DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 16-35 have been examined and are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ETSI TS 124 501 (ETSI TS 124 501 V16.8.0, “5G; Non-Access-Stratum (NAS) protocol for 5G System (5GS);Stage 3 (3GPP TS 24.501 version 16.8.0 Release 16)”, April 2021) in view of KUMAR (US 20210022099 A1).
In regards to claim 16, ETSI TS 124 501 (ETSI TS 124 501 V16.8.0, “5G; Non-Access-Stratum (NAS) protocol for 5G System (5GS);Stage 3 (3GPP TS 24.501 version 16.8.0 Release 16)”, April 2021) teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
identifying whether the UE is located in a local area data network (LADN) service area based on LADN information (See ETSI [6.2.6 Local area data network (LADN), Page(s) 385-386] “When the UE is located in the LADN service area, the UE may initiate…”);
identifying whether the UE is a substate 5th generation system mobility management (5GMM)-REGISTERED.NORMAL-SERVICE (See ETSI [5.1.3.2 5GMM sublayer states, ] “In the following subclauses, the possible 5GMM sublayer states of the UE are described and shown in Figure 5.1.3.2.1.1.1…In the state 5GMM-REGISTERED, a 5GMM context has been established. Additionally, one or more PDU session(s) may be established at the UE. The UE may initiate the non-initial registration procedure (including the normal registration update and periodic registration update) and the service request procedure. The UE in the state 5GMM-REGISTERED over non-3GPP access shall not initiate the periodic registration update procedure…The state 5GMM-REGISTERED is subdivided into a number of substates as described in this subclause…The substate 5GMM-REGISTERED.NORMAL-SERVICE is chosen by the UE as the primary substate when the UE enters the state 5GMM-REGISTERED,”), and in case that the UE is in the LADN service area
a UE-requested protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment procedure with a LADN data network name (DNN) to establish a PDU session for an LADN, a UE-requested PDU session modification procedure to modify the PDU session for the LADN, and a service request procedure to re-establish user-plane resources for the PDU session for the LADN (See ETSI [6.2.6 Local area data network (LADN), Page(s) 385-386] “When the UE is located in the LADN service area, the UE may initiate:
- the UE-requested PDU session establishment procedure with a LADN DNN to establish a PDU session for LADN;
- the UE-requested PDU session modification procedure to modify the PDU session for LADN; and
- the service request procedure to re-establish the user-plane resources for the PDU session for LADN.”).
ETSI TS 124 501 differs from claim 16, in that ETSI TS 124 501 although ETSI TS 124 501 teaches identifying whether the UE is a substate 5th generation system mobility management (5GMM)-REGISTERED.NORMAL-SERVICE, ETSI TS 124 501 is silent on performing the initiation of features of claim 16 (e.g. the UE-requested protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment procedure, the UE-requested PDU session modification procedure to modify the PDU session for the LADN, or the service request procedure) in a case where the UE is in the LADN service area and the UE is in the substate 5GMM-REGISTERED.NORMAL-SERVICE. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving the initiation of a non-3GPP service (i.e. LADN).
KUMAR (US 20210022099 A1) teaches that a condition for initiating a non-3GPP service is that a UE be in a 5GMM-REGISTERED state (“[0007] In an existing scenario, pre-conditions of UE 100 includes 3GPP-5GMM-REGISTERED, 5GMM-CONNECTED mode over 3GPP access and Non-3GPP -5GMM-REGISTERED, 5GMM-CONNECTED mode over the non-3GPP access. As shown in FIG. 1, the Service Request is initiated over the 3GPP. Though, the UE 100 is in registered over the Non-3GPP and has data to send (Non-3GPP Protocol Data Unit (PDU's) also would be activated selectively), cannot initiate the service request until the service request procedure over the 3GPP is completed. However, there would be a delay for the non-3GPP PDU until the service request procedure is completed over the 3GPP assuming no failures or re-tries for 3GPP service request.”). Furthermore, with respect to the 5GMM-REGISTERED state(s) and the substates of the 5GMM-REGISTERED, ETSI TS 124 501 teaches that the UE chooses 5GMM-REGISTERED.NORMAL.SERVICE as the primary substate for the 5GMM-REGISTERED state ( The state 5GMM-REGISTERED is subdivided into a number of substates as described in this subclause…The substate 5GMM-REGISTERED.NORMAL-SERVICE is chosen by the UE as the primary substate when the UE enters the state 5GMM-REGISTERED”).
