DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Binder (US 2010/0186234 A1) in view of Zelickson et al. (US 2014/0202493 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Binder teaches a shaving unit for an electric shaver, comprising one or more hair-cutting units, a lighting module (see at least figures 5 and 12) and a supporting member supporting the one or more hair-cutting units and the lighting module (see at least figures 5 and 12), wherein the lighting module comprises:
one or more infrared or near-infrared (NIR) lighting elements (123a; see paragraphs [0102], [0109]);
a skin-facing light output surface (see abstract of Binder) via which IR or NIR light generated by the IR or NIR lighting elements is exposed to skin during operation of the shaving unit (see at least figures 5 and 12), said light output surface being made from an optically transmissive material and being arranged for contacting the skin during operation of the shaving unit (see paragraphs [0102], [0109])) , and said IR or NIR lighting elements (123a, 123b) being arranged in thermally conductive contact with the light output surface via a thermally conductive pathway in the lighting module (see at least figures 5 and 12);
one or more visible lighting elements (123a, 123b; see at least figures 5 and 12) for generating visible light in optical communication with the light output surface and
an optical arrangement (55; see paragraph [0080]) for creating a visible light output provided by the visible lighting elements (123a, 123b) at the light output surface;
wherein the light output surface (see figure 5) comprises:
one or more proximate areas (see at least figure 5)) each comprising an area of an imaginary projection (see at least figure 5 and 12) of a respective one of the visible lighting elements (123a, 123b) onto the light output surface; and
a main area (see at least figure 5) excluding the one or more proximate areas;
and wherein the optical arrangement (55) comprises:
a light guiding arrangement (see paragraph [0025]) configured to guide the visible light generated by the visible lighting elements (123a, 123b) to the main area (see at least figure 5) of the light output surface (see at least figure 5); and
one or more light attenuating elements (see at least figure 5) each being arranged between a respective one of the visible lighting elements (123a, 123b) and the proximate area (see at least figure 5) of the light output surface (see at least figure 5) associated with said respective one of the visible lighting elements (123a, 123b).
Binder does not explicitly teach the visible lighting elements being arranged and controlled for activation together with activation of the IR or IR lighting elements for providing a visible indication of the activation of the IR or NIR lighting elements.
Zelickson et al. teaches the visible lighting elements (red LED; paragraph [0144]) being arranged and controlled for activation together with activation of the IR or IR lighting elements (infrared LED matrix; paragraph [0144]) for providing a visible indication of the activation of the IR or NIR lighting elements (paragraph [0144]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date to modify the device of Binder to include a visible lighting element arranged and controlled for activation together with activation of the IR or IR lighting elements as taught by Zelickson et al. to generate a uniform intensity (see paragraph [0144] of Zelickson et al.).
Regarding claim 2, Binder teaches the shaving unit as claimed in claim 1, wherein the one or more infrared or near-infrared (NIR) lighting elements (see paragraph [0109]) and the one or more visible lighting elements comprise LEDs (123a, 123b; paragraph [0109]).
Regarding claim 3, Binder teaches the shaving unit as claimed in claim 1 wherein the light guiding arrangement (see at least figures 5 and 12 and paragraph [0025]) comprises a light guiding member arranged to guide the visible light generated by the visible lighting elements in a guiding direction having a main directional component parallel to the light output surface (see at least figures 5 and 12), and wherein the light guiding member comprises light outcoupling elements configured for coupling the visible light out of the light guiding member in a direction towards the light output surface (see at least figures 5 and 12).
Regarding claim 4, Binder teaches the shaving unit G9) as claimed in claim 3, wherein the one or more visible lighting elements (123a and 123b) comprise a side-view LED arranged to introduce the visible light into the light guiding member via an edge surface of the light guiding member (see at least figures 5 and 12).
Regarding claim 5, Binder teaches the shaving unit as claimed in claim 1, wherein the one or more light attenuating elements (see at least figures 5 and 12) each comprise a layer of a light attenuating material (see at least figures 5 and 12).
Regarding claim 6, Binder teaches the shaving unit as claimed in claim 1, wherein the lighting module comprises a PCB (paragraph [0143]), wherein the IR or NIR lighting elements (123a and 123b) are mounted on a first main surface of the PCB facing the light output surface, and wherein the visible lighting elements are mounted on the first main surface and/or on a second main surface of the PCB opposite to the first main surface (see at least paragraph [0102]).
Regarding claim 7, Binder teaches the shaving unit as claimed in claim 6, wherein:
the visible lighting elements (see paragraph [0102]) are mounted on the first main surface of the PCB;
the light guiding arrangement (see at least figures 5 and 12) comprises a light guiding member (see at least figures 5 and 12) arranged on the first main surface (see at least figures 5 and 12)) of the PCB to guide the visible light generated by the visible lighting elements (123a, 123b) in a guiding direction having a main directional component parallel to the light output surface;
the light guiding member (see at least figures 5 and 12) comprises light outcoupling elements configured for coupling the visible light out of the light guiding member in a direction towards the light output surface (see at least figures 5 and 12);
and the one or more light attenuating elements (see at least figures 5 and 12) each comprise a layer of light attenuating material (see at least figures 5 and 12).
Regarding claim 8, Binder teaches the shaving unit as claimed in claim 7, wherein the light guiding member (see at least figures 5 and 12) comprises a light guiding sheet (see at least figures 5 and 12) arranged on the first main surface of the PCB (see at least figures 5 and 12) and the one or more light attenuating elements (see at least figures 5 and 7) each comprise an opaque ink layer (see at least figure 5 and 12) provided on an optically transparent carrying sheet (see at least figures 5 and 12) arranged on the light guiding sheet (see at least figures 5 and 12).
