DETAILED ACTION
Claim amendments filed 12/18/2024 are acknowledged and entered into the record.
Accordingly, Claims 20-22, 33-46 are pending and will be examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-22 recites the limitation "pretreatment" in lines 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 20 from which claims 21 and 22 depend do not recite a limitation of “pretreatment”. Furthermore Claims 21 and 22 do not make a distinction of what this “pretreatment” is prior to? Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 20-22 and 33-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Furie et al. (Arthritis & Rheumatology, Vol. 69, No. 2, Feb 2017, pp. 376-386).
The claims are drawn to a method of treating systemic lupus erythematous (SLE) comprising administering intravenously the INFNAR1 inhibitor anifrolumab.
Furie et al. teach systemic lupus erythematous patients were randomized to receive intravenous anifrolumab (300mg or 1,000mg) or placebo. The study included patients having a >6 SLEDAI-2K score (see patients and methods). Furie et al. teach anifrolumab substantially reduced disease activity compared with placebo across multiple clinical end points in the patients with moderate-to-severe SLE. Furie et al. teach each and every limitation of instant claims 20-22 and 33-37.
Claim(s) 20, 38-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Higgs et al. (US 2015/0158949) as evidenced by SAPHNELO Prescribing Information (retrieved 6/19/2026 from https://www.saphnelo.com).
The claims are drawn to a method of treating systemic lupus erythematous (SLE) comprising administering subcutaneously the INFNAR1 inhibitor, anifrolumab.
Higgs et al. teach a method of treating SLE comprising subcutaneously administering a dose of anifrolumab (MEDI-546) of more than 105 mg and less than 150 mg (see paragraph [0124]). Higgs et al. further taught administering the dose every week, once per week (QW) for at least about 8 weeks. It is noted that anifrolumab is an FDA-approved drug marketed under the tradename Saphnelo wherein the antibody is manufactured in 150 mg/mL concentration in a single-dose vial in the same pharmaceutical composition as instantly claimed as evidenced by Saphnelo Prescribing Information (see section 11, description, page 3). Higgs et al. teach each and every limitation of instant claims 20, 38-45.
Conclusion
Claims 20-22, 33-46 are rejected. No claim is allowed.
/Meera Natarajan/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1643