DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 5 and 8-12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 5 at the second to last line, “of first” should be corrected to –of the first--.
In claim 8 at the second to last line, “of first” should be corrected to –of the first--.
In claim 9 at the second to last line, “of first” should be corrected to –of the first--.
In claim 10 at the second to last line, “of first” should be corrected to –of the first--.
In claim 11 at the second to last line, “of first” should be corrected to –of the first--.
In claim 12 at the second to last line, “of first” should be corrected to –of the first--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
No claim limitations are interpreted under 112(f).
Claim 3 recites “the energization in the first energization step is upslope energization in which the current value is continuously increased from the current value Is at the start of the energization to the current value If at the end of the energization. This is interpreted to require a continuous increase in the sense that all values between Is and If are passed through. This is not interpreted to require that the current rises continuously for the entire time from the start to the end of the energization. The limitation recites that it is continuous between values of I. The claim requires continuously increasing from Is to If, not from the beginning of the first energization period to the end
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4, 5, and 10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 4 and 6-8 of copending Application No. 18/285,571 in view of Furusako (WO 2015170687).
Instant 18291661
18/285,571
1. A resistance spot welding method comprising: disposing two or more steel sheets including at least one high strength zinc-based coated steel sheet so as to overlap each other to thereby form a sheet set; holding the sheet set between a pair of welding electrodes; and energizing the steel sheets under application of pressure to join the steel sheets together,
[claims 4, 6-8] wherein the high strength zinc-based coated steel sheet has an equivalent carbon content Ceq of 0.20% or more and a tensile strength of 780 MPa or more, Ceq being represented by the following formula (1):
Ceq = C + Si / 30 + Mn / 20 + 2 P + 4 S ( 1)
where element symbols in formula (1) represent contents (by mass %) of respective elements, and a content of an element is 0 when the element is not contained,
the energizing includes a first energization step and a second energization step, in the first energization step, energization is performed such that a current value Is (kA) at a start of energization and a current value If (kA) at an end of the energization satisfy the following formula (2):
If > Is ( 2 )
the first energization step forms a weld nugget having a diameter in a range of 3.0√t (mm) to 4.5√t (mm), where t (mm) is a thickness of a thinnest steel sheet among the overlapping steel sheets, and
in the second energization step, a cooling step of holding a non-energization state for in a range of 10 ms or longer and shorter than 160 ms and an energization step of energizing the steel sheets at a current value Ip (kA) equal to or larger than the current value If (kA) at the end of the energization for in range of 20 ms or longer and shorter than 200 ms are repeatedly performed to increase the diameter of the weld nugget.
1. A resistance spot welding method comprising: applying a current to a sheet combination of two or more overlapping steel sheets including at least one zinc-coated steel sheet with the sheet combination held and pressed by a pair of welding electrodes to join the steel sheets together,
wherein the current application includes a first current applying step and a second current applying step,
the first current applying step includes forming a nugget having a nugget diameter in a range of 3√t or more and 4.5√t or less by setting a current value I1 (kA) and a weld time, where t is a thickness of a thinnest steel sheet among the overlapping steel sheets, and the second current applying step includes growing the nugget by repeating a cooling step for maintaining a zero-current state for in a range of 10 ms or more and less than 160 ms and a current applying step for applying a current for in a range of 20 ms or more and less than 200 ms at a current value I2 (kA) greater than or equal to the current value I1 (kA).
4,6-8. The resistance spot welding method according to claim 1, wherein the zinc-coated steel sheet is a high strength steel sheet having a Ceq of 0.20% or more and a tensile strength of 780 MPa or more, where Ceq is represented by the following formula (1):
Ceq(%)=C+Si/30+Mn/20+2P+4S (1) where, in formula (1), each element symbol represents an amount (mass %) of the corresponding element.
4/1. (a number of repetitions of the cooling step and the energization step in the second energization step is 2 or more.)
6/2/1.
2. (a number of repetitions of the cooling step and the current applying step in the second current applying step is in a range of 2 or more and 10 or less.)
5/1. (an amount of increase in the diameter of the nugget in the second energization step is represented by (N2 - N1) and is 0.1√t (mm) or more)
7/3/1.
3. (an amount of increase in nugget diameter in the second current applying step represented by (N2−N1) is 0.1√t or more)
10/4/1. (an amount of increase in the diameter of the nugget in the second energization step is represented by (N2 - N1) and is 0.1√t (mm) or more)
8/5/2/1.
