DETAILED ACTION
Connecting Member for a Windscreen Wiper System
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heuberger et al. (US2014/0368072A1) cited in IDS in view of Sekimoto (JPH07190077A) cited in IDS and Madden (US20220136487A1).
Regarding claim 1, Heuberger teaches a head portion (26, figure 5); and
a shaft portion (see 25a and L, figure 5), wherein the shaft portion (see 25a and L, figure 5) is configured (capable of performing this action) to be assembled between an output shaft and a transmission housing of the windscreen wiper system (abstract, para 0022-0030) to adjust the position of the output shaft in the transmission housing; and wherein an outer circumference (30, figure 6) of the shaft portion (25a and L, figure 5).
Heuberger fails to teach a plurality of laser engraved longitudinal patterns wherein the longitudinal patterns comprise at least one groove engraved in an axial direction of the shaft portion and wherein the plurality of laser engraved longitudinal patterns further comprise a plurality of microscopic gripping structures formed along a boundary of the at least one groove.
Sekimoto teaches a rotating body support part (abstract), that has patterns (22, figures 5) that comprise grooves (see 22a-b, figures 4 and 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Heuberger to include engraved longitudinal patterns wherein the longitudinal patterns comprise at least one groove engraved in an axial direction of the shaft portion based on the teachings of Sekimoto. This modification would help provide a more precise connection between the connection member and output shaft of a motor. (see abstract of Sekimoto)
Madden teaches a bearing for an electrical apparatus, where components of the bearing include a friction enhancing interface provided by a roughed surfaced defined by annular faces using laser etching, where roughed surface may have wide range pattern of depressions and elevations on the microscopic level (see para 0050).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Heuberger to include comprise a plurality of microscopic gripping structures formed along a boundary of the at least one groove based on the teachings of Madden. This modification would help increase coefficient of friction and minimize slippage. (see abstract of Madden)
Further, regarding claim 1 and dependent claims, the recitation “laser engraved” is a product by process limitation.
Regarding claim 2, modified Heuberger teaches all limitations stated above, but fails to teach wherein the microscopic gripping structures are formed perpendicular to or at an oblique angle with the at least one groove.
Because Heuberger as modified by Madden discloses microscopic structures can have varied design for purpose to increase friction and resistance to slip. Therefore, it would have been obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to make the microscopic gripping structures be formed perpendicular to or at an oblique angle with the at least one groove because discovering an optimum angle of the angle extending between microscopic gripping structures and groove would have been a mere design characteristics needed to make the connecting member to increase friction and resistance to slip. Such modification would have involved only routine skill in the art to accommodate the friction and resistance requirements of the end user based on intended use. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, Further no criticality for the claimed recitation is apparent in applicant disclosure.
Regarding claim 3, modified Heuberger teaches all limitations stated above, but fails to teach wherein the microscopic gripping structures are formed as hooks embedded on the boundary.
Because Heuberger as modified by Madden discloses microscopic structures can have varied design for purpose to increase friction and resistance to slip (see para 0050 of Madden). Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Heuberger to have the microscopic gripping structures be formed as hooks embedded on the boundary, a change in shape of an element involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would be to increase friction and resistance to slip.
Regarding claim 4, modified Heuberger teaches all limitations stated above ,but fails to teach wherein the plurality of laser engraved longitudinal patterns are formed as plurality of straight stripes that are engraved adjacent to each other.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Heuberger to have wherein the plurality of laser engraved longitudinal patterns are formed as plurality of straight stripes that are engraved adjacent to each other, a change in shape of an element involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would be to provide a more precise connection between the connection member and output shaft of a motor. (see abstract of Sekimoto)
Regarding claim 5, modified Heuberger teaches all limitations stated above,but fails to teach wherein the boundary of the consecutive straight stripes are coincident forming a ridge.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Heuberger to have wherein consecutive straight stripes are coincident forming a ridge, a change in shape of an element involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would be to provide a more precise connection between the connection member and output shaft of a motor. (see abstract of Sekimoto)
Regarding claim 6, modified Heuberger teaches all limitations stated above wherein the plurality of laser engraved longitudinal patterns are formed as at least one cross-hatching pattern or a helical pattern on the outer circumference of the shaft portion (see Sekimoto figure 5)
Regarding claim 7, modified Heuberger teaches all limitations stated above ,but fails to teach wherein the plurality of longitudinal patterns are formed at 60° angular intervals to one another.
