DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-8 are pending and will be examined on the merits.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
There should be a colon after “comprising the steps of”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7 recites “wherein the pH and conductivity of the wash buffer solution and the loading buffer solution is the same” when it should read “wherein the pH and conductivity of the wash buffer solution and the loading buffer solution are the same”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5-7 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ameli (Ameli, et al., WO 2020/252069A1; Published 12/17/2020).
Ameli teaches methods of purifying an anti-alpha4Beta7 integrin antibody that is vedolizumab (Ameli, Abstract). Regarding claims 1-2 and 5-6, Ameli teaches a separation method wherein vedolizumab is contacted with an AEX resin in the presence of a loading buffer and is collecting the flow-through material (Ameli, p 55, lines 10-18), wherein the conductivity of the loading buffer is about 5 mS/cm (Ameli, p 56, lines 21-26), a pH of about 7.0 (Ameli, p 57, line 8) and sodium phosphate (Ameli, p 57, lines 3-6). Regarding claim 7, Ameli teaches wash buffers having the same conductivity (Ameli, claim 75) and pH (Ameli, claim 109).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Ameli (Ameli, et al., WO 2020/252069A1; Published 12/17/2020).
The separation scheme of Ameli is discussed above.
Regarding claim 3, Ameli is silent that the method of Ameli would reduce HMW aggregates by at least 50% compared to before loading onto the AEX support. However, as evidenced by the instant Specification it would be expected that performing the method of Ameli (Specification at page 5, lines 13-19), would inherently reduce HMW aggregates by at least 50% compared to the composition loaded onto the AEX support (Specification, p 6, lines 21-24).
Regarding claim 4, Ameli is silent that the method of Ameli would result in antibody recovery in the flow through that is 95% or more. However, as evidenced by the instant Specification it would be expected that performing the method of Ameli (Specification at page 5, lines 13-19), would inherently result in antibody recovery in the flow through that is 95% or more (Specification, p 7, lines 10-11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ameli (Ameli, et al., WO 2020/252069A1; Published 12/17/2020) as applied to claims 1-2 and 5-7 and above and in further consideration of the Ameli reference.
The teachings of Ameli are discussed above. In addition to the teachings of Ameli discussed above, Ameli teaches that a primary recovery precedes the AEX unit operation, wherein the primary employs pH reduction, centrifugation and filtration steps to remove cells and cell debris from the bioreactor harvest (Ameli, p 32, lines 24-32). Ameli also teaches that one such filtration process is tangential flow filtration (Ameli, p 35, lines 27-34).
Ameli does not explicitly teach that the antibody composition is subjected to a tangential flow filtration step prior to contacting with the AEX resin.
It would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to subject the antibody solution of Ameli to a TFF step prior to contacting the antibody solution of Ameli with the AEX resin. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do this in order to remove the cells and cell debris from the solution prior to contacting the solution with the AEX resin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success subjecting the solution of Ameli to a TFF step prior to contacting the antibody solution of Ameli with the AEX resin to remove the cells/cell debris because Ameli teaches that a filtration step is performed prior to contacting the antibody solution of Ameli with the AEX resin to remove cells/cell debris and TFF is one of the filtration methods taught by Ameli.
Conclusion
Claims 1-8 are rejected.
Claims 1 and 7 are objected to.
No claims are allowed.
/SYDNEY VAN DRUFF/ Examiner, Art Unit 1643
/JULIE WU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1643