5. (an amount of increase in nugget diameter in the second current applying step represented by (N2−N1) is 0.1√t or more)
Kawabe does not disclose an increasing current, i.e. a current value Is (kA) at a start of energization and a current value If (kA) at an end of the energization satisfy the following formula (2):
If > Is ( 2 )
Furusako (WO 2015170687) teaches: “A welding current is gradually increased (in an upslope manner, for example) in order to improve the fit of the contact surfaces between steel plates and to reduce plate gaps. Because rapid loading of current causes current application to be localized and then splash occurs as a result of the welding of sections where current is applied, current is applied gradually (in an upslope manner, for example) and localized heating is avoided.” (abstract)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the spot welding method of 18/285,571 to include an upslope in the initial energization, as taught by Furusako, to obtain the benefit of avoiding localized heating to reduce splash.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11-16 of copending Application No. 18/873,891 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the differences are obvious as summarized in the table and commentary below.
Instant 18/291,661
Co-Pending 18/873,891
1. A resistance spot welding method comprising: disposing two or more steel sheets including at least one [claim 6]high strength zinc-based coated steel sheet so as to overlap each other to thereby form a sheet set; holding the sheet set between a pair of welding electrodes; and energizing the steel sheets under application of pressure to join the steel sheets together,
[claims 6,7,11-6] wherein the high strength zinc-based coated steel sheet has an equivalent carbon content Ceq of 0.20% or more and a tensile strength of 780 MPa or more, Ceq being represented by the following formula (1):
Ceq = C + Si / 30 + Mn / 20 + 2 P + 4 S ( 1)
where element symbols in formula (1) represent contents (by mass %) of respective elements, and a content of an element is 0 when the element is not contained,
the energizing includes a first energization step and a second energization step, [claim 2] in the first energization step, energization is performed such that a current value Is (kA) at a start of energization and a current value If (kA) at an end of the energization satisfy the following formula (2):
If > Is ( 2 )
the first energization step forms a weld nugget having a diameter in a range of 3.0√t (mm) to 4.5√t (mm), where t (mm) is a thickness of a thinnest steel sheet among the overlapping steel sheets, and
in the second energization step, a cooling step of holding a non-energization state for in a range of 10 ms or longer and shorter than 160 ms and an energization step of energizing the steel sheets at
a current value Ip (kA) equal to or larger than the current value If (kA) at the end of the energization for in range of 20 ms or longer and shorter than 200 ms are repeatedly performed to increase the diameter of the weld nugget.
1. A resistance spot welding method comprising: disposing two or more steel sheets including at least one zinc-based coated steel sheet so as to overlap each other; and
joining the steel sheets together by resistance spot welding,
wherein the resistance spot welding includes a first energization step and a second energization step, wherein, in the first energization step,
a current value and an energization time are set such that a nugget having a nugget diameter of 3.0√{square root over (t)} (mm) or more and 4.5√{square root over (t)} (mm) or less is formed, where t is a thickness (mm) of a thinnest steel sheet among the overlapping steel sheets, wherein
the second energization step is a multistage energization including first to n-th stages (n is an integer of 2 or more) each including a cooling step of maintaining a non-energization state for 10 ms or longer and shorter than 160 ms and an energization step of energizing the steel sheets for 20 ms or longer and shorter than 200 ms, wherein, in the multistage energization, a current value in the energization step in the first stage is denoted as I1 (kA), and a current value in the energization step in the n-th stage is denoted as In (kA), and wherein the current value I1 in the first stage is equal to or more than the current value in the first energization step, and the current values I1 to In in the first to n-th stages satisfy formulas (1) and (2):
I1 < I2 < I3 < … < In ( 1 )
I1 < In ( 2 )
2. The resistance spot welding method according to claim 1, …or the energization in the first energization step is performed while the current value is changed such that the current value Is at the start of the energization and the current value If at the end of the energization satisfy formula (3):
If > Is . (3)
11-16. The resistance spot welding method according to claim 1, wherein the zinc-based coated steel sheet is a high strength steel sheet having a Ceq represented by formula (5) of 0.20% or more and a tensile strength of 780 MPa or more:
Ceq (%) = C + Si/30 + Mn/20 + 2P + 4S, (5)
where element symbols in formula (5) represent the contents (% by mass) of respective elements.
2/1. (the first energization step is multistage energization)
12/3/2/1
3. (the first energization step is multistage energization)
3/1. (the energization in the first energization step is upslope energization)
13/4/2/1
4. (the energization in the first energization step… is upslope energization)
4/1. (number of repetitions of the cooling step and the energization step in the second energization step is 2 or more.)
11/2/1
1. … the second energization step is a multistage energization including first to n-th stages (n is an integer of 2 or more) each including a cooling step
5/1. (an amount of increase in the diameter of the nugget in the second energization step is represented by (N2 - N1) and is 0.1√t (mm) or more.)
15/9/3/2/1 or 14/8/2/1 or 16/10/4/2/1.
Claims 8-10 correspond to instant claim 5.
6/2/1. (number of repetitions of the cooling step and the energization step in the second energization step is 2 or more.)
