DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Applicant’s cancellation of claim(s) 1-14 in the claim set filed on 01/24/2024 is acknowledged.
Applicant’s addition of new claim(s) 15-29 in the claim set filed on 01/24/2024 is acknowledged.
Claims 15-29 are under examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following reasons:
Figures 4A, 7D, 7E, 8C lettering is blurry and difficult to read.
Figures 5A and B contain small lettering which is also blurry and difficult to read.
Abstract
The abstract of the disclosure does not commence on a separate sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.52(b)(4) and 1.72(b). A new abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 15 recites “wherein each of said coated nanoparticles of iron oxide is coated by a polymer”. The examiner notes that the method of making the particles of claim 15 in claim 20, only allows for the iron oxide, an initial coating, and a final matrix of polyserotonine or polycatecholamine. The examiner interprets the phrase to mean, the coating of the said coated nanoparticles is a polymer which is different from polycathecolamine or polyserotonine. Therefore, any art that reads on iron oxide nanoparticles that are coated with any polymer besides polycathecolamine or polyserotonine, and is embedded in a matrix of polycathecolamine or polyserotonine reads on this claim.
Claim 20 recites in step c) the phrase, “obtain final particles of a desired size”. The examiner notes that claim 20 is dependent on claim 15 where the size of the particle is between 200 nm and 2000 nm. Therefore, the phrase “desired size” is interpreted as between 200 nm and 2000 nm.
Claim 21 recites a product by process. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. See MPEP 2113(I). Therefore, any prior art that reads on the particles of claim 15 in a suspension of claim 19 reads on the particles of claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15, 17-23, and 27-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Monsalve, A.; et al. (Monsalve, A.; Dobson, J. P., US 2015/0306220 A1) and Wu, M. et al. (Wu, M.; Zhang, D.; Zeng, Y.; Wu, L.; Liu, X.; Liu, J. Nanocluster of superparamagnetic iron oxide nanoparticles coated with poly(dopamine) for magnetic field-targeting, highly sensitive MRI and photothermal cancer therapy. Nanotechnology, 2015, 26, 115102-115104, as cited in the IDS filed on 01/24/2024).
Monsalve, A.; et al. (hereafter referred to as Monsalve) is drawn to conjugating a TFG-β growth factor to a magnetic particle (title; abstract) where the magnetic nanoparticle is iron oxide (pg 2, claims 3, 6, 9, and 11) is coated in a first polymer (claim 3, 6, 11, and 14; pg 3, claim 26) and optionally contains a second polymer (pg 3, claim 26) and where the polymer coated magnetic nanoparticle is conjugated to a protein (pg 2, claim 1 and 14; pg 3, claim 26-27).
As to claim 15, Monsalve teaches a particle having an hydrodynamic diameter in the nanometer to micrometer range. This range overlaps with the claimed range between 200 nm and 2000 nm. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I). Monsalve teaches the particle is iron oxide (pg 2, para [0008, lines 6-8; claims 6, 9, and 26) and where the iron oxide particles are coated with a polymer different from polycathecolamine (claims 3, 6, 9, 11, 14, 15, and 26) and that the coated iron nanoparticles are coated in a second biocompatible polymer (claim 26).
Monsalve does not teach that the biocompatible polymer is polycathecolamine or polyserotonine.
Wu, M.; et al. (hereafter referred to as Wu) is drawn to a iron oxide nanoparticle coated with a polydopamine (title; abstract). Wu teaches synthesis of particles (pg 2, col 2, para 3) and in vivo imaging using the coated particles (pg 4, col 1, para 1).
Wu teaches that polydopamine is a biocompatible polymer (pg 2, col 1, para 3, lines 1-10).
The prior art contained a device (method, product, etc.) which differed from the claimed device by the substitution of some components (step, element, etc.) with other components. The substituted components and their functions were known in the art. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known element for another, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
As to claim 17, Wu teaches the polycathecolamine is polydopamine (pg 2, col 1, para 3, lines 1-10). As to claim 18, Monsalve teaches the polymer is a dextran or a polyethylene glycol (claims 3, 14, 15, and 26).
As to claim 19, Wu teaches a suspension comprising a plurality of particles (pg 9; col 1, para 2, lines 5-6; pg 9, col 2, lines 10-16).
As to claim 20, Wu teaches step a) (pg 3, col 1, para 1, lines 1-5), step b) (pg 3, col 1, para 1, lines 5-6), step c) (pg 3, col 1, para 1, liens 5-6; pg 3, col 1, para 2, lines 1-2), and step d) (pg 3, col 1, para 1, lines 5-6).
As to claim 21, Monsalve teaches a particle having an hydrodynamic diameter in the nanometer to micrometer range. This range overlaps with the claimed range between 200 nm and 2000 nm. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I). Monsalve teaches the particle is iron oxide (pg 2, para [0008, lines 6-8; claims 6, 9, and 26) and where the iron oxide particles are coated with a polymer different from polycathecolamine (claims 3, 6, 9, 11, 14, 15, and 26) and that the coated iron nanoparticles are coated in a second biocompatible polymer (claim 26).
Monsalve does not teach that the biocompatible polymer is polycathecolamine or polyserotonine.
Monsalve does not teach a suspension.
Regarding the biocompatible polymer, Wu teaches that polydopamine is a biocompatible polymer (pg 2, col 1, para 3, lines 1-10).
