DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is responsive to communications filed on 06/08/2026. Claims 6, 16-18 have been amended. Claims 13, 15, 19-21, 26-30 are canceled. Claim 31 is newly added. Presently, Claims 1-12, 14, 16-18, 22-25, & 31 remain pending and are hereinafter examined on the merits.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Previous claim objections are withdrawn in view of the amendments filed on 06/08/2026.
The Applicant’s arguments with respect to rejections under 35 USC § 101 have been fully, considered, but are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that claims 1, 22, & 23 does not recite a mental process because the human mind cannot quantify a change in MR signals, estimate subject motion form MR signals, or determine a diagnostic quality prior to image reconstruction. This argument is not commensurate in the scope with the claims. The rejection is not based on an assertation that a human mind performs an MRI scan or physically captures MR signals. Rather, the rejection identifies the claimed analysis of measured signal information and resulting determination of diagnostic quality as the abstract idea. The claims broadly recite, “quantifying changes” “estimating motion”, and “determining” diagnostic quality based on the quantified changes or estimated motion, without reciting any particular signal processing technique, any specific operation, any configuration, that would meaningfully limit how the result is achieved.
The Applicant’s reliance on the Specification does not overcome the rejection because none of the specifics identified are reflected in the claims. For example, the Applicant refers to analyzing MR signals corresponding to variants of excitation and relation resulting from patient motion, combing MR signals captured by one or more coils and one or more k-space points, using mean percentage change across the channels, and using cross-correlation between MR signal vectors. These details may be described in the Specification, but are not positively recited in claim 1, 22, & 23. But these features are not novel, these features merely describe how acquisition MRI works. The claims remain broad and generic at the level of quantifying changes or estimating motion from MR signals and determining diagnostic quality based on that result.
The Applicant relies on an alleged practical application that an imaging technologist would otherwise have to wait until completion of the MR scan and image generation before decision are made by a radiologist. This is conclusory. The claims require no control of the MRI acquisition, modifying imaging, or changing the reconstruction process. The claim merely output an indication of diagnostic quality. Merely outputting the result of the abstract idea does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Applicant further argues that “quantifying changes in MR signals” is not itself a mathematical relationships, formula, equation, or calculation. The statement that the claim does not recite a mathematical concept on page 14 contradicts the premise of the claimed invention. In fact, the specification involves all these elements, mathematical relationships, formulas, equations, and calculations. The evaluation of these signals is entirely a quantitative mathematical process. See ¶0071,-0072, ¶0080-0089, ¶0098.
A review of the specification provides the established mathematical relationships to model the environment, by applying formulas and equations to the raw data and performing numerical calculations to output a quantitively metric representing the degree of patient motion. The specification further does not appear to provide features to meaningfully limit how the abstract idea solves a technological solution to a technological problem in a meaningful way, to result in a practical application. The quantitative metric merely provides information that is “to” aid in steering the scanner, rather than showing specific approach for how the quantitative metric steers or controls the scanner. Specifically, the specification provides a system that triggers an adjustment, but not a detailed exact mechanical or execution of how the scanner physically steers the field of view based on the quantified metric, see ¶0072-0109.
The Office action does not rely merely on the fact that the claim may involve mathematical concepts, because the claim language itself recites quantifying changes in measured signal data, in claim 23, estimating motion from measured MR signals. Under the broadest reasonable interpretations, such limitations describe deriving values or estimates from “measured” data. The claims do not recited any specific implementation for performing the quantification or estimation, but instead claim the result of the analysis at a high level of generality.
The additional elements recited in the independent claims amount to an MRI scanner, at least one processor, a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, measured MR signals, and outputting an indication. These elements merely provide the environment, the data source, generic computer implementation, and output of the abstract analysis. The do not improve the operation of the MRI scanner, improve image reconstruction, transform the MR signals into a particular improved image, or require any particular treatment or control action.
Accordingly, the 35 USC § 101 rejection is maintained.
The Applicant’s arguments with respect to rejections under 35 USC § 102 have been fully, considered, but are not persuasive.
Clam 1, recites, “determining, prior to image reconstruction that uses the MR signals and based at least in part on a result of the quantifying of the changes in the MR signals, a diagnostic quality of the at least one image that would result from the MRI scan;”. The claim does not require determining of the diagnostic quality from a reconstructed image, does not require a radiologist level clinical diagnosis, does not require a final quality score for an entire complete scan, and does not require the diagnostic quality determination to be made only after all the k-space data for the scan has been acquired. Rather, the claim, just requires the determination to occur before image reconstruction and based at least in part on quantified changes in MR signals.
Applicant’s argument that Dosenbach merely evaluates motion between datasets or pairs of datasets is not commensurate with the scope of the claim. Dosenbach was relied upon as teaching the broad claim, by its analysis of raw, non-reconstructed k-space MRI data to quantify motion/data degradation before image reconstruction, and as teaching that such degradation affects image quality and diagnostic capability of the resulting MRI images. Thus, the determination of degraded data quality, usable data, motion affected data, and scan portions requiring reacquisition reasonably corresponds to determining the diagnostic quality of the image that would result from the MRI scan, because the determination is made before reconstruction and concerns whether the resulting MRI image data would be clinically usable or diagnostically compromised.
The Applicant also imports limitations that are not reflected in the claims, and thus relies on a narrower interpretation, than what is actually required in the claims. Specifically, claims don’t require the prior art to expressible use the words, “diagnostic quality of the image”. The claim does not require evaluating a final reconstructed image, and does not require an express determination of the quality of a completed image as opposed to determining, from pre-reconstructed MR signal changes, whether the resulting image would have acceptable or degraded diagnostic quality. These assertions are directed to the narrower interpretation or alleged advantages of the Applicant’s invention rather than being reflected in the claim language. No where in the claim does it define any critically or specifics of the quantifying and determining.
The Applicant’s reliance that Dosenbach motion analysis cannot satisfy the diagnostic quality limitation, mischaracterizes the basis of the rejection. Dosenbach is relied upon because the system uses quantified motion / data degradation in raw k-space data to determine data quality, identify decreased quality, determine usable versus degraded data, and provide a real-time indication/recommendations regarding the MRI study before reconstruction. Accordingly, the Applicant attacks Dosenbach’s motion analysis as though the rejection relied on motion alone, rather than on Dosenbach’s broader teaching that the quantified pre-reconstruction signal/data degradation analysis is used to assess quality of the resulting MRI data/images.
Accordingly, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, Dosenbach teaches the broad limitations of quantifying and determining as required by the claim. The 35 USC § 102 rejection is maintained.
Claim Objections
The following claims are objected to because of the following informalities and should recite:
Claim 5: lines 3-4: there is a line break (i.e., an indent/space). Indent “during the MRI scan; and” appropriately. Consistent formatting is needed.
Claim 31: “determining”. The term is a different font than the rest of the claims. Consistent font is preferred.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-12, 14, 16-18, 22-25, & 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 of the subject matter eligibility test (see MPEP 2106.03).
Claims 1-12, 14, 16-18, and 31 are directed to a “method” which describes one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter, i.e., a process.
Claim 22 is drawn to a “system” which describes one of the four statutory categories, i.e., a machine.
Claims 23-25 are drawn to a “system” which describes one of the four statutory categories, i.e., a machine.
Step 2A of the subject matter eligibility test (see MPEP 2106.04).
Prong One:
Claim 1 recites (“sets forth” or “describes”) the abstract idea of “a mental process” (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2).III.), & the abstract idea of “mathematical concepts” (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2).I.), substantially as follows:
“ quantifying changes in magnetic resonance (MR) signals captured during the MRI scan, wherein the quantifying the changes is performed prior to image reconstruction that uses the MR signals;
determining, prior to image reconstruction that uses the MR signals and based at least in part on a result of the quantifying of the changes in the MR signals, a diagnostic quality of the at least one image that would result from the MRI scan; and ”
Claim 22 recites (“sets forth” or “describes”) the abstract idea of “a mental process” (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2).III.), & the abstract idea of “mathematical concepts” (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2).I.), substantially as follows:
“ quantifying changes in magnetic resonance (MR) signals captured during the MRI scan, wherein the quantifying the changes is performed prior to image reconstruction that uses the MR signals;
determining, prior to image reconstruction that uses the MR signals and based at least in part on a result of the quantifying of the changes in the MR signals, a diagnostic quality of the at least one image that would result from the MRI scan; and “
Claim 23 recites (“sets forth” or “describes”) the abstract idea of “a mental process” (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2).III.), & the abstract idea of “mathematical concepts” (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2).I.), substantially as follows:
“ estimating motion of a subject during an MRI scan based on measured magnetic resonance (MR) signals captured during the MRI scan, wherein the estimating of the motion of the subject is performed prior to image reconstruction that uses the MR signals;
determining, prior to image reconstruction that uses the MR signals and based at least in part on a result of the estimating of the motion of the subject, a diagnostic quality of the MRI scan; and “
In claims (1, 22, 23), the identified steps above set forth the abstract ideas because each recite operations that fundamentally amount to mathematical analysis and mental evaluation of information, rather than a concrete technological process. In particular, the claims describe the manipulation, evaluation, and interpretation of measured data to reach a conclusion about a diagnostic quality, which fails squarely within the abstract idea of “a mental process” (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2).III.), & the abstract idea of “mathematical concepts” (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2).I.).
