DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having application No 18/291,573 filed on 01/24/2024 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 16-18 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Godin et al. (U.S 20230048803, Feb. 16, 2023) in view of Ninglekhu et al. (US 20230052699, Feb. 16, 2023).
1-15. (Canceled)
Regarding Claim 16, Godin discloses a wireless terminal comprising receiver circuitry configured to receive a customized mapping configuration and to receive a Message dedicated to the wireless terminal (page 1, par (0020), line 1-5, select one cell supporting the determined network slice based on the information (receive a message) to select one cell based on a match (customized mapping)),
the customized mapping configuration configuring one or more network slice groups (page 1, par (0020), line 1-5, select one cell supporting the determined network slice based on the information (receive a message)
to select one cell based on a match (customized mapping) between the
determined network slice and network slice mapped from the cell closed access group identifiers (wherein based on the mapping configure network slice groups)),
each of the one or more network slice groups comprising one or
more network slices identified by respective Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI) in Configured NSSAI provisioned in the wireless terminal (page 4, par (0077), line 1-10, A slice is identified by a Single-Network Slice
Assistance Information (S-NSSAI) message, the S-NSSAI is used to uniquely identify a Network Slice. The S-NSSAI contains two components, the SST (Slice/Service Type) and an optional SD (Slice Differentiator) by means a
UE configuration Update, the configured NSSAI is sent from the core network to the user equipment (UE) (wherein in the UE is a wireless terminal)),
Godin discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except each of the one or more network slice groups being identified by a corresponding group index, the message comprising one or more group indices, the one or more group indices being associated with respective list(s) of one or more radio frequencies; and processor circuitry configured to determine, based on one of the list(s), a radio frequency(ies) on which a network slice group from the one or more network slice groups is supported; and perform a cell reselection procedure on the radio frequency(ies).
Ninglekhu is the same field of invention teaches each of the one or more network slice groups being identified by a corresponding group index(page 12, par (0220-0221), line 1-10, the UE have a Configured NSSAI for the PLMN and Allowed NSSAI for the PLMN to request registration targeting specific slices in the NSSAI(network slice groups) as part of UE Access include RFSP Index configuration(group index)), the message comprising one or more group indices, the one or more group indices being associated with respective list(s) of one or more radio frequencies (page 14, par (0255), line 1-10, the UE receives a NAS Notification that indicates that the UE needs to switch to a different frequency band to receive downlink data, the UE connect to the network via the different frequency band and send a UE Triggered Service Request to the network with the list of allowed PDU Sessions that, according to UE policies and the S-NSSAI within the Allowed NSSAI access in the different frequencies bands);
and processor circuitry configured to determine, based on one of the list(s),
a radio frequency(ies) on which a network slice group from the one or more network slice groups is supported (page 1, par (0019-0020), line 1-10, a UE inform the network (e.g., Radio Access Network (RAN) about the Operating Frequency Bands (OFBs) that the UE can support. This information utilized by the network to identify and facilitate the UE's requested slices. Based on the UE's supported OFBs, the requested network slices, and the OFBs at which the requested slices are available, the network may guide a UE to switch to a different OFB where, e.g., all or most of the requested slices are available (wherein determine the network slice group from the network slice group is supported));
and perform a cell reselection procedure on the radio frequency(ies) (page 13, par (0249), line 1-10, the RAN node forwards the Registration Accept message. In the RRC Message to the UE include multiple sets of UE specific cell reselection priorities to control idle mode camping. Each set of priorities is associated with one or more S-NSSAIs).
Godin and Ninglekhu are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the based on determine, based on one of the list(s), a radio frequency(ies) on which a network slice group from the one or more network slice groups is supported; and perform a cell reselection procedure on the radio frequency(ies)the teaching of Godin to include the UE policies and the S-NSSAI within the Allowed NSSAI access in the different frequencies bands teaching of Ninglekhu because it is providing specific network capabilities and network characteristics network slice within a MIN includes the Core Network (CN) Control Plane (CP) and user plane network functions.
Regarding Claim 17, Godin discloses a method performed by a wireless terminal(page 1, par (0020), line 1-5, select one cell supporting the determined network slice based on the information (receive a message) to select one cell based on a match (customized mapping)), the method comprising: receiving a customized mapping configuration configuring one or more network slice groups(page 1, par (0020), line 1-5, select one cell supporting the determined network slice based on the information (receive a message) to select one cell based on a match (customized mapping) between the determined network slice and network slice mapped from the cell closed access group identifiers), each of the one or more network slice groups comprising one or more network slices identified by respective Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI) in Configured NSSAI provisioned in the wireless terminal(page 4, par (0077), line 1-10, A slice is identified by a Single-Network Slice Assistance Information (S-NSSAI) message, the S-NSSAI is used to uniquely identify a Network Slice. The S-NSSAI contains two components, the SST (Slice/Service Type) and an optional SD (Slice Differentiator) by means a UE configuration Update, the configured NSSAI is sent from the core network to the user equipment (UE) (wherein in the wireless terminal)).
Godin discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except each of the one or more network slice groups being identified by a corresponding group index, the message comprising one or more group indices, the one or more group indices being associated with respective list(s) of one or more radio frequencies; and processor circuitry configured to determine, based on one of the list(s), a radio frequency(ies) on which a network slice group from the one or more network slice groups is supported; and perform a cell reselection procedure on the radio frequency(ies).
