DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, 17, 36-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US# 2022/0394733 hereinafter referred to as Wang) in view of Zhou et al. (US# 2020/0266875 hereinafter referred to as Zhou) and Bae et al. (US# 2019/0357178 hereinafter referred to as Bae).
RE Claim 1, Wang discloses a resource determination method, performed by a first terminal, comprising:
receiving first configuration information and second configuration information (See Wang FIGs 11-13; [0057], [0087], [0141]-[0144] – UE receiving first and second configuration (i.e. BS schedules resources for UE [0087])), wherein the first configuration information comprises a first time domain resource, a first frequency domain resource and M first beams (See Wang FIGs 11-13; [0057], [0087], [0141] -[0144] – first set of resources; resources are a combination of frequency, time, and spatial (beam) resources [0057]), the second configuration information comprises a second time domain resource, a second frequency domain resource and N second beams (See Wang FIGs 11-13; [0057], [0087], [0141]-[0144] – second set of resources; resources are a combination of frequency, time, and spatial (beam) resources [0057]), and the first time domain resource and the second time domain resource have an overlapped time domain resource (See Wang FIGs 11-13; [0057], [0087], [0141]-[0144] – UE determines that first and second set of resources overlap in time ([0141])), where M and N are positive integers (See Wang FIGs 11-13; [0057], [0087], [0141]-[0144] – first and second set of resources allocated by BS can contain spatial (beam) resources [0057]); and
determining a specified transmission resource on the overlapped time domain resource (See Wang FIGs 11-13; [0004]-[0008], [0141]-[0144] – UE determining which resources to use to transmit with based on which resources are overlapping in the time domain), wherein the specified transmission resource comprises at least one of a specified frequency domain resource or a specified beam (See Wang FIGs 11-13; [0057], [0087], [0141]-[0144] – UE determines which resources to use for transmission; resources can include frequency domain resources or spatial (beam) resources).
Wang does not specifically disclose wherein the specified beam comprises the N second beams, any first beam of the M first beams is different from the any second beam of the N second beams, and the first terminal is not capable of supporting the M first beams and the N second beams simultaneously; or
Wherein the specified frequency domain resource comprises at least one of the first frequency domain resource and the second frequency domain resource.
However, Zhou teaches of wherein the specified beam comprises the N second beams (See Zhou [0036], [0083], [0086], [0088] – UE indicating set of beams to be used), wherein the any first beam of the M first beams is different from the any second beam of the N second beams (See Zhou [0036], [0083], [0086], [0088] – beams in different sets are different from each other), and the first terminal is not capable of supporting the M first beams and the N second beams simultaneously (See Zhou [0013], [0036], [0083], [0086], [0088] – when certain beams from first set and beams from a second set cannot be transmitted simultaneously).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the resource determination system, as disclosed in Wang, wherein the specified beam comprises the N second beams, any first beam of the M first beams is different from the any second beam of the N second beams, and the first terminal is not capable of supporting the M first beams and the N second beams simultaneously, as taught in Zhou. One is motivated as such in order to enhance reliability and efficiency (See Zhou Background; Summary).
Wang, modified by Zhou, does not specifically disclose
Wherein the specified frequency domain resource comprises at least one of the first frequency domain resource and the second frequency domain resource.
However, Bae teaches of wherein the specified frequency domain resource comprises at least one of the first frequency domain resource and the second frequency domain resource (See Bae [0150]-[0151] – if a 1st transmission resource and 2nd transmission resource overlap in time and/or frequency domain, selecting one of the transmission resources to transmit (frequency domain resource)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the resource determination system, as disclosed in Wang, modified by Zhou, wherein the specified frequency domain resource comprises at least one of the first frequency domain resource and the second frequency domain resource, as taught in Bae. One is motivated as such in order to improve system resource usage efficiency (See Bae [0009]-[0027]).
RE Claim 8, Wang, modified by Zhou and Bae, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein the specified beam further comprises at least one first beam, the first beam is different from the second beam, and the first terminal is capable of supporting the at least one first beam and the N second beams simultaneously (See Zhou [0006]-[0007], [0036], [0083], [0086], [0088] – UE indicating to use at least a first beam from one resource set simultaneously to at least a second beam from a second resource set).