Thus, based upon the teachings of KUMAR (US 20210022099 A1) it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify, ETSI TS 124 501 by taking into consideration on whether the UE is in 5GMM-REGISTERED state and in particular the substate 5GMM-REGISTERED.NORMAL-SERVICE, when initiating a non-3GPP service (i.e. LADN) as similarly suggested by Kumar, to arrive at taking into consideration a case where the UE is in the LADN service area and the UE is in the substate 5GMM-REGISTERED.NORMAL-SERVICE, when performing service initiation (e.g. the UE-requested protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment procedure, the UE-requested PDU session modification procedure to modify the PDU session for the LADN, or the service request procedure), to consequently arrive at claim 16. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification, in order to fulfill the condition for initiating a non-3GPP service, that a UE be in a 5GMM-REGISTERED state, and in particular 5GMM-REGISTERED.NORMAL-SERVICE substate as that is the primary substate for the 5GMM-REGISTERED state.
In regards to claim 26, ETSI TS 124 501 (ETSI TS 124 501 V16.8.0, “5G; Non-Access-Stratum (NAS) protocol for 5G System (5GS);Stage 3 (3GPP TS 24.501 version 16.8.0 Release 16)”, April 2021) teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising:
identify whether the UE is located in a local area data network (LADN) service area based on LADN information(See ETSI [6.2.6 Local area data network (LADN), Page(s) 385-386] “When the UE is located in the LADN service area, the UE may initiate…”),
identify whether the UE is a substate 5th generation system mobility management (5GMM)-REGISTERED.NORMAL-SERVICE (See ETSI [5.1.3.2 5GMM sublayer states, ] “In the following subclauses, the possible 5GMM sublayer states of the UE are described and shown in Figure 5.1.3.2.1.1.1…In the state 5GMM-REGISTERED, a 5GMM context has been established. Additionally, one or more PDU session(s) may be established at the UE. The UE may initiate the non-initial registration procedure (including the normal registration update and periodic registration update) and the service request procedure. The UE in the state 5GMM-REGISTERED over non-3GPP access shall not initiate the periodic registration update procedure…The state 5GMM-REGISTERED is subdivided into a number of substates as described in this subclause…The substate 5GMM-REGISTERED.NORMAL-SERVICE is chosen by the UE as the primary substate when the UE enters the state 5GMM-REGISTERED,”), and
in case that the UE is in the LADN service area and a service request procedure to re-establish user-plane resources for the PDU session for the LADN (See ETSI [6.2.6 Local area data network (LADN), Page(s) 385-386] “When the UE is located in the LADN service area, the UE may initiate:
- the UE-requested PDU session establishment procedure with a LADN DNN to establish a PDU session for LADN;
- the UE-requested PDU session modification procedure to modify the PDU session for LADN; and
- the service request procedure to re-establish the user-plane resources for the PDU session for LADN.”).
ETSI TS 124 501 differs from claim 26, in that ETSI TS 124 501 although ETSI TS 124 501 teaches a feature to identify whether the UE is a substate 5th generation system mobility management (5GMM)-REGISTERED.NORMAL-SERVICE, ETSI TS 124 501 is silent on a feature to perform the initiation of features of claim 26 (e.g. the UE-requested protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment procedure, the UE-requested PDU session modification procedure to modify the PDU session for the LADN, or the service request procedure) in a case where the UE is in the LADN service area and the UE is in the substate 5GMM-REGISTERED.NORMAL-SERVICE. ETSI TS 124 501 differs from claim 26, in that ETSI TS 124 501 is silent on the user equipment (UE), comprising: a transceiver; and at least one processor operably connected to the transceiver, wherein the at least one processor is configured to perform the features of claim 26. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving the initiation of a non-3GPP service (i.e. LADN).