Regarding claim 9, Binder teaches the shaving unit as claimed in claim 6, wherein:
the visible lighting elements are mounted on the second main surface of the PCB (see figures 5 and 12), the one or more light attenuating elements each being formed by a respective portion of the PCB on which the respective one of the visible lighting elements (123a, 123b) is arranged;
the light guiding arrangement (see at least figures 5 and 12) comprises light guiding and/or light reflecting portions of a housing of the lighting module; and
said light guiding and/or light reflecting portions are arranged for guiding and/or reflecting the visible light generated by the visible lighting elements (123a, 123b) on the second main surface (see at least figures 5 and 12) of the PCB towards the light output surface (see at least figures 5 and 12).
Regarding claim 10, Binder teaches the shaving unit as claimed in claim 9, wherein the light guiding and/or light reflecting portions (see at least figures 5 and 12) of the housing of the lighting module (see at least figures 5 and 12) are arranged to co-operate with further light guiding and/or light reflecting portions of the hair-cutting units (15)) and/or the supporting member for guiding and/or reflecting the visible light generated by the visible lighting elements (123a, 123b) on the second main surface of the PCB towards the light output surface (see at least figure 5 and 12).
Regarding claim 11, Binder teaches the shaving unit as claimed in claim 9, wherein the housing of the lighting module (see at least figures 5 and 12) is integrally made from the optically transmissive material (see at least figures 5 and 12)and comprises an upper wall and side walls, wherein said upper wall comprises the light output surface (see at least figures 5 and 12), and wherein said upper wall and said side walls comprise the light guiding and/or reflecting portions of the housing of the lighting module (see at least figures 5 and 12).
Regarding claim 12, Binder teaches the shaving unit as claimed in claim 6, wherein the thermally conductive pathway comprises an optically transmissive potting material 49) that covers the first main surface (42) of the PCB thereby encapsulating the IR or NIR lighting elements (62) and also the visible lighting elements (64) if mounted on the first main surface 42) of the PCB.
Regarding claim 13, Binder teaches the shaving unit as claimed in claim 12, wherein the potting material (see at least figures 5 and 12) also covers the second main surface of the PCB (see paragraph [0088]) thereby also encapsulating the visible lighting elements (123a, 123b) if mounted on the second main surface of the PCB.
Regarding claim 14, Binder teaches the shaving unit as claimed in claim 12, wherein the lighting module (see figures 5 and 12) comprises a cavity (see at least figures 5 and 12) which is covered by an optically transmissive upper wall of the lighting module (see figures 5 and 12) that comprises the light output surface, wherein the PCB (paragraph [0088]) is arranged in said cavity, and wherein the potting material (see figures 5 and 12) extends between the first main surface of the PCB and the upper wall of the lighting module (see at least figure 5 and 12).
Regarding claim 15, Binder teaches the shaving unit as claimed in claim 3, wherein the shaving unit (see at least figures 5 and 12) comprises a first, a second and a third hair-cutting unit arranged in a triangular configuration, and wherein the lighting module (see at least figures 5 and 12) comprises:
a central group (see at least figure 5) of lighting elements arranged in a central area of the shaving unit between the first, second and third hair-cutting units and comprising a central IR or NIR lighting element (see paragraph [0109]) and at least three central visible lighting elements (see at least figures 5 and 12); and
a first, a second and a third peripheral group of lighting elements (see at least figures 5 and 12) arranged in, respectively, a first, a second and a third peripheral area of the shaving unit between, respectively, the first and the second hair-cutting unit (see at least figures 5 and 12), and wherein the light guiding member (figure 5) comprises:
a first portion extending between a first one of the central visible lighting elements and the at least one peripheral visible lighting element of the first peripheral group of lighting elements (see at least figures 5 and 12 and paragraph [0102]);
a second portion extending between a second one of the central visible lighting elements and the at least one peripheral visible lighting element of the second peripheral group of lighting elements (see at least figures 5 and 12 and paragraph [0102]); and
a third portion extending between a third one of the central visible lighting elements and the at least one peripheral visible lighting element of the third peripheral group of lighting elements (see at least figures 5 and 12 and paragraph [0102]).
Regarding claim 16, Binder teaches an electric shaver (see figure 5) comprising:
a shaving unit (see electric shaver 60/120 in at least figure 5 and 12) as claimed in claim 1; and
a shaver main body (see at least figure 5 and 12) coupled to the shaving unit and comprising an electric motor (see paragraph [0104]) for driving the one or more hair-cutting units of the shaving unit (60/120; figures 5 and 12);
wherein the one or more hair-cutting units (15; figure 5) of the shaving unit each comprise an external cutting member with a plurality of hair-entry openings (see at least figure 5 and 12) and an internal cutting member with a plurality of cutting elements (15; see at least figure 5) covered by the external cutting member and movable, for example rotatable, relative to the external cutting member (15; figure 5).
Binder does not explicitly teach the first and the third hair-cutting unit, and the second and the third hair-cutting unit, and each comprising a peripheral IR or NIR lighting element and at least one peripheral visible lighting element.
Zelickson et al. teaches the peripheral visible lighting elements (red LED; paragraph [0144]) and a peripheral IR or NIR lighting element (infrared LED matrix; paragraph [0144]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date to modify the device of Binder to include a peripheral visible lighting element and a IR or NIR lighting elements as taught by Zelickson et al. to generate a uniform intensity (see paragraph [0144] of Zelickson et al.).
Regarding claim 17, Binder further teaches the electric shaver as claimed in claim 16, wherein the internal cutting member is rotatable relative to the external cutting member (see figure 5 and 12).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-16 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection necessitated by applicant’s argument of independent claim 1 and 16.
Conclusion
/JESSICA M APENTENG/Examiner, Art Unit 2875
/ABDULMAJEED AZIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2875