DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nokia, “Slice specific cell reselection”, R2-2105240, in view of Chen et al (US 2022/0303884 A1).
Regarding claim 16 and 18, Nokia teaches a wireless terminal/method comprising:
receiver circuitry configured to receive a customized mapping configuration which configures one or more network slice groups, each of the one or more network slice groups comprising one or more network slices identified by respective Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI) (page 4, “UE is signalled in a dedicated manner a mapping of S-NSSAIs to slice groups and related priorities: {Priority 3: SG-3 (S-NSSAI 1 + S-NSSAI 2), Priority 2: SG-2 (S-NSSAI 1), Priority 1: SG-3 (S-NSSAI 2)}”, it’s noted that SG stands for slice group)
processor circuitry configured to identify each of the one or more network slice groups by a corresponding group index (page 7, Section 3.5, “A new index as a slice group index”, last line of page 7, “new signaling mechanism to provide the mapping of slices to the slice group indices”, it implied that each of the one or more network slice groups can be identified by a corresponding group index).
Nokia doesn’t explicitly teach that Configured NSSAI provisioned in the wireless terminal.
Chen teaches that Configured NSSAI provisioned in the wireless terminal ([0051], “the term “configured S-NSSAI” refers to NSSAI provisioned in the UE 110 that is applicable to one or more PLMNs”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement the specific teaching of Chen within the reselection framework of Nokia. The motivation of this combination is to ensure that the radio-layer groupings (slice groups) are correctly mapped to the actual subscriptions and services authorized for the user (configured NSSAI). This allows the terminal to predictably identify which of its provisioned slices belong to which radio-layer group index to enable efficient frequency-layer steering.
Regarding claim 17, Nokia in view of Chen further teaches that the receiver circuitry is further configured to receive system information comprising one or more group indices, the one or more group indices being associated with respective list(s) of one or more radio frequencies (Nokia, page 3, last paragraph, “When a UE is camping in a cell in RRC Idle or Inactive, the UE has acquired the frequency priority per slice group (through RRCRelease or SIB): {Frequency 1: Priority 3 SG-2, Priority 2 SG-3} {Frequency 2: Priority 5 SG-1, Priority 3 SG-3} {Frequency 3: Priority 5 SG-2}”, it’s noted that SIB stands for system information block), and the processor circuitry is further configured to:
determine, based on one of the list(s), a radio frequency(ies) on which a network slice group from the one or more network slice groups is supported (page 4, Fig. 2.3-2; step 1, “Selecting on or more frequencies with respect to frequency priorities of the selected Group ID” and page 5, lines 4-5); and
perform a cell reselection procedure on the radio frequency(ies) (Fig. 2.3-2, step 2-5 and final step Camp on the cell).
Regarding claim 19, Nokia teaches a base station comprising:
processor circuitry configured to generate a customized mapping configuration which configures one or more network slice groups, each of the one or more network slice groups comprising one or more network slices identified by respective Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI) (page 4, “UE is signalled in a dedicated manner a mapping of S-NSSAIs to slice groups and related priorities: {Priority 3: SG-3 (S-NSSAI 1 + S-NSSAI 2), Priority 2: SG-2 (S-NSSAI 1), Priority 1: SG-3 (S-NSSAI 2)}”, it’s noted that SG stands for slice group)
transmitter circuitry configured to transmit the customized mapping configuration to the wireless terminal (page 4, “UE is signalled in a dedicated manner a mapping of S-NSSAIs to slice groups and related priorities: {Priority 3: SG-3 (S-NSSAI 1 + S-NSSAI 2), Priority 2: SG-2 (S-NSSAI 1), Priority 1: SG-3 (S-NSSAI 2)}”, it’s noted that SG stands for slice group), wherein, the customized mapping configuration causes the wireless terminal to identify each of the one or more network slice groups by a corresponding group index (page 7, Section 3.5, “A new index as a slice group index”, last line of page 7, “new signaling mechanism to provide the mapping of slices to the slice group indices”, it implied that each of the one or more network slice groups can be identified by a corresponding group index).
Nokia doesn’t explicitly teach that Configured NSSAI provisioned in the wireless terminal.
Chen teaches that Configured NSSAI provisioned in the wireless terminal ([0051], “the term “configured S-NSSAI” refers to NSSAI provisioned in the UE 110 that is applicable to one or more PLMNs”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement the specific teaching of Chen within the reselection framework of Nokia. The motivation of this combination is to ensure that the radio-layer groupings (slice groups) are correctly mapped to the actual subscriptions and services authorized for the user (configured NSSAI). This allows the terminal to predictably identify which of its provisioned slices belong to which radio-layer group index to enable efficient frequency-layer steering.
Conclusion
/SIMING LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411