KUMAR (US 20210022099 A1) teaches that a condition for initiating a non-3GPP service is that a UE be in a 5GMM-REGISTERED state (“[0007] In an existing scenario, pre-conditions of UE 100 includes 3GPP-5GMM-REGISTERED, 5GMM-CONNECTED mode over 3GPP access and Non-3GPP -5GMM-REGISTERED, 5GMM-CONNECTED mode over the non-3GPP access. As shown in FIG. 1, the Service Request is initiated over the 3GPP. Though, the UE 100 is in registered over the Non-3GPP and has data to send (Non-3GPP Protocol Data Unit (PDU's) also would be activated selectively), cannot initiate the service request until the service request procedure over the 3GPP is completed. However, there would be a delay for the non-3GPP PDU until the service request procedure is completed over the 3GPP assuming no failures or re-tries for 3GPP service request.”). KUMAR further teaches with respect to a UE/terminal, suggests that the UE/terminal comprises a transceiver; and at least one processor operably connected to the transceiver, wherein the at least one processor is configured to perform the features pertaining to cellular communication. (“[0281] FIG. 27 is a schematic view of a wireless communication system 2700 for handling the service request procedure, according to embodiments as disclosed herein. In an embodiment, the wireless communication system 2700 includes the UE 100 and the network 200. The UE 100 includes an AP 110, a CP 120, a PDU session type handler 130, a communicator 140, a memory 150 and a processor 160. The network 200 includes a PDU session type handler 210, a communicator 220, a memory 230 and a processor 240… [0309] The processor 160 is configured to execute instructions stored in the memory 150 and to perform various processes. The communicator 140 is configured for communicating internally between internal hardware components and with external devices via one or more networks…[0310] The memory 150 also stores instructions to be executed by the processor 160. The memory 150 may include non-volatile storage elements...”. Also see “25. A terminal in a wireless communication system, the terminal comprising: a transceiver; and at least one processor configured to: identify a PDU session as an always-on PDU session based on an indication from upper layers, determine to initiate a PDU session establishment procedure for the always-on PDU session, and transmit, to a network entity via the transceiver, a PDU session establishment request message including first information on the always-on PDU session.”) Furthermore, with respect to the 5GMM-REGISTERED state(s) and the substates of the 5GMM-REGISTERED, ETSI TS 124 501 teaches that the UE chooses 5GMM-REGISTERED.NORMAL.SERVICE as the primary substate for the 5GMM-REGISTERED state ( The state 5GMM-REGISTERED is subdivided into a number of substates as described in this subclause…The substate 5GMM-REGISTERED.NORMAL-SERVICE is chosen by the UE as the primary substate when the UE enters the state 5GMM-REGISTERED”).
Thus, based upon the teachings of KUMAR (US 20210022099 A1) it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify, ETSI TS 124 501 by (1) adopting the structure (i.e. transceiver connected to processor) of the UE/terminal KUMAR, and by (2) taking into consideration on whether the UE is in 5GMM-REGISTERED state and in particular the substate 5GMM-REGISTERED.NORMAL-SERVICE, when initiating a non-3GPP service (i.e. LADN) as similarly suggested by Kumar, to arrive at taking into consideration a case where the UE is in the LADN service area and the UE is in the substate 5GMM-REGISTERED.NORMAL-SERVICE, when performing service initiation (e.g. the UE-requested protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment procedure, the UE-requested PDU session modification procedure to modify the PDU session for the LADN, or the service request procedure), to consequently arrive at claim 26. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification, in order to provide a reliable physical structure (i.e. transceiver and processor) to fulfill the condition for initiating a non-3GPP service that a UE be in a 5GMM-REGISTERED state, and in particular 5GMM-REGISTERED.NORMAL-SERVICE substate as that is the primary substate for the 5GMM-REGISTERED state.
In regards to claim 17, ETSI TS 124 501 in view of KUMAR teach the method of claim 16, further comprising: receiving the LADN information (See ETSI [6.2.6 Local area data network (LADN), Page(s) 385-386] “The UE can receive the local area data network (LADN) information consisting of LADN DNNs and LADN service area information (a set of tracking areas that belong to the current registration area) during the registration procedure or the generic UE configuration update procedure (see subclause 5.5.1 and subclause 5.4.4)”).
In regards to claim 27, ETSI TS 124 501 in view of KUMAR teach the UE of claim 26, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive the LADN information via the transceiver (See ETSI [6.2.6 Local area data network (LADN), Page(s) 385-386] “The UE can receive the local area data network (LADN) information consisting of LADN DNNs and LADN service area information (a set of tracking areas that belong to the current registration area) during the registration procedure or the generic UE configuration update procedure (see subclause 5.5.1 and subclause 5.4.4)”).