The recited step of “quantifying changes in [...] MR signals” or “estimating motion of a subject” set forth a mathematical concept because it requires applying numerical or statistical techniques to measured signal data in order to derive values or estimates. Quantifying changes in signal involves comparing signal values, calculating differences, or magnitudes, or performing mathematical operations of the data. Likewise, estimating motion from MR signals merely amounts to applying mathematical relationships to measure data to infer movement. These steps do not recite any specifics for performing the calculations, but instead broadly claim the result of the mathematical analysis performed on data, which is a characteristics of abstract mathematical concepts.
Additionally, the step of “determining .. a diagnostic quality” based at least in part of the quantified changes or estimated motion set forth a mental process. This limitation describes an evaluative judgement made by analyzing information and drawing a conclusion. A classic example of a mental process. Such a determination mirrors the type of assessment that could be performed by a human using their mind or with aid of pen and paper, by reviewing signal characteristics or motion estimates and deciding whether the resulting imaging would be diagnostically acceptable. The claims do no improve any meaningful constraints on how this determination is made beyond relying on previously derived data, and therefore describe a mental evaluation of information.
Therefore, the above noted limitations amount to the abstract idea of “a mental process” (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2).III.), & the abstract idea of “mathematical concepts” (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2).I.).
Prong Two: Claims (1, 22, 23) do not include additional elements that integrate the mental process into a practical application.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims recites (1) additional steps “an MRI scanner; at least one processor: and at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing executable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform a method for evaluating at least one image that would result from a magnetic resonance image (MRI) scan, the method comprising:”-(claim 22), “at least one processor; and at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing processor executable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform a method for evaluating a magnetic resonance image (MRI) scan, the method comprising:”-(claim 23); and (2) further “outputting an indication of the diagnostic quality of the at least one image.”-(claim1), “outputting an indication of the diagnostic quality of the at least one image.”-(claim 22), “outputting an indication of the diagnostic quality of the MRI scan.”-(claim 23)
The steps in (1) represent merely data gathering or pre-solution activities that are necessary for use of the recited judicial exception and are recited at a high level of generality with conventionally used tools (see below Step IIB for further details). Data gathering and mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer do not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application (MPEP 2106.05 (f and g)).Regarding the processor language written at such a high level of generality of structural limitations, the processor language amounts to a generic computer component with mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer.
The step in (2) represents merely outputting the abstract idea as a post-solution activity and is recited at a high level of generality.
As a whole, the additional elements merely serve to gather and feed information to the abstract idea and to output a notification based on the abstract idea, while generically implementing it on conventionally used tools. There is no practical application because the abstract idea is not applied, relied on, or used in a meaningful way. No improvement to the technology is evident, and the estimated diagnostic information is not outputted in any way such that a practical benefit is realized. Therefore, the additional elements, alone or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Further, there is no evidence of record that would support the assertion that this step is an improvement to a computer or technological solution to a technological problem. Ultimately, the Applicant’s describe improvement in the process of using diagnostic techniques, but this is not an improvement in the function of a computer or other technology (See MPEP 2106.05(a)(ii); “the court determined that the claimed user interface simply provided a trader with more information to facilitate market trades, which improved the business process of market trading but did not improve computers or technology”; See MPEP 2106.04(d)(1); 2106.05(a); and 2106.05(f)). The claims are directed to the abstract idea. Also, there does not appear to be any particular structure or machine, treatment or prophylaxis, transformation, or any other meaningful application that would render the claim eligible at step 2A, prong 2.
Step 2B of the subject matter eligibility test (see MPEP 2106.05).
Claims (1, 22, 23) do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above, the claims recite additional steps of an MRI scanner; at least one processor: and at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing executable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform a method for evaluating at least one image that would result from a magnetic resonance image (MRI) scan. These steps represents mere data gathering, data outputting or pre/post/extra-solution activities that are necessary for use of the recited judicial exception and are recited at a high level of generality. Furthermore, as discussed above, limitations with respect to the processor languages/terms, respectively, amount to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer. As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements in the claims amount to no more than insignificant extra solution activity and mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The same analysis applies here in 2B and does not provide an inventive concept. The data gathering steps that were considered insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A Prong Two, have been re-evaluated in Step 2B and determined to be well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field.
As evidenced by, OH et al (2014/0088984 A1), discloses,
¶0109, ‘image quality, where image quality is measured by subjective or objective determiners, such as doctors evaluating MRI images, or a mathematical value determined by an image quality evaluating method known in the art.’
As evidenced by, Yager et al (US 2014/0200437 A1), discloses,
¶0026, ‘Processor 160, which can be any type of computer processor known to those of skill in the art, can be used to generate an overlay image based on received image data, to control MRI machine 155, to execute instructions stored in memory 175, etc. Memory 175, which can be any type of computer memory or memories known to those of skill in the art, can be used to store image data obtained from MRI machine 155, to store instructions to be executed by processor 170, to store patient information, etc.’
For these reasons, there is no inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible. Even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more to the abstract idea.
Dependent Claims
The following dependent claims merely further define the abstract idea and are, therefore, recite an abstract idea for similar reasons:
Defining wherein the determining of the diagnostic quality of the at least one image that would result from the MRI scan comprises: comparing the result of the evaluating of the MRI signals to a threshold; and determining that the diagnostic quality of the at least one image that would result from the MRI scan is non-diagnostic when the result of evaluating the MRI signals exceeds the threshold.-(claim 2)
Defining wherein the quantifying the changes in the MR signals captured during the MRI scan comprises determining a change in the MR signals over time.-(claim 3)
Defining wherein the determining of the diagnostic quality of the at least one image that would result from the MRI scan comprises: comparing the change in the MR signals to a threshold; and determining that the diagnostic quality of the at least one image that would result from the MRI scan is non-diagnostic when the change in the MR signals exceeds the threshold.-(claim 4)
Defining wherein the determining of the diagnostic quality of the at least one image that would result from the MRI scan comprises: comparing the at least one second metric to a threshold; and determining that the at least one image that would result from the MRI scan is non- diagnostic when the at least one second metric exceeds the threshold. – (claim 9).
Defining wherein the determining of the diagnostic quality of the at least one image that would result from the MRI scan comprises determining the diagnostic quality during the MRI scan, prior to image reconstruction. – (claim 10).
Defining wherein the quantifying of the MR signals captured during the MRI scan comprises evaluating the MR signals corresponding to a center of k- space captured during an MRI scan in which the center of k-space was repeatedly sampled. – (claim 17).
Defining wherein the quantifying of the MR signals corresponding to the center of k-space captured during an MRI scan in which the center of k- space was repeatedly sampled comprises: evaluating the MR signals that correspond to the center of k-space; wherein the MR signals are captured without gradient encoding.- (claim 18)
Defining wherein the estimating of the motion based on the measured MR signals captured during the MRI scan comprises estimating the motion based on measured free-induction decay (FID) navigator signals captured during the MRI scan. – (claim 24)
Defining wherein the estimating of the motion based on the measured MR signals captured during the MRI scan comprises estimating the motion based on measured MR signals corresponding to a center of k-space captured during an MRI scan in which the center of k-space was repeatedly sampled – (claim 25).
Defining wherein determining the diagnostic quality of the at least one image that would result from the MRI scan comprises: evaluating an aggregate motion metric calculated based at least in part on measurements of motion over a plurality of portions of the MRI scan; and determining a quantitative indication of the diagnostic quality of the at least one image that would result based on a result of the evaluating of the aggregate motion metric. (claim 31).
The following dependent claims merely further describe the extra-solution activities and therefore, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception or integrate the abstract idea into a practical application for similar reasons:
Describing wherein: the MR signals comprise free-induction decay (FID) navigator signals captured by two or more receiver coils during the MRI scan; and the quantifying of the changes in the MR signals captured during the MRI scan comprises combining the MR signals captured by the two or more receiver coils to determine at least one first metric.-(claim 5). The data gathering steps and pre-solution activity are conventional and recited at high level of generality. As such, the abstract idea is not applied, relied on, or used in a meaningful way. No improved to the technology is evident, and the determined visualization of context is not outputted in any way such that the practical benefit is realized.
Describing wherein the combining of the MR signals comprises combining the MR signals captured for a channel, for a time, and/or for the MRI scan. – (claim 6). The data gathering steps and pre-solution activity are conventional and recited at high level of generality. As such, the abstract idea is not applied, relied on, or used in a meaningful way. No improved to the technology is evident, and the determined visualization of context is not outputted in any way such that the practical benefit is realized.