RE Claim 17, Wang discloses a resource determination method, performed by a network device, comprising:
sending first configuration information and second configuration information to a first terminal (See Wang FIGs 11-13; [0057], [0087], [0141]-[0144] – network device sending first and second configuration (i.e. BS schedules resources for UE [0087])), wherein the first configuration information comprises a first time domain resource, a first frequency domain resource and M first beams (See Wang FIGs 11-13; [0057], [0087], [0141] -[0144] – first set of resources; resources are a combination of frequency, time, and spatial (beam) resources [0057]), the second configuration information comprises a second time domain resource, a second frequency domain resource and N second beams (See Wang FIGs 11-13; [0057], [0087], [0141]-[0144] – second set of resources; resources are a combination of frequency, time, and spatial (beam) resources [0057]), and the first time domain resource and the second time domain resource have an overlapped time domain resource (See Wang FIGs 11-13; [0057], [0087], [0141]-[0144] – UE determines that first and second set of resources overlap in time ([0141])), where M and N are positive integers (See Wang FIGs 11-13; [0057], [0087], [0141]-[0144] – first and second set of resources allocated by BS can contain spatial (beam) resources [0057]); and
determining a specified transmission resource for the first terminal on the overlapped time domain resource (See Wang FIGs 11-13; [0004]-[0008], [0141]-[0144] – determining which resources to use based on which resources are overlapping in the time domain), wherein the specified transmission resource comprises at least one of a specified frequency domain resource or a specified beam (See Wang FIGs 11-13; [0057], [0087], [0141]-[0144] – determining which resources to use for communication; resources can include frequency domain resources or spatial (beam) resources).
Wang does not specifically disclose wherein the specified beam comprises the N second beams, any first beam of the M first beams is different from the any second beam of the N second beams, and the first terminal is not capable of supporting the M first beams and the N second beams simultaneously; or
Wherein the specified frequency domain resource comprises at least one of the first frequency domain resource and the second frequency domain resource.
However, Zhou teaches of wherein the specified beam comprises the N second beams (See Zhou [0036], [0083], [0086], [0088] – UE indicating set of beams to be used), wherein the any first beam of the M first beams is different from the any second beam of the N second beams (See Zhou [0036], [0083], [0086], [0088] – beams in different sets are different from each other), and the first terminal is not capable of supporting the M first beams and the N second beams simultaneously (See Zhou [0013], [0036], [0083], [0086], [0088] – when certain beams from first set and beams from a second set cannot be transmitted simultaneously).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the resource determination system, as disclosed in Wang, wherein the specified beam comprises the N second beams, any first beam of the M first beams is different from the any second beam of the N second beams, and the first terminal is not capable of supporting the M first beams and the N second beams simultaneously, as taught in Zhou. One is motivated as such in order to enhance reliability and efficiency (See Zhou Background; Summary).
Wang, modified by Zhou, does not specifically disclose
Wherein the specified frequency domain resource comprises at least one of the first frequency domain resource and the second frequency domain resource.
However, Bae teaches of wherein the specified frequency domain resource comprises at least one of the first frequency domain resource and the second frequency domain resource (See Bae [0150]-[0151] – if a 1st transmission resource and 2nd transmission resource overlap in time and/or frequency domain, selecting one of the transmission resources to transmit (frequency domain resource)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the resource determination system, as disclosed in Wang, modified by Zhou, wherein the specified frequency domain resource comprises at least one of the first frequency domain resource and the second frequency domain resource, as taught in Bae. One is motivated as such in order to improve system resource usage efficiency (See Bae [0009]-[0027]).
RE Claim 36, Wang discloses a communication apparatus, comprising:
A processor (See Wang FIG 10), configured to:
receive first configuration information and second configuration information (See Wang FIGs 11-13; [0057], [0087], [0141]-[0144] – UE receiving first and second configuration (i.e. BS schedules resources for UE [0087])), wherein the first configuration information comprises a first time domain resource, a first frequency domain resource and M first beams (See Wang FIGs 11-13; [0057], [0087], [0141] -[0144] – first set of resources; resources are a combination of frequency, time, and spatial (beam) resources [0057]), the second configuration information comprises a second time domain resource, a second frequency domain resource and N second beams (See Wang FIGs 11-13; [0057], [0087], [0141]-[0144] – second set of resources; resources are a combination of frequency, time, and spatial (beam) resources [0057]), and the first time domain resource and the second time domain resource have an overlapped time domain resource (See Wang FIGs 11-13; [0057], [0087], [0141]-[0144] – UE determines that first and second set of resources overlap in time ([0141])), where M and N are positive integers (See Wang FIGs 11-13; [0057], [0087], [0141]-[0144] – first and second set of resources allocated by BS can contain spatial (beam) resources [0057]); and
determine a specified transmission resource on the overlapped time domain resource (See Wang FIGs 11-13; [0004]-[0008], [0141]-[0144] – UE determining which resources to use to transmit with based on which resources are overlapping in the time domain), wherein the specified transmission resource comprises at least one of a specified frequency domain resource or a specified beam (See Wang FIGs 11-13; [0057], [0087], [0141]-[0144] – UE determines which resources to use for transmission; resources can include frequency domain resources or spatial (beam) resources).
