DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-4,6-14,16-20 and 23-24 have been examined and is pending
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 11, 12, 13, 14, 16, 23, 24, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAO (US 20230164680 A1) in view of BEALE (US 20210045146 A1)
In regards to claim 1, HAO (US 20230164680 A1) teaches an energy-saving configuration method, performed by a network device, comprising: sending energy-saving configuration information about a designated carrier frequency band to a terminal device, (See HAO Paragraph(s) [0026 - 0031] and [0111] which teach a network device sending energy-saving configuration information about a designated carrier frequency band, a cell of a second carrier in an energy saving state, to a terminal device, wherein the energy saving configuration information comprises information configured to indicate that a SSB carried on the designated carrier is in a discontinuous transmission state, a prolonged transmission period of the SSB “[0026] According to a fourth aspect, a cell access method is provided. The method may be performed by a network device…The method includes: the network device generates a second message, where the second message includes remaining minimum system information (RMSI) of a cell of a second carrier and information about a synchronization signal and PBCH block (SSB) of the cell of the second carrier; and broadcasts the second message on a first carrier. [0027] …the network device broadcasts the RMSI of the cell of the second carrier and the information about the SSB in a cell of the first carrier, so that a terminal device performs SSB detection based on the information about the SSB, and accesses the cell of the second carrier based on the SSB and the RMSI, without accessing the cell of the second carrier in a handover manner. In this way, the terminal device can quickly access the cell of the second carrier, thereby reducing a delay of accessing the cell of the second carrier, and ensuring services and performance of the terminal device. [0028] Optionally, the cell of the first carrier is not in an energy saving state, and the cell of the second carrier is in the energy saving state. Therefore, the network device can broadcast the RMSI of the cell of the carrier in the energy saving state and the information about the SSB by using the cell of the carrier not in the energy saving state. [0029] Optionally, the information about the SSB includes one or more of the following: a period of the SSB, a frequency of the SSB, and a carrier spacing of the SSB…[0111] Optionally, the information about the SSB includes one or more of the following: a period of the SSB, a frequency of the SSB, and a carrier spacing of the SSB. The period of the SSB may be prolonged to meet an energy saving requirement. For example, the period of the SSB is 160 ms or longer. For example, the terminal device may perform SSB detection based on the period of the SSB.” )
HAO does teach an energy saving feature, wherein the energy saving configuration information comprises information configured to indicate that a SSB carried on the designated carrier is in a discontinuous transmission state. However, the energy-saving feature of HAO differs from that of claim 1 in that HAO is silent on wherein the energy-saving configuration information comprises: static configuration information, or semi-static configuration information; the static configuration information is configured to indicate that an synchronization signal block (SSB) carried on the designated carrier frequency band is always in the discontinuous transmission state after an effective time point; the semi-static configuration information is configured to indicate that an SSB carried on the designated carrier frequency band is in a discontinuous transmission state within a time period from an effective time point to a failure time point.
Despite these differences similar features have seen in other prior art involving energy saving in a wireless communication network. BEALE (US 20210045146 A1) teaches an energy saving feature, discontinuous transmission (DTX), where energy saving configuration information comprises, semi-static configuration information, wherein the semi-static configuration information indicates that a signal, transmission 5991/5992, carried on a carrier frequency band, subset of frequency resources, is in a DTX state within a time period, temporal validity, from an effective time point to a failure time point (“[0154] The DTX schedule can be configured only for a subset of frequency and time resources, or generally PRBs. That is, the UE 103, 104 will only activate blocking the transmission 5991, 5992 in accordance with the DTX schedule for a certain time duration, until a temporal validity of the DTX expires. This is beneficial for example if a corresponding subset of resources within the temporal validity is used for UL grant-free transmission. For example, the transmission 5995 can be UL grant-free transmission. In 3GPP NR, UL grant free transmission is typically used for URLLC; here, a UE 101, 102 can transmit a URLLC whenever it arrives without request for UL resources from the BS 112. Hence, if an eMBB transmission 5991, 5992 of the IOT UE 103, 104 overlaps these grant free resources either partially or fully, the IOT UE 103, 104 can block transmission in a accordance with the DTX schedule to facilitate co-scheduling of the UL grant-free transmission 5995.”)
Thus, based upon the teachings of BEALE it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy-saving feature of HAO, by adopting use of a semi-static configuration of a DTX feature as similarly seen in the energy-saving feature of BEALE and applying to the DTX feature of HAO, to thus arrive at wherein the energy-saving configuration information comprises: static configuration information, or semi-static configuration information; the static configuration information is configured to indicate that a synchronization signal block (SSB) carried on the designated carrier frequency band is always in a discontinuous transmission state after an effective time point; the semi-static configuration information is configured to indicate that an SSB carried on the designated carrier frequency band is in a discontinuous transmission state within a time period from an effective time point to a failure time point, as arranged with the remaining elements of claim 1. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to provide a reliable means for implementing the DTX feature of HAO.
