DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoshino [US 2024/0137973] in view of Guo [US 2023/0354364].
As claims 8 and 11, Hoshino [US 2024/0137973] discloses a terminal comprising a control unit configured to configure a search space set group and an operation related to skipping of PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel) monitoring [Fig 13, Ref 120 for configuring SSSG and skipping of PDCCH monitoring]; a reception unit configured to receive, from a base station, configuration information indicating that the search space set group is for skipping of PDCCH monitoring via RRC (Radio Resource Control) [Par. 0077, 0096, 0099 discloses RRC message for configuring SSSG for skipping PDCCH monitoring, Par. 0132]; and a transmission unit configured to transmit, to the base station, an SR (Scheduling Request) and a message related to a random access procedure [Fig 15, UE send SR to base station, S105, Fig 22, UE send preamble, S205], wherein the control unit switches the skipping of PDCCH monitoring from enabled to disabled, based on the configuration information, in the search space set group, after transmission of the SR or at a time of execution of the random access procedure [Fig 15 and 22, UE switches PDCCH skipping after UE send SR or send Preamble]. However, Hoshino [US 2024/0137973] fail to disclose the control unit switches the skipping of PDCCH monitoring from enabled to disabled, based on the configuration information, in the search space set group, after transmission of the SR and at a time of execution of the random access procedure. In the same field of endeavor, Guo [US 2023/0354364] discloses the control unit switches the skipping of PDCCH monitoring from enabled to disabled, based on the configuration information, in the search space set group, after transmission of the SR or at a time of execution of the random access procedure [Par. 0018-0019, 0025-0026, 0047, 0035 discloses switching the skipping PDCCH monitoring states from one state to another such as enable to disable in the SSSG after transmission SR and while random access procedures, Par. 0325-0334, 0337].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system comprising control unit switches the skipping of PDCCH monitoring from enabled to disabled, based on the configuration information, in the search space set group, after transmission of the SR or at a time of execution of the random access procedure as disclosed by Guo into the teaching of Hoshino. The motivation would have been to reduce the cost of the system.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoshino and Gou as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Mu [US 2024/0260130].
As claim 9, Hoshino and Gou fail to disclose the control unit disables the skipping of PDCCH monitoring in a case where DRX (Discontinuous reception) is in an inactive state. In the same field of endeavor, Mu [US 2024/0260130] discloses the control unit disables the skipping of PDCCH monitoring in a case where DRX (Discontinuous reception) is in an inactive state [Par. 0046, 0119, 0121 discloses when UE in DRX inactivity state, it monitors PDCCH during DRX inactivity state].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for disabling the skipping of PDCCH monitoring in a case where DRX (Discontinuous reception) is in an inactive state as disclosed by Mu into the teaching of Gou and Hoshino. The motivation would have been to prevent data loss.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoshino and Gou as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Hoshino [US 2024/0107428] or Lin [US 2020/0169991].
As claim 10, Hoshino and Gou fail to disclose the control unit disables the skipping of PDCCH monitoring when switching BWP (Bandwidth Part). In the same field of endeavor, Hoshino [US 2024/0107428] or Lin [US 2020/0169991] discloses the control unit disables the skipping of PDCCH monitoring when switching BWP [Hoshino discloses Par. 0068 discloses DCI signal includes command switching SSSG “BWP” from 0 to 1 and disabling skipping “read on activating monitoring when switch BWP”, Par. 0113, 0121 and Lin discloses at Par. 0110].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for disables the skipping of PDCCH monitoring when switching BWP as disclosed by Hoshino or Lin into the teaching of Gou and Hoshino. The motivation would have been to prevent data loss.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hoshino [US 2024/0107518] discloses switching monitoring PDCCH states after SR and random access.
Hoshino [US 2024/0107539] discloses switching monitoring PDCCH states when switching SSSG in the BWP.
Gou [US 2024/0121798] discloses Systems, methods and devices for control channel monitoring may include a wireless communication device receiving, from a wireless communication node, a plurality of parameters. The wireless communication device may perform, responsive to a trigger event, a PDCCH monitoring behavior comprising at least one of PDCCH monitoring according to a search space set (SSS) group from N SSS groups or skipping of PDCCH monitoring according to a skipping period, based on the plurality of parameters.
MOHAMMAD SOLEYMANI [US 2024/0172246] discloses A transceiver configured for communicating in a wireless communication network being operated by at least one base station comprises an antenna unit configured for transceiving wireless signals in the wireless communications network. The transceiver is to monitor a physical downlink control channel, PDCCH to obtain downlink information; and to provide a feature such as a radio measurement in the wireless communication network. The transceiver is to skip monitoring PDCCH by performing no monitoring or by switching a search space of the PDCCH, for a duration of a skipping interval and for aligning the feature with the skipping interval in time.
Lin [US 2020/0389874] discloses A user equipment, a base station, and a method for determining search space sets for PDCCH monitoring. The UE includes a receiver and a processor and is configured to receive a configuration for search space sets. The configuration includes a first group of search space sets, a second group of search space sets, a first group index for the first group of search space sets, and a second group index for the second group of search space sets. The UE is also configured to determine an indication corresponding to either the first group index or the second group index, and to receive, based on the indication, physical downlink control channels (PDCCHs) according to either the first group of search space sets or the second group of search space sets.
/STEVEN HIEU D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414