DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US# 2022/0394733 hereinafter referred to as Wang).
RE Claim 1, Wang discloses a resource determination method, performed by a first terminal, comprising:
receiving first configuration information and second configuration information (See Wang FIGs 11-13; [0057], [0087], [0141]-[0144] – UE receiving first and second configuration (i.e. BS schedules resources for UE [0087])), wherein the first configuration information comprises a first time domain resource, a first frequency domain resource and M first beams (See Wang FIGs 11-13; [0057], [0087], [0141] -[0144] – first set of resources; resources are a combination of frequency, time, and spatial (beam) resources [0057]), the second configuration information comprises a second time domain resource, a second frequency domain resource and N second beams (See Wang FIGs 11-13; [0057], [0087], [0141]-[0144] – second set of resources; resources are a combination of frequency, time, and spatial (beam) resources [0057]), and the first time domain resource and the second time domain resource have an overlapped time domain resource (See Wang FIGs 11-13; [0057], [0087], [0141]-[0144] – UE determines that first and second set of resources overlap in time ([0141])), where M and N are positive integers (See Wang FIGs 11-13; [0057], [0087], [0141]-[0144] – first and second set of resources allocated by BS can contain spatial (beam) resources [0057]); and
determining a specified transmission resource on the overlapped time domain resource (See Wang FIGs 11-13; [0004]-[0008], [0141]-[0144] – UE determining which resources to use to transmit with based on which resources are overlapping in the time domain).
RE Claim 2, Wang discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein the specified transmission resource comprises at least one of a specified frequency domain resource or a specified beam (See Wang FIGs 11-13; [0057], [0087], [0141]-[0144] – UE determines which resources to use for transmission; resources can include frequency domain resources or spatial (beam) resources).
RE Claim 17, Wang discloses a resource determination method, performed by a network device, comprising:
sending first configuration information and second configuration information to a first terminal (See Wang FIGs 11-13; [0057], [0087], [0141]-[0144] – network device sending first and second configuration (i.e. BS schedules resources for UE [0087])), wherein the first configuration information comprises a first time domain resource, a first frequency domain resource and M first beams (See Wang FIGs 11-13; [0057], [0087], [0141] -[0144] – first set of resources; resources are a combination of frequency, time, and spatial (beam) resources [0057]), the second configuration information comprises a second time domain resource, a second frequency domain resource and N second beams (See Wang FIGs 11-13; [0057], [0087], [0141]-[0144] – second set of resources; resources are a combination of frequency, time, and spatial (beam) resources [0057]), and the first time domain resource and the second time domain resource have an overlapped time domain resource (See Wang FIGs 11-13; [0057], [0087], [0141]-[0144] – UE determines that first and second set of resources overlap in time ([0141])), where M and N are positive integers (See Wang FIGs 11-13; [0057], [0087], [0141]-[0144] – first and second set of resources allocated by BS can contain spatial (beam) resources [0057]); and
determining a specified transmission resource for the first terminal on the overlapped time domain resource (See Wang FIGs 11-13; [0004]-[0008], [0141]-[0144] – determining which resources to use based on which resources are overlapping in the time domain).
RE Claim 18, Wang discloses a method, as set forth in claim 17 above, wherein the specified transmission resource comprises at least one of a specified frequency domain resource or a specified beam (See Wang FIGs 11-13; [0057], [0087], [0141]-[0144] – determining which resources to use for communication; resources can include frequency domain resources or spatial (beam) resources).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4, 8, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US# 2022/0394733 hereinafter referred to as Wang) in view of Zhou et al. (US# 2020/0266875 hereinafter referred to as Zhou).
RE Claim 3, Wang discloses a method, as set forth in claim 2 above. Wang does not specifically disclose wherein the specified beam comprises the N second beams.
However, Zhou teaches of wherein the specified beam comprises the N second beams (See Zhou [0036], [0083], [0086], [0088] – UE indicating set of beams to be used).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the resource determination system, as disclosed in Wang, wherein the specified beam comprises the N second beams, as taught in Zhou. One is motivated as such in order to enhance reliability and efficiency (See Zhou Background; Summary).
RE Claim 4, Wang, modified by Zhou, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 3 above, wherein the any first beam of the M first beams is different from the any second beam of the N second beams (See Zhou [0036], [0083], [0086], [0088] – beams in different sets are different from each other), and the first terminal is not capable of supporting the M first beams and the N second beams simultaneously (See Zhou [0013], [0036], [0083], [0086], [0088] – when certain beams from first set and beams from a second set cannot be transmitted simultaneously).