In regards to claim 23, HAO (US 20230164680 A1) teaches a network device, comprising a processor and a memory; wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program; and the processor is configured to perform the computer program to enable the device to implement an energy-saving configuration method (See HAO where it recites, “[0037] According to a seventh aspect, a cell access apparatus is provided, and includes a processor. The processor is coupled to a memory, and may be configured to execute instructions in the memory, to implement the method according to any possible implementation of the second aspect or the fourth aspect. Optionally, the apparatus further includes the memory. Optionally, the apparatus further includes a communication interface, and the processor is coupled to the communication interface. [0038] In an implementation, the apparatus is a network device. When the apparatus is the network device, the communication interface may be a transceiver or an input/output interface.”), comprising : sending energy-saving configuration information about a designated carrier frequency band to a terminal device, (See HAO Paragraph(s) [0026 - 0031] and [0111] which teach a network device sending energy-saving configuration information about a designated carrier frequency band, a cell of a second carrier in an energy saving state, to a terminal device, wherein the energy saving configuration information comprises information configured to indicate that a SSB is in a discontinuous transmission state, a prolonged transmission period of the SSB “[0026] According to a fourth aspect, a cell access method is provided. The method may be performed by a network device…The method includes: the network device generates a second message, where the second message includes remaining minimum system information (RMSI) of a cell of a second carrier and information about a synchronization signal and PBCH block (SSB) of the cell of the second carrier; and broadcasts the second message on a first carrier. [0027] …the network device broadcasts the RMSI of the cell of the second carrier and the information about the SSB in a cell of the first carrier, so that a terminal device performs SSB detection based on the information about the SSB, and accesses the cell of the second carrier based on the SSB and the RMSI, without accessing the cell of the second carrier in a handover manner. In this way, the terminal device can quickly access the cell of the second carrier, thereby reducing a delay of accessing the cell of the second carrier, and ensuring services and performance of the terminal device. [0028] Optionally, the cell of the first carrier is not in an energy saving state, and the cell of the second carrier is in the energy saving state. Therefore, the network device can broadcast the RMSI of the cell of the carrier in the energy saving state and the information about the SSB by using the cell of the carrier not in the energy saving state. [0029] Optionally, the information about the SSB includes one or more of the following: a period of the SSB, a frequency of the SSB, and a carrier spacing of the SSB…[0111] Optionally, the information about the SSB includes one or more of the following: a period of the SSB, a frequency of the SSB, and a carrier spacing of the SSB. The period of the SSB may be prolonged to meet an energy saving requirement. For example, the period of the SSB is 160 ms or longer. For example, the terminal device may perform SSB detection based on the period of the SSB.” )
HAO does teach an energy saving feature, wherein the energy saving configuration information comprises information configured to indicate that a SSB carried on the designated carrier is in a discontinuous transmission state. However, the energy-saving feature of HAO differs from that of claim 23 in that HAO is silent on wherein the energy-saving configuration information comprises: static configuration information, or semi-static configuration information; the static configuration information is configured to indicate that an synchronization signal block (SSB) carried on the designated carrier frequency band is always in the discontinuous transmission state after an effective time point; the semi-static configuration information is configured to indicate that an SSB carried on the designated carrier frequency band is in a discontinuous transmission state within a time period from an effective time point to a failure time point.
Despite these differences similar features have seen in other prior art involving energy saving in a wireless communication network. BEALE (US 20210045146 A1) teaches an energy saving feature, discontinuous transmission (DTX), where energy saving configuration information comprises, semi-static configuration information, wherein the semi-static configuration information indicates that a signal, transmission 5991/5992, carried on a carrier frequency band, subset of frequency resources, is in a DTX state within a time period, temporal validity, from an effective time point to a failure time point (“[0154] The DTX schedule can be configured only for a subset of frequency and time resources, or generally PRBs. That is, the UE 103, 104 will only activate blocking the transmission 5991, 5992 in accordance with the DTX schedule for a certain time duration, until a temporal validity of the DTX expires. This is beneficial for example if a corresponding subset of resources within the temporal validity is used for UL grant-free transmission. For example, the transmission 5995 can be UL grant-free transmission. In 3GPP NR, UL grant free transmission is typically used for URLLC; here, a UE 101, 102 can transmit a URLLC whenever it arrives without request for UL resources from the BS 112. Hence, if an eMBB transmission 5991, 5992 of the IOT UE 103, 104 overlaps these grant free resources either partially or fully, the IOT UE 103, 104 can block transmission in a accordance with the DTX schedule to facilitate co-scheduling of the UL grant-free transmission 5995.”)
Thus, based upon the teachings of BEALE it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy-saving feature of HAO, by adopting use of a semi-static configuration of a DTX feature as similarly seen in the energy-saving feature of BEALE and applying to the DTX feature of HAO, to thus arrive at wherein the energy-saving configuration information comprises: static configuration information, or semi-static configuration information; the static configuration information is configured to indicate that a synchronization signal block (SSB) carried on the designated carrier frequency band is always in a discontinuous transmission state after an effective time point; the semi-static configuration information is configured to indicate that an SSB carried on the designated carrier frequency band is in a discontinuous transmission state within a time period from an effective time point to a failure time point, as arranged with the remaining elements of claim 23. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to provide a reliable means for implementing the DTX feature of HAO.
In regards to claim 11, HAO (US 20230164680 A1) teaches an energy-saving configuration method, performed by a terminal device, comprising: receiving energy-saving configuration information about a designated carrier frequency band sent by a network device, (See HAO Paragraph(s) [0019 - 0023] and [0111] which teach a terminal receiving energy-saving configuration information about a designated carrier frequency band, a cell of a second carrier in an energy saving state, from a network device, wherein the energy saving configuration information comprises information configured to indicate that a SSB is in a discontinuous transmission state, a prolonged transmission period of the SSB “[0019] According to a third aspect, a cell access method is provided. The method may be performed by a terminal device, or may be performed by an apparatus (for example, one or more of a chip, a processor, or a chip system) in the terminal device…The method includes: first, the terminal device receives a second message in a cell of a first carrier, where the second message includes remaining minimum system information (RMSI) of a cell of a second carrier and information about a synchronization signal and PBCH block SSB of the cell of the second carrier. The terminal device accesses the cell of the second carrier based on the RMSI and the information about the SSB. [0020] In this embodiment of this application, the terminal device may obtain the RMSI of the cell of the second carrier and the information about the SSB in the cell of the first carrier, and access the cell of the second carrier based on the information about the SSB and the RMSI, without accessing the cell of the second carrier in a handover manner. In this way, the terminal device can quickly access the cell of the second carrier, thereby reducing a delay of accessing the cell of the second carrier, and ensuring services and performance of the terminal device. [0021] Optionally, the terminal device detects the SSB based on the information about the SSB. Therefore, after the information about the SSB is obtained, detection may be performed based on the information about the SSB, so that the SSB can be found more accurately and flexibly. This reduces unnecessary detection, reduces energy consumption, and can avoid a failure of the terminal device in detecting the SSB.
[0022] Optionally, the cell of the first carrier is not in an energy saving state, and the cell of the second carrier is in the energy saving state. Therefore, the terminal device can obtain the RMSI of the cell of the carrier in the energy saving state and the information about the SSB by using the cell of the carrier not in the energy saving state. [0023] Optionally, the information about the SSB includes one or more of the following: a period of the SSB, a frequency of the SSB, and a carrier spacing of the SSB.…[0111] Optionally, the information about the SSB includes one or more of the following: a period of the SSB, a frequency of the SSB, and a carrier spacing of the SSB. The period of the SSB may be prolonged to meet an energy saving requirement. For example, the period of the SSB is 160 ms or longer. For example, the terminal device may perform SSB detection based on the period of the SSB.” )
HAO does teach an energy saving feature, wherein the energy saving configuration information comprises information configured to indicate that a SSB carried on the designated carrier is in a discontinuous transmission state. However, the energy-saving feature of HAO differs from that of claim 11 in that HAO is silent on wherein the energy-saving configuration information comprises: static configuration information, or semi-static configuration information; the static configuration information is configured to indicate that an synchronization signal block (SSB) carried on the designated carrier frequency band is always in the discontinuous transmission state after an effective time point; the semi-static configuration information is configured to indicate that an SSB carried on the designated carrier frequency band is in a discontinuous transmission state within a time period from an effective time point to a failure time point.
