DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) filed 4/6/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-11 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mantooth (US 11,693,376) in view of Meng (CN 108879765).
With respect to claim 1, Mantooth discloses a power transfer device comprising: a bridge circuit (Fig. 2 4) to couple to a power grid (Fig. 1 10), the bridge circuit having cross-connected switches (Fig. 2 switches in 4) inline with a high voltage path (Fig. 2 upper line of 4) of the power grid; a direct current (DC) link (Fig. 1 217) coupled between the bridge circuit (Fig. 1 222) and a local interconnection (Fig. 1 interconnection 222 to 217) to transfer energy as a DC current between the local interconnection and the bridge circuit; and a controller (Fig. 17 Bi-directional Inverter Control) to control the cross-connected switches of the bridge circuit to provide bidirectional power transfer to interconnect with the power grid, the bidirectional power transfer to provide energy from the DC link to the bridge circuit for energy transfer from the local interconnection to the bridge circuit for delivery of energy from the local interconnection to the power grid (column 7, lines 35-38), and to charge the DC link from the power grid through the bridge circuit for energy transfer from the bridge circuit to the local interconnection for delivery of energy from the power grid to the local interconnection (column 7, lines 35-38). Mantooth does not explicitly state bidirectional waveform shaping of an alternating current (AC) current waveform.
Meng discloses a controller (Fig. 1 PLL to SPWM) to control the cross-connected switches of the power converter (Fig. 1 S) to provide bidirectional waveform shaping of an alternating current (AC) current waveform (Fig. 5 ia) to interconnect with the power grid, the bidirectional waveform shaping to shape the AC current waveform (Fig. 5 ia) to provide energy from the DC side (Fig. 1 Udc) to the power converter for energy transfer from the local interconnection to the power converter for delivery of energy from the local interconnection to the power grid, and to shape the AC current waveform (Fig. 4 ia) to charge the DC side from the power grid through the power converter for energy transfer from the power converter to the local interconnection for delivery of energy from the power grid to the local interconnection. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement
and a controller (Fig. 17 Bi-directional Inverter Control) to control the cross-connected switches of the bridge circuit to provide bidirectional waveform shaping of an alternating current (AC) current waveform to interconnect with the power grid, the bidirectional waveform shaping to shape the AC current waveform to provide energy from the DC link to the bridge circuit for energy transfer from the local interconnection to the bridge circuit for delivery of energy from the local interconnection to the power grid, and to shape the AC current waveform to charge the DC link from the power grid through the bridge circuit for energy transfer from the bridge circuit to the local interconnection for delivery of energy from the power grid to the local interconnection, in order to prevent AC distortion.
With respect to claim 5, Mantooth in view of Meng make obvious the power transfer device of claim 1, wherein the local interconnection is to couple to a battery (Fig. 17 30). Mantooth does not disclose the details of the DC-DC converters. It was well known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement wherein the local interconnection is to couple to transformers (in the DC-DC converters) to couple to a battery. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the DC-DC converters (Fig. 19 UNIDRECTIONAL DC-DC CONVERTER, BIDIRECTIONAL DC-DC CONVERTER) with transformers such that the local interconnection is to couple to transformers to couple to a battery, in order to provide isolation and the voltage step up or step down required.
With respect to claim 6, Mantooth in view of Meng make obvious the power transfer device of claim 1, wherein the local interconnection is to couple to a load (Fig. 17 30). Mantooth does not disclose the details of the DC-DC converters. It was well known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement wherein the local interconnection is to couple to transformers (in the DC-DC converters) to couple to a load, the transformers to provide waveform shaping of energy delivered from the DC link to the load. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the DC-DC converters (Fig. 19 ISOLATED BIDIRECTIONAL DC-DC CONVERTER, UNIDRECTIONAL DC-DC CONVERTER, BIDIRECTIONAL DC-DC CONVERTER) with transformers such that the local interconnection is to couple to transformers to couple to a load, the transformers to provide waveform shaping of energy delivered from the DC link to the load, in order to provide isolation and the voltage step up or step down required.
With respect to claim 7, Mantooth in view of Meng make obvious the power transfer device of claim 1, wherein the local interconnection is to couple to a load (Fig. 17 200). Mantooth does not disclose the details of the DC-DC converters. It was well known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement wherein the local interconnection is to couple to transformers (in the DC-DC converters) to couple to a local energy source, the transformers to provide to provide step-up for energy delivered from the local energy source to the DC link. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the DC-DC converters (Fig. 19 ISOLATED BIDIRECTIONAL DC-DC CONVERTER, UNIDRECTIONAL DC-DC CONVERTER, BIDIRECTIONAL DC-DC CONVERTER) with transformers such that the local interconnection is to couple to transformers to couple to a local energy source, the transformers to provide step-up for energy delivered from the local energy source to the DC link, in order to provide isolation and the required voltage step up to the DC bus.