Describing wherein the combining of the MR signals captured by the two or more receiver coils comprises determining a normalized mean absolute change in the MR signals and/or a cross correlation coefficient between projection vectors of the MR signals. – (claim 7). The data gathering steps and pre-solution activity are conventional and recited at high level of generality. As such, the abstract idea is not applied, relied on, or used in a meaningful way. No improved to the technology is evident, and the determined visualization of context is not outputted in any way such that the practical benefit is realized.
Describing wherein: the quantifying of the MR signals captured during the MRI scan comprises evaluating FID navigator signals captured during the MRI scan; and the evaluating of the FID navigator signals captured during the MRI scan further comprises integrating the at least one first metric with respect to a number of k-space lines to determine at least one second metric.- (claim 8). The data gathering steps and pre-solution activity are conventional and recited at high level of generality. As such, the abstract idea is not applied, relied on, or used in a meaningful way. No improved to the technology is evident, and the determined visualization of context is not outputted in any way such that the practical benefit is realized.
Describing wherein the outputting of the indication of the diagnostic quality of the at least one image that would result from the MRI scan comprises outputting the indication of the diagnostic quality during the MRI scan, prior to image reconstruction. – (claim 11). The data gathering steps and post-solution activity are conventional and recited at high level of generality. As such, the abstract idea is not applied, relied on, or used in a meaningful way. No improved to the technology is evident, and the determined visualization of context is not outputted in any way such that the practical benefit is realized.
Describing wherein the outputting of the indication of the diagnostic quality comprises recommending intervention when the diagnostic quality is determined to be non-diagnostic. – (claim 12). The data gathering steps and post-solution activity are conventional and recited at high level of generality. As such, the abstract idea is not applied, relied on, or used in a meaningful way. No improved to the technology is evident, and the determined visualization of context is not outputted in any way such that the practical benefit is realized.
Describing wherein the outputting of the indication of the diagnostic quality comprises displaying data through a user interface of an MRI system. – (claim 14). The data gathering steps and post-solution activity are conventional and recited at high level of generality. As such, the abstract idea is not applied, relied on, or used in a meaningful way. No improved to the technology is evident, and the determined visualization of context is not outputted in any way such that the practical benefit is realized.
Describing wherein the MR signals comprise free-induction decay (FID) navigator signals captured during an acquisition of one or more MRI sequences, and the one or more MRI sequences comprise embedded FID navigator modules following radio-frequency (RF) excitation pulses. – (claim 16). The data gathering steps and pre-solution activity are conventional and recited at high level of generality. As such, the abstract idea is not applied, relied on, or used in a meaningful way. No improved to the technology is evident, and the determined visualization of context is not outputted in any way such that the practical benefit is realized.
Taken alone and in combination, the additional elements do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application at least because the abstract idea is not applied, relied on, or used in a meaningful way. They also do not add anything significantly more than the abstract idea. Their collective functions merely provide computer/electronic implementation and processing, and no additional elements beyond those of the abstract idea. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer, output device, improves technology other than the technical field of the claimed invention, etc. Therefore, the claims are rejected as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 10-12, 14, 22-23, & 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dosenbach (US 2024/0418814 A1).
Claim 1: Dosenbach discloses, A method for evaluating at least one image that would result from a magnetic resonance image (MRI) scan, the method comprising:
-Dosenbach discloses determining data quality using k-space magnetic resonance (MRI) data. The K-space is explicitly defined as any from of raw or non-reconstructed MR data acquired with an MRI system, ¶Abstract, ¶0008, ¶0021, ¶0030.
quantifying changes in magnetic resonance (MR) signals captured during the MRI scan, wherein the quantifying the changes is performed prior to image reconstruction that uses the MR signals;
Dosenbach a system and method that analyze raw magnetic resonance (MR) signals, specifically referred to as k-space data to monitor and quantify signal changes such as patient motion, ¶Abstract. ¶0021. Dosenbach defines k-space MRI data as “any form of raw or non-reconstructed MR data acquired with an MRI system”, ¶0021. The system receives this k-space MRI data as raw data directly from the scanner to access it for indications for degraded data quality, ¶0030. To quantify the changes, the method calculates a relative motion of the body part between a current k-space dataset and a preceding k-space dataset, quantifying or estimating the motion relative to the raw frequency data, ¶¶0034-0036. A convolutional neural network (CNN) or other machine learning routines may also be used to access the data quality and motion in these unreconstructed k-space datasets, ¶0021, ¶0044. This aforementioned analysis of the data here is still all un-reconstructed k-space data. Dosenbach deliberately contrast its innovative approach with conventional methods that suffer from the “need to reconstruct an image prior to performing motion correction”, ¶0007, thus the quantification is fundamentally performed prior to image reconstruction.
Specifically, in detail, Dosenbach spells out the required claim limitation of “quantifying changes in magnetic resonance (MR) signals captured during the MRI scan, wherein the quantifying the changes is performed prior to image reconstruction that uses the MR signals”. The fundamental way the system of Dosenabach quantifies signal changes prior to image reconstruction is by operating exclusively on k-space data which Dosenbach explicitly defines “any form of raw or non-reconstructed MR data acquired with an MRI system”, ¶0021. Because k-space data represent raw frequency data collected by the scanner before mathematical operations like the Fourier transform are applied to create a visible image, any analysis performed directly on this k-space data occurs prior to the image reconstruction. Based on this and the analysis following and a mere read of Dosenbach, any one of ordinary skill in the art would arrive at the same conclusion. The conclusion being, based on the broadest reasonable interpretation, Dosenbach expressly teaches “quantifying changes in magnetic resonance (MR) signals captured during the MRI scan, wherein the quantifying the changes is performed prior to image reconstruction that uses the MR signals”, as required by the claim.
This teaching of Dosenbach is outlined as follows:
Rather than waiting for a full image to be build, the system of Dosenbach receives raw MRI signals. First, to quantify signal changes instantly, the system utilizes “k-space streamer module” to extract the raw data from the scanner, such that as at the end of the repetition time (TR), ¶0041. Once streamed, the dedicated monition correction detector evaluates the data TR-by-TR, ¶0043. To perform this quantification“without reconstructing the image, the detector uses a trained CNN, which digest the “un-reconstructed k-space data” and outputs an immediate estimate of the data quality or the amount of motion that occurred during acquisition, ¶0044. Alternatively, Dosenbach also teaches quantifying the signal changes by comparing incoming k-space data to a pre-acquired k-space reference dataset, ¶0031, to establish a baseline for calculating motion or signal drift, ¶0031. The system then quantifies the change by calculating a mathematical transform (Ti) that aligns the current dataset (i) to the reference dataset. This is achieved by minimizing a registration error (εi), which calculates the different in signal intensity at given loci between the current data and reference while also compensating for global fluctuations in mean signal intensity across the brain, ¶0031-0035. At this point, the data is still un-reconstructed. Next, when quantifying the patient movement from the raw signals, the system of Dosenbach calculates the relative motion of the body part (e.g., the head) between the current k-space dataset and the preceding dataset, ¶0035-0036. This motion characterization by calculating six distinct alignment parameters represents a rigid body movement, ¶0035-0036. At this point, the data is still un-reconstructed.
To provide a quantifiable, scalar metric of data quality, the system of Dosenbach aggregates these separate vectors of motion into a total displacement score, ¶0037. It does this by adding the absolute displacement across all six directions, ¶0037-0039. To ensure rotations and translations can be accurately summed together, the system of Dosenbach computes the rotational displacements on the surface of a 3D volume presenting the image body part to convert the rotational angles into physical distances. By subtracting the displacement of the previous frame form the current frame, the system of Dosenbach quantifies the exact magnitude of the signal change between those distinct movements, ¶0037-0039.
In summary, Dosenbach makes it explicit that quantifying changes prior to image reconstruction is the deliberate fundamental premise meant to solve the problem of the prior arts, ¶0017.
Finally, the system of Dosenbach outlines the actual image reconstruction handled at a separate time and separate component, (i.e., the data processing server), ¶0077. Because the data quality metrics and motion displacement have already been calculated, filtered, and displayed to the operator using the raw k-space data as it streamed TR-by-TR, ¶0040-0043, ¶0076, the quantification of the MR signal changes is entirely complete prior to the data processing server performing Fourier transformation required to reconstruct MR signals into image, ¶0076-0077.
determining, prior to image reconstruction that uses the MR signals and based at least in part on a result of the quantifying of the changes in the MR signals, a diagnostic quality of the at least one image that would result from the MRI scan; and
Dosenbach established that motion by the subject during the can may introduce detrimental errors or artifacts into the resulting images and thereby negate any diagnostic capability, ¶¶0023-0024. Dosenbach links the raw signal intensity to the final visual output, such that the patient movement and other signals represent causes for this degradation of data quality and thus “The present disclosure recognizes that patient motion is just one example of a variety of causes for degradation of data quality and, thus, image quality in magnetic resonance imaging.”, ¶0008. Dosenbach compressively details that patient motion represent the obstacle in the clinical application because it substantially damages the clinical value of the information, ¶0003. The quantification of this signal degradation taught by Dosenbach allows the system to determine a diagnostic quality of the at least one image that would result form the MRI scan.