Despite these differences similar features have seen in other prior art involving energy saving in a wireless communication network. BEALE (US 20210045146 A1) teaches an energy saving feature, discontinuous transmission (DTX), where energy saving configuration information comprises, semi-static configuration information, wherein the semi-static configuration information indicates that a signal, transmission 5991/5992, carried on a carrier frequency band, subset of frequency resources, is in a DTX state within a time period, temporal validity, from an effective time point to a failure time point (“[0154] The DTX schedule can be configured only for a subset of frequency and time resources, or generally PRBs. That is, the UE 103, 104 will only activate blocking the transmission 5991, 5992 in accordance with the DTX schedule for a certain time duration, until a temporal validity of the DTX expires. This is beneficial for example if a corresponding subset of resources within the temporal validity is used for UL grant-free transmission. For example, the transmission 5995 can be UL grant-free transmission. In 3GPP NR, UL grant free transmission is typically used for URLLC; here, a UE 101, 102 can transmit a URLLC whenever it arrives without request for UL resources from the BS 112. Hence, if an eMBB transmission 5991, 5992 of the IOT UE 103, 104 overlaps these grant free resources either partially or fully, the IOT UE 103, 104 can block transmission in a accordance with the DTX schedule to facilitate co-scheduling of the UL grant-free transmission 5995.”)
Thus, based upon the teachings of BEALE it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy-saving feature of HAO, by adopting use of a semi-static configuration of a DTX feature as similarly seen in the energy-saving feature of BEALE and applying to the DTX feature of HAO, to thus arrive at wherein the energy-saving configuration information comprises: static configuration information, or semi-static configuration information; the static configuration information is configured to indicate that a synchronization signal block (SSB) carried on the designated carrier frequency band is always in a discontinuous transmission state after an effective time point; the semi-static configuration information is configured to indicate that an SSB carried on the designated carrier frequency band is in a discontinuous transmission state within a time period from an effective time point to a failure time point, as arranged with the remaining elements of claim 11. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to provide a reliable means for implementing the DTX feature of HAO.
In regards to claim 24, The combination of HAO (US 20230164680 A1) in view of BEALE is believed to suggest a terminal device, comprising a processor and a memory; wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program; and the processor is configured to perform the computer program to enable the device to implement the method of claim 11, for substantially the same reasons provided to motivate the combination to arrive at the method of claim 11, (See where HAO recites, “[0033] According to a sixth aspect, a cell access apparatus is provided, and includes a processor. The processor is coupled to a memory, and may be configured to execute instructions in the memory, to implement the method according to any possible implementation of the first aspect or the third aspect. Optionally, the apparatus further includes the memory. Optionally, the apparatus further includes a communication interface, and the processor is coupled to the communication interface. [0034] In an implementation, the apparatus is a terminal device. When the apparatus is the terminal device, the communication interface may be a transceiver or an input/output interface.”).
In regards to claim 2, HAO is silent on the method of claim 1, wherein the static configuration information comprises: a static configuration type, a cycle of discontinuous transmission, and a non-transmission time period and a transmission time period within each cycle; the semi-static configuration information comprises: a semi-static configuration type, a cycle of discontinuous transmission, and a non-transmission time period and a transmission time period within each cycle. Despite these differences similar features have seen in other prior art involving energy saving in a wireless communication network. BEALE (US 20210045146 A1) teaches an energy saving feature, discontinuous transmission (DTX), where energy saving configuration information comprises, semi-static configuration information, wherein the semi-static configuration information indicates that a signal, transmission 5991/5992, carried on a carrier frequency band, subset of frequency resources, is in a DTX state within a time period, temporal validity, from an effective time point to a failure time point. BEALE further teaches where the static configuration information comprises a semi-static configuration type, time validity, a cycle of discontinuous transmission, periodic and/or DTX schedule, and a non-transmission time period, ON period, and a transmission time period, OFF period, within each cycle, (“[0144] As a general rule, the DTX schedule may be periodic or non-periodic. The DTX schedule may include a repetition of ON durations and OFF durations. These repetitions may be arranged periodically or non-periodically, with variable periodicity, etc… [0154] The DTX schedule can be configured only for a subset of frequency and time resources, or generally PRBs. That is, the UE 103, 104 will only activate blocking the transmission 5991, 5992 in accordance with the DTX schedule for a certain time duration, until a temporal validity of the DTX expires. This is beneficial for example if a corresponding subset of resources within the temporal validity is used for UL grant-free transmission. For example, the transmission 5995 can be UL grant-free transmission. In 3GPP NR, UL grant free transmission is typically used for URLLC; here, a UE 101, 102 can transmit a URLLC whenever it arrives without request for UL resources from the BS 112. Hence, if an eMBB transmission 5991, 5992 of the IOT UE 103, 104 overlaps these grant free resources either partially or fully, the IOT UE 103, 104 can block transmission in a accordance with the DTX schedule to facilitate co-scheduling of the UL grant-free transmission 5995.”)
Thus, based upon the teachings of BEALE it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy-saving feature of HAO, by adopting use of a semi-static configuration of a DTX feature as similarly seen in the energy-saving feature of BEALE and applying semi-static configuration feature to the DTX feature of HAO, to thus arrive at the method of claim 1, wherein the static configuration information comprises: a static configuration type, a cycle of discontinuous transmission, and a non-transmission time period and a transmission time period within each cycle; the semi-static configuration information comprises: a semi-static configuration type, a cycle of discontinuous transmission, and a non-transmission time period and a transmission time period within each cycle. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to provide a reliable means for implementing the DTX feature of HAO.