Wang does not specifically disclose wherein the specified beam comprises the N second beams, any first beam of the M first beams is different from the any second beam of the N second beams, and the communication apparatus is not capable of supporting the M first beams and the N second beams simultaneously;
Wherein the specified frequency domain resource comprises at least one of the first frequency domain resource and the second frequency domain resource.
However, Zhou teaches of wherein the specified beam comprises the N second beams (See Zhou [0036], [0083], [0086], [0088] – UE indicating set of beams to be used), wherein the any first beam of the M first beams is different from the any second beam of the N second beams (See Zhou [0036], [0083], [0086], [0088] – beams in different sets are different from each other), and the communication apparatus is not capable of supporting the M first beams and the N second beams simultaneously (See Zhou [0013], [0036], [0083], [0086], [0088] – when certain beams from first set and beams from a second set cannot be transmitted simultaneously).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the resource determination system, as disclosed in Wang, wherein the specified beam comprises the N second beams, any first beam of the M first beams is different from the any second beam of the N second beams, and the communication apparatus is not capable of supporting the M first beams and the N second beams simultaneously, as taught in Zhou. One is motivated as such in order to enhance reliability and efficiency (See Zhou Background; Summary).
Wang, modified by Zhou, does not specifically disclose
Wherein the specified frequency domain resource comprises at least one of the first frequency domain resource and the second frequency domain resource.
However, Bae teaches of wherein the specified frequency domain resource comprises at least one of the first frequency domain resource and the second frequency domain resource (See Bae [0150]-[0151] – if a 1st transmission resource and 2nd transmission resource overlap in time and/or frequency domain, selecting one of the transmission resources to transmit (frequency domain resource)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the resource determination system, as disclosed in Wang, modified by Zhou, wherein the specified frequency domain resource comprises at least one of the first frequency domain resource and the second frequency domain resource, as taught in Bae. One is motivated as such in order to improve system resource usage efficiency (See Bae [0009]-[0027]).
RE Claim 37, Wang, modified by Zhou and Bae, discloses a communication apparatus, comprising:
A processor, configured to perform the resource determination method of claim 17 (See Claim 17 above).
Claims 5, 7, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US# 2022/0394733 hereinafter referred to as Wang) in view of Zhou et al. (US# 2020/0266875 hereinafter referred to as Zhou), Bae et al. (US# 2019/0357178 hereinafter referred to as Bae) and Park et al. (US# 2021/0344403 hereinafter referred to as Park).
RE Claim 5, Wang, modified by Zhou and Bae, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above. Wang, modified by Zhou and Bae, does not specifically disclose wherein the N second beams comprise at least one first beam.
However, Park teaches of wherein the N second beams comprise at least one first beam (See Park FIG 5A, [0075] – a beam from first set can have same characteristics as beam from second set (i.e. all characteristics are the same = “same beam”)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the resource determination system, as disclosed in Wang, modified by Zhou and Bae, wherein the N second beams comprise at least one first beam, as taught in Park. One is motivated as such in order to improve performance in the system (See Park Background; Summary; [0092]-[0093]).
RE Claim 7, Wang, modified by Zhou, Bae and Park, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 5 above, wherein the specified frequency domain resource comprises the second frequency domain resource and a third frequency domain resource, wherein the third frequency domain resource comprises a frequency domain resource in the first frequency domain resource that does not overlap with the second frequency domain resource (See Bae [0167] – “each of the first radio resource and the second radio resource includes third radio resources overlapping with each other in the slot (or time domain) and the frequency domain, the UE may not perform simultaneous transmission. In this case, the UE may select the first radio resource with higher reliability as a radio resource for PUSCH transmission. Then, the UE may puncture or rate-match the overlapped third radio resource region in the first radio resource region, and perform PUSCH transmission using the first radio resource that is punctured or rate-matched”).