Specifically, as previously discussed, the system of Dosenbach deliberately bypasses the step of image reconstruction by analyzing the raw k-space data as it streams in real time, ¶¶0040-0043. The system employs motion correction or machine learning (CNN) to digest this raw data and produce estimates of data quality or degradation, ¶0021, ¶¶0043-0044. By quantifying these changes, such as calculating the framewise displacement (FD) or the total rigid body displacement from the non-reconstructed MR signals, ¶0032-0039, the system calculates the precise data quality metric, ¶0037, ¶0042. Based on this quantified metric, the system makes a determination about the usability of the data before it is ever sent to the data processing server, again which is the component responsible for performing the Fourier transform required for reconstruction, ¶0077. By identifying these signs of decreased data quality in the k-space data, ¶0009-0011, the system is actively evaluating and determining a diagnostic quality of the at least one image “that would” result from the MRI scan prior to any actual image generation. Then, Dosenbach establishes the utilization of the determination to ensure high-quality results, ¶Abstract, ¶0021, ¶0027, ¶0046.
outputting an indication of the diagnostic quality of the at least one image.
-Dosenbach discloses that the method includes displaying a real-time indication or report to an operator of the MRI system during the study, ¶0009, ¶0011, Claim 1, Claim 20. Dosenbach method indicates the decreased data quality and also shows the cumulative number of usable data obtained in the current scan and predicts the amount of scans that need to repeated, ¶0009, ¶0011, ¶0046, Claim 1, Claim 20. This indication is provided to the subject via sensor feedback based on the calculated data quality metrics, ¶0025, ¶0045, ¶0049-0050.
Claim 2: Dosenbach discloses al the elements above in claim 1, Dosenbach discloses, wherein the determining of the diagnostic quality of the at least one image that would result from the MRI scan comprises: comparing the result of the evaluating of the MRI signals to a threshold; and (¶0037, ¶0040-0041, ¶0056, Claim 5-7)
determining that the diagnostic quality of the at least one image that would result from the MRI scan is non-diagnostic when the result of evaluating the MRI signals exceeds the threshold. (¶0003-0004, ¶0023, ¶0040-0041)
Claim 3: Dosenbach discloses al the elements above in claim 1, Dosenbach discloses, wherein the quantifying the changes in the MR signals captured during the MRI scan comprises determining a change in the MR signals over time. (¶0004, ¶0035-0039, ¶0043)
Claim 4: Dosenbach discloses al the elements above in claim 3, Dosenbach discloses, the determining of the diagnostic quality of the at least one image that would result from the MRI scan comprises: comparing the change in the MR signals to a threshold (¶0035-0039, ¶0045, Claim 5-7, Claim 15-17); and determining that the diagnostic quality of the at least one image that would result from the MRI scan is non-diagnostic when the change in the MR signals exceeds the threshold. (¶0006, ¶0023, ¶0040-0041, Claim 5-7, Claim 15-17)
Claim 10: Dosenbach discloses all the elements above in claim 1, Dosenbach discloses, wherein the determining of the diagnostic quality of the at least one image that would result from the MRI scan comprises determining the diagnostic quality during the MRI scan, prior to image reconstruction. (¶Abstract, ¶0007-0009, ¶0011, ¶0021, ¶0023, Claim 1, Claim 20)
Claim 11: Dosenbach discloses all the elements above in claim 1, Dosenbach discloses, wherein the outputting of the indication of the diagnostic quality of the at least one image that would result from the MRI scan comprises outputting the indication of the diagnostic quality during the MRI scan, prior to image reconstruction. (¶Abstract, ¶0007-0011, ¶0021, ¶0024-0027, ¶0043, Claim 1, Claim 11-12, Claim 20)
Claim 12: Dosenbach discloses all the elements above in claim 1, Dosenbach discloses, wherein the outputting of the indication of the diagnostic quality comprises recommending intervention when the diagnostic quality is determined to be non-diagnostic. (¶0008-00011, ¶0025, ¶0028-0029, ¶0048, ¶0054-0055, Claim 1, Claim 20)
Claim 14: Dosenbach discloses all the elements above in claim 1, Dosenbach discloses, wherein the outputting of the indication of the diagnostic quality comprises displaying data through a user interface of an MRI system. (¶0009-0011, ¶0024, ¶0046, ¶0069, ¶0078, Claim 1, Claim 20)
Claim 22: Dosenbach discloses, A magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) system configured to evaluate a magnetic resonance image (MRI) scan, comprising:
-Dosenbach discloses determining data quality using k-space magnetic resonance (MRI) data. The K-space is explicitly defined as any from of raw or non-reconstructed MR data acquired with an MRI system, ¶Abstract, ¶0008, ¶0021, ¶0030.
an MRI scanner; (FIG. 5)
at least one processor (¶0068-0069): and
at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing executable instructions that, (¶0086, ¶0088-0089, ¶0091, ¶0096) when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform a method for evaluating at least one image that would result from a magnetic resonance image (MRI) scan, the method comprising: (¶0009, ¶0067, ¶0088, ¶0023, Claim 1, Claim 11)
quantifying changes in magnetic resonance (MR) signals captured during the MRI scan, wherein the quantifying the changes is performed prior to image reconstruction that uses the MR signals;
Dosenbach a system and method that analyze raw magnetic resonance (MR) signals, specifically referred to as k-space data to monitor and quantify signal changes such as patient motion, ¶Abstract. ¶0021. Dosenbach defines k-space MRI data as “any form of raw or non-reconstructed MR data acquired with an MRI system”, ¶0021. The system receives this k-space MRI data as raw data directly from the scanner to access it for indications for degraded data quality, ¶0030. To quantify the changes, the method calculates a relative motion of the body part between a current k-space dataset and a preceding k-space dataset, quantifying or estimating the motion relative to the raw frequency data, ¶¶0034-0036. A convolutional neural network (CNN) or other machine learning routines may also be used to access the data quality and motion in these unreconstructed k-space datasets, ¶0021, ¶0044. This aforementioned analysis of the data here is still all un-reconstructed k-space data. Dosenbach deliberately contrast its innovative approach with conventional methods that suffer from the “need to reconstruct an image prior to performing motion correction”, ¶0007, thus the quantification is fundamentally performed prior to image reconstruction.
Specifically, in detail, Dosenbach spells out the required claim limitation of “quantifying changes in magnetic resonance (MR) signals captured during the MRI scan, wherein the quantifying the changes is performed prior to image reconstruction that uses the MR signals”. The fundamental way the system of Dosenabach quantifies signal changes prior to image reconstruction is by operating exclusively on k-space data which Dosenbach explicitly defines “any form of raw or non-reconstructed MR data acquired with an MRI system”, ¶0021. Because k-space data represent raw frequency data collected by the scanner before mathematical operations like the Fourier transform are applied to create a visible image, any analysis performed directly on this k-space data occurs prior to the image reconstruction. Based on this and the analysis following and a mere read of Dosenbach, any one of ordinary skill in the art would arrive at the same conclusion. The conclusion being, based on the broadest reasonable interpretation, Dosenbach expressly teaches “quantifying changes in magnetic resonance (MR) signals captured during the MRI scan, wherein the quantifying the changes is performed prior to image reconstruction that uses the MR signals”, as required by the claim.
This teaching of Dosenbach is outlined as follows:
Rather than waiting for a full image to be build, the system of Dosenbach receives raw MRI signals. First, to quantify signal changes instantly, the system utilizes “k-space streamer module” to extract the raw data from the scanner, such that as at the end of the repetition time (TR), ¶0041. Once streamed, the dedicated monition correction detector evaluates the data TR-by-TR, ¶0043. To perform this quantification“without reconstructing the image, the detector uses a trained CNN, which digest the “un-reconstructed k-space data” and outputs an immediate estimate of the data quality or the amount of motion that occurred during acquisition, ¶0044. Alternatively, Dosenbach also teaches quantifying the signal changes by comparing incoming k-space data to a pre-acquired k-space reference dataset, ¶0031, to establish a baseline for calculating motion or signal drift, ¶0031. The system then quantifies the change by calculating a mathematical transform (Ti) that aligns the current dataset (i) to the reference dataset. This is achieved by minimizing a registration error (εi), which calculates the different in signal intensity at given loci between the current data and reference while also compensating for global fluctuations in mean signal intensity across the brain, ¶0031-0035. At this point, the data is still un-reconstructed. Next, when quantifying the patient movement from the raw signals, the system of Dosenbach calculates the relative motion of the body part (e.g., the head) between the current k-space dataset and the preceding dataset, ¶0035-0036. This motion characterization by calculating six distinct alignment parameters represents a rigid body movement, ¶0035-0036. At this point, the data is still un-reconstructed.