In regards to claim 12, HAO is silent on the method of claim 11, wherein the static configuration information comprises: a static configuration type, a cycle of discontinuous transmission, and a non-transmission time period and a transmission time period within each cycle; the semi-static configuration information comprises: a semi-static configuration type, a cycle of discontinuous transmission, and a non-transmission time period and a transmission time period within each cycle.
Despite these differences similar features have seen in other prior art involving energy saving in a wireless communication network. BEALE (US 20210045146 A1) teaches an energy saving feature, discontinuous transmission (DTX), where energy saving configuration information comprises, semi-static configuration information, wherein the semi-static configuration information indicates that a signal, transmission 5991/5992, carried on a carrier frequency band, subset of frequency resources, is in a DTX state within a time period, temporal validity, from an effective time point to a failure time point. BEALE further teaches where the static configuration information comprises a semi-static configuration type, time validity, a cycle of discontinuous transmission, periodic and/or DTX schedule, and a non-transmission time period, ON period, and a transmission time period, OFF period, within each cycle, (“[0144] As a general rule, the DTX schedule may be periodic or non-periodic. The DTX schedule may include a repetition of ON durations and OFF durations. These repetitions may be arranged periodically or non-periodically, with variable periodicity, etc… [0154] The DTX schedule can be configured only for a subset of frequency and time resources, or generally PRBs. That is, the UE 103, 104 will only activate blocking the transmission 5991, 5992 in accordance with the DTX schedule for a certain time duration, until a temporal validity of the DTX expires. This is beneficial for example if a corresponding subset of resources within the temporal validity is used for UL grant-free transmission. For example, the transmission 5995 can be UL grant-free transmission. In 3GPP NR, UL grant free transmission is typically used for URLLC; here, a UE 101, 102 can transmit a URLLC whenever it arrives without request for UL resources from the BS 112. Hence, if an eMBB transmission 5991, 5992 of the IOT UE 103, 104 overlaps these grant free resources either partially or fully, the IOT UE 103, 104 can block transmission in a accordance with the DTX schedule to facilitate co-scheduling of the UL grant-free transmission 5995.”)
Thus, based upon the teachings of BEALE it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy-saving feature of HAO, by adopting use of a semi-static configuration of a DTX feature as similarly seen in the energy-saving feature of BEALE and applying semi-static configuration feature to the DTX feature of HAO, to thus arrive at the method of claim 11, wherein the static configuration information comprises: a static configuration type, a cycle of discontinuous transmission, and a non-transmission time period and a transmission time period within each cycle; the semi-static configuration information comprises: a semi-static configuration type, a cycle of discontinuous transmission, and a non-transmission time period and a transmission time period within each cycle. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to provide a reliable means for implementing the DTX feature of HAO.
In regards to claim 4, HAO is silent on the method of claim 1, wherein the energy-saving configuration information is the static configuration information, after sending the energy-saving configuration information about the designated carrier frequency band to the terminal device, the method further comprises: sending first indication information to the terminal device, wherein the first indication information carries an identifier of the designated carrier frequency band and the effective time point for indicating that the SSB carried on the designated carrier frequency band enters the discontinuous transmission state at the effective time point and is always in the discontinuous transmission state; or sending first indication information to the terminal device at the effective time point, wherein the first indication information carries an identifier of the designated carrier frequency band for indicating that the SSB carried on the designated carrier frequency band enters the discontinuous transmission state and is always in the discontinuous transmission state; or wherein the energy-saving configuration information is the semi-static configuration information, after sending the energy-saving configuration information about the designated carrier frequency band to the terminal device, the method further comprises: sending first indication information to the terminal device, wherein the first indication information carries an identifier of the designated carrier frequency band and the effective time point for indicating that the SSB carried on the designated carrier frequency band enters the discontinuous transmission state at the effective time point; or sending first indication information to the terminal device at the effective time point, wherein the first indication information carries an identifier of the designated carrier frequency band for indicating that the SSB carried on the designated carrier frequency band enters the discontinuous transmission state.
Despite these differences similar features have seen in other prior art involving energy saving in a wireless communication network. BEALE (US 20210045146 A1) teaches an energy saving feature, discontinuous transmission (DTX), where energy saving configuration information comprises, semi-static configuration information, wherein the semi-static configuration information indicates that a signal, transmission 5991/5992, carried on a carrier frequency band, subset of frequency resources, is in a DTX state within a time period, temporal validity, from an effective time point to a failure time point. BEALE also teaches wherein the energy-saving configuration information is the semi-static configuration information, after sending the energy-saving configuration information about the designated carrier frequency band to the terminal device, after sending the DL configuration control message, the method further comprises: sending first indication information to the terminal device, DL activation control message, wherein the first indication information carries an identifier of the designated carrier frequency band and the effective time point for indicating that the signal carried on the designated carrier frequency band enters the discontinuous transmission state at the effective time point (“[0154] The DTX schedule can be configured only for a subset of frequency and time resources, or generally PRBs. That is, the UE 103, 104 will only activate blocking the transmission 5991, 5992 in accordance with the DTX schedule for a certain time duration, until a temporal validity of the DTX expires. This is beneficial for example if a corresponding subset of resources within the temporal validity is used for UL grant-free transmission. For example, the transmission 5995 can be UL grant-free transmission. In 3GPP NR, UL grant free transmission is typically used for URLLC; here, a UE 101, 102 can transmit a URLLC whenever it arrives without request for UL resources from the BS 112. Hence, if an eMBB transmission 5991, 5992 of the IOT UE 103, 104 overlaps these grant free resources either partially or fully, the IOT UE 103, 104 can block transmission in a accordance with the DTX schedule to facilitate co-scheduling of the UL grant-free transmission 5995. [0155] A plurality of DTX schedules can be configured using the DL configuration control message. The DL configuration control message can be indicative of control information on multiple candidate DTX schedules. Each candidate DTX schedule may define different forbidden PRBs 680. Then, to activate a selected one of the plurality of candidate DTX schedules, the DL activation control message can be transmitted. The DL activation control message can be indicative of a selected one of the candidate DTX schedules and can activate blocking of the transmission on one or more forbidden PRBs 680 defined by the selected candidate DTX schedule. This activation can occur prior to or after commencing of the transmission.”)
