DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed July 30, 2026 has been entered. Claim 2 is cancelled. Claims 1 and 3-12 are pending examination.
The previous objection to claim 5 has been withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment filed July 30, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 3-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the recitation “ to obtain said beverage, which comprises: a mass of fruit juice concentrate of between 15-25% of the total mass of said beverage, a mass of vitamins, wherein said vitamins comprise vitamin E, thiamine, niacin, vitamin B6 and biotin, of between 3-6 mg per 100 ml of said beverage” renders the claim indefinite.”
The method requires first preparing a mixture of concentrated fruit juice, concentrated elderberry juice, a first volume of water and a vitamin mass to obtain a compound; and second mixing one liter of water with 45-65 g of compound and 90 to 110 g of honey to obtain a beverage. This means, in the case where the beverage is made with 1000 g of water (1 liter), 50 g of compound and 100 g of honey, the resulting beverage would comprise about 4.3% of the compound. Given the compound comprises both fruit juice concentrate, elderberry concentrate, a volume of water and a vitamin mass, the beverage would comprise less than 4.5% fruit juice concentrate. It is not clear how the mass of fruit juice concentrate could be between 15-25% of the total mass of said beverage.
Claims 3-12 are rejected as being dependent from a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zohethofer (WO 2009/053802 – Clarivate Analytics English translation) in view of Dince (US 2009/0029010), Kamcharov et al. (US 2020/0077682) and Cokgezme et al. (“Performance analyses for evaporation of pomegranate juice in ohmic heating assisted vacuum system”, Journal of Food Engineering, 207, (2017), pp. 1-9) as evidenced by Ischayek et al. (“US Honeys Varying in Glucose and Fructose Content Elicit Similar Glycemic Indexes”, Journal of the American Dietetic Association, (2006), pp. 1260- 1262).
Regarding claims 1m 3-5 and 12, Zohethofer discloses a functional drink comprising red berry fruits (e.g., elderberry, blueberry and currant), citric acid, fructose, red wine polyphenol extract, green tea extract, vitamin E, vitamin C, niacin and resveratrol (Abstract, p.3/Description, p. 4-5/Example of favorable recipe). Zohethofer discloses the functional drink is made by a process of (a) providing the following ingredients:
20 g. currant juice concentrate,
14 g. elderberry juice concentrate,
110 g. fructose
7 g citric acid
1 g l-carnitine,
200 mg red wine grape polyphenol extract,
200 mg green tea extract,
120 mg vitamin C,
199 mg resveratrol,
36 mg niacin,
36 mg vitamin E,
4 mg. ubiquinone coenzyme Q, and
1.5 µg selenium
and (b) combining the ingredients with water to make 1 kg of a functional beverage (p 4-5/Example of favorable recipe).
While Zohethofer disclose obtaining concentrated fruit juice and concentrated elderberry juice, the reference does not disclose orange juice concentrate or lemon juice concentrate.
Dince teaches an organic sports drink comprising rice syrup, agave nectar, fruit juice concentrate and electrolytes (Abstract, [0013]). Dince teaches the fruit juice concentrate supplies not only additional sugars but also organoleptically pleasing flavors ([0013]). Dince teaches the fruit juice concentrate is chosen based on desired flavor and can include orange juice concentrate and lemon juice concentrate ([0013]).
Zohethofer and Dince are combinable because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely functional beverages comprising fruit juice concentrate. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to have added both lemon juice and orange juice concentrates, as taught by Dince, to the functional beverage of Zohethofer to obtain a beverage with desired and organoleptically pleasing flavors.
While the combination of Dince and Zohethofer disclose a functional drink comprising concentrated fruit juice and concentrated elderberry, the references does not teach how the juices are concentrated.
Cokgezme et al. teach a method of concentrating pomegranate juice (i.e., fruit juice) by: (a) obtaining and cleaning fruit; (b) pressing the fruit using a pressing machine to obtain juice; (c) applying an evaporation process including ohmic heating assisted vacuum evaporation (OVE) until 40% total solids content (i.e., at least 30% of the water volume of the fruit juice) to obtain a concentrated fruit juice (p. 2-3/2.2 Evaporation methods).