To provide a quantifiable, scalar metric of data quality, the system of Dosenbach aggregates these separate vectors of motion into a total displacement score, ¶0037. It does this by adding the absolute displacement across all six directions, ¶0037-0039. To ensure rotations and translations can be accurately summed together, the system of Dosenbach computes the rotational displacements on the surface of a 3D volume presenting the image body part to convert the rotational angles into physical distances. By subtracting the displacement of the previous frame form the current frame, the system of Dosenbach quantifies the exact magnitude of the signal change between those distinct movements, ¶0037-0039.
In summary, Dosenbach makes it explicit that quantifying changes prior to image reconstruction is the deliberate fundamental premise meant to solve the problem of the prior arts, ¶0017.
Finally, the system of Dosenbach outlines the actual image reconstruction handled at a separate time and separate component, (i.e., the data processing server), ¶0077. Because the data quality metrics and motion displacement have already been calculated, filtered, and displayed to the operator using the raw k-space data as it streamed TR-by-TR, ¶0040-0043, ¶0076, the quantification of the MR signal changes is entirely complete prior to the data processing server performing Fourier transformation required to reconstruct MR signals into image, ¶0076-0077.
determining, prior to image reconstruction that uses the MR signals and based at least in part on a result of the quantifying of the changes in the MR signals, a diagnostic quality of the at least one image that would result from the MRI scan; and
Dosenbach established that motion by the subject during the can may introduce detrimental errors or artifacts into the resulting images and thereby negate any diagnostic capability, ¶¶0023-0024. Dosenbach links the raw signal intensity to the final visual output, such that the patient movement and other signals represent causes for this degradation of data quality and thus “The present disclosure recognizes that patient motion is just one example of a variety of causes for degradation of data quality and, thus, image quality in magnetic resonance imaging.”, ¶0008. Dosenbach compressively details that patient motion represent the obstacle in the clinical application because it substantially damages the clinical value of the information, ¶0003. The quantification of this signal degradation taught by Dosenbach allows the system to determine a diagnostic quality of the at least one image that would result form the MRI scan.
Specifically, as previously discussed, the system of Dosenbach deliberately bypasses the step of image reconstruction by analyzing the raw k-space data as it streams in real time, ¶¶0040-0043. The system employs motion correction or machine learning (CNN) to digest this raw data and produce estimates of data quality or degradation, ¶0021, ¶¶0043-0044. By quantifying these changes, such as calculating the framewise displacement (FD) or the total rigid body displacement from the non-reconstructed MR signals, ¶0032-0039, the system calculates the precise data quality metric, ¶0037, ¶0042. Based on this quantified metric, the system makes a determination about the usability of the data before it is ever sent to the data processing server, again which is the component responsible for performing the Fourier transform required for reconstruction, ¶0077. By identifying these signs of decreased data quality in the k-space data, ¶0009-0011, the system is actively evaluating and determining a diagnostic quality of the at least one image “that would” result from the MRI scan prior to any actual image generation. Then, Dosenbach establishes the utilization of the determination to ensure high-quality results, ¶Abstract, ¶0021, ¶0027, ¶0046.
outputting an indication of the diagnostic quality of the at least one image.
-Dosenbach discloses that the method includes displaying a real-time indication or report to an operator of the MRI system during the study, ¶0009, ¶0011, Claim 1, Claim 20. Dosenbach method indicates the decreased data quality and also shows the cumulative number of usable data obtained in the current scan and predicts the amount of scans that need to repeated, ¶0009, ¶0011, ¶0046, Claim 1, Claim 20. This indication is provided to the subject via sensor feedback based on the calculated data quality metrics, ¶0025, ¶0045, ¶0049-0050.
Claim 23: Dosenbach discloses, A system configured to evaluate a magnetic resonance image (MRI) scan, comprising:
-Dosenbach discloses determining data quality using k-space magnetic resonance (MRI) data. The K-space is explicitly defined as any from of raw or non-reconstructed MR data acquired with an MRI system, ¶Abstract, ¶0008, ¶0021, ¶0030.
at least one processor; and (¶0068-0069)
at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing processor executable instructions that, (¶0086, ¶0088-0089, ¶0091, ¶0096) when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform a method for evaluating a magnetic resonance image (MRI) scan, the method comprising: (¶0009, ¶0067, ¶0088, ¶0023, Claim 1, Claim 11)
estimating motion of a subject during an MRI scan based on measured magnetic resonance (MR) signals captured during the MRI scan, wherein the estimating of the motion of the subject is performed prior to image reconstruction that uses the MR signals;
-Dosenbach discloses a method that involves receiving k-space data acquiring during the MRI scan, and analyzing the received k-space data to identify signs of decreased data quality, ¶0009-0010, Claim 1, Claim 2. K-space data is raw data, meaning this analysis occurs prior to image reconstruction, ¶0021. The system of Dosenbach uses the raw k-space data to calculate a data quality metric, which includes quantifying motion or displacement components, ¶0037, ¶0045, Claim 8-9. This quantifying may involve calculating relative motion between successive k-space data, ¶0034-0036.
Dosenbach a system and method that analyze raw magnetic resonance (MR) signals, specifically referred to as k-space data to monitor and quantify signal changes such as patient motion, ¶Abstract. ¶0021. Dosenbach defines k-space MRI data as “any form of raw or non-reconstructed MR data acquired with an MRI system”, ¶0021. The system receives this k-space MRI data as raw data directly from the scanner to access it for indications for degraded data quality, ¶0030. To quantify the changes, the method calculates a relative motion of the body part between a current k-space dataset and a preceding k-space dataset, quantifying or estimating the motion relative to the raw frequency data, ¶¶0034-0036. A convolutional neural network (CNN) or other machine learning routines may also be used to access the data quality and motion in these unreconstructed k-space datasets, ¶0021, ¶0044. This aforementioned analysis of the data here is still all un-reconstructed k-space data. Dosenbach deliberately contrast its innovative approach with conventional methods that suffer from the “need to reconstruct an image prior to performing motion correction”, ¶0007, thus the quantification is fundamentally performed prior to image reconstruction.
Specifically, in detail, Dosenbach spells out the required claim limitations. The fundamental way the system of Dosenabach quantifies signal changes prior to image reconstruction is by operating exclusively on k-space data which Dosenbach explicitly defines “any form of raw or non-reconstructed MR data acquired with an MRI system”, ¶0021. Because k-space data represent raw frequency data collected by the scanner before mathematical operations like the Fourier transform are applied to create a visible image, any analysis performed directly on this k-space data occurs prior to the image reconstruction. Based on this and the analysis following and a mere read of Dosenbach, any one of ordinary skill in the art would arrive at the same conclusion. The conclusion being, based on the broadest reasonable interpretation, Dosenbach expressly teaches estimating of the motion of the subject performed prior to image reconstruction as required by the claim.
This teaching of Dosenbach is outlined as follows:
Rather than waiting for a full image to be build, the system of Dosenbach receives raw MRI signals. First, to quantify signal changes instantly, the system utilizes “k-space streamer module” to extract the raw data from the scanner, such that as at the end of the repetition time (TR), ¶0041. Once streamed, the dedicated monition correction detector evaluates the data TR-by-TR, ¶0043. To perform this quantification“without reconstructing the image, the detector uses a trained CNN, which digest the “un-reconstructed k-space data” and outputs an immediate estimate of the data quality or the amount of motion that occurred during acquisition, ¶0044. Alternatively, Dosenbach also teaches quantifying the signal changes by comparing incoming k-space data to a pre-acquired k-space reference dataset, ¶0031, to establish a baseline for calculating motion or signal drift, ¶0031. The system then quantifies the change by calculating a mathematical transform (Ti) that aligns the current dataset (i) to the reference dataset. This is achieved by minimizing a registration error (εi), which calculates the different in signal intensity at given loci between the current data and reference while also compensating for global fluctuations in mean signal intensity across the brain, ¶0031-0035. At this point, the data is still un-reconstructed. Next, when quantifying the patient movement from the raw signals, the system of Dosenbach calculates the relative motion of the body part (e.g., the head) between the current k-space dataset and the preceding dataset, ¶0035-0036. This motion characterization by calculating six distinct alignment parameters represents a rigid body movement, ¶0035-0036. At this point, the data is still un-reconstructed.
To provide a quantifiable, scalar metric of data quality, the system of Dosenbach aggregates these separate vectors of motion into a total displacement score, ¶0037. It does this by adding the absolute displacement across all six directions, ¶0037-0039. To ensure rotations and translations can be accurately summed together, the system of Dosenbach computes the rotational displacements on the surface of a 3D volume presenting the image body part to convert the rotational angles into physical distances. By subtracting the displacement of the previous frame form the current frame, the system of Dosenbach quantifies the exact magnitude of the signal change between those distinct movements, ¶0037-0039.