12/3/2/1. Claim 3 corresponds to instant claim 2. Claim 6 is in claim 1:
1. … the second energization step is a multistage energization including first to n-th stages (n is an integer of 2 or more) each including a cooling step
7/3/1. (number of repetitions of the cooling step and the energization step in the second energization step is 2 or more.)
13/4/2/1
1. … the second energization step is a multistage energization including first to n-th stages (n is an integer of 2 or more) each including a cooling step
8/2/1. (an amount of increase in the diameter of the nugget in the second energization step is represented by (N2 - N1) and is 0.1√t (mm) or more.)
15/9/3/2/1
9. (an amount of increase in the diameter of the nugget in the second energization step is represented by (N2 - N1) and is 0.1√t (mm) or more.)
9/3/1. (an amount of increase in the diameter of the nugget in the second energization step is represented by (N2 - N1) and is 0.1√t (mm) or more.)
16/10/4/2/1
10. (an amount of increase in the diameter of the nugget in the second energization step is represented by (N2 - N1) and is 0.1√t (mm) or more.)
10/4/1. (an amount of increase in the diameter of the nugget in the second energization step is represented by (N2 - N1) and is 0.1√t (mm) or more.)
15/9/3/2/1 or 14/8/2/1 or 16/10/4/2/1. Claims 8-10 correspond to instant claim 10.
11/6/2/1. (an amount of increase in the diameter of the nugget in the second energization step is represented by (N2 - N1) and is 0.1√t (mm) or more.)
15/9/3/2/1
9. (an amount of increase in the diameter of the nugget in the second energization step is represented by (N2 - N1) and is 0.1√t (mm) or more.)
12/7/3/1. (an amount of increase in the diameter of the nugget in the second energization step is represented by (N2 - N1) and is 0.1√t (mm) or more.)
16/10/4/2/1.
10. (an amount of increase in the diameter of the nugget in the second energization step is represented by (N2 - N1) and is 0.1√t (mm) or more.)
The differences are obvious because:
Spot weld includes “holding the sheet set between a pair of welding electrodes; and energizing the steel sheets under application of pressure to join the steel sheets together.” Increasing the diameter of the weld nugget is the outcome of performing the second energization step.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 6, 7, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites “the energization step in the second energization step.” Claim 4 depends from claim 1, which recites “a first energization step” and “a second energization step.” The use of “energization step” for a third limitation, which is also part of “the second energization step” is excessively confusing. It is not clear how an energization step can be part of the second energization step. The “energization step of the second energization step” should be renamed to distinguish it from the first and second energization steps. This will also affect claim 1, since the initial recitation occurs there. Claims 6 and 7 are rejected for the same reason and require corresponding correction.
The remaining rejected claims are rejected for their dependence on an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furusako (US 2020/0361021) in view of Taniguchi (US 2014/0305912).
Regarding claim 1, Furusako discloses:
A resistance spot welding method (¶1) comprising: disposing two or more steel sheets (¶65, “two or more steel sheets”) including at least one high strength zinc-based coated steel sheet (¶61, “surface treatment, such as zinc plating,” ¶63) so as to overlap each other (¶65 “superposed”) to thereby form a sheet set; holding the sheet set between a pair of welding electrodes (1a, 1b, see Fig 6, ¶55 “electrodes”); and energizing the steel sheets under application of pressure (¶55 “The applied pressure during conduction, in the case in which an electrode having an electrode tip diameter of 6.0 mm, was 5.5 kN (low-pressure), and in the case in which an electrode having an electrode tip diameter of 8.0 mm, was 6.9 kN (high-pressure)”) to join the steel sheets together (¶56 “spot welding results”), … the high strength zinc-based coated steel sheet has … a tensile strength of 780 MPa or more (see Table 1, treatment 12 1530 MPa)…
the energizing includes a first energization step (preliminary conduction during time ta only, or ta combined with main conduction tb partway or all the way to the pulsation portion described in ¶111 for Treatment 12: “Ib of treatment number 12 represents pulsation conduction in which, after continuous conduction at a constant current, the final 0.11 seconds include 0.04 seconds of conduction and 0.015 seconds of conduction idling for two repetitions (*8 of Table 1).”) and a second energization step (tb including at least pulsation portions of main conduction, i.e. the last 0.11 seconds of treatment 12), in the first energization step, energization is performed such that a current value Is (kA) at a start of energization and a current value If (kA) at an end of the energization satisfy the following formula (2) (see Fig 4a-4c, current I during ta for preliminary period, ¶93-¶95):
If > Is ( 2 )
the first energization step forms a weld nugget (flexibly defining the first energization step as possibly including a portion of tb makes it reasonable to conclude that the weld nugget has been formed) having a diameter in a range of 3.0√t (mm) to 4.5√t (mm), where t (mm) is a thickness of a thinnest steel sheet among the overlapping steel sheets (see Fig 1. The nugget diameter depends on the current, but is in this range after preliminary conduction + main conduction (0.28s), whereas the tb, or main conduction time for row 12 in Table 1 is 0.6 seconds, so it could reach this size before the last 0.11 seconds, where pulsation starts and, for the purpose of claim interpretation, the second energization begins), and in the second energization step, a cooling step of holding a non-energization state for in a range of 10 ms or longer and shorter than 160 ms (¶111, conduction idling for 0.015 seconds is 15 ms) and an energization step of energizing the steel sheets at a current value Ip (kA) equal to or larger than the current value If (kA) at the end of the energization for in range of 20 ms or longer and shorter than 200 ms (¶111 0.04 seconds of conduction is 40 ms) are repeatedly performed to increase the diameter of the weld nugget (this is the outcome of reenergization).
