Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 01/25/2024, 05/14/2025 and 09/30/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,3-5 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada (JP2014220948) in view of Ozaki (WO2012114901).
As to independent claim 1, Yamada teaches an electric generator comprising generator, comprising: a coil element including element, including: a magnetic core (20) that causes a magnetic flux change in an axial direction, and two or more windings (26) that are each helically wound around the magnetic core in such a manner that each of the two or more windings (26) is adjcent to the other winding in the axial direction of the magnetic core (20) as shown in figures 1-9, see paragraph [0013-0060].
However Yamada teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except
independent windings each capable of being electrically separated from the other winding.
Ozaki teaches independent windings each capable of being electrically separated from the other winding (see paragraphs [0038-0040], for the advantageous benefit of providing an electric vehicle that can avoid vehicle traveling problems by means of early detection of short circuit abnormalities of a motor coil.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Yamada by using independent windings each capable of being electrically separated from the other winding, as taught by Ozaki, to provide an electric vehicle that can avoid vehicle traveling problems by means of early detection of short circuit abnormalities of a motor coil.
As to claim 3/1, Yamada teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the coil element includes two or more switch mechanisms that are provided to two or more windings and are capable of switching between a connected state and a disconnected state with/from an external circuit.
However Ozaki teaches the coil element includes two or more switch mechanisms that are provided to two or more windings and are capable of switching between a connected state and a disconnected state with/from an external circuit (see paragraphs [0038-0040]), for the advantageous benefit of providing an electric vehicle that can avoid vehicle traveling problems by means of early detection of short circuit abnormalities of a motor coil.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Yamada by using the coil element includes two or more switch mechanisms that are provided to two or more windings and are capable of switching between a connected state and a disconnected state with/from an external circuit, as taught by Ozaki, to provide an electric vehicle that can avoid vehicle traveling problems by means of early detection of short circuit abnormalities of a motor coil.
As to claim 4/3, Yamada teaches wherein the coil element includes a plurality of coil elements corresponding to a plurality of phases as shown in figures 1-9 and (see paragraph s [0013-0060],
However Yamada in view of Ozaki teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the switch mechanisms are capable of switching between the connected state and the disconnected state for each portion of the two or more windings, each portion corresponding to each phase.
Ozaki teaches the switch mechanisms are capable of switching between the connected state and the disconnected state for each portion of the two or more windings, each portion corresponding to each phase (see paragraph s [0038-0060]), for the advantageous benefit of providing an electric vehicle that can avoid vehicle traveling problems by means of early detection of short circuit abnormalities of a motor coil.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Yamada in view of Ozaki by using the switch mechanisms are capable of switching between the connected state and the disconnected state for each portion of the two or more windings, each portion corresponding to each phase, as taught by Ozaki, to provide an electric vehicle that can avoid vehicle traveling problems by means of early detection of short circuit abnormalities of a motor coil.
As to claim 5/3, Yamada in view of Ozaki teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein in a case where a sign of a short-circuit or a short-circuit between windings is detected, the switch mechanism switches the connected state of at least one winding to the disconnected state.
Ozaki teaches a case where a sign of a short-circuit or a short-circuit between windings is detected, the switch mechanism switches the connected state of at least one winding to the disconnected state (see paragraphs [0038-0040]), for the advantageous benefit of providing an electric vehicle that can avoid vehicle traveling problems by means of early detection of short circuit abnormalities of a motor coil.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Yamada in view of Ozaki by using a case where a sign of a short-circuit or a short-circuit between windings is detected, the switch mechanism switches the connected state of at least one winding to the disconnected state, as taught by Ozaki, to provide an electric vehicle that can avoid vehicle traveling problems by means of early detection of short circuit abnormalities of a motor coil.
As to independent claim 16, Yamada teaches coil element, comprising: a magnetic core that causes a magnetic flux change in an axial direction; and two or more windings (26) that are each helically wound around the magnetic core (tooth portion 20) in such a manner that each of the two or more windings (26) is adjacent to the other winding in the axial direction of the magnetic core (20) as shown in figures 1-9 and see paragraphs [0013-0060].
However Yamada teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except
independent windings each capable of being electrically separated from the other winding.
Ozaki teaches independent windings each capable of being electrically separated from the other winding (see paragraphs [0038-0040], for the advantageous benefit of providing an electric vehicle that can avoid vehicle traveling problems by means of early detection of short circuit abnormalities of a motor coil.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Yamada by using independent windings each capable of being electrically separated from the other winding, as taught by Ozaki, to provide an electric vehicle that can avoid vehicle traveling problems by means of early detection of short circuit abnormalities of a motor coil.
As to independent claim 17, Yamada teaches a motor comprising motor comprising: a magnetic core that causes a magnetic flux change in an axial direction; and two or more windings (26) that are each helically wound around the magnetic core (tooth portion 20) in such a manner that each of the two or more windings (26) is adjacent to the other winding in the axial direction of the magnetic core (20) as shown in figures 1-9 and see paragraphs [0013-0060].
However Yamada teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except
independent windings each capable of being electrically separated from the other winding.