Thus, based upon the teachings of BEALE it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy-saving feature of HAO, by adopting use of a semi-static configuration of a DTX feature as similarly seen in the energy-saving feature of BEALE and applying to the DTX feature of HAO, to thus arrive at the method of claim 1, wherein the energy-saving configuration information is the static configuration information, after sending the energy-saving configuration information about the designated carrier frequency band to the terminal device, the method further comprises: sending first indication information to the terminal device, wherein the first indication information carries an identifier of the designated carrier frequency band and the effective time point for indicating that the SSB carried on the designated carrier frequency band enters the discontinuous transmission state at the effective time point and is always in the discontinuous transmission state; or sending first indication information to the terminal device at the effective time point, wherein the first indication information carries an identifier of the designated carrier frequency band for indicating that the SSB carried on the designated carrier frequency band enters the discontinuous transmission state and is always in the discontinuous transmission state; or wherein the energy-saving configuration information is the semi-static configuration information, after sending the energy-saving configuration information about the designated carrier frequency band to the terminal device, the method further comprises: sending first indication information to the terminal device, wherein the first indication information carries an identifier of the designated carrier frequency band and the effective time point for indicating that the SSB carried on the designated carrier frequency band enters the discontinuous transmission state at the effective time point; or sending first indication information to the terminal device at the effective time point, wherein the first indication information carries an identifier of the designated carrier frequency band for indicating that the SSB carried on the designated carrier frequency band enters the discontinuous transmission state. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to provide a reliable means for implementing the DTX feature of HAO.
In regards to claim 14, HAO is silent on the method of claim 11, wherein the energy-saving configuration information is the static configuration information, after receiving the energy-saving configuration information about the designated carrier frequency band sent by the network device, the method further comprises: receiving first indication information sent by the network device, wherein the first indication information carries an identifier of the designated carrier frequency band and the effective time point for indicating that the SSB carried on the designated carrier frequency band enters the discontinuous transmission state at the effective time point and is always in the discontinuous transmission state; or receiving first indication information sent by the network device at the effective time point, wherein the first indication information carries an identifier of the designated carrier frequency band for indicating that the SSB carried on the designated carrier frequency band enters the discontinuous transmission state and is always in the discontinuous transmission state; or wherein the energy-saving configuration information is the semi-static configuration information, after receiving the energy-saving configuration information about the designated carrier frequency band sent by the network device, the method further comprises: receiving first indication information sent by the network device, wherein the first indication information carries an identifier of the designated carrier frequency band and the effective time point for indicating that the SSB carried on the designated carrier frequency band enters the discontinuous transmission state at the effective time point; or receiving first indication information sent by the network device at the effective time point, wherein the first indication information carries an identifier of the designated carrier frequency band for indicating that the SSB carried on the designated carrier frequency band enters the discontinuous transmission state.
Despite these differences similar features have seen in other prior art involving energy saving in a wireless communication network. BEALE (US 20210045146 A1) teaches an energy saving feature, discontinuous transmission (DTX), where energy saving configuration information comprises, semi-static configuration information, wherein the semi-static configuration information indicates that a signal, transmission 5991/5992, carried on a carrier frequency band, subset of frequency resources, is in a DTX state within a time period, temporal validity, from an effective time point to a failure time point. BEALE also teaches wherein the energy-saving configuration information is the semi-static configuration information, after sending the energy-saving configuration information about the designated carrier frequency band to the terminal device, after sending the DL configuration control message, the method further comprises: sending first indication information to the terminal device, DL activation control message, wherein the first indication information carries an identifier of the designated carrier frequency band and the effective time point for indicating that the signal carried on the designated carrier frequency band enters the discontinuous transmission state at the effective time point (“[0154] The DTX schedule can be configured only for a subset of frequency and time resources, or generally PRBs. That is, the UE 103, 104 will only activate blocking the transmission 5991, 5992 in accordance with the DTX schedule for a certain time duration, until a temporal validity of the DTX expires. This is beneficial for example if a corresponding subset of resources within the temporal validity is used for UL grant-free transmission. For example, the transmission 5995 can be UL grant-free transmission. In 3GPP NR, UL grant free transmission is typically used for URLLC; here, a UE 101, 102 can transmit a URLLC whenever it arrives without request for UL resources from the BS 112. Hence, if an eMBB transmission 5991, 5992 of the IOT UE 103, 104 overlaps these grant free resources either partially or fully, the IOT UE 103, 104 can block transmission in a accordance with the DTX schedule to facilitate co-scheduling of the UL grant-free transmission 5995. [0155] A plurality of DTX schedules can be configured using the DL configuration control message. The DL configuration control message can be indicative of control information on multiple candidate DTX schedules. Each candidate DTX schedule may define different forbidden PRBs 680. Then, to activate a selected one of the plurality of candidate DTX schedules, the DL activation control message can be transmitted. The DL activation control message can be indicative of a selected one of the candidate DTX schedules and can activate blocking of the transmission on one or more forbidden PRBs 680 defined by the selected candidate DTX schedule. This activation can occur prior to or after commencing of the transmission.”)
Thus, based upon the teachings of BEALE it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy-saving feature of HAO, by adopting use of a semi-static configuration of a DTX feature as similarly seen in the energy-saving feature of BEALE and applying to the DTX feature of HAO, to thus arrive at the method of claim 11, wherein the energy-saving configuration information is the static configuration information, after receiving the energy-saving configuration information about the designated carrier frequency band sent by the network device, the method further comprises: receiving first indication information sent by the network device, wherein the first indication information carries an identifier of the designated carrier frequency band and the effective time point for indicating that the SSB carried on the designated carrier frequency band enters the discontinuous transmission state at the effective time point and is always in the discontinuous transmission state; or receiving first indication information sent by the network device at the effective time point, wherein the first indication information carries an identifier of the designated carrier frequency band for indicating that the SSB carried on the designated carrier frequency band enters the discontinuous transmission state and is always in the discontinuous transmission state; or wherein the energy-saving configuration information is the semi-static configuration information, after receiving the energy-saving configuration information about the designated carrier frequency band sent by the network device, the method further comprises: receiving first indication information sent by the network device, wherein the first indication information carries an identifier of the designated carrier frequency band and the effective time point for indicating that the SSB carried on the designated carrier frequency band enters the discontinuous transmission state at the effective time point; or receiving first indication information sent by the network device at the effective time point, wherein the first indication information carries an identifier of the designated carrier frequency band for indicating that the SSB carried on the designated carrier frequency band enters the discontinuous transmission state. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to provide a reliable means for implementing the DTX feature of HAO.