With respect to claim 8, Mantooth in view of Meng make obvious the power transfer device of claim 1, wherein the cross-connected switches comprise first cross-connected switches, and wherein the local interconnection is to couple to second cross-connected switches (Fig. 2 S3-S6) to provide a microgrid (Fig 2 VB+), wherein the controller is to control (Fig. 4 vgs1-vgs8) the second cross-connected switches with AC current waveform shaping independent of the AC current waveform shaping of the first cross-connected switches.
With respect to claim 9, Mantooth in view of Meng make obvious the power transfer device of claim 8, wherein the controller is to control the second cross-connected switches to provide bidirectional AC current waveform shaping between the microgrid and the DC link (column 18, lines 42-50).
With respect to claim 10, Mantooth in view of Meng make obvious the power transfer device of claim 1, wherein the cross-connected switches comprise first cross-connected switches, and wherein the local interconnection is to couple to second cross-connected switches (Fig. 2 S3-S8) to provide a microgrid (Fig. 18 LOW VOLTAGE BUS). Mantooth does not disclose the details of the DC-DC converters. It was well known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement wherein the local interconnection is to couple to transformers (in the DC-DC converters) to couple to a microgrid. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the DC-DC converters (Fig. 19 ISOLATED BIDIRECTIONAL DC-DC CONVERTER, UNIDRECTIONAL DC-DC CONVERTER, BIDIRECTIONAL DC-DC CONVERTER) with transformers in parallel (Fig. 19 transformers of ISOLATED BIDIRECTIONAL DC-DC CONVERTER, UNIDRECTIONAL DC-DC CONVERTER, BIDIRECTIONAL DC-DC CONVERTER) with the microgrid such that the cross-connected switches comprise first cross-connected switches, and wherein the local interconnection is to couple to second cross-connected switches to provide a microgrid, and wherein the local interconnection is to couple to transformers in parallel with the microgrid, in order to provide isolation and the required voltage step up or step down to the DC bus.
With respect to claim 11, Mantooth discloses a power transfer device comprising: a grid interconnect (Fig. 17 interconnect to AC Grid) to couple to a power grid (Fig. 17 AC Grid); a bridge circuit (Fig. 17 220) to couple to the power grid (Fig. 17 AC Grid) via the grid interconnect, the bridge circuit having cross-connected switches (Fig. 2 4 switches) inline with a high voltage path (Fig. 2 4 high path to AC Grid) of the power grid; a local interconnect (Fig. 17 interconnect to 210); a direct current (DC) link (Fig. 17 400V DC Bus) coupled between the bridge circuit and the local interconnect to transfer energy as a DC current between the local interconnect and the bridge circuit; a sensor device (Fig. 17 Vinv,Iinv) to monitor alternating current (AC) voltage and AC current of the power grid on a grid side of the grid interconnect; a controller (Fig. 17 Bi-directional Inverter Control) to control the cross-connected switches of the bridge circuit to provide bidirectional power to interconnect with the power grid, the bidirectional power transfer to provide energy from the DC link to the bridge circuit for energy transfer from the local interconnection to the bridge circuit for delivery of energy from the local interconnection to the power grid (column 7, lines 35-38), and to charge the DC link from the power grid through the bridge circuit for energy transfer from the bridge circuit to the local interconnection for delivery of energy from the power grid to the local interconnection (column 7, lines 35-38). Mantooth does not explicitly state bidirectional waveform shaping of an alternating current (AC) current waveform.
Meng discloses a controller (Fig. 1 PLL to SPWM) to control the cross-connected switches of the power converter (Fig. 1 S) to provide bidirectional waveform shaping of an alternating current (AC) current waveform (Fig. 5 ia) of the power converter, the bidirectional waveform shaping to shape the AC current waveform (Fig. 5 ia) to provide energy from the DC side (Fig.1 Udc) to the power converter for energy transfer from the local interconnection to the bridge circuit for delivery of energy from the local interconnection to the power grid, and to shape the AC current waveform (Fig. 4 ia) to charge the DC side from the power grid through the power converter for energy transfer from the power converter to the local interconnection for delivery of energy from the power grid to the local interconnection. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement and a controller to control the cross-connected switches of the bridge circuit to provide bidirectional waveform shaping of an alternating current (AC) current waveform of the bridge circuit, the bidirectional waveform shaping to shape the AC current waveform to provide energy from the DC link to the bridge circuit for energy transfer from the local interconnect to the bridge circuit for delivery of energy from the local interconnect to the power grid, and to shape the AC current waveform to charge the DC link from the power grid through the bridge circuit for energy transfer from the bridge circuit to the local interconnect for delivery of energy from the power grid to the local interconnection, in order to prevent AC distortion.
