DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having application No 18/291,573 filed on 04/23/2026 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 16-18 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Godin et al. (U.S 20230048803, Feb. 16, 2023) in view of Ninglekhu et al. (US 20230052699, Feb. 16, 2023).
1-15. (Canceled)
Regarding Claim 16, Godin discloses a wireless terminal comprising: receiver circuitry configured to receive a customized mapping configuration and to receive a message dedicated to the wireless terminal (page 1, par (0020), line 1-5, select one cell supporting the determined network slice based on the information (receive a message) to select one cell based on a match (customized mapping)),
the customized mapping configuration configuring one or more network slice groups (page 1, par (0020), line 1-5, select one cell supporting the determined network slice based on the information (receive a message) to select one cell based on a match (customized mapping) between the determined network slice and network slice mapped from the cell closed access group identifiers (wherein based on the mapping configure network slice groups)),
that are associated with respective one or more lists, each list including one or more radio frequencies (page 5, par (0101), line 1-5, each S-NSSAI of the list of configured S-NSSAI(s) signaled by 5GC to the UE, a list of one or more mapped frequency bands (associated with list including frequencies));
and processor circuitry configured to determine, based on one of the one or more lists, a one or more radio frequencies on which a network slice group from the one or more network slice groups is supported (page 5, par (0102), line 1-10, the UE is idle it looks at the frequency bands supported by surrounding cells. The UE thus in some embodiments is able to implement a suitable method which influences the UE cell/frequency selection taking into account the frequencies used in surrounding cells and the S-NSSAI(s) the UE is interested in, also see par(0005), user equipment, information on a cell network slice support; determining, for the user equipment a network slice; and selecting one cell supporting the determined network slice based on the information);
and perform a cell reselection procedure on the one or more radio frequencies (page 5, par (0101), line 1-5, each S-NSSAI of the list of configured S-NSSAI(s) signaled by 5GC to the UE, a list of one or more mapped frequency bands (associated with list including frequencies)).
Godin discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except each of the one or more network slice groups comprising one or more network slices identified by respective Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S- NSSAI) in Configured NSSAI that is provisioned in the wireless terminal, each of the one or more network slice groups being identified by a corresponding group index, the message comprising one or more group indices.
Ninglekhu is the same field of invention teaches each of the one or more network slice groups comprising one or more network slices identified by respective Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S- NSSAI) in Configured NSSAI that is provisioned in the wireless terminal, each of the one or more network slice groups being identified by a corresponding group index, the message comprising one or more group indices(page 13, par (0245-0248), line 1-20, the AMF find that the UE is trying to register with network slices that have different OFBs, to redirect the UE to frequency that works (e.g., pick an RFSP index) for all the S-NSSA is in the NSSAI, the AMF response to the RAN node enhanced to include multiple RFSP indices and S-NSSAI in the NSSA is that will work with each index, the AMF provides multiple RFSP indices and the S-NSSA is that accessed with each RFSP Index to the RAN, the AMF provide to the UE via RAN in the Registration Accept message, an Access Stratum Connection Establishment NSSAI inclusion Mode parameter).
Godin and Ninglekhu are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the based on determine, based on one of the list(s), a radio frequency(ies) on which a network slice group from the one or more network slice groups is supported; and perform a cell reselection procedure on the radio frequency(ies)the teaching of Godin to include the UE policies and the S-NSSAI within the Allowed NSSAI access in the different frequencies bands teaching of Ninglekhu because it is providing specific network capabilities and network characteristics network slice within a MIN includes the Core Network (CN) Control Plane (CP) and user plane network functions.
Regarding Claim 17, Godin discloses a method performed by a wireless terminal(page 1, par (0020), line 1-5, select one cell supporting the determined network slice based on the information (receive a message) to select one cell based on a match (customized mapping)), the method comprising receiving a customized mapping configuration configuring one or more network slice groups(page 1, par (0020), line 1-5, select one cell supporting the determined network slice based on the information (receive a message) to select one cell based on a match (customized mapping) between the determined network slice and network slice mapped from the cell closed access group identifiers (wherein based on the mapping configure network slice groups)),
being that are associated with respective one or more lists list(s) of, each list including one or more radio frequencies(page 5, par (0101), line 1-5, each S-NSSAI of the list of configured S-NSSAI(s) signaled by 5GC to the UE, a list of one or more mapped frequency bands (associated with list including frequencies)); determining, based on one of the one or more lists- respective list(s), a one or more radio frequencies frequency(ies) on which a network slice group from the one or more network slice groups is supported(page 5, par (0102), line 1-10, the UE is idle it looks at the frequency bands supported by surrounding cells. The UE thus in some embodiments is able to implement a suitable method which influences the UE cell/frequency selection taking into account the frequencies used in surrounding cells and the S-NSSAI(s) the UE is interested in, also see par(0005), user equipment, information on a cell network slice support; determining, for the user equipment a network slice; and selecting one cell supporting the determined network slice based on the information); and performing a cell reselection procedure on the one or more radio frequencies(page 5, par (0101), line 1-5, each S-NSSAI of the list of configured S-NSSAI(s) signaled by 5GC to the UE, a list of one or more mapped frequency bands (associated with list including frequencies)).
