DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words. It is important that the abstract not exceed 150 words in length since the space provided for the abstract on the computer tape used by the printer is limited. The form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as "means" and "said," should be avoided. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, "The disclosure concerns," "The disclosure defined by this invention," "The disclosure describes," etc.
Extensive mechanical and design details of apparatus should not be given.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because in line 1, the abstract, recites the terms “…….is disclosed….”, which is improper claim language for the abstract. The applicant should delete the terms to provide the abstract with proper language. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for free ends of the third shielding layer not contacting any portion of the plurality of separate individual conductor sets along the length of the cable, does not reasonably provide enablement for “the electrically conductive first and second shielding films of each conductor set of the plurality of separate individual conductor sets is separate from and not in contact with the electrically conductive first and second shielding films of any other conductor set of the plurality of separate individual conductor sets” and/or “the multilayer third shielding film does not contact any portion of the plurality of separate individual conductor sets along the length of the cable”. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make the invention commensurate in scope with these claims. Specifically, it is unclear based on the drawings and the specification, how the shielded conductor sets themselves are placed inside the overall cable jacket without touching each other, without a filler or separators to keep them apart. It is also unclear how the shielded conductor sets are surrounded by a third shielded layer without having the third shielded layers making contact with the internal inserted conductor sets, again without having additional layers/fillers/separators that will isolate each set from each other and the third overall shielding layer. Based on the above, the specification/drawings doesn’t not enable such claim language and therefore cannot be claimed.
Claims 2-20 are depended upon rejected claim 1, and therefore are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vaupotic et al (Pat Num 7,790,981, herein referred to as Vaupotic) in view of Gundel (Pub Num 2012/0298395) and Gottfield et al (Pat Num 7,939,764, herein referred to as Gottfield). Vaupotic discloses a shielded electrical cable (Figs 1-8) that achieves low insertion loss performance (Col 1, lines 5-9). Specifically, with respect to claim 1, Vaupotic discloses a shielded electrical cable (400) comprising a plurality of separate individual conductor sets (410, 410, 410), wherein each conductor set (410, 410, 410) extending along a length of the cable (400) and comprising two or more insulated conductors (412, 412, 412), at least one uninsulated drain grounding wire (414) and an electrically conductive shielding film (416, 416, 416) disposed on opposite corresponding first and second sides (top and bottom) of the conductor set (412, 412, 412), wherein the electrically conductive shielding films (416) of each conductor set (410) of the plurality of separate individual conductive sets (410, 410, 410) is separate from and not in contact with the electrically conductive shielding film (416) of any other conductor set (410) of the plurality of separate individual conductive sets (410, 410, 410, i.e. each shielding layer 416 of each set 410 is surrounded by a tape layer 418 thereby isolating each shielding layer 416) and an electrically conductive multilayer third shielding film (426) that is wrapped at least once around the plurality of separate individual conductor sets (410, 410, 410) along the length of the cable (400) and comprising a conductive foil layer (Col 4, lines 60-63) surrounded by a braided sleeve surrounding the conductive foil layer (Col 4, lines 60-63), wherein the third shielding film (426) does not contact any portion of the plurality of separate individual conductor sets (410, 410, 410) along the length of the cable (400, i.e. the conductor sets are surrounded by a layer 424 prior to being surrounded with the shielding layer (426, Fig 4). With respect to claim 2, Vaupotic discloses that each conductor set (410, 410, 410) comprises two insulated conductors (412, 412) and an uninsulated grounding wire (414, Fig 4). With respect to claim 3, Vaupotic discloses that the plurality of separate individual sets (410, 410, 410) comprises at least three conductor sets (412, 412, 412). With respect to claim 8, Vaupotic discloses that the shielding film layer (416) may be copper or aluminum (i.e. Col 4, lines 12-15, both teach Al & Cu). With respect to claim 10, Vaupotic discloses that the shielding film layer (416) surrounds each conductor set (410, 410, 410) by encompassing at least 70% of a periphery of the conductor set (410, 410, 410, i.e. 100%, Fig 4). With respect to claims 11-14, Vaupotic discloses that the shielded electrical cable (400) has an round/circular/oval/elliptical cross section (Fig 4). With respect to claim 15, Vaupotic discloses that two or more insulated conductors (412, 412, 412) comprise a central conductor (110) surrounded by a dielectric material (112, as shown in Fig 1). With respect to claim 16, Vaupotic discloses that the dielectric material (112) may be made of polyolefins (polyethylene, polypropylene) and/or fluoropolymers (i.e. ETFE, FEP, PTFE, PFA, etc., Col 3, lines 55-62