DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-19 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9-14, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al, application no. 2022/0232605 hereinafter known as Kim in view of Kwon et al, application No.2014/0029459, hereinafter known as Kwon.
As to claim 1, Kim discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE) supporting extended reality (XR) in a wireless communication system (Kim, [0035], [0036], [0061-[0062], UE and base station of the art communicating with XR traffic), the method comprising: receiving, from a base station (BS), control information related to a power saving operation (Kim, [0080], [0085], UE providing parameters to base station for XR communications, base station using parameters provided by UE to send control information for efficient network resources allocation for uplink traffic; [0087], allocating uplink resources to reduce UE power consumption); and performing the power saving operation configured based on the control information (Kim, [0087], UE able to transition to power saving mode according to base station allocated resources), stopping a monitoring of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) including scheduling information for a retransmission of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) from the BS (Kim, [0089], stopping monitoring of PDCCH for power saving mode). Kim disclose XR communications and stops monitoring PDCCH for power saving at the UE ([00080]-[0087]). Kim does not disclose however Kwon discloses wherein the power saving operation comprises: determining a size of a XR-retransmission (reTx) timer based on the control information; starting the XR-reTx timer based on a configured condition; and based on the XR-reTx timer expiring, stop monitoring PDCCH (Kwon, [0071]-[0082], retransmission timer used for monitoring PDCCH, monitoring while timer is active and stop monitoring when the timer expires; figure 5, PDDCH timer chart indicating start and stop time).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kim to include the limitations of wherein the power saving operation comprises: determining a size of a XR-retransmission (reTx) timer based on the control information; starting the XR-reTx timer based on a configured condition; and based on the XR-reTx timer expiring, stop monitoring PDCCH as taught by Kwon. Use of timers are known in the art for UE to monitor or communicate messages; otherwise, when timer is not active, entering sleep state to save energy resources.
As to claim 2, Kim and Kwon disclose the method of claim 1. Kim teaches extended reality communications (Kim, [0035], [0036], [0061-[0062], UE and base station of the art communicating with XR traffic). Kim does not disclose however Kwon discloses wherein the configured condition comprises the UE not successfully receiving the PDSCH from the BS, and wherein the XR-reTx timer starts after the UE transmits, to the BS, a negative acknowledgement (NACK) response to a reception of the PDSCH (Kwon, [0153]-[0160], UE, when not receiving PDSCH, sending NACK and starting a HARQ timer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kim to include the limitations of wherein the configured condition comprises the UE not successfully receiving the PDSCH from the BS, and wherein the XR-reTx timer starts after the UE transmits, to the BS, a negative acknowledgement (NACK) response to a reception of the PDSCH as taught by Kwon. Retransmission timers are well known in the art for monitoring if and when retransmission has been received and requesting retransmission again if needed.
As to claim 3, Kim and Kwon disclose the method of claim 1. Kim does not disclose however Kwon discloses wherein the size of the XR-reTx timer is determined based on a remaining packet delay budget (PDB) for the PDSCH or a PDB margin for the PDSCH (Kwon, [0075]-[0076], [0151], retransmission timer (HARQ RTT Timer) for PDCCH monitoring according to round trip time, delay it takes for packets to communicate between devices).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kim to include the limitations of wherein the size of the XR-reTx timer is determined based on a remaining packet delay budget (PDB) for the PDSCH or a PDB margin for the PDSCH as taught by Kwon. Retransmission timers are well known in the art for monitoring if and when retransmission has been received and requesting retransmission again if needed.
As to claim 4, Kim and Kwon disclose the method of claim 1. Kim does not disclose however Kwon discloses wherein the control information includes a number of the retransmissions, and a number of PDCCH monitoring occasions (MOs) for downlink control information (DCI) scheduling the retransmission of the PDSCH (Kwon, [0280], determining number of retransmission to be expected by UE; table 3, [0153], [0154], retransmission frame locations determined).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kim to include the limitations of wherein the control information includes a number of the retransmissions, and a number of PDCCH monitoring occasions (MOs) for downlink control information (DCI) scheduling the retransmission of the PDSCH as taught by Kwon. Number of retransmission and location there of allows a UE to know how to process retransmission and stop monitoring retransmission altogether or request further retransmissions accordingly.
As to claim 5, Kim and Kwon disclose the method of claim 1. Kim does not disclose however Kwon discloses wherein the control information includes information for a maximum time duration for which the UE is able to receive the retransmission of the PDSCH, or a maximum time duration for which the UE needs to monitor the PDCCH to receive the scheduling information for the retransmission of the PDSCH, or a maximum time duration for which the UE needs to transmit an acknowledgement (ACK) response or a negative acknowledgement (NACK) response to the PDSCH (Kwon, [0080], Maximum subframe to monitor for retransmissions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kim to include the limitations of wherein the control information includes information for a maximum time duration for which the UE is able to receive the retransmission of the PDSCH, or a maximum time duration for which the UE needs to monitor the PDCCH to receive the scheduling information for the retransmission of the PDSCH, or a maximum time duration for which the UE needs to transmit an acknowledgement (ACK) response or a negative acknowledgement (NACK) response to the PDSCH as taught by Kwon. Limit on how long to monitor for message for a UE allows the UE to enter power save mode when it no longer has to monitor for messages.
As to claim 9, Kim discloses wherein the control information is received via downlink control information (DCI) or a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) (Kim, [0091], control information shared via either DCI or MAC-CE).
As to claims 10-14 and 18, the claims are rejected as applied to claims 1-5 and 9 respectively above by Kim in view of Kwon.
As to claim 19, the claim is rejected as applied to claim 1 above by Kim in view of Kwon.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6-8 and 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/GAUTAM SHARMA/ Examiner, Art Unit 2467
/HASSAN A PHILLIPS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2467