In regards to claim 18, ETSI TS 124 501 in view of KUMAR teach the method of claim 17, wherein the LADN information is received during a registration procedure or UE configuration update procedure(See ETSI [6.2.6 Local area data network (LADN), Page(s) 385-386] “The UE can receive the local area data network (LADN) information consisting of LADN DNNs and LADN service area information (a set of tracking areas that belong to the current registration area) during the registration procedure or the generic UE configuration update procedure (see subclause 5.5.1 and subclause 5.4.4)”).
In regards to claim 28, ETSI TS 124 501 in view of KUMAR teach the UE of claim 27, wherein the LADN information is received during a registration procedure or UE configuration update procedure(See ETSI [6.2.6 Local area data network (LADN), Page(s) 385-386] “The UE can receive the local area data network (LADN) information consisting of LADN DNNs and LADN service area information (a set of tracking areas that belong to the current registration area) during the registration procedure or the generic UE configuration update procedure (see subclause 5.5.1 and subclause 5.4.4)”).
In regards to claim 19, ETSI TS 124 501 in view of KUMAR teach the method of claim 16, wherein the LADN information includes LADN data network names (DNNs) and LADN service area information(See ETSI [6.2.6 Local area data network (LADN), Page(s) 385-386] “The UE can receive the local area data network (LADN) information consisting of LADN DNNs and LADN service area information (a set of tracking areas that belong to the current registration area) during the registration procedure or the generic UE configuration update procedure (see subclause 5.5.1 and subclause 5.4.4)”).
In regards to claim 29, ETSI TS 124 501 in view of KUMAR teach the UE of claim 26, wherein the LADN information includes LADN data network names (DNNs) and LADN service area information(See ETSI [6.2.6 Local area data network (LADN), Page(s) 385-386] “The UE can receive the local area data network (LADN) information consisting of LADN DNNs and LADN service area information (a set of tracking areas that belong to the current registration area) during the registration procedure or the generic UE configuration update procedure (see subclause 5.5.1 and subclause 5.4.4)”).
In regards to claim 20, ETSI TS 124 501 in view of KUMAR teach the method of claim 19, wherein the LADN service area information includes a set of tracking areas that belong to a registration area(See ETSI [6.2.6 Local area data network (LADN), Page(s) 385-386] “The UE can receive the local area data network (LADN) information consisting of LADN DNNs and LADN service area information (a set of tracking areas that belong to the current registration area) during the registration procedure or the generic UE configuration update procedure (see subclause 5.5.1 and subclause 5.4.4)”).
In regards to claim 30, ETSI TS 124 501 in view of KUMAR teach the UE of claim 29, wherein the LADN service area information a set of tracking areas that belong to a registration area(See ETSI [6.2.6 Local area data network (LADN), Page(s) 385-386] “The UE can receive the local area data network (LADN) information consisting of LADN DNNs and LADN service area information (a set of tracking areas that belong to the current registration area) during the registration procedure or the generic UE configuration update procedure (see subclause 5.5.1 and subclause 5.4.4)”).
In regards to claim 21, ETSI TS 124 501 in view of KUMAR teach the method of claim 16, further comprising: in case that the UE is outside the LADN service area, initiating one of: a UE-requested PDU session release procedure to release the PDU session for the LADN, and a UE-requested PDU session modification procedure to indicate a change of 3rd generation partnership project (3GPP) packet-switch (PS) data off UE status(See ETSI [6.2.6 Local area data network (LADN), Page(s) 385-386] “When the UE is located outside the LADN service area, the UE is allowed:
- to initiate the UE-requested PDU session release procedure to release a PDU session for LADN; or
- to initiate the UE-requested PDU session modification procedure to indicate a change of 3GPP PS data off UE status.”).
In regards to claim 31, ETSI TS 124 501 in view of KUMAR teach the UE of claim 26, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: in case that the UE is outside the LADN service area, initiate one of: a UE-requested PDU session release procedure to release the PDU session for the LADN, and a UE-requested PDU session modification procedure to indicate a change of 3rd generation partnership project (3GPP) packet-switch (PS) data off UE status(See ETSI [6.2.6 Local area data network (LADN), Page(s) 385-386] “When the UE is located outside the LADN service area, the UE is allowed:
- to initiate the UE-requested PDU session release procedure to release a PDU session for LADN; or
- to initiate the UE-requested PDU session modification procedure to indicate a change of 3GPP PS data off UE status.”).