In summary, Dosenbach makes it explicit that quantifying changes prior to image reconstruction is the deliberate fundamental premise meant to solve the problem of the prior arts, ¶0017.
Finally, the system of Dosenbach outlines the actual image reconstruction handled at a separate time and separate component, (i.e., the data processing server), ¶0077. Because the data quality metrics and motion displacement have already been calculated, filtered, and displayed to the operator using the raw k-space data as it streamed TR-by-TR, ¶0040-0043, ¶0076, the quantification of the MR signal changes is entirely complete prior to the data processing server performing Fourier transformation required to reconstruct MR signals into image, ¶0076-0077.
determining, prior to image reconstruction that uses the MR signals and based at least in part on a result of the estimating of the motion of the subject, a diagnostic quality of the MRI scan; and
Dosenbach established that motion by the subject during the can may introduce detrimental errors or artifacts into the resulting images and thereby negate any diagnostic capability, ¶¶0023-0024. Dosenbach links the raw signal intensity to the final visual output, such that the patient movement and other signals represent causes for this degradation of data quality and thus “The present disclosure recognizes that patient motion is just one example of a variety of causes for degradation of data quality and, thus, image quality in magnetic resonance imaging.”, ¶0008. Dosenbach compressively details that patient motion represent the obstacle in the clinical application because it substantially damages the clinical value of the information, ¶0003. The quantification of this signal degradation taught by Dosenbach allows the system to determine a diagnostic quality of the at least one image that would result form the MRI scan.
Specifically, as previously discussed, the system of Dosenbach deliberately bypasses the step of image reconstruction by analyzing the raw k-space data as it streams in real time, ¶¶0040-0043. The system employs motion correction or machine learning (CNN) to digest this raw data and produce estimates of data quality or degradation, ¶0021, ¶¶0043-0044. By quantifying these changes, such as calculating the framewise displacement (FD) or the total rigid body displacement from the non-reconstructed MR signals, ¶0032-0039, the system calculates the precise data quality metric, ¶0037, ¶0042. Based on this quantified metric, the system makes a determination about the usability of the data before it is ever sent to the data processing server, again which is the component responsible for performing the Fourier transform required for reconstruction, ¶0077. By identifying these signs of decreased data quality in the k-space data, ¶0009-0011, the system is actively evaluating and determining a diagnostic quality of the at least one image “that would” result from the MRI scan prior to any actual image generation. Then, Dosenbach establishes the utilization of the determination to ensure high-quality results, ¶Abstract, ¶0021, ¶0027, ¶0046.
outputting an indication of the diagnostic quality of the MRI scan.
-Dosenbach discloses that the method includes displaying a real-time indication or report to an operator of the MRI system during the study, ¶0009, ¶0011, Claim 1, Claim 20. Dosenbach method indicates the decreased data quality and also shows the cumulative number of usable data obtained in the current scan and predicts the amount of scans that need to repeated, ¶0009, ¶0011, ¶0046, Claim 1, Claim 20. This indication is provided to the subject via sensor feedback based on the calculated data quality metrics, ¶0025, ¶0045, ¶0049-0050.
Claim 31: Dosenbach discloses all the elements above in claim 1, Dosenbach teaches: wherein determining the diagnostic quality of the at least one image that would result from the MRI scan comprises:
Dosenbach discloses that the method includes displaying a real-time indication or report to an operator of the MRI system during the study, ¶0009, ¶0011, Claim 1, Claim 20. Dosenbach method indicates the decreased data quality and also shows the cumulative number of usable data obtained in the current scan and predicts the amount of scans that need to repeated, ¶0009, ¶0011, ¶0046, Claim 1, Claim 20. This indication is provided to the subject via sensor feedback based on the calculated data quality metrics, ¶0025, ¶0045, ¶0049-0050.
evaluating an aggregate motion metric calculated based at least in part on measurements of motion over a plurality of portions of the MRI scan; and (¶0037-0039, ¶0044, ¶0046, ¶0053)
determining a quantitative indication of the diagnostic quality of the at least one image that would result based on a result of the evaluating of the aggregate motion metric. (¶Abstract, ¶0008, ¶0027, ¶0046)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6, 8, 16, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dosenbach (US 2024/0418814 A1) in view of Nielsen et al (US 2021/0356547 A1).
Claim 5: Dosenbach discloses all the elements above in claim 1, Dosenbach fails to disclose: wherein: the MR signals comprise free-induction decay (FID) navigator signals captured by two or more receiver coils during the MRI scan; and evaluating the MR signals captured during the MRI scan comprises combining the MR signals captured by the two or more receiver coils to determine at least one first metric.
However, Nielsen in the context of motion compensation image reconstruction in magnetic resonance imaging discloses, wherein: the MR signals comprise free-induction decay (FID) navigator signals captured by two or more receiver coils during the MRI scan; and evaluating the MR signals captured during the MRI scan comprises combining the MR signals captured by the two or more receiver coils to determine at least one first metric. (¶0026, ‘a set of RF coils having different spatial sensitivity profiles is used for MR signal acquisition.’; ¶0032, ‘The MR signals may also be sampled according to a so-called “koosh ball”-sampling scheme. This techniques provides for virtually silent MR imaging, in which RF excitation as well as acquisition of MR signals are performed in the presence of a magnetic field gradient. The magnetic field gradient is applied for purely frequency-encoded, radial centre-out k-space encoding. The spatially non-selective excitation must uniformly cover the full frequency bandwidth spanned by the readout magnetic field gradient, which is typically accomplished by radiating short, hard RF pulses. The acquisition of a free induction decay (FID) signal starts immediately after radiation of the RF pulse. After the FID readout, only minimal time is required for setting of the next readout magnetic field gradient before the next RF pulse can be applied, thus enabling very short repetition times (TR).’)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the MR signals of Dosenbach such that the MR signals includes free-induction decay (FID) navigator signals captured by two or more receiver coils during the MRI scan; and evaluating the MR signals captured during the MRI scan comprises combining the MR signals captured by the two or more receiver coils to determine at least one first metric as taught by Nielsen. The motivation to do this yields predictable results such as improving the robustness to motion artifacts, Abstract & ¶0032 of Nielsen.
Claim 6: Modified Dosenbach discloses all the elements above in claim 5, Dosenbach discloses, wherein combining the MR signals comprises combining the MR signals captured for a channel, for a time, and/or for the MRI scan. (¶0009, ¶0021, ¶0038-0039, ¶0046, ¶0053, ¶0072)
Claim 8: Modified Dosenbach discloses all the elements above in claim 5, Dosenbach fails to disclose: wherein: evaluating MR signals captured during the MRI scan comprises evaluating FID navigator signals captured during the MRI scan; and evaluating the FID navigator signals captured during the MRI scan further comprises integrating the at least one first metric with respect to a number of k-space lines to determine at least one second metric.
However, Nielsen is relied upon above discloses, wherein: evaluating MR signals captured during the MRI scan comprises evaluating FID navigator signals captured during the MRI scan; and evaluating the FID navigator signals captured during the MRI scan further comprises integrating the at least one first metric with respect to a number of k-space lines to determine at least one second metric. (¶0026, ‘a set of RF coils having different spatial sensitivity profiles is used for MR signal acquisition.’; ¶0032, ‘The MR signals may also be sampled according to a so-called “koosh ball”-sampling scheme. This techniques provides for virtually silent MR imaging, in which RF excitation as well as acquisition of MR signals are performed in the presence of a magnetic field gradient. The magnetic field gradient is applied for purely frequency-encoded, radial centre-out k-space encoding. The spatially non-selective excitation must uniformly cover the full frequency bandwidth spanned by the readout magnetic field gradient, which is typically accomplished by radiating short, hard RF pulses. The acquisition of a free induction decay (FID) signal starts immediately after radiation of the RF pulse. After the FID readout, only minimal time is required for setting of the next readout magnetic field gradient before the next RF pulse can be applied, thus enabling very short repetition times (TR)… Such radial centre-out k-space scanning techniques are referred to as “koosh ball”-scanning, with the radial k-space “spokes” and their arrangement in k-space resembling the filaments (strings) of the known toy ball design.’)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the MR signals of modified Dosenbach such that the MR signals evaluating FID navigator signals captured during the MRI scan; and evaluating the FID navigator signals captured during the MRI scan further comprises integrating the at least one first metric with respect to a number of k-space lines to determine at least one second metric as taught by Nielsen. The motivation to do this yields predictable results such as improving the robustness to motion artifacts, Abstract & ¶0032 of Nielsen.
Claim 16: Dosenbach discloses all the elements above in claim 1, Dosenbach fails to disclose: wherein the MR signals comprise free-induction decay (FID) navigator signals captured during an acquisition of one or more MRI sequences, and the one or more MRI sequences comprise embedded FID navigator modules following RF excitation pulses.