Furusako does not disclose:
wherein the high strength zinc-based coated steel sheet has an equivalent carbon content Ceq of 0.20% or more …, Ceq being represented by the following formula (1):
Ceq = C + Si / 30 + Mn / 20 + 2 P + 4 S ( 1)
where element symbols in formula (1) represent contents (by mass %) of respective elements, and a content of an element is 0 when the element is not contained
Taniguchi teaches a carbon equivalent in a range of 0.25 to 0.6 (¶103) for spot welding. A carbon equivalent of 0.33 can correspond to a tensile strength of 780 MPa (see Table 1). Such a material is appropriate for welding with multiple steps and cooling in between (see Fig 2). Some steels approaching the 1530 MPa disclosed by Furusako have a Ceq of about 0.5 (see Table 1).
COMBINATION
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Furusako by modifying the existing zinc-coated (¶16, ¶61) high-strength steel sheet (¶61, see Table 1, 1530 MPa for treatment 12) to have an equivalent carbon content of 0.20% or more. Taniguchi teaches “the carbon equivalent Ceq of a steel sheet… increases as the strength of the steel sheet increases” (¶6). It would be obvious to use a steel sheet with a carbon equivalent greater than 0.2% to achieve the required strength of 1530 MPa disclosed by Furusako.
Regarding claim 2, Furusako as modified by the carbon equivalent of Taniguchi teaches:
the first energization step is multistage energization including first to n-th stages (n is an integer of 2 or more), current values in the respective stages in the multistage energization I1 to In (kA) satisfy the following formula (3):
I 1 < I2 < I3 < … < In ( 3)
the current value I1 (kA) in the first stage is the same as the current value Is (kA) at the start of the energization, and the current value In in the n-th stage is the same as the current value If (kA) at the end of the energization (Furusako: any of Figs 4a-4c meet this limitation).
Regarding claim 3, Furusako as modified by the carbon equivalent of Taniguchi teaches:
the energization in the first energization step is upslope energization in which the current value is continuously increased from the current value Is at the start of the energization to the current value If at the end of the energization (Furusako Fig 4a, ¶93, requires that the first energization ends at ta and excludes any portion of tb because, after that, the value jumps. However, Fig 4b provides continuously increasing current from the initial current value to the final current value, so that the first energization can be interpreted as ta together with part of tb, exclusive of the last 0.11 seconds for pulsation. See the Claim Interpretation section. The claim requires continuously increasing from Is to If, not from the beginning of the first energization period to the end.).
Regarding claim 4, Furusako as modified by the carbon equivalent of Taniguchi teaches:
a number of repetitions of the cooling step and the energization step in the second energization step is 2 or more (Furusako: ¶111 for Treatment 12: “Ib of treatment number 12 represents pulsation conduction in which, after continuous conduction at a constant current, the final 0.11 seconds include 0.04 seconds of conduction and 0.015 seconds of conduction idling for two repetitions (*8 of Table 1).”).
Regarding claim 5, Furusako as modified by the carbon equivalent of Taniguchi teaches:
an amount of increase in the diameter of the nugget in the second energization step is represented by (N2 - N1) and is 0.1√t (mm) or more, where N2 (mm) is a diameter of the weld nugget at completion of first energization step and the second energization step (The first energization step is flexibly defined. As set forth in claim 1, it is the preliminary conduction during time ta only, or ta combined with main conduction tb partway or all the way to the pulsation portion described in ¶111 for Treatment 12: “Ib of treatment number 12 represents pulsation conduction in which, after continuous conduction at a constant current, the final 0.11 seconds include 0.04 seconds of conduction and 0.015 seconds of conduction idling for two repetitions (*8 of Table 1).” Due to this flexible mapping of the first energization step, the time that defines the end of the first energization step can be selected to meet this limitation, with the understanding that the nugget does not grow more than 0.1√t during the pulsation portion.).
Claims 6 and 7 correspond to claim 4 and are rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 8-12 correspond to claim 5 and are rejected for the same reasons.
Conclusion
/TOPAZ L. ELLIOTT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761