Because Heuberger as modified by Sekimoto discloses longitudinal patterns can have varied design for purpose to provide a more precise connection between the connection member and output shaft of a motor (see abstract of Sekimoto, and Sekimoto discloses “the retaining groove may be formed in various forms such as a wavy shape in which one-direction inclined portions and reverse-direction inclined portions are alternately arranged continuously or discontinuously”). Therefore, it would have been obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to make the plurality of longitudinal patterns are formed at 60° angular intervals to one another because discovering an optimum angle of the angle extending between plurality of longitudinal patterns would have been a mere design characteristics needed to make the connecting member to provide a more precise connection between the connection member and output shaft of a motor. Such modification would have involved only routine skill in the art to accommodate the connection requirements of the end user based on intended use. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, Further no criticality for the claimed recitation is apparent in applicant disclosure.
Regarding claim 8, modified Heuberger teaches wherein the plurality of laser engraved longitudinal patterns are formed as a continuous pattern extending the entire length of the shaft portion. (see Sekimoto figure 5; and discloses the retaining groove may be formed in various forms such as a wavy shape in which one-direction inclined portions and reverse-direction inclined portions are alternately arranged continuously or discontinuously.)
Regarding claim 9, modified Heuberger teaches the plurality of laser engraved longitudinal patterns are formed as non-continuous patterns distributed along the length of the shaft portion. (see Sekimoto figure 5; and discloses the retaining groove may be formed in various forms such as a wavy shape in which one-direction inclined portions and reverse-direction inclined portions are alternately arranged continuously or discontinuously.)
Regarding claim 10, modified Heuberger teaches wherein the shaft portion comprises at least one set of laser engraved longitudinal patterns proximal to the head portion and at least one set of laser engraved longitudinal patterns formed distal to the head portion. (see Sekimoto figure 5; and discloses the retaining groove may be formed in various forms such as a wavy shape in which one-direction inclined portions and reverse-direction inclined portions are alternately arranged continuously or discontinuously)
Regarding claim 11, modified Heuberger teaches all limitations stated above ,but fails to teach wherein the at least one set of laser engraved longitudinal patterns proximal to the head portion are formed at 60° intervals and the at least one set of laser engraved longitudinal pattern distal to the head portion are formed at 30° intervals.
Because Heuberger as modified by Sekimoto discloses longitudinal patterns can have varied design for purpose to provide a more precise connection between the connection member and output shaft of a motor (see abstract of Sekimoto, and Sekimoto discloses “the retaining groove may be formed in various forms such as a wavy shape in which one-direction inclined portions and reverse-direction inclined portions are alternately arranged continuously or discontinuously”). Therefore, it would have been obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to wherein the at least one set of laser engraved longitudinal patterns proximal to the head portion are formed at 60° intervals and the at least one set of laser engraved longitudinal pattern distal to the head portion are formed at 30° intervals because discovering an optimum angle of the angle extending between plurality of longitudinal patterns would have been a mere design characteristics needed to make the connecting member to provide a more precise connection between the connection member and output shaft of a motor. Such modification would have involved only routine skill in the art to accommodate the connection requirements of the end user based on intended use. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, Further no criticality for the claimed recitation is apparent in applicant disclosure.
Regarding claim 12, modified Heuberger teaches wherein the connecting member is an eccentric bush. (see Heuberger abstract).
Conclusion
/SARAH AKYAA FORDJOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723