However, Nielsen in the context of motion compensation image reconstruction in magnetic resonance imaging discloses, wherein the MR signals comprise FID navigator signals captured during an acquisition of one or more MRI sequences, and the one or more MRI sequences comprise embedded FID navigator modules following RF excitation pulses. (¶0026, ‘a set of RF coils having different spatial sensitivity profiles is used for MR signal acquisition.’; ¶0032, ‘The MR signals may also be sampled according to a so-called “koosh ball”-sampling scheme. This techniques provides for virtually silent MR imaging, in which RF excitation as well as acquisition of MR signals are performed in the presence of a magnetic field gradient. The magnetic field gradient is applied for purely frequency-encoded, radial centre-out k-space encoding. The spatially non-selective excitation must uniformly cover the full frequency bandwidth spanned by the readout magnetic field gradient, which is typically accomplished by radiating short, hard RF pulses. The acquisition of a free induction decay (FID) signal starts immediately after radiation of the RF pulse. After the FID readout, only minimal time is required for setting of the next readout magnetic field gradient before the next RF pulse can be applied, thus enabling very short repetition times (TR).’)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the MR signals of Dosenbach such that the MR signals includes FID navigator signals captured during an acquisition of one or more MRI sequences, and the one or more MRI sequences comprise embedded FID navigator modules following RF excitation pulses as taught by Nielsen. The motivation to do this yields predictable results such as improving the robustness to motion artifacts, Abstract & ¶0032 of Nielsen.
Claim 24: Dosenbach discloses all the elements above in claim 23, Dosenbach fails to disclose: wherein estimating the motion based on the measured MR signals captured during the MRI scan comprises estimating the motion based on measured free-induction decay (FID) navigator signals captured during the MRI scan.
However, Nielsen in the context of motion compensation image reconstruction in magnetic resonance imaging discloses, wherein estimating the motion based on the measured MR signals captured during the MRI scan comprises estimating the motion based on measured free-induction decay (FID) navigator signals captured during the MRI scan. (¶0026, ‘a set of RF coils having different spatial sensitivity profiles is used for MR signal acquisition.’; ¶0032, ‘The MR signals may also be sampled according to a so-called “koosh ball”-sampling scheme. This techniques provides for virtually silent MR imaging, in which RF excitation as well as acquisition of MR signals are performed in the presence of a magnetic field gradient. The magnetic field gradient is applied for purely frequency-encoded, radial centre-out k-space encoding. The spatially non-selective excitation must uniformly cover the full frequency bandwidth spanned by the readout magnetic field gradient, which is typically accomplished by radiating short, hard RF pulses. The acquisition of a free induction decay (FID) signal starts immediately after radiation of the RF pulse. After the FID readout, only minimal time is required for setting of the next readout magnetic field gradient before the next RF pulse can be applied, thus enabling very short repetition times (TR)… Such radial centre-out k-space scanning techniques are referred to as “koosh ball”-scanning, with the radial k-space “spokes” and their arrangement in k-space resembling the filaments (strings) of the known toy ball design.’)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the estimated motion of Dosenbach such that the MR signals are based on the measured MR signals captured during the MRI scan comprises estimating the motion based on measured free-induction decay (FID) navigator signals captured during the MRI scan as taught by Nielsen. The motivation to do this yields predictable results such as improving the robustness to motion artifacts, Abstract & ¶0032 of Nielsen.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dosenbach (US 2024/0418814 A1) in view of Nielsen et al (US 2021/0356547 A1), as applied to claim 5 above, in further view of Stemkens (Adaptive bulk motion exclusion for improved robustness of abdominal magnetic resonance imaging, 2017).
Claim 7: Modified Dosenbach discloses all the elements above in claim 5, Dosenbach fails to disclose: wherein combining the MR signals captured by the two or more receiver coils comprises determining a normalized mean absolute change in the MR signals and/or a cross correlation coefficient between projection vectors of the MR signals.
However, Stemkens in the field of motion correction for improved magnetic resonance imaging discloses, wherein combining the MR signals captured by the two or more receiver coils comprises cross correlation coefficient between projection vectors of the MR signals. (pg 3/2.2 Implementation, ‘Motion is detected by calculating the correlation coefficient between a reference projection vector and all other projection vectors.20 The correlation coefficient CC is defined as:
where xi and yi denote the ith entry of the current projection vector x and reference projection y. ̅x and ̅𝑦 are the mean values of both vectors. A low correlation coefficient implies that the load distribution of the coil elements has changed. This indicates that the patient position has been altered between the projections. As it is not known beforehand if and when bulk motion occurs, the reference projection vector, which is defined as the projection with highest overall correlation to all previously acquired projections, is dynamically updated after each projection. The calculation of all correlation coefficients is computationally demanding and cannot always be performed in real time. In the current implementation, the reference projection is therefore only calculated within a sliding window containing the previous 100 projections. Outlier projections, which indicate bulk motion, are identified using a user‐defined acceptance threshold for the correlation coefficient.’)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify combining of the MR signals captured of modified Dosenbach such that it includes cross-correlation coefficient between projection vectors of the MR signals as taught by Stemkens. The motivation to do this yields predictable results such as improving the motion estimation between projections as suggested by Stemkens, pg. 3.
Claims 5-6, 8-9, 16, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dosenbach (US 2024/0418814 A1) in view of Nielsen et al (US 2021/0356547 A1), as applied to claim 8, alternatively in further view Braun et al (US 2018/0232878 A1).
Claim 9: Modified Dosenbach discloses all the elements above in claim 8, Dosenbach discloses, wherein determining the diagnostic quality of the at least one image that would result from the MRI scan comprises: comparing the at least one second metric to a threshold; and determining that the at least one image that would result from the MRI scan is non- diagnostic when the at least one second metric exceeds the threshold. (¶0004-0008, ¶0023, ¶0040-0041, Claim 5-7)
Alternatively, Braun in the context of image quality assessment in MRI discloses, wherein determining the diagnostic quality of the at least one image that would result from the MRI scan comprises: comparing the at least one second metric to a threshold; and determining that the at least one image that would result from the MRI scan is non- diagnostic when the at least one second metric exceeds the threshold. (¶0024, ‘network 120 may output more than one type of motion score. Quality evaluation component 140 may evaluate these scores (e.g., by comparing the scores against score thresholds corresponding to each type of motion score) and output an Acceptable or Unacceptable indicator based on the comparison.’) (¶0018-¶0024, -Quality evaluation component 140 outputs an “Acceptable” indicator if the motion score is less than the score threshold and an “Unacceptable” indicator if the motion score is greater than or equal to the score threshold. An “Unacceptable” indicator corresponds unacceptable quality to image quality for the clinical diagnosis (i.e. the MRI scan is non-diagnostic))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the determining of the diagnostic quality of modifed Dosenbach in view of the teachings of Braun. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as improving the system efficiency by ensuring sufficient quality of images, as suggested by Braun, ¶0003.
Claims 17 & 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dosenbach (US 2024/0418814 A1), as applied to claim 1 & 23 respectively, alternatively in further view Braun et al (US 2018/0232878 A1).
Claim 17: Dosenbach discloses all the elements above in claim 1, Dosenbach discloses, wherein the quantifying of the MR signals captured during the MRI scan comprises evaluating the MR signals corresponding to a center of k-space captured during an MRI scan in which the center of k-space was repeatedly sampled. (¶0006, ¶0042)
Alternatively, Braun in the context of image quality assessment in MRI discloses, wherein the quantifying of the MR signals captured during the MRI scan comprises evaluating the MR signals corresponding to a center of k-space captured during an MRI scan in which the center of k-space was repeatedly sampled. (provide a network and training architecture to assess image quality, ¶0018-0024, raw data are also known as k-space data, where k-space represents the spatial frequency information in two or three dimensions of the imaged object. The k-space is defined as the space covered by the phase and frequency encoding data. Motion of an object during imaging causes a Fourier shift in the k-space data. The motion results in different phase shifts for different measurements taken at different times. Accordingly, motion corruption component 200 may receive known acceptable image Image1, convert image Image1 to raw k-space data (e.g., via an inverse Fourier transform), introduce the desired motion in the k-space data through phase-shifting the k-space data, and reconstruct image Image1C1, ¶0028-¶0032)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify evaluating of the MR signals of Dosenbach in view of the teachings of Braun. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as improving the system efficiency by ensuring sufficient quality of images, as suggested by Braun, ¶0003.