RE Claim 8, Wang, modified by Zhou, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 3 above, wherein the specified beam further comprises at least one first beam, the first beam is different from the second beam, and the first terminal is capable of supporting the at least one first beam and the N second beams simultaneously (See Zhou [0006]-[0007], [0036], [0083], [0086], [0088] – UE indicating to use at least a first beam from one resource set simultaneously to at least a second beam from a second resource set).
RE Claim 19, Wang discloses a method, as set forth in claim 18 above. Wang does not specifically disclose wherein the specified beam comprises the N second beams.
However, Zhou teaches of wherein the specified beam comprises the N second beams (See Zhou [0036], [0083], [0086], [0088] – UE indicating set of beams to be used).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the resource determination system, as disclosed in Wang, wherein the specified beam comprises the N second beams, as taught in Zhou. One is motivated as such in order to enhance reliability and efficiency (See Zhou Background; Summary).
RE Claim 20, Wang, modified by Zhou, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 19 above, wherein the any first beam of the M first beams is different from the any second beam of the N second beams (See Zhou [0036], [0083], [0086], [0088] – beams in different sets are different from each other), and the first terminal is not capable of supporting the M first beams and the N second beams simultaneously (See Zhou [0013], [0036], [0083], [0086], [0088] – when certain beams from first set and beams from a second set cannot be transmitted simultaneously).
Claims 5-7, 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US# 2022/0394733 hereinafter referred to as Wang) in view of Zhou et al. (US# 2020/0266875 hereinafter referred to as Zhou) and Park et al. (US# 2021/0344403 hereinafter referred to as Park).
RE Claim 5, Wang, modified by Zhou, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 3 above. Wang, modified by Zhou, does not specifically disclose wherein the N second beams comprise at least one first beam.
However, Park teaches of wherein the N second beams comprise at least one first beam (See Park FIG 5A, [0075] – a beam from first set can have same characteristics as beam from second set (i.e. all characteristics are the same = “same beam”)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the resource determination system, as disclosed in Wang, modified by Zhou, wherein the N second beams comprise at least one first beam, as taught in Park. One is motivated as such in order to improve performance in the system (See Park Background; Summary; [0092]-[0093]).
RE Claim 6, Wang, modified by Zhou and Park, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 5 above, wherein the specified frequency domain resource comprises at least one of the first frequency domain resource and the second frequency domain resource (See Wang FIGs 11-13; [0004]-[0008], [0141]-[0144] – UE determining which resources of first set or second set of resources to use to transmit with (i.e. time-frequency resource)).
RE Claim 7, Wang, modified by Zhou and Park, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 5 above, wherein the specified frequency domain resource comprises the second frequency domain resource and a third frequency domain resource, wherein the third frequency domain resource comprises a frequency domain resource in the first frequency domain resource that does not overlap with the second frequency domain resource (See Wang [0174], [0219] – modifying transmission to include portion of frequency resources from one set that do not overlap frequency resources from other set).
RE Claim 21, Wang, modified by Zhou, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 19 above. Wang, modified by Zhou, does not specifically disclose wherein the N second beams comprise at least one first beam.
However, Park teaches of wherein the N second beams comprise at least one first beam (See Park FIG 5A, [0075] – a beam from first set can have same characteristics as beam from second set (i.e. all characteristics are the same = “same beam”)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the resource determination system, as disclosed in Wang, modified by Zhou, wherein the N second beams comprise at least one first beam, as taught in Park. One is motivated as such in order to improve performance in the system (See Park Background; Summary; [0092]-[0093]).
RE Claim 22, Wang, modified by Zhou and Park, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 21 above, wherein the specified frequency domain resource comprises at least one of the first frequency domain resource and the second frequency domain resource (See Wang FIGs 11-13; [0004]-[0008], [0141]-[0144] – UE determining which resources of first set or second set of resources to use to transmit with (i.e. time-frequency resource)).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US# 2022/0394733 hereinafter referred to as Wang) in view of Zhou et al. (US# 2020/0266875 hereinafter referred to as Zhou) and Li (US# 2021/0345373).
RE Claim 9, Wang, modified by Zhou, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 8 above. Wang, modified by Zhou, does not specifically disclose wherein the specified frequency domain resource comprises the first frequency domain resource and the second frequency domain resource, and the first frequency domain resource and the second frequency domain resource have an overlapped frequency domain resource.
