target cell, at least one dedicated physical random access channel (“PRACH”) resource, a first active downlink (“DL”) bandwidth part (“BWP”), a first active uplink (“UL”) BWP, and a timer value(para 0092], handover parameter set comprises at least one selected from the group comprising a new cell radio network temporary identifier (“C-RNTI”) for a target cell).
As per claim 14, WEI teaches the method of claim 10, further comprising determining when to initiate the handover in response to determining to perform the handover based on a determined initiation time(para 0088], UE monitors and determine when to initiate the handover in response to determining to perform the handover based on a determined initiation time)..
As per claim 15, WEI teaches the network device apparatus, comprising: a transceiver; and a processor coupled to the transceiver, the processor configured to cause the apparatus to: transmit, to a user equipment (“UE”) apparatus, a group handover configuration comprising a first identifier and a second identifier, the first identifier for a group of UE apparatuses and the second identifier for the UE apparatus within the group of UE apparatuses ((para 0065, 0092], Source node is transmitting to UA a group handover command from a relay station comprising first identifier and second identifier wherein first identifier is associated with S node or T Node, and second identifier is associated with relay station which is small group of UE such as UE1 and UE2 whereas S-Node comprises other UEs.as shown in fig.2); generate a group handover command message based on the first identifier, the group handover command message comprising handover information for the UE apparatus indicated based on the second identifier (para 0065, 0092], base station generates an handover command message based on the first identifier, the group handover command message comprising handover information for the UE apparatus indicated based on the second identifier such cell information about source or target node and subgroup information about relay node); and transmit, to the UE apparatus, the group handover command message based on the first identifier, wherein the UE apparatus performs handover of the UE apparatus to a target cell in response to determining that the group handover command comprises handover information for the UE apparatus based on the second identifier (para 0065, 0092], transmitting to the UE apparatus the group handover command message based on the first identifier, wherein the UE apparatus performs handover of the UE apparatus to a target cell in response to determining that the group handover command comprises handover information for the UE apparatus based on the second identifier and from a relay station comprising first identifier and second identifier wherein first identifier is associated with S node or T Node).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WEI further view of US PG Pub US 20230023214 A1 to SHRESTHA et al (hereinafter SHRESTHA).
As per claim 6, WEI teaches the apparatus of claim 1, SHRESTHA teaches wherein the processor is configured to cause the apparatus to: receive a physical downlink control channel (“PDCCH”) monitoring configuration for the group handover command message (para 0084], monitoring for the group handover command message).; and detect a PDCCH associated with the PDCCH monitoring configuration based on the first identity, wherein the PDCCH comprises a group-common PDCCH that schedules a physical downlink shared channel (“PDSCH”) carrying the group handover command message (para 0084], wherein the PDCCH comprises a group-common PDCCH that schedules a physical downlink shared channel (“PDSCH”) carrying the group handover command message ). 20230023214 SHRESTHA
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify the combination system of WEI by receive a physical downlink control channel (“PDCCH”) monitoring configuration for the group handover command message and detect a PDCCH associated with the PDCCH monitoring configuration based on the first identity, wherein the PDCCH comprises a group-common PDCCH that schedules a physical downlink shared channel (“PDSCH”) carrying the group handover command message as suggested by SHRESTHA, this modification would benefit WEI for mobile broadband access continues to increase, further improvements in 4G, 5G, and other radio access technologies.
5. Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WEI further view of US PG Pub US 20230247685 A1 to CHOE et al (hereinafter CHOE).
As per claim 7, WEI teaches the apparatus of claim 1, CHOE teaches wherein the processor is configured to cause the apparatus to receive an indication of whether a source cell is barred after the handover (para 0351], cell is barred after the handover when slices are not supported).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify the combination system of WEI by cause the apparatus to receive an indication of whether a source cell is barred after the handover as suggested by SHRESTHA, this modification would benefit CHOE for enabling a better handover process and for a cell selection or a cell reselection considering a network slice in a wireless communication system.
As per claim 8, WEI teaches the apparatus of claim 1, CHOE teaches wherein the handover comprises at least one selected from the group comprising a change of a primary cell of a master cell group and a change of a primary secondary cell of a secondary cell group (para 0122], comprising a change of a primary cell of a master cell group and a change of a primary secondary cell of a secondary cell group).
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 7.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Prior arts made of record, not relied upon: US Patent Publication US 20210144599 A1; US Patent Publication US 20220030659 A1, US Patent Publication US 20220022067 A1
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANEZ EBRAHIM whose telephone number is (571)270-7153. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 8 AM to 5 PM If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Hassan Phillips can be reached on (571) 272-3940. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ANEZ C EBRAHIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467