Ozaki teaches independent windings each capable of being electrically separated from the other winding (see paragraphs [0038-0040], for the advantageous benefit of providing an electric vehicle that can avoid vehicle traveling problems by means of early detection of short circuit abnormalities of a motor coil.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Yamada by using independent windings each capable of being electrically separated from the other winding, as taught by Ozaki, to provide an electric vehicle that can avoid vehicle traveling problems by means of early detection of short circuit abnormalities of a motor coil.
Claim(s) 6-7, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada (JP2014220948) and Ozaki (WO2012114901) as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Cullen (WO2005011078).
As to claim 6/1, Yamada in view of Ozaki teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein a case where a sign of a short-circuit or a short-circuit between windings is detected, current to cancel a magnetic flux change caused in the magnetic core is supplied to at least one winding.
However Cullen teaches a case where a sign of a short-circuit or a short-circuit between windings is detected, current to cancel a magnetic flux change caused in the magnetic core is supplied to at least one winding (see paragraph [0016]), for the advantageous benefit of preventing dangerous overheating and degradation of the machine, during electric short circuit condition reliably by simple process.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Yamada in view of Ozaki by using a case where a sign of a short-circuit or a short-circuit between windings is detected, current to cancel a magnetic flux change caused in the magnetic core is supplied to at least one winding, as taught by Cullen, to prevent dangerous overheating and degradation of the machine, during electric short circuit condition reliably by simple process.
As to claim 7/1, Yamada in view of Ozaki teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except further comprising a detector that detects a sign of a short-circuit or a short-circuit between windings.
However Cullen teaches a detector that detects a sign of a short-circuit or a short-circuit between windings (see paragraph [0016]), for the advantageous benefit of preventing dangerous overheating and degradation of the machine, during electric short circuit condition reliably by simple process.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Yamada in view of Ozaki by using a detector that detects a sign of a short-circuit or a short-circuit between windings, as taught by Cullen, to prevent dangerous overheating and degradation of the machine, during electric short circuit condition reliably by simple process.
As to claims 14/7 and 15/7, Yamada, Ozaki in view of Cullen teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the detector detects a sign of a short-circuit or a short-circuit during electricity generation by the electric generator.
However Collen teaches the detector detects a sign of a short-circuit or a short-circuit during electricity generation by the electric generator (see paragraph [0016]), for the advantageous benefit of preventing dangerous overheating and degradation of the machine, during electric short circuit condition reliably by simple process.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Yamada, Ozaki in view of Collen by using the detector detects a sign of a short-circuit or a short-circuit during electricity generation by the electric generator, as taught by Cullen, to prevent dangerous overheating and degradation of the machine, during electric short circuit condition reliably by simple process.
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada (JP2014220948) in view of Ozaki (WO2012114901) and LIU (US PG Pub 2019/0047704).
As to independent claim 18, Yamada teaches an electric generator comprising generator, comprising: a coil element including element, including: a magnetic core (20) that causes a magnetic flux change in an axial direction, and two or more windings (26) that are each helically wound around the magnetic core in such a manner that each of the two or more windings (26) is adjcent to the other winding in the axial direction of the magnetic core (20) as shown in figures 1-9, see paragraph [0013-0060].
However Yamada teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except
an aircraft and independent windings each capable of being electrically separated from the other winding.
LIU teaches an aircraft as shown in figure 7-12, for the advantageous benefit of improving an energy density of an electric supply apparatus.
Ozaki teaches independent windings each capable of being electrically separated from the other winding (see paragraphs [0038-0040], for the advantageous benefit of providing an electric vehicle that can avoid vehicle traveling problems by means of early detection of short circuit abnormalities of a motor coil.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Yamada by using an aircraft and independent windings each capable of being electrically separated from the other winding, as taught by LIU and Ozaki, to improve an energy density of an electric supply apparatus and provide an electric vehicle that can avoid vehicle traveling problems by means of early detection of short circuit abnormalities of a motor coil.
As to independent claim 19, Yamada teaches an electric generator comprising generator, comprising: a coil element including element, including: a magnetic core (20) that causes a magnetic flux change in an axial direction, and two or more windings (26) that are each helically wound around the magnetic core in such a manner that each of the two or more windings (26) is adjcent to the other winding in the axial direction of the magnetic core (20) as shown in figures 1-9, see paragraph [0013-0060].
However Yamada teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except
an aircraft and independent windings each capable of being electrically separated from the other winding.
LIU teaches an aircraft as shown in figure 7-12, for the advantageous benefit of improving an energy density of an electric supply apparatus.
Ozaki teaches independent windings each capable of being electrically separated from the other winding (see paragraphs [0038-0040], for the advantageous benefit of providing an electric vehicle that can avoid vehicle traveling problems by means of early detection of short circuit abnormalities of a motor coil.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Yamada by using an aircraft and independent windings each capable of being electrically separated from the other winding, as taught by LIU and Ozaki, to improve an energy density of an electric supply apparatus and provide an electric vehicle that can avoid vehicle traveling problems by means of early detection of short circuit abnormalities of a motor coil.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 8-13 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Note: Claim 2 depends claim 1, claim 8 depends claim 7, claims 9, 12-13 depends claim 8, claims 10-11 depends claim 9.
Conclusion
/JOSE A GONZALEZ QUINONES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834 September 19, 2026