Ninglekhu is the same field of invention teaches each of the one or more network slice groups being identified by a corresponding group index(page 12, par (0220-0221), line 1-10, the UE have a Configured NSSAI for the PLMN and Allowed NSSAI for the PLMN to request registration targeting specific slices in the NSSAI(network slice groups) as part of UE Access include RFSP Index configuration(group index)), the message comprising one or more group indices, the one or more group indices being associated with respective list(s) of one or more radio frequencies (page 14, par (0255), line 1-10, the UE receives a NAS Notification that indicates that the UE needs to switch to a different frequency band to receive downlink data, the UE connect to the network via the different frequency band and send a UE Triggered Service Request to the network with the list of allowed PDU Sessions that, according to UE policies and the S-NSSAI within the Allowed NSSAI access in the different frequencies bands);
and processor circuitry configured to determine, based on one of the list(s),
a radio frequency(ies) on which a network slice group from the one or more network slice groups is supported (page 1, par (0019-0020), line 1-10, a UE inform the network (e.g., Radio Access Network (RAN) about the Operating Frequency Bands (OFBs) that the UE can support. This information utilized by the network to identify and facilitate the UE's requested slices. Based on the UE's supported OFBs, the requested network slices, and the OFBs at which the requested slices are available, the network may guide a UE to switch to a different OFB where, e.g., all or most of the requested slices are available (wherein determine the network slice group from the network slice group is supported));
and perform a cell reselection procedure on the radio frequency(ies) (page 13, par (0249), line 1-10, the RAN node forwards the Registration Accept message. In the RRC Message to the UE include multiple sets of UE specific cell reselection priorities to control idle mode camping. Each set of priorities is associated with one or more S-NSSAIs).
Godin and Ninglekhu are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the based on determine, based on one of the list(s), a radio frequency(ies) on which a network slice group from the one or more network slice groups is supported; and perform a cell reselection procedure on the radio frequency(ies)the teaching of Godin to include the UE policies and the S-NSSAI within the Allowed NSSAI access in the different frequencies bands teaching of Ninglekhu because it is providing specific network capabilities and network characteristics network slice within a MIN includes the Core Network (CN) Control Plane (CP) and user plane network functions.
Regarding Claim 18, Godin discloses a base station comprising: processor circuitry configured to generate a customized mapping configuration and to generate a message dedicated to a wireless terminal(page 1, par (0020), line 1-5, select one cell supporting the determined network slice based on the information (receive a message) to select one cell based on a match (customized mapping)), the customized mapping configuration configuring one or more network slice groups(page 1, par (0020), line 1-5, select one cell supporting the determined network slice based on the information (receive a message) to select one cell based on a match (customized mapping) between the determined network slice and network slice mapped from the cell closed access group identifiers),
each of the one or more network slice groups comprising one or more network slices identified by respective Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI) in Configured NSSAI provisioned in the wireless terminal (page 4, par (0077), line 1-10, A slice is identified by a Single-Network Slice Assistance Information (S-NSSAI) message, the S-NSSAI is used to uniquely identify a Network Slice. The S-NSSAI contains two components, the SST (Slice/Service Type) and an optional SD (Slice Differentiator) by means a UE configuration Update, the configured NSSAI is sent from the core network to the user equipment (UE) (wherein in the wireless terminal)),
Godin discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except each of the one or more network slice groups being identified by a corresponding group index, the message comprising one or more group indices, the one or more group indices being associated with respective list(s) of one or more radio frequencies; and processor circuitry configured to determine, based on one of the list(s), a radio frequency(ies) on which a network slice group from the one or more network slice groups is supported; and perform a cell reselection procedure on the radio frequency(ies).
Ninglekhu is the same field of invention teaches each of the one or more network slice groups being identified by a corresponding group index(page 12, par (0220-0221), line 1-10, the UE have a Configured NSSAI for the PLMN and Allowed NSSAI for the PLMN to request registration targeting specific slices in the NSSAI(network slice groups) as part of UE Access include RFSP Index configuration(group index)), the message comprising one or more group indices, the one or more group indices being associated with respective list(s) of one or more radio frequencies (page 14, par (0255), line 1-10, the UE receives a NAS Notification that indicates that the UE needs to switch to a different frequency band to receive downlink data, the UE connect to the network via the different frequency band and send a UE Triggered Service Request to the network with the list of allowed PDU Sessions that, according to UE policies and the S-NSSAI within the Allowed NSSAI access in the different frequencies bands);
and processor circuitry configured to determine, based on one of the list(s),
a radio frequency(ies) on which a network slice group from the one or more network slice groups is supported (page 1, par (0019-0020), line 1-10, a UE inform the network (e.g., Radio Access Network (RAN) about the Operating Frequency Bands (OFBs) that the UE can support. This information utilized by the network to identify and facilitate the UE's requested slices. Based on the UE's supported OFBs, the requested network slices, and the OFBs at which the requested slices are available, the network may guide a UE to switch to a different OFB where, e.g., all or most of the requested slices are available (wherein determine the network slice group from the network slice group is supported));
and perform a cell reselection procedure on the radio frequency(ies) (page 13, par (0249), line 1-10, the RAN node forwards the Registration Accept message. In the RRC Message to the UE include multiple sets of UE specific cell reselection priorities to control idle mode camping. Each set of priorities is associated with one or more S-NSSAIs).
Godin and Ninglekhu are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the based on determine, based on one of the list(s), a radio frequency(ies) on which a network slice group from the one or more network slice groups is supported; and perform a cell reselection procedure on the radio frequency(ies)the teaching of Godin to include the UE policies and the S-NSSAI within the Allowed NSSAI access in the different frequencies bands teaching of Ninglekhu because it is providing specific network capabilities and network characteristics network slice within a MIN includes the Core Network (CN) Control Plane (CP) and user plane network functions.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure are:
Mueck et al. (US 20230292243) teaches Low-Power Modes For Vulnerable Road User Equipment.
/IQBAL ZAIDI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464