However, Li teaches of wherein the specified frequency domain resource comprises the first frequency domain resource and the second frequency domain resource, and the first frequency domain resource and the second frequency domain resource have an overlapped frequency domain resource (See Li FIGs 4, 7, 10; [0103], [0106], [0186], [0370], [0436] – UE transmitting using both first and second time-frequency resources wherein the first and second time-frequency resources have overlapped frequency domain resources).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the resource determination system, as disclosed in Wang, modified by Zhou, wherein the specified frequency domain resource comprises the first frequency domain resource and the second frequency domain resource, and the first frequency domain resource and the second frequency domain resource have an overlapped frequency domain resource, as taught in Li. One is motivated as such in order to better handle multiple transmissions with potential collisions (See Li Background; Summary).
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US# 2022/0394733 hereinafter referred to as Wang) in view of Nilsson (US# 2019/0268117).
RE Claim 11, Wang discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above. Wang does not specifically disclose wherein, in the M first beams, time domain resources or frequency domain resources corresponding to any two first beams are different.
However, Nilsson teaches of wherein, in the M first beams, time domain resources or frequency domain resources corresponding to any two first beams are different (See Nilsson [0011]-[0013] - … such that all beams in the set of beams point in mutually different directions and each beam covers its own part of the frequency interval).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the resource determination system, as disclosed in Wang, wherein, in the M first beams, time domain resources or frequency domain resources corresponding to any two first beams are different, as taught in Nilsson. One is motivated as such in order to provide efficient beam management (See Nilsson Background; Summary).
RE Claim 12, Wang discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above. Wang does not specifically disclose wherein, in the N second beams, time domain resources or frequency domain resources corresponding to any two second beams are different.
However, Nilsson teaches of wherein, in the N second beams, time domain resources or frequency domain resources corresponding to any two second beams are different (See Nilsson [0011]-[0013] - … such that all beams in the set of beams point in mutually different directions and each beam covers its own part of the frequency interval).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the resource determination system, as disclosed in Wang, wherein, in the N second beams, time domain resources or frequency domain resources corresponding to any two second beams are different, as taught in Nilsson. One is motivated as such in order to provide efficient beam management (See Nilsson Background; Summary).
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al. (US# 2022/0264538 hereinafter referred to as Jiang) in view of Zhou et al. (US# 2020/0266875 hereinafter referred to as Zhou).
RE Claim 13, Jiang discloses A resource determination method, performed by a second terminal, comprising:
receiving configuration information, wherein the configuration information is configured to indicate an occupation status of a time domain resource and a frequency domain resource to the second terminal (See Jiang FIGs 5, 8; [0100]-[0101], [0315] – receiving configuration information indicating occupation status of time-frequency resources); and
determining whether transmission is performed on the time domain resource based on the configuration information (See Jiang FIGs 5, 8; [0100]-[0101], [0315] – determining whether to transmit on time-frequency resources based on configuration information), wherein the configuration information comprises at least one of:
the time domain resource (See Jiang FIGs 5, 8; [0100]-[0101], [0315] – occupation status of time-frequency resources);
the frequency domain resource (See Jiang FIGs 5, 8; [0100]-[0101], [0315] – occupation status of time-frequency resources);
the at least one antenna panel; or
at least one third beam.
Jiang does not specifically disclose transmission with at least one antenna panel.
However, Zhou teaches of transmission with at least one antenna panel (See Zhou [0006]-[0007]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the resource determination system, as disclosed in Jiang, comprising transmission with at least one antenna panel, as taught in Zhou. One is motivated as such in order to enhance reliability and efficiency (See Zhou Background; Summary).
RE Claim 14, Jiang, modified by Zhou, discloses A resource determination method, as set forth in claim 13 above, wherein a reference signal corresponding to the at least one third beam in the configuration information is a synchronization signal block (SSB) (See Zhou [0106] - UE 115-b may identify antenna panel IDs for virtual panels and associated sets of beams. In some cases, the antenna panel IDs may be determined based on reference signal resources, resource sets, etc., as discussed herein. In some case, the UE 115-b may identify the panel IDs based on one or more reference signals that are monitored at the UE 115-b (e.g., reference signals detected in one or more monitored synchronization signal blocks (SSBs)).
RE Claim 15, Jiang, modified by Zhou, discloses A resource determination method, as set forth in claim 13 above, wherein the second terminal is configured or scheduled to perform the transmission with the at least one antenna panel on the time domain resource through a target beam (See Zhou [0006]-[0007], [0042], [0074] - The method may include identifying a first set of beams associated with a first antenna panel and a second set of beams associated with a second antenna panel; transmitting beams on allocated (time) resource).
Conclusion
/STEVE R YOUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477