DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 19-20 are objected to because of the following informalities: in claim 19, line 6, “the AC bridge circuit the switching control” should be ‘the AC bridge circuit, the switching control’. Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The independent claims are rejected under Fan (CN 106026754A), which Examiner believes discloses the clamed current shaping.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Fan (CN 106026754A).
With respect to claim 1, Fan discloses a power transfer device comprising: a bridge circuit (Fig. 3 S1-S4) to couple to a power grid (Fig. 1 Uac), the bridge circuit having cross-connected switches (Fig. 3 S1-S4) inline with a high voltage path of the power grid; a direct current (DC) link (Fig. 3 Cd) coupled between the bridge circuit and a local interconnection (Fig. 3 interconnection to DC side of converter S5-S8) to transfer energy as a DC current between the local interconnection and the bridge circuit; and
a controller (Fig. 1 CPU) to control the cross-connected switches of the bridge circuit to provide bidirectional waveform shaping (Fig. 4 and Fig. 9 control and shape iL) of an alternating current (AC) current waveform (Fig. 1 iL) to interconnect with the power grid based on a quadrant of operation of a load (Fig. 4 for power to load, Fig. 9 for power from load to grid), the bidirectional waveform shaping to shape the AC current waveform to provide energy from the DC link to the bridge circuit for energy transfer from the local interconnection to the bridge circuit for delivery of energy from the local interconnection to the power grid (Fig. 1 reversible rectifier in active inverter mode) to adjust the quadrant of operation (change operation to Fig. 9 active inverter mode), as seen by the power grid, of the load (Fig. 1 load sources to grid), and to shape the AC current waveform to charge the DC link from the power grid through the bridge circuit for energy transfer from the bridge circuit to the local interconnection (Fig. 1 reversible rectifier in rectification mode) for delivery of energy from the power grid to the local interconnection based on the quadrant of operation of the load (Fig. 4 rectification mode).
With respect to claim 11, Fan discloses a power transfer device comprising:
a grid interconnect (Fig. 1 interconnect to Uac) to couple to a power grid (Fig. 1 Uac);
a bridge circuit (Fig. 3 S1-S4,inductor) to couple to the power grid (Fig. 1 Uac) via the grid interconnect, the bridge circuit having cross-connected switches (Fig. 3 S1-S4) inline with a high voltage path of the power grid; a local interconnect (Fig. 1 interconnect with DC side of converter S1-S4); a direct current (DC) link (Fig. 3 Cd) coupled between the bridge circuit and the local interconnect (Fig. 3 interconnect to DC side of converter S1-S4) to transfer energy as a DC current between the local interconnect and the bridge circuit; a sensor device (Fig. 1 AC voltage and current sensor) to monitor alternating current (AC) voltage (Fig. 1 uAC) and AC current (Fig. 1 iL) of the power grid on a grid side of the grid interconnect; and a controller (Fig. 1 CPU) to control the cross-connected switches of the bridge circuit to provide bidirectional waveform shaping (Fig. 4 and Fig. 9 control and shape iL) of an alternating current (AC) current waveform (Fig. 1 iL)
of the bridge circuit, the bidirectional waveform shaping to shape (Fig. 4 shapes for power to load, Fig. 9 shapes for power from load to grid), the AC current waveform to provide energy from the DC link to the bridge circuit for energy transfer from the local interconnection to the bridge circuit for delivery of energy from the local interconnect to the power grid (Fig. 1 reversible rectifier in active inverter mode) to adjust the quadrant of operation (change operation to Fig. 9 active inverter mode), as seen by the power grid, of a load (Fig. 1 load sources to grid), and to shape the AC current waveform to charge the DC link from the power grid through the bridge circuit for energy transfer from the bridge circuit to the local interconnect (Fig. 1 reversible rectifier in rectification mode) for delivery of energy from the power grid to the local interconnect based on the quadrant of operation of the load (Fig. 4 rectification mode).
With respect to claim 19, Fan discloses a method for interconnecting to a power grid, comprising: determining a direction (Fig. 4, Fig. 9 sign of iL) of energy flow between a local interconnection (Fig. 1 interconnection of S1-S4 to S5-S8) and a grid interconnect (Fig. 1 interconnect to Uac) to a power grid (Fig. 1 Uac), the energy to flow through a direct current (DC) link (Fig. 3 Cd) coupled between an alternating current (AC) bridge circuit (Fig. 1 S1-S4) and the local interconnection to transfer energy as a DC current between the local interconnection and the AC bridge circuit; and providing (Fig. 1 CPU, PWM, driver S1-S4) switching control for the AC bridge circuit, the switching control to provide bidirectional waveform shaping (Fig. 4 and Fig. 9 shape iL) of an AC current waveform to interconnect with the power grid, to shape the AC current waveform (Fig. 9 shapes iL) to provide energy from the DC link to the AC bridge circuit for energy transfer from the local interconnection to the AC bridge circuit (Fig. 1 active inverter mode) for delivery of energy from the local interconnection to the power grid to adjust a quadrant of operation (Fig. 1 S1-S4 operating as active inverter), as seen by the power grid, of a load (Fig. 1 load U2 sources power to grid), and to shape the AC current waveform (Fig. 4 shapes iL) to charge the DC link from the power grid through the AC bridge circuit for energy transfer from the AC bridge circuit to the local interconnection for delivery of energy from the power grid to the local interconnection (Fig. 1 S1-S4 rectification mode) based on the quadrant of operation of the load (Fig. 4 load U2 draws power).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan (CN 106026754A) in view of Siri (US 2006/0171182).
With respect to claim 2, Fan discloses the power transfer device of claim 1 as set forth above. Fan remains silent as to isolating the control signals. It was known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to isolate control signals.