Godin discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except each of the one or more network slice groups comprising one or more network slices identified by respective Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S- NSSAI) in Configured NSSAI that is provisioned in the wireless terminal, each of the one or more network slice groups being identified by a corresponding group index, the message comprising one or more group indices.
Ninglekhu is the same field of invention teaches each of the one or more network slice groups comprising one or more network slices identified by respective Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S- NSSAI) in Configured NSSAI that is provisioned in the wireless terminal, each of the one or more network slice groups being identified by a corresponding group index, the message comprising one or more group indices(page 13, par (0245-0248), line 1-20, the AMF find that the UE is trying to register with network slices that have different OFBs, to redirect the UE to frequency that works (e.g., pick an RFSP index) for all the S-NSSA is in the NSSAI, the AMF response to the RAN node enhanced to include multiple RFSP indices and S-NSSAI in the NSSA is that will work with each index, the AMF provides multiple RFSP indices and the S-NSSA is that accessed with each RFSP Index to the RAN, the AMF provide to the UE via RAN in the Registration Accept message, an Access Stratum Connection Establishment NSSAI inclusion Mode parameter).
Godin and Ninglekhu are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the based on determine, based on one of the list(s), a radio frequency(ies) on which a network slice group from the one or more network slice groups is supported; and perform a cell reselection procedure on the radio frequency(ies)the teaching of Godin to include the UE policies and the S-NSSAI within the Allowed NSSAI access in the different frequencies bands teaching of Ninglekhu because it is providing specific network capabilities and network characteristics network slice within a MIN includes the Core Network (CN) Control Plane (CP) and user plane network functions.
18. (Currently Amended) A base station comprising: processor circuitry configured to generate a customized mapping configuration and to generate a message dedicated to a wireless terminal (page 1, par (0020), line 1-5, select one cell supporting the determined network slice based on the information (receive a message) to select one cell based on a match (customized mapping)),
the customized mapping configuration configuring one or more network slice groups(page 1, par (0020), line 1-5, select one cell supporting the determined network slice based on the information (receive a message) to select one cell based on a match (customized mapping) between the determined network slice and network slice mapped from the cell closed access group identifiers (wherein based on the mapping configure network slice groups)),
that are associated with respective one or more lists, each list including one or more radio frequencies (page 5, par (0101), line 1-5, each S-NSSAI of the list of configured S-NSSAI(s) signaled by 5GC to the UE, a list of one or more mapped frequency bands (associated with list including frequencies));
and processor circuitry configured to determine, based on one of the one or more lists, a one or more radio frequencies on which a network slice group from the one or more network slice groups is supported (page 5, par (0102), line 1-10, the UE is idle it looks at the frequency bands supported by surrounding cells. The UE thus in some embodiments is able to implement a suitable method which influences the UE cell/frequency selection taking into account the frequencies used in surrounding cells and the S-NSSAI(s) the UE is interested in, also see par(0005), user equipment, information on a cell network slice support; determining, for the user equipment a network slice; and selecting one cell supporting the determined network slice based on the information);
and perform a cell reselection procedure on the one or more radio frequencies (page 5, par (0101), line 1-5, each S-NSSAI of the list of configured S-NSSAI(s) signaled by 5GC to the UE, a list of one or more mapped frequency bands (associated with list including frequencies)).
Godin discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except each of the one or more network slice groups comprising one or more network slices identified by respective Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S- NSSAI) in Configured NSSAI that is provisioned in the wireless terminal, each of the one or more network slice groups being identified by a corresponding group index, the message comprising one or more group indices.
Ninglekhu is the same field of invention teaches each of the one or more network slice groups comprising one or more network slices identified by respective Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S- NSSAI) in Configured NSSAI that is provisioned in the wireless terminal, each of the one or more network slice groups being identified by a corresponding group index, the message comprising one or more group indices(page 13, par (0245-0248), line 1-20, the AMF find that the UE is trying to register with network slices that have different OFBs, to redirect the UE to frequency that works (e.g., pick an RFSP index) for all the S-NSSA is in the NSSAI, the AMF response to the RAN node enhanced to include multiple RFSP indices and S-NSSAI in the NSSA is that will work with each index, the AMF provides multiple RFSP indices and the S-NSSA is that accessed with each RFSP Index to the RAN, the AMF provide to the UE via RAN in the Registration Accept message, an Access Stratum Connection Establishment NSSAI inclusion Mode parameter).
Godin and Ninglekhu are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the based on determine, based on one of the list(s), a radio frequency(ies) on which a network slice group from the one or more network slice groups is supported; and perform a cell reselection procedure on the radio frequency(ies)the teaching of Godin to include the UE policies and the S-NSSAI within the Allowed NSSAI access in the different frequencies bands teaching of Ninglekhu because it is providing specific network capabilities and network characteristics network slice within a MIN includes the Core Network (CN) Control Plane (CP) and user plane network functions.
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 16-18 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. However, the new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of over Godin et al. (U.S 20230048803, Feb. 16, 2023) and Ninglekhu et al. (US 20230052699, Feb. 16, 2023)
Examiner Notice
Claim 16 would be allowable if (i) claim 19 is incorporated into the independent claim 16.
Claim 17 would be allowable if (i) claim 19 is incorporated into the independent claim 17.
Claim 18 would be allowable if (i) claim 19 is incorporated into the independent claim 18.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IQBAL ZAIDI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464