In regards to claim 6, HAO (US 20230164680 A1) is silent on the method of claim 4, wherein a number of pieces of the semi-static configuration information about the designated carrier frequency band is at least one, the first indication information further carries a target configuration identifier of the designated carrier frequency band for indicating that the terminal device receives information of the SSB sent by the network device based on the semi-static configuration information corresponding to the target configuration identifier after the SSB carried on the designated carrier frequency band enters the discontinuous transmission state.
Despite these differences similar features have seen in other prior art involving energy saving in a wireless communication network. BEALE (US 20210045146 A1) teaches an energy saving feature, discontinuous transmission (DTX), where energy saving configuration information comprises, semi-static configuration information, wherein the semi-static configuration information indicates that a signal, transmission 5991/5992, carried on a carrier frequency band, subset of frequency resources, is in a DTX state within a time period, temporal validity, from an effective time point to a failure time point. BEALE also teaches wherein the energy-saving configuration information is the semi-static configuration information, after sending the energy-saving configuration information about the designated carrier frequency band to the terminal device, after sending the DL configuration control message, the method further comprises: sending first indication information to the terminal device, DL activation control message, wherein the first indication information carries an identifier of the designated carrier frequency band and the effective time point for indicating that the signal carried on the designated carrier frequency band enters the discontinuous transmission state at the effective time point. BEALE also teaches wherein a number of pieces of the semi-static configuration information about the designated carrier frequency band is at least one, a plurality of DTX schedules, the first indication information further carries a target configuration identifier, The DL activation control message can be indicative of a selected one of the candidate DTX schedules, of the designated carrier frequency band for indicating that the terminal device receives information of the signal sent by the network device based on the semi-static configuration information corresponding to the target configuration identifier after the signal carried on the designated carrier frequency band enters the discontinuous transmission state. (“[0154] The DTX schedule can be configured only for a subset of frequency and time resources, or generally PRBs. That is, the UE 103, 104 will only activate blocking the transmission 5991, 5992 in accordance with the DTX schedule for a certain time duration, until a temporal validity of the DTX expires. This is beneficial for example if a corresponding subset of resources within the temporal validity is used for UL grant-free transmission. For example, the transmission 5995 can be UL grant-free transmission. In 3GPP NR, UL grant free transmission is typically used for URLLC; here, a UE 101, 102 can transmit a URLLC whenever it arrives without request for UL resources from the BS 112. Hence, if an eMBB transmission 5991, 5992 of the IOT UE 103, 104 overlaps these grant free resources either partially or fully, the IOT UE 103, 104 can block transmission in a accordance with the DTX schedule to facilitate co-scheduling of the UL grant-free transmission 5995. [0155] A plurality of DTX schedules can be configured using the DL configuration control message. The DL configuration control message can be indicative of control information on multiple candidate DTX schedules. Each candidate DTX schedule may define different forbidden PRBs 680. Then, to activate a selected one of the plurality of candidate DTX schedules, the DL activation control message can be transmitted. The DL activation control message can be indicative of a selected one of the candidate DTX schedules and can activate blocking of the transmission on one or more forbidden PRBs 680 defined by the selected candidate DTX schedule. This activation can occur prior to or after commencing of the transmission.”)
Thus, based upon the teachings of BEALE it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy-saving feature of HAO, by adopting use of a semi-static configuration of a DTX feature as similarly seen in the energy-saving feature of BEALE and applying to the DTX feature of HAO, to thus arrive at the method of claim 4, wherein a number of pieces of the semi-static configuration information about the designated carrier frequency band is at least one, the first indication information further carries a target configuration identifier of the designated carrier frequency band for indicating that the terminal device receives information of the SSB sent by the network device based on the semi-static configuration information corresponding to the target configuration identifier after the SSB carried on the designated carrier frequency band enters the discontinuous transmission state. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to provide a reliable means for implementing the DTX feature of HAO.
In regards to claim 16, HAO (US 20230164680 A1) is silent on the method of claim 14, wherein a number of pieces of the semi-static configuration information about the designated carrier frequency band is at least one, the first indication information further carries a target configuration identifier of the designated carrier frequency band for indicating that the terminal device receives information of the SSB sent by the network device based on the semi-static configuration information corresponding to the target configuration identifier after the SSB carried on the designated carrier frequency band enters the discontinuous transmission state.
Despite these differences similar features have seen in other prior art involving energy saving in a wireless communication network. BEALE (US 20210045146 A1) teaches an energy saving feature, discontinuous transmission (DTX), where energy saving configuration information comprises, semi-static configuration information, wherein the semi-static configuration information indicates that a signal, transmission 5991/5992, carried on a carrier frequency band, subset of frequency resources, is in a DTX state within a time period, temporal validity, from an effective time point to a failure time point. BEALE also teaches wherein the energy-saving configuration information is the semi-static configuration information, after sending the energy-saving configuration information about the designated carrier frequency band to the terminal device, after sending the DL configuration control message, the method further comprises: sending first indication information to the terminal device, DL activation control message, wherein the first indication information carries an identifier of the designated carrier frequency band and the effective time point for indicating that the signal carried on the designated carrier frequency band enters the discontinuous transmission state at the effective time point. BEALE also teaches wherein a number of pieces of the semi-static configuration information about the designated carrier frequency band is at least one, a plurality of DTX schedules, the first indication information further carries a target configuration identifier, The DL activation control message can be indicative of a selected one of the candidate DTX schedules, of the designated carrier frequency band for indicating that the terminal device receives information of the signal sent by the network device based on the semi-static configuration information corresponding to the target configuration identifier after the signal carried on the designated carrier frequency band enters the discontinuous transmission state. (“[0154] The DTX schedule can be configured only for a subset of frequency and time resources, or generally PRBs. That is, the UE 103, 104 will only activate blocking the transmission 5991, 5992 in accordance with the DTX schedule for a certain time duration, until a temporal validity of the DTX expires. This is beneficial for example if a corresponding subset of resources within the temporal validity is used for UL grant-free transmission. For example, the transmission 5995 can be UL grant-free transmission. In 3GPP NR, UL grant free transmission is typically used for URLLC; here, a UE 101, 102 can transmit a URLLC whenever it arrives without request for UL resources from the BS 112. Hence, if an eMBB transmission 5991, 5992 of the IOT UE 103, 104 overlaps these grant free resources either partially or fully, the IOT UE 103, 104 can block transmission in a accordance with the DTX schedule to facilitate co-scheduling of the UL grant-free transmission 5995. [0155] A plurality of DTX schedules can be configured using the DL configuration control message. The DL configuration control message can be indicative of control information on multiple candidate DTX schedules. Each candidate DTX schedule may define different forbidden PRBs 680. Then, to activate a selected one of the plurality of candidate DTX schedules, the DL activation control message can be transmitted. The DL activation control message can be indicative of a selected one of the candidate DTX schedules and can activate blocking of the transmission on one or more forbidden PRBs 680 defined by the selected candidate DTX schedule. This activation can occur prior to or after commencing of the transmission.”)
