DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al (JP 2017-21190A) (the reference and translation copies were provided in the 2/1/24 IDS) and Kanda et al (US 7,151,877 B2).
Tanaka teaches:
Claim 1: A fusion splicer (20, Fig. 3) comprising:
an optical fiber holder (21, 22) holding an optical fiber (10);
a rotation mechanism (part of 21) rotating the optical fiber holder around an axis extending along the optical fiber (10) (P0039);
a bending portion bending the optical fiber (10) (P0034, 0036);
a light source (31) allowing light from the side of the optical fiber (10) to be incident on the optical fiber bent by the bending portion (P0034, 0036); and
a power supply unit (part of 31) supplying power to the light source (31),
wherein a tip of the optical fiber (10) protrudes from an end of the optical fiber holder (21, 22) (see Fig. 3),
wherein the rotation mechanism (part of 21) is disposed on the opposite side of the end of the optical fiber holder (21, 22) in the axial direction extending along the optical fiber (10) (see Fig. 3),
wherein the bending portion and the light source (31) are disposed on the opposite side of the optical fiber holder (21, 22) interposing the rotation mechanism in the axial direction (see Figs. 3, 4; P0032, 0046).
Claim 4: The fusion splicer according to claim 1, comprising a reflection portion (the cladding 12 of one fiber reflects the light to the next fiber) reflecting light from the light source (31) toward the optical fiber (P0046).
Tanaka does not teach expressly wherein the bending portion includes a bending adjustment unit adjusting a bending amount of the optical fiber:
Claim 3: The fusion splicer according to claim 1, wherein the optical fiber holder has a pressure adjustment unit adjusting pressure applied to the optical fiber.
Kanda teaches a bending portion (21) including a bending adjustment unit (50) for adjusting a bending amount of an optical fiber(s) for fusion splicing (C5 L63 – C6 L18).
Bending the optical fibers with inherently increase the pressure applied to that portion of the fiber so the bending members (21) and the bending adjustment unit (50) together with the tensile strength of the fiber will “adjust pressure applied to the optical fiber”.
Tanaka and Kanda are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, optical fiber fusion splicers.
At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the fusion splicer of Tanaka to include a bending and pressure adjustment units as taught by Kanda.
The motivation for doing so would have been to allow for better alignment of the fiber ends to be spliced.
Tanaka and Kanda does not state:
Claim 2: The fusion splicer according to claim 1, further comprising a light source adjustment unit adjusting power supplied to the light source.
The limitation “adjusting power supplied to the light source” is broad enough to cover turning the light source off and on as being adjusting power supplied to the light source.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to try turning a light source on and off as needed, since it has been held that “it is obvious to try - choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success” is a rationale for arriving at a conclusion of obviousness. In re KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. Turning an LED source on and off is clearly predictable and would succeed in Tanaka and Kanda.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka and Kanda as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hattori et al (US 6,668,128 B2).
Tanaka and Kanda teach the fusion splicer previously discussed.
Tanaka and Kanda do not teach expressly:
Claim 5: The fusion splicer according to claim 1, further comprising a holder stand with the optical fiber holder mounted on;
wherein the optical fiber holder is detachable from the holder stand.
Hattori teaches an optical fiber fusion splicer with a holder stand (4) with an optical fiber holder (3) mounted on and wherein the optical fiber holder (3) is detachable from the holder stand (4) (C6 L59 – C7 L31).
Tanaka, Kanda and Hattori are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, optical fiber fusion splicers.
At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the fusion splicer of Tanaka and Kanda to include an optical fiber holder as taught by Hattori.
The motivation for doing so would have been to better support the fiber so the fiber(s) do not move during the splicing process.
Contact Information
/RYAN A LEPISTO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874