In regards to claim 22, ETSI TS 124 501 in view of KUMAR teach the method of claim 21, further comprising: receiving the LADN information (See ETSI [6.2.6 Local area data network (LADN), Page(s) 385-386] “The UE can receive the local area data network (LADN) information consisting of LADN DNNs and LADN service area information (a set of tracking areas that belong to the current registration area) during the registration procedure or the generic UE configuration update procedure (see subclause 5.5.1 and subclause 5.4.4)”).
In regards to claim 32, ETSI TS 124 501 in view of KUMAR teach the UE of claim 31, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive the LADN information via the transceiver(See ETSI [6.2.6 Local area data network (LADN), Page(s) 385-386] “The UE can receive the local area data network (LADN) information consisting of LADN DNNs and LADN service area information (a set of tracking areas that belong to the current registration area) during the registration procedure or the generic UE configuration update procedure (see subclause 5.5.1 and subclause 5.4.4)”).
In regards to claim 24, ETSI TS 124 501 in view of KUMAR teach the method of claim 21, wherein the LADN information includes LADN data network names (DNNs) and LADN service area information(See ETSI [6.2.6 Local area data network (LADN), Page(s) 385-386] “The UE can receive the local area data network (LADN) information consisting of LADN DNNs and LADN service area information (a set of tracking areas that belong to the current registration area) during the registration procedure or the generic UE configuration update procedure (see subclause 5.5.1 and subclause 5.4.4)”).
In regards to claim 34, ETSI TS 124 501 in view of KUMAR teach the UE of claim 31, wherein the LADN information includes LADN data network names (DNNs) and LADN service area information(See ETSI [6.2.6 Local area data network (LADN), Page(s) 385-386] “The UE can receive the local area data network (LADN) information consisting of LADN DNNs and LADN service area information (a set of tracking areas that belong to the current registration area) during the registration procedure or the generic UE configuration update procedure (see subclause 5.5.1 and subclause 5.4.4)”).
In regards to claim 25, ETSI TS 124 501 in view of KUMAR teach the method of claim 24, wherein the LADN service area information includes a set of tracking areas that belong to a registration area(See ETSI [6.2.6 Local area data network (LADN), Page(s) 385-386] “The UE can receive the local area data network (LADN) information consisting of LADN DNNs and LADN service area information (a set of tracking areas that belong to the current registration area) during the registration procedure or the generic UE configuration update procedure (see subclause 5.5.1 and subclause 5.4.4)”).
In regards to claim 35, ETSI TS 124 501 in view of KUMAR teach the UE of claim 34, wherein the LADN service area information a set of tracking areas that belong to a registration area(See ETSI [6.2.6 Local area data network (LADN), Page(s) 385-386] “The UE can receive the local area data network (LADN) information consisting of LADN DNNs and LADN service area information (a set of tracking areas that belong to the current registration area) during the registration procedure or the generic UE configuration update procedure (see subclause 5.5.1 and subclause 5.4.4)”).
In regards to claim 23, ETSI TS 124 501 in view of KUMAR teach the method of claim 22, wherein the LADN information is received during a registration procedure or UE configuration update procedure(See ETSI [6.2.6 Local area data network (LADN), Page(s) 385-386] “The UE can receive the local area data network (LADN) information consisting of LADN DNNs and LADN service area information (a set of tracking areas that belong to the current registration area) during the registration procedure or the generic UE configuration update procedure (see subclause 5.5.1 and subclause 5.4.4)”).
In regards to claim 33, ETSI TS 124 501 in view of KUMAR teach the UE of claim 32, wherein the LADN information is received during a registration procedure or UE configuration update procedure(See ETSI [6.2.6 Local area data network (LADN), Page(s) 385-386] “The UE can receive the local area data network (LADN) information consisting of LADN DNNs and LADN service area information (a set of tracking areas that belong to the current registration area) during the registration procedure or the generic UE configuration update procedure (see subclause 5.5.1 and subclause 5.4.4)”).
Conclusion
/TARELL A HAMPTON/Examiner, Art Unit 2476 /AYAZ R SHEIKH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2476