Thus, based upon the teachings of BEALE it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy-saving feature of HAO, by adopting use of a semi-static configuration of a DTX feature as similarly seen in the energy-saving feature of BEALE and applying to the DTX feature of HAO, to thus arrive at the method of claim 14, wherein a number of pieces of the semi-static configuration information about the designated carrier frequency band is at least one, the first indication information further carries a target configuration identifier of the designated carrier frequency band for indicating that the terminal device receives information of the SSB sent by the network device based on the semi-static configuration information corresponding to the target configuration identifier after the SSB carried on the designated carrier frequency band enters the discontinuous transmission state. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to provide a reliable means for implementing the DTX feature of HAO.
In regards to claim 3, HAO is silent on the method of claim 1, wherein sending the energy-saving configuration information about the designated carrier frequency band to the terminal device comprises: sending a radio resource control (RRC) message to the terminal device, wherein the RRC message comprises the energy-saving configuration information about the designated carrier frequency band. HAO does teach an energy saving feature, wherein the energy saving configuration information comprises information configured to indicate that a SSB carried on the designated carrier is in a discontinuous transmission state. However, the energy-saving feature of HAO differs from that of claim 3 in that HAO is silent on wherein sending the energy-saving configuration information about the designated carrier frequency band to the terminal device comprises: sending a radio resource control (RRC) message to the terminal device, wherein the RRC message comprises the energy-saving configuration information about the designated carrier frequency band. Despite these differences similar features have seen in other prior art involving energy saving in a wireless communication network. BEALE (US 20210045146 A1) teaches an energy saving feature, discontinuous transmission (DTX), where sending energy saving configuration information about a designated carrier frequency band, subset of frequency resources, to a device comprises sending a RRC message, wherein the RRC message comprises the energy-saving configuration information about the designated carrier frequency band. BEALE also teaches where the energy saving configuration information comprises, semi-static configuration information, wherein the semi-static configuration information indicates that a signal, transmission 5991/5992, carried on a carrier frequency band, subset of frequency resources, is in a DTX state within a time period, temporal validity, from an effective time point to a failure time point (“[0153] The DTX schedule can be RRC configured, using the DL configuration control message. Blocking, in accordance with the DTX schedule and at the respective UE 101-104, can be activated and deactivated in accordance with the DL activation control message, e.g., implemented using DCI. Hence, the respective UE 103-104 can be firstly RRC configured with a DTX schedule, but the respective UE 103-104 will not use this DTX schedule for blocking transmission, unless indicated by the DL activation control message 4024. This DL activation control message 4024 can occur prior to the transmission 5991, 5992 as shown in FIG. 15, e.g., in the form of an UL/DL grant. Alternatively, the DL activation control message can occur during the transmission 5991, 5992 as shown in FIG. 16, e.g., in the form of an pre-emption indicator. [0154] The DTX schedule can be configured only for a subset of frequency and time resources, or generally PRBs. That is, the UE 103, 104 will only activate blocking the transmission 5991, 5992 in accordance with the DTX schedule for a certain time duration, until a temporal validity of the DTX expires. This is beneficial for example if a corresponding subset of resources within the temporal validity is used for UL grant-free transmission. For example, the transmission 5995 can be UL grant-free transmission. In 3GPP NR, UL grant free transmission is typically used for URLLC; here, a UE 101, 102 can transmit a URLLC whenever it arrives without request for UL resources from the BS 112. Hence, if an eMBB transmission 5991, 5992 of the IOT UE 103, 104 overlaps these grant free resources either partially or fully, the IOT UE 103, 104 can block transmission in a accordance with the DTX schedule to facilitate co-scheduling of the UL grant-free transmission 5995..”)
Thus, based upon the teachings of BEALE it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy-saving feature of HAO, by adopting use of a semi-static configuration of a DTX feature as similarly seen in the energy-saving feature of BEALE and applying to the DTX feature of HAO, to thus arrive at the method of claim 1, wherein sending the energy-saving configuration information about the designated carrier frequency band to the terminal device comprises: sending a radio resource control (RRC) message to the terminal device, wherein the RRC message comprises the energy-saving configuration information about the designated carrier frequency band. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to provide a reliable means for implementing the DTX feature of HAO.
In regards to claim 13, HAO is silent on the method of claim 11, wherein receiving the energy-saving configuration information about the designated carrier frequency band sent by the network device comprises: receiving a RRC message sent by the network device, wherein the RRC message comprises the energy-saving configuration information about the designated carrier frequency band.