RE Claim 21, Wang, modified by Zhou and Bae, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 17 above. Wang, modified by Zhou and Bae, does not specifically disclose wherein the N second beams comprise at least one first beam.
However, Park teaches of wherein the N second beams comprise at least one first beam (See Park FIG 5A, [0075] – a beam from first set can have same characteristics as beam from second set (i.e. all characteristics are the same = “same beam”)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the resource determination system, as disclosed in Wang, modified by Zhou and Bae, wherein the N second beams comprise at least one first beam, as taught in Park. One is motivated as such in order to improve performance in the system (See Park Background; Summary; [0092]-[0093]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US# 2022/0394733 hereinafter referred to as Wang) in view of Zhou et al. (US# 2020/0266875 hereinafter referred to as Zhou), Bae et al. (US# 2019/0357178 hereinafter referred to as Bae) and Li (US# 2021/0345373).
RE Claim 9, Wang, modified by Zhou and Bae, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 8 above. Wang, modified by Zhou and Bae, does not specifically disclose wherein the specified frequency domain resource comprises the first frequency domain resource and the second frequency domain resource, and the first frequency domain resource and the second frequency domain resource have an overlapped frequency domain resource.
However, Li teaches of wherein the specified frequency domain resource comprises the first frequency domain resource and the second frequency domain resource, and the first frequency domain resource and the second frequency domain resource have an overlapped frequency domain resource (See Li FIGs 4, 7, 10; [0103], [0106], [0186], [0370], [0436] – UE transmitting using both first and second time-frequency resources wherein the first and second time-frequency resources have overlapped frequency domain resources).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the resource determination system, as disclosed in Wang, modified by Zhou and Bae, wherein the specified frequency domain resource comprises the first frequency domain resource and the second frequency domain resource, and the first frequency domain resource and the second frequency domain resource have an overlapped frequency domain resource, as taught in Li. One is motivated as such in order to better handle multiple transmissions with potential collisions (See Li Background; Summary).
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US# 2022/0394733 hereinafter referred to as Wang) in view of Zhou et al. (US# 2020/0266875 hereinafter referred to as Zhou), Bae et al. (US# 2019/0357178 hereinafter referred to as Bae) and Nilsson (US# 2019/0268117).
RE Claim 11, Wang, modified by Zhou and Bae, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above. Wang, modified by Zhou and Bae, does not specifically disclose wherein, in the M first beams, time domain resources or frequency domain resources corresponding to any two first beams are different.
However, Nilsson teaches of wherein, in the M first beams, time domain resources or frequency domain resources corresponding to any two first beams are different (See Nilsson [0011]-[0013] - … such that all beams in the set of beams point in mutually different directions and each beam covers its own part of the frequency interval).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the resource determination system, as disclosed in Wang, modified by Zhou and Bae, wherein, in the M first beams, time domain resources or frequency domain resources corresponding to any two first beams are different, as taught in Nilsson. One is motivated as such in order to provide efficient beam management (See Nilsson Background; Summary).
RE Claim 12, Wang, modified by Zhou and Bae, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above. Wang, modified by Zhou and Bae, does not specifically disclose wherein, in the N second beams, time domain resources or frequency domain resources corresponding to any two second beams are different.
However, Nilsson teaches of wherein, in the N second beams, time domain resources or frequency domain resources corresponding to any two second beams are different (See Nilsson [0011]-[0013] - … such that all beams in the set of beams point in mutually different directions and each beam covers its own part of the frequency interval).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the resource determination system, as disclosed in Wang, modified by Zhou and Bae, wherein, in the N second beams, time domain resources or frequency domain resources corresponding to any two second beams are different, as taught in Nilsson. One is motivated as such in order to provide efficient beam management (See Nilsson Background; Summary).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of new grounds of rejection (See Claims above, Bae reference).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Shao (US# 2019/0174428 – which teaches of how to select from transmissions resources that overlap in the time domain), Dankberg (US# 2014/0295752- which teaches of managing overlapping beam sets), Zhu (US# 2020/0344015 – which teaches of handling overlapping time resources).
/STEVE R YOUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477