The prior art contained a device (method, product, etc.) which differed from the claimed device by the substitution of some components (step, element, etc.) with other components. The substituted components and their functions were known in the art. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known element for another, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Regarding the suspension, Wu teaches a suspension comprising a plurality of particles (pg 9; col 1, para 2, lines 5-6; pg 9, col 2, lines 10-16).
A person of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
As to claim 22, Monsalve teaches a conjugate or a molecule comprising free amine or thiol groups (claims 1-15, and 26).
As to claim 23, Monsalve teaches the molecule is a protein (abstract; pg 1, para [0003]; claims 1-15, and 26).
As to claim 27, Monsalve teaches a particle having an hydrodynamic diameter in the nanometer to micrometer range. This range overlaps with the claimed range between 200 nm and 2000 nm. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I). Monsalve teaches the particle is iron oxide (pg 2, para [0008, lines 6-8; claims 6, 9, and 26) and where the iron oxide particles are coated with a polymer different from polycathecolamine (claims 3, 6, 9, 11, 14, 15, and 26) and that the coated iron nanoparticles are coated in a second biocompatible polymer (claim 26). Monsalve teaches a conjugate or a molecule comprising free amine or thiol groups (claims 1-15, and 26).
Monsalve does not teach that the biocompatible polymer is polycathecolamine or polyserotonine.
Monsalve does not teach a suspension.
Regarding the biocompatible polymer, Wu teaches that polydopamine is a biocompatible polymer (pg 2, col 1, para 3, lines 1-10).
The prior art contained a device (method, product, etc.) which differed from the claimed device by the substitution of some components (step, element, etc.) with other components. The substituted components and their functions were known in the art. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known element for another, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Regarding the suspension, Wu teaches a suspension comprising a plurality of particles (pg 9; col 1, para 2, lines 5-6; pg 9, col 2, lines 10-16).
A person of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
As to claim 28, Monsalve teaches a conjugate or a molecule comprising free amine or thiol groups (claims 1-15, and 26).
As to claim 29, Monsalve teaches dextran (claims 14, 15, and 26).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Monsalve and Wu in further view of Lee, C.; et al. (Lee, C.; Jeon, S. L.; Chae, M. K.; Cho, J-H.; Hang, E. J. US 2011/0165086 A1). The teachings of Monsalve and Wu as applied in the previous rejections are incorporated in this rejection.
As to claim 16, Monsalve teaches the particle is an iron oxide (claim 3).
Monsalve does not teach the iron oxide is Fe2O3, Fe3O4, or a mixture thereof.
Lee, C.; et al. (hereafter referred to as Lee) is drawn to iron oxide particles coated in a polymer for use in imaging methods (title; abstract). Lee teaches a method for preparing (pg 4, para [0029]-[0030]; claim 3), coating (pg 4, para [0031]-[0032]claim 4), and suspending (claim 5).
Lee teaches the iron oxide may be Fe2O3 or Fe3O4 (pg 2, para [0020]; pg 5, para [0041]; claim 9; claim 10).
The prior art contained a device (method, product, etc.) which differed from the claimed device by the substitution of some components (step, element, etc.) with other components. The substituted components and their functions were known in the art. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known element for another, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Claim(s) 24-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Monsalve and Wu in further view of Johnston, K. P.; et al. (Johnston, K. P.; Ma, L. L.; Feldman, M. D.; Milner, T. E.; Sokolov, K. V.; Rowe, J.; Tam, J.; Emelianov, S.; Travis, K.; Murthy A. K. US 2013/0023714 A1). The teachings of Monsalve and Wu as applied in the previous rejections are incorporated in this rejection.
As to claim 24, Wu teaches the use of the coated iron oxide particles for imaging (pg 7, col 1; pg 8, Fig 5).
Wu does not teach an in vivo method.
Johnston, K. P.; et al. (hereafter referred to as Johnston) is drawn to iron oxide nanoparticles coated in stabilizers (title; abstract) where the stabilizers can be dextran, polyethylene glycol, or a biocompatible polymer (claim 21) for use in medical and imaging (claim 16).
Johnston teaches administering to the patient a composition containing the particles and imaging the patient (claim 80).
A person of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
As to claim 25, Johnston teaches the medical imaging is MRI (claim 16; claim 52).
As to claim 26, Johnston teaches the particles are used as contrast agents (pg 7, para [0094], line 9-10; pg 9, para [0111], lines 1-2; pg 11, para [0125], lines 19-21).
Nonstatutory Double Patenting
Copending Application No. 18/291,677
Claims 15-29 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as
being unpatentable over claims 1-3 and 5-14 of copending Application No. 18/291,677 in view of
Monsalve, Wu, Lee, and Johnston.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
The instant claims are drawn to iron oxide nanoparticles coated with dextran or polyethylene glycol and this coated nanoparticle is embedded in a polycathecolamine or polyserotonine; where the suspension is made by polymerizing catecholamine or serotonine around coated nanoparticles; conjugating the particle to a molecule with a molecule with free amine or thiols or radiolabelled metal; and taking an image by administering the compositon and monitoring using MRI, MPI, or PET.
The conflicting claims are drawn to iron oxide nanoparticles coated with polydopamine and embedded in polycathecolamines or polyserotonine. The suspension is made by polymerizing the catecholamine or serotonine around the coated nanoparticles, and conjugating the particles to a molecule with free amine or thiols or radiolabelled metal. And the conflicting claims are drawn to administering the composition to a patient and monitoring using MRI, MPI, or PET.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/EVAN M LEWOCZKO/Examiner, Art Unit 1612
/SAHANA S KAUP/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612