Given the combination of Zohethofer and Dince disclose the use of concentrated fruit juices in functional beverages, since Cokgezme et al. teach it was known to prepare fruit juice concentrates, wherein at least 30% of the volume of water is removed, comprising the steps of pressing fruit to obtain juice and using evaporation to concentrate the juice, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to have prepared the concentrated currant juice and concentrated elderberry juice of Zohethofer using the concentration process described by Cokgezme with a reasonable expectation of success.
Zohethofer disclose a functional beverage comprising about 34.2 grams of a combination of elderberry juice concentrate, fruit juice concentrate and vitamins per liter of beverage (i.e., mass of said compound). The reference does not teach a mass of said compound of between 45-65g for each liter of water or wherein said mass of fruit juice and said mass of elderberry juice of said beverage is between 18-25% of the total mass of said beverage.. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to adjust, in routine processing, the amount of elderberry juice concentrate, currant juice concentrate and vitamins (i.e. mass of said compound) to obtain a functional beverage with a desired flavor profile and level of healthful characteristics.
Zohethofer is silent with respect to honey, adding the honey after diluting the ingredients in water and carbonating the functional beverage.
Kamcharov et al. teach a healthful beverage sweetened with sugars derived from natural sources wherein the sugars include: refined white sugar, unrefined or partly refined sugar, honey, fructose, glucose, glucose-fructose syrups, syrups derived from fruits and plant extracts (Abstract, [0097]-[0101]).
Zohethofer and Kamcharov et al. are combinable because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely functional beverages. Given Kamcharov et al. teach the interchangeability of natural sugars, such as fructose and honey, to sweeten a functional beverage, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to have replaced fructose with honey in the functional beverage of Zohethofer. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because both fructose and honey are known natural sugars for sweetening functional beverages. Moreover, the person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to adjust, in routine, processing the amount of added honey, to obtain a beverage with the desired sweetness.
Moreover, while Zohethofer does not disclose adding sweetener after diluting a combination of fruit juice concentrates and vitamins in water, selection of any order of adding ingredients is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results (MPEP §2144.04 IV.C).
As evidenced by Ischayek et al., the range of glucose and fructose content in U.S. honey falls within the claimed ranges (i.e., glucose in an amount of about 36 g/100 g total sugars and fructose in an amount of about 41 g/100 g. total sugars - see Buckwheat honey – p. 1261/Table 1; wherein the total amount of sugars = 85.66 g).
Kamcharov et al. teach healthful beverages sweetened with honey and comprising fruit juice concentrates wherein the beverage can be carbonated or noncarbonated ([0038]-[0039], [0097]-[0101). Kamcharov et al. teach the beve0rage is carbonated by adding 6.2 g/l carbon dioxide ([0221]/Table 11).
Zohethofer and Kamcharov et al. are combinable because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely functional beverages. Given Kamcharov et al. teach it was known to carbonate or not carbonate healthful beverages, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to have carbonated the functional beverage of Zohethofer to obtain a product with a desired sensation of carbonation.
While Zohethofer discloses adding vitamins, the reference is silent with respect to thiamine, biotin, vitamin B6 and vitamin B12. .
Kamcharov et al. teach a healthful beverage comprising honey, concentrated fruit juice and vitamins wherein the vitamins comprise vitamin A, vitamin D, vitamin E, vitamin K, vitamin C, thiamine, riboflavin, niacin, vitamin B6, folic acid, vitamin B12, biotin and pantothenic acid ([0023]).
Zohethofer and Kamcharov et al. are combinable because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely functional beverages. Given Zohethofer disclose a functional beverage comprising vitamins, and Kamcharov et al. teach it was known to add vitamins such as thiamine, biotin, vitamin B6 and B12 to functional beverages, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to have added the additional vitamins taught by Kamcharov et al. to the functional beverage of Zohethofer to make the beverage more healthful. Moreover, one of ordinary skill in the art would have adjusted, in routine processing, the amount of vitamins to add to the beverage based on a desired nutritional profile.