Claim 25: Dosenbach discloses all the elements above in claim 23, Dosenbach discloses,
wherein the estimating of the motion based on the measured MR signals captured during the MRI scan comprises estimating the motion based on measured MR signals corresponding to a center of k-space captured during an MRI scan in which the center of k-space was repeatedly sampled. (¶0006, ¶0042)
Alternatively, Braun in the context of image quality assessment in MRI discloses,
wherein the estimating of the motion based on the measured MR signals captured during the MRI scan comprises estimating the motion based on measured MR signals corresponding to a center of k-space captured during an MRI scan in which the center of k-space was repeatedly sampled. (provide a network and training architecture to assess image quality, ¶0018-0024, raw data are also known as k-space data, where k-space represents the spatial frequency information in two or three dimensions of the imaged object. The k-space is defined as the space covered by the phase and frequency encoding data. Motion of an object during imaging causes a Fourier shift in the k-space data. The motion results in different phase shifts for different measurements taken at different times. Accordingly, motion corruption component 200 may receive known acceptable image Image1, convert image Image1 to raw k-space data (e.g., via an inverse Fourier transform), introduce the desired motion in the k-space data through phase-shifting the k-space data, and reconstruct image Image1C1, ¶0028-¶0032)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the estimating of the motion of Dosenbach in view of the teachings of Braun. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as improving the system efficiency by ensuring sufficient quality of images, as suggested by Braun, ¶0003.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dosenbach (US 2024/0418814 A1), as applied to claim 17, in further view Braun et al (US 2018/0232878 A1).
Claim 18: Dosenbach or alternatively modified Dosenbach discloses all the elements above in claim 17, Dosenbach discloses, wherein the quantifying of the MR signals corresponding to the center of k-space captured during an MRI scan in which the center of k-space was repeatedly sampled (¶0006, ¶0042)
Dosenbach fails to disclose: comprises evaluating the MR signals corresponding to the center of k-space: wherein the MRI signals are captured without gradient encoding.
Alternatively, Braun is relied upon above discloses, wherein the quantifying of the MR signals corresponding to the center of k-space captured during an MRI scan in which the center of k-space was repeatedly sampled (provide a network and training architecture to assess image quality, ¶0018-0024, raw data are also known as k-space data, where k-space represents the spatial frequency information in two or three dimensions of the imaged object. The k-space is defined as the space covered by the phase and frequency encoding data. Motion of an object during imaging causes a Fourier shift in the k-space data. The motion results in different phase shifts for different measurements taken at different times. Accordingly, motion corruption component 200 may receive known acceptable image Image1, convert image Image1 to raw k-space data (e.g., via an inverse Fourier transform), introduce the desired motion in the k-space data through phase-shifting the k-space data, and reconstruct image Image1C1, ¶0028-¶0032)
comprises evaluating the MR signals corresponding to the center of k-space: wherein the MRI signals are captured without gradient encoding. (provide a network and training architecture to assess image quality, ¶0018-0024, raw data are also known as k-space data, where k-space represents the spatial frequency information in two or three dimensions of the imaged object. The k-space is defined as the space covered by the phase and frequency encoding data. Motion of an object during imaging causes a Fourier shift in the k-space data. The motion results in different phase shifts for different measurements taken at different times… In some embodiments, motion corruption component 200 may receive raw (i.e., pre-reconstruction) k-space data, eliminating the need to convert a reconstructed image to k-space data. ¶0028-¶0032)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify evaluating of the MR signals of modified Dosenbach in view of the teachings of Braun. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as improving the system efficiency by ensuring sufficient quality of images, as suggested by Braun, ¶0003.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Braun et al (US 2018/0232878 A1) discloses the following:
Braun discloses, re: Claim 2, wherein the determining of the diagnostic quality (¶0021, ‘Automated image quality assessment may improve operational efficiency and enforce image quality for clinical diagnosis.’) of the at least one image that would result from the MRI scan comprises: (¶0002-¶0003, Quality assessment of medical images access whether image quality is acceptable or unacceptable for diagnostic purposes, ¶0018-¶0024 - network 120 output more than one type of motion score. Quality evaluation component 140 evaluates the scores (e.g., by comparing scores against score threshold corresponding to each type of motion score) and outputs an Acceptable or Unacceptable indicator based on the comparison)
comparing the result of the evaluating of the MR signals to a threshold; and determining that the diagnostic quality of the at least one image that would result from the MRI scan is non-diagnostic when the result of evaluating the MR signals exceeds the threshold. (¶0018-¶0024, -Quality evaluation component 140 outputs an “Acceptable” indicator if the motion score is less than the score threshold and an “Unacceptable” indicator if the motion score is greater than or equal to the score threshold. An “Unacceptable” indicator corresponds unacceptable quality to image quality for the clinical diagnosis (i.e. the MRI scan is non-diagnostic))
Braun discloses, re: Claim 3, wherein the quantifying the changes in the MR signals captured during the MRI scan comprises determining a change in the MR signals over time. (¶0028-¶0032, raw MR data consists of transversal components of magnetization in an imaged object after excitation, sampled from a receive coil signal and stored as a function of time during the data acquisition portion of an MR imaging sequence)
Braun discloses, re: Claim 4, wherein the determining of the diagnostic quality of the at least one image that would result from the MRI scan comprises: comparing the change in the MR signals to a threshold; and determining that the diagnostic quality of the at least one image that would result from the MRI scan is non-diagnostic when the change in the MR signals exceeds the threshold. (¶0018-¶0026, -Network 120 outputs more than one type of motion score. Quality evaluation component 140 evaluates the scores (e.g., by comparing the scores against score thresholds corresponding to each type of motion score) and outputs an Acceptable or Unacceptable indicator based the comparison.)
Braun discloses, re: Claim 10, wherein the determining of the diagnostic quality of the at least one image that would result from the MRI scan comprises determining the diagnostic quality during the MRI scan, prior to image reconstruction. (Automated image quality assessment may improve operational efficiency and enforce image quality for clinical diagnosis. If an image is determined to exhibit unacceptable quality, an operator may adjust the protocol and reacquire the image before the patient leaves the scanner table or the exam room. Automated image quality assessment may also provide a confidence metric for subsequent post-processing, or a gating mechanism to control the workflow (e.g., whether or not to proceed with post-processing), (¶0018-¶0024))
Braun discloses, re: Claim 11, wherein the outputting of the indication of the diagnostic quality of the at least one image that would result from the MRI scan comprises outputting the indication of the diagnostic quality during the MRI scan, prior to image reconstruction. (Automated image quality assessment may improve operational efficiency and enforce image quality for clinical diagnosis. If an image is determined to exhibit unacceptable quality, an operator may adjust the protocol and reacquire the image before the patient leaves the scanner table or the exam room. - network 120 may output more than one type of motion score. Quality evaluation component 140 may evaluate these scores (e.g., by comparing the scores against score thresholds corresponding to each type of motion score) and output an Acceptable or Unacceptable indicator based on the comparison, (¶0018-¶0024))
Braun discloses, re: Claim 12, wherein the outputting of the indication of the diagnostic quality comprises recommending intervention when the diagnostic quality is determined to be non-diagnostic. (Automated image quality assessment may improve operational efficiency and enforce image quality for clinical diagnosis. If an image is determined to exhibit unacceptable quality, an operator may adjust the protocol and reacquire the image before the patient leaves the scanner table or the exam room. - network 120 may output more than one type of motion score. -Quality evaluation component 140 outputs an “Acceptable” indicator if the motion score is less than the score threshold and an “Unacceptable” indicator if the motion score is greater than or equal to the score threshold. An “Unacceptable” indicator corresponds unacceptable quality to image quality for the clinical diagnosis (i.e. the MRI scan is non-diagnostic)). -Quality evaluation component 140 may evaluate these scores (e.g., by comparing the scores against score thresholds corresponding to each type of motion score) and output an Acceptable or Unacceptable indicator based on the comparison, (¶0018-¶0024))
Braun discloses, re: Claim 14, wherein the outputting of the indication of the diagnostic quality comprises displaying data through a user interface of an MRI system. (Automated image quality assessment may improve operational efficiency and enforce image quality for clinical diagnosis. If an image is determined to exhibit unacceptable quality, an operator may adjust the protocol and reacquire the image before the patient leaves the scanner table or the exam room. - network 120 may output more than one type of motion score. -Quality evaluation component 140 outputs an “Acceptable” indicator if the motion score is less than the score threshold and an “Unacceptable” indicator if the motion score is greater than or equal to the score threshold. An “Unacceptable” indicator corresponds unacceptable quality to image quality for the clinical diagnosis (i.e. the MRI scan is non-diagnostic)). -Quality evaluation component 140 may evaluate these scores (e.g., by comparing the scores against score thresholds corresponding to each type of motion score) and output an Acceptable or Unacceptable indicator based on the comparison, (¶0018-¶0024)), -Terminal 1290 may simply comprise a display device and an input device coupled to system 1275. In some embodiments, terminal 1290 is a separate computing device such as, but not limited to, a desktop computer, a laptop computer, a tablet computer, and a smartphone., (¶0068-¶0072))
/N.A.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3798
/PASCAL M BUI PHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3798