Siri discloses wherein the controller has control signals electrically isolated (Fig. 8 T1,T2) from the high voltage path to the cross-connected switches. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement wherein the controller has control signals electrically isolated from the high voltage path to the cross-connected switches, in order to interface the low voltage controller to the high voltage switches and to isolate the control electronics from high voltage noise in the power stage.
With respect to claim 12, Fan in view of Siri make obvious the method as set forth above. See claim 2 for additional details.
Claim(s) 3-4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan (CN 106026754A) in view of Besser (US 2008/0179949).
With respect to claim 3, Fan discloses the power transfer device of claim 1, and does not disclose wherein the DC link comprises a first transformer facing the bridge circuit, a second transformer facing the local interconnection, and an internal node between the first transformer and the second transformer as an energy reservoir.
Besser discloses wherein the DC link comprises a first transformer (Fig. 28 T1) facing the bridge circuit (Fig. 28 32), a second transformer (Fig. 28 T2) facing the local interconnection (Fig. 28 N2), and an internal node (Fig. 28 N5) between the first transformer and the second transformer as an energy reservoir. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement wherein the DC link comprises a first transformer facing the bridge circuit, a second transformer facing the local interconnection, and an internal node between the first transformer and the second transformer as an energy reservoir, in order to filter the DC link and improve the total harmonic distortion.
With respect to claim 4, Fan in view of Besser make obvious the power transfer device of claim 3, wherein the controller is to control the first transformer and the second transformer with high-speed switching (Besser Fig. 28 S1,S2) to convert the AC current waveform (Fig. 28 current 60) into a pseudo-DC current (Fig. 28 current 62).
With respect to claim 13, Fan in view of Besser make obvious the method as set forth above. See claim 3 for additional details.
Claim(s) 5-7 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan (CN 106026754A).
With respect to claim 5, Fan discloses the power transfer device of claim 1, wherein the local interconnection is to couple to a transformer (Fig. 3 T) to couple to a battery (Fig. 1 storage battery U2). Fan does not disclose coupling to transformers. It was well known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement wherein the local interconnection is to couple to transformers (in the DC-DC converters) to couple to a battery. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the DC-DC converters with transformers such that the local interconnection is to couple to transformers to couple to a battery, in order to provide isolation and the voltage step up or step down required.
With respect to claim 6, Fan discloses the power transfer device of claim 1, wherein the local interconnection is to couple to a transformer (Fig. 3 T) to couple to a load (Fig. 1 2). Fan does not disclose coupling to transformers. It was well known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement wherein the local interconnection is to couple to transformers (in the DC-DC converters) to couple to a load, the transformers to provide waveform shaping of energy delivered from the DC link to the load. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the DC-DC converters with transformers such that the local interconnection is to couple to transformers to couple to a load, the transformers to provide waveform shaping of energy delivered from the DC link to the load, in order to provide isolation and the voltage step up or step down required.
With respect to claim 7, Fan discloses the power transfer device of claim 1, wherein the local interconnection is to couple to a transformer (Fig. 3 T) to couple to a local energy source (Fig. 1 2). Fan does not disclose coupling to transformers. It was well known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement wherein the local interconnection is to couple to transformers (in the DC-DC converters) to couple to a local energy source, the transformers to provide to provide step-up for energy delivered from the local energy source to the DC link. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the DC-DC converters with transformers such that the local interconnection is to couple to transformers to couple to a local energy source, the transformers to provide step-up for energy delivered from the local energy source to the DC link, in order to provide isolation and the required voltage step up to the DC bus.
With respect to claims 14-15, Fan makes obvious the power transfer system as set forth above. See claims 6-7, respectively, for additional details.
Claim(s) 8-10, 16-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan (CN 106026754A) in view of Chen (US 2018/0054140).
With respect to claim 8, Fan discloses the power transfer device of claim 1, and remains silent as to coupling to a microgrid. It was well known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to couple to a microgrid.
Chen discloses providing cross coupled switches (Fig. 1 DC-DC converter receiving Il1) coupled to a microgrid (Fig. 1 48V). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement wherein the cross-connected switches comprise first cross-connected switches, and wherein the local interconnection is to couple to second cross-connected switches to provide a microgrid, wherein the controller is to control the second cross-connected switches with AC current waveform shaping independent of the AC current waveform shaping of the first cross-connected switches, in order to power loads connected to the microgrid and control the converter current.
With respect to claim 9, Fan in view of Chen make obvious the power transfer device of claim 8 as set forth above. Fan disclose wherein the DC-DC converter is bidirectional, but remains silent as to the microgrid. As Chen discloses the well known use of a microgrid, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement wherein the controller is to control the second cross-connected switches to provide bidirectional AC current waveform shaping between the microgrid and the DC link.
With respect to claim 10, Fan discloses the power transfer device of claim 1, and remains silent as to a microgrid. It was well known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement a microgrid.
Chen discloses wherein the local interconnection is to couple to second cross-connected switches (Fig. 1 DC-DC converter receiving Il1) to provide a microgrid (Fig. 1 48 V). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the microgrid such that the cross-connected switches comprise first cross-connected switches, and wherein the local interconnection is to couple to second cross-connected switches to provide a microgrid, and wherein the local interconnection is to couple to transformers in parallel with the microgrid, in order to provide isolation and the required voltage step up or step down to the DC bus.
With respect to claims 16-18, Fan in view of Chen make obvious the power transfer system as set forth above. See claims 8-10, respectively, for additional details.
With respect to claim 20, Fan in view of Chen make obvious the method as set forth above. See claims 8 for additional details.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Harrison (US 2016/0211743) discloses bidirectional power conversion.
/HARRY R BEHM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838