HAO does teach an energy saving feature, wherein the energy saving configuration information comprises information configured to indicate that a SSB carried on the designated carrier is in a discontinuous transmission state. However, the energy-saving feature of HAO differs from that of claim 13, in that HAO is silent on wherein receiving the energy-saving configuration information about the designated carrier frequency band to the terminal device comprises: sending a radio resource control (RRC) message to the terminal device, wherein the RRC message comprises the energy-saving configuration information about the designated carrier frequency band. Despite these differences similar features have seen in other prior art involving energy saving in a wireless communication network. BEALE (US 20210045146 A1) teaches an energy saving feature, discontinuous transmission (DTX), where receiving energy saving configuration information about a designated carrier frequency band, subset of frequency resources, to a device comprises sending a RRC message, wherein the RRC message comprises the energy-saving configuration information about the designated carrier frequency band. BEALE also teaches where the energy saving configuration information comprises, semi-static configuration information, wherein the semi-static configuration information indicates that a signal, transmission 5991/5992, carried on a carrier frequency band, subset of frequency resources, is in a DTX state within a time period, temporal validity, from an effective time point to a failure time point (“[0153] The DTX schedule can be RRC configured, using the DL configuration control message. Blocking, in accordance with the DTX schedule and at the respective UE 101-104, can be activated and deactivated in accordance with the DL activation control message, e.g., implemented using DCI. Hence, the respective UE 103-104 can be firstly RRC configured with a DTX schedule, but the respective UE 103-104 will not use this DTX schedule for blocking transmission, unless indicated by the DL activation control message 4024. This DL activation control message 4024 can occur prior to the transmission 5991, 5992 as shown in FIG. 15, e.g., in the form of an UL/DL grant. Alternatively, the DL activation control message can occur during the transmission 5991, 5992 as shown in FIG. 16, e.g., in the form of an pre-emption indicator. [0154] The DTX schedule can be configured only for a subset of frequency and time resources, or generally PRBs. That is, the UE 103, 104 will only activate blocking the transmission 5991, 5992 in accordance with the DTX schedule for a certain time duration, until a temporal validity of the DTX expires. This is beneficial for example if a corresponding subset of resources within the temporal validity is used for UL grant-free transmission. For example, the transmission 5995 can be UL grant-free transmission. In 3GPP NR, UL grant free transmission is typically used for URLLC; here, a UE 101, 102 can transmit a URLLC whenever it arrives without request for UL resources from the BS 112. Hence, if an eMBB transmission 5991, 5992 of the IOT UE 103, 104 overlaps these grant free resources either partially or fully, the IOT UE 103, 104 can block transmission in a accordance with the DTX schedule to facilitate co-scheduling of the UL grant-free transmission 5995..”)
Thus, based upon the teachings of BEALE it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy-saving feature of HAO, by adopting use of a semi-static configuration of a DTX feature as similarly seen in the energy-saving feature of BEALE and applying to the DTX feature of HAO, to thus arrive at the method of claim 11, wherein receiving the energy-saving configuration information about the designated carrier frequency band sent by the network device comprises: receiving a RRC message sent by the network device, wherein the RRC message comprises the energy-saving configuration information about the designated carrier frequency band. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to provide a reliable means for implementing the DTX feature of HAO.
Claim(s) 10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAO (US 20230164680 A1) in view of BEALE (US 20210045146 A1) in view of WANG (US 20110103309 A1)
In regards to claim 10, HAO (US 20230164680 A1) is silent on the method of claim 1, wherein the designated carrier frequency band is at least one carrier frequency band of a multi-carrier frequency band cell to which the terminal device belongs; or the designated carrier frequency band is a carrier frequency band of a designated macro cell, or a carrier frequency band of a hotspot cell located within a coverage area of the designated macro cell.
HAO does teach a terminal device operating in a multi-carrier wireless networking environment, wherein the designated carrier frequency band is one of the multiple carriers. (See HAO [0026 - 0031] where it recites a multi-carrier frequency band cell, first carrier and second carrier).
Furthermore, other prior art wireless networking features involving multiple carriers, such as WANG (US 20110103309 A1) teach a feature where a carrier frequency band is a carrier frequency band of a carrier frequency band of a macro cell and/or a carrier frequency band of a hotspot cell in order to provide the terminal with specialized services optimized by each base station cell(“[0049] A concurrent-MC WTRU may be serviced by multiple base stations through multiple concurrent radio carriers simultaneously during normal operation for downlink and/or uplink communications. Each base station may provide special services optimized for each base station. For example, the concurrent-MC WTRU may be connected to a macro-cell base station and a micro-cell base station, (e.g., a femto-cell base station, a pico-cell base station, a wireless hotspot access point, or the like), and receive a voice service via the macro-cell base station and a data service via the micro-cell base station.”).
Thus, based upon the teachings of WANG it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the multi-carrier feature suggested by HAO in view of BEALE, by adopting use of a macro-cell and micro-cell/hotspot cell to provide the multi-carrier feature as similarly seen in the multi-carrier feature of WANG to thus arrive at the method of claim 1, wherein the designated carrier frequency band is at least one carrier frequency band of a multi-carrier frequency band cell to which the terminal device belongs; or the designated carrier frequency band is a carrier frequency band of a designated macro cell, or a carrier frequency band of a hotspot cell located within a coverage area of the designated macro cell, in order to provide a benefit of specialized services optimized by each base station cell.
In regards to claim 20, HAO (US 20230164680 A1) is silent on the method of claim 11, wherein the designated carrier frequency band is at least one carrier frequency band of a multi-carrier frequency band cell to which the terminal device belongs; or the designated carrier frequency band is a carrier frequency band of a designated macro cell, or a carrier frequency band of a hotspot cell located within a coverage area of the designated macro cell
HAO does teach a terminal device operating in a multi-carrier wireless networking environment, wherein the designated carrier frequency band is one of the multiple carriers. (See HAO [0026 - 0031] where it recites a multi-carrier frequency band cell, first carrier and second carrier).
Furthermore, other prior art wireless networking features involving multiple carriers, such as WANG (US 20110103309 A1) teach a feature where a carrier frequency band is a carrier frequency band of a carrier frequency band of a macro cell and/or a carrier frequency band of a hotspot cell in order to provide the terminal with specialized services optimized by each base station cell(“[0049] A concurrent-MC WTRU may be serviced by multiple base stations through multiple concurrent radio carriers simultaneously during normal operation for downlink and/or uplink communications. Each base station may provide special services optimized for each base station. For example, the concurrent-MC WTRU may be connected to a macro-cell base station and a micro-cell base station, (e.g., a femto-cell base station, a pico-cell base station, a wireless hotspot access point, or the like), and receive a voice service via the macro-cell base station and a data service via the micro-cell base station.”).
Thus, based upon the teachings of WANG it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the multi-carrier feature suggested by HAO in view of BEALE, by adopting use of a macro-cell and micro-cell/hotspot cell to provide the multi-carrier feature as similarly seen in the multi-carrier feature of WANG to thus arrive at the method of claim 11, wherein the designated carrier frequency band is at least one carrier frequency band of a multi-carrier frequency band cell to which the terminal device belongs; or the designated carrier frequency band is a carrier frequency band of a designated macro cell, or a carrier frequency band of a hotspot cell located within a coverage area of the designated macro cell ,in order to provide a benefit of specialized services optimized by each base station cell.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 7, 8, 9, 17, 18, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TARELL A HAMPTON/Examiner, Art Unit 2476 /AYAZ R SHEIKH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2476