Regarding claim 6, modified Zohethofer discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Zohethofer discloses a functional beverage with vitamins, the reference is silent with respect to minerals including zinc.
Kamcharov et al. teach a healthful beverage comprising honey, concentrated fruit juice vitamins and minerals ([0028], [0109]). Kamcharov et al. teach wherein the minerals include zinc ([0029],[0109]).
Zohethofer and Kamcharov et al. are combinable because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely functional beverages. Given Zohethofer disclose a functional beverage comprising zinc, and Kamcharov et al. teach it was known to add bioactive compounds (e.g., vitamins) to functional beverages, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to have added zinc as taught by Kamcharov et al. to the functional beverage of Zohethofer to make the beverage more healthful. Moreover, one of ordinary skill in the art would have adjusted, in routine processing, the amount of vitamins to add to the beverage based on a desired nutritional profile.
Regarding claims 7-11, modified Zohethofer discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Kamcharov et al. teach honey, the reference is silent with respect to the pH and amino acid, free acid, hydroxymethylfurfural (HMF), amino acid and polyphenol content.
Given Kamcharov et al. teach honey, inherently the honey would comprise the claimed pH and amino acid, free acid, hydroxymethylfurfural (HMF), amino acid and polyphenol content.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 30, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Rejection under 35 U.S.C. §112 (b)-
Applicant find “the Action’s arithmetic conflates the mass of the fruit juice concentrate ingredient added during the method with the mass of fruit juice that the concentrate contributes to the beverage upon reconstitution.” Applicant submits the specification consistently expresses juice content in the final beverage as reconstituted juice equivalent- for example, stating the “the beverage comprises a mass of orange juice between 15-25% of the total mass of said beverage.”
Here, claim 1 requires “a mass of fruit juice concentrate of between 18-25% of the total mass of said beverage. Claim 1 does require an amount of fruit juice but rather an amount of fruit juice concentrate. Moreover, no where in the specification is the term “reconstituted juice equivalent” used.
Rejection under 35 U.S.C. §103-
Applicant submit “[t]he combined teachings of all four cited references fail to disclose or suggest the claimed method in which orange juice concentrate, lemon juice concentrate and concentrated elderberry juice are all present together as components of a single beverage.”
Applicant is directed to the new grounds of rejection set forth above in view of Dince (US 2009/0029010).
Applicant argues “the Action’s reliance on Ischayek to establish that U.S. Buckwheat honey inherently satisfies the claimed glucose range of 33-36 g/100 g of total sugars is inaccurate since Table 1 of Ischayek actually reports buckwheat honey glucose content as 32.0 g/100 g.”
Table 1 of Ischayek et al. reports the total amount of carbohydrates to be 85.66 g/100 g wherein 32 g. of the 85.66 g total carbohydrate is glucose. Therefore, Ischayek et al. reports the amount of glucose per 100 g. of total sugars (i.e., carbohydrate) is equal to 32 g/85.66 g or 36 g/100 g. total carbohydrates.
Applicant submits the specification discloses objective evidence of an unexpected result directly associate with the claimed beverage formulation. Specifically, blood glucose assimilation in subjects who consumed the beverage according to the invention averaged approximately 20 mg/dl at thirty minutes after intake, compared to approximately 40 mg/dl for a commercially available carbonated beverage. Applicant claims there is a “nexus” between the blood glucose assimilation and the claimed invention.
The evidence of an unexpected results (e.g., Fig. 1) is not a comparison with the closest prior art. It is not clear that is unexpected that a measurement of glycemia would be less for a beverage comprising natural sweeteners from honey versus Fanta which comprises high fructose corn syrup. There is not a clear nexus between blood glucose assimilation and the claimed invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-Liu et al. (CN 106721692 A – Clarivate Analytics equivalent abstract in English) teaches a beverage comprising fruit juice concentrate and honey wherein the fruit juice concentrate comprises lemon, peach, blueberry and rose concentrated juices (Abstract).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ELIZABETH A. GWARTNEY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1759
/ELIZABETH GWARTNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759