With respect to claims 14-18, Mantooth in view of Meng make obvious the method as set forth above. See claims 6-10, respectively, for additional details.
With respect to claim 19, Mantooth discloses a method for interconnecting to a power grid, comprising: determining (Fig. 17 Vinv,Iinv,Idc) a direction of energy flow between a local interconnection (Fig. 17 interconnection to 210) and a grid interconnect (Fig. 17 interconnect to AC Grid) to a power grid (Fig. 17 AC Grid), the energy to flow through a direct current (DC) link (Fig. 17 400V DC Bus) coupled between an alternating current (AC) bridge circuit (Fig. 17 220) and the local interconnection to transfer energy as a DC current (Fig. 17 Idc) between the local interconnection and the AC bridge circuit; providing switching control (Fig. 17 Bi-directional Inverter Control) for the AC bridge circuit, the switching control to provide bidirectional power transfer to interconnect with the power grid, to shape the AC current waveform to provide energy from the DC link to the AC bridge circuit for energy transfer from the local interconnection to the AC bridge circuit for delivery of energy from the local interconnection to the power grid (column 7, lines 35-38), and to shape the AC current waveform to charge the DC link from the power grid through the AC bridge circuit for energy transfer from the AC bridge circuit to the local interconnection for delivery of energy from the power grid to the local interconnection (column 7, lines 35-38). Mantooth does not explicitly require bidirectional waveform shaping of an AC current waveform.
Meng discloses bidirectional waveform shaping of an AC current waveform to interconnect with the power grid (Fig. 1 ua,ub,uc), to shape the AC current waveform (Fig. 4 ia) to provide energy from the DC side to the AC power converter (Fig. 1 S) for energy transfer from the local interconnection (Fig. 1 interconnection of S to Cdc) to the AC power converter for delivery of energy from the local interconnection to the power grid, and to shape the AC current waveform (Fig. 5 ia) to charge the DC side from the power grid through the AC power converter for energy transfer from the AC power converter to the local interconnection for delivery of energy from the power grid to the local interconnection. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement bidirectional waveform shaping of an AC current waveform to interconnect with the power grid, to shape the AC current waveform to provide energy from the DC link to the AC bridge circuit for energy transfer from the local interconnection to the AC bridge circuit for delivery of energy from the local interconnection to the power grid, and to shape the AC current waveform to charge the DC link from the power grid through the AC bridge circuit for energy transfer from the AC bridge circuit to the local interconnection for delivery of energy from the power grid to the local interconnection.
With respect to claim 20, Mantooth in view of Meng make obvious the method as set forth above. See claims 8 for additional details.
Claim(s) 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mantooth (US 11,693,376) in view of Meng (CN 108879765) and further in view of Siri (US 2006/0171182).
With respect to claim 2, Mantooth in view of Meng make obvious the power transfer device of claim 1 as set forth above. Mantooth remains silent as to isolating the control signals. It was known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to isolate control signals.
Siri discloses wherein the controller has control signals electrically isolated (Fig. 8 T1,T2) from the high voltage path to the cross-connected switches. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement wherein the controller has control signals electrically isolated from the high voltage path to the cross-connected switches, in order to interface the low voltage controller to the high voltage switches and to isolate the control electronics from high voltage noise in the power stage.
With respect to claim 12, Mantooth in view of Meng and Siri make obvious the method as set forth above. See claim 2 for additional details.
Claim(s) 3-4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mantooth (US 11,693,376) in view of Meng (CN 108879765) and further in view of Besser.
With respect to claim 3, Mantooth in view of Meng make obvious the power transfer device of claim 1, and do not disclose wherein the DC link comprises a first transformer facing the bridge circuit, a second transformer facing the local interconnection, and an internal node between the first transformer and the second transformer as an energy reservoir.
Besser discloses wherein the DC link comprises a first transformer (Fig. 28 T1) facing the bridge circuit (Fig. 28 32), a second transformer (Fig. 28 T2) facing the local interconnection (Fig. 28 N2), and an internal node (Fig. 28 N5) between the first transformer and the second transformer as an energy reservoir. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement wherein the DC link comprises a first transformer facing the bridge circuit, a second transformer facing the local interconnection, and an internal node between the first transformer and the second transformer as an energy reservoir, in order to filter the DC link and improve the total harmonic distortion.
With respect to claim 4, Mantooth in view of Meng and Besser make obvious the power transfer device of claim 3, wherein the controller is to control the first transformer and the second transformer with high-speed switching (Besser Fig. 28 S1,S2) to convert the AC current waveform (Fig. 28 current 60) into a pseudo-DC current (Fig. 28 current 62).
With respect to claim 13, Mantooth in view of Meng and Besser make obvious the method as set forth above. See claim 3 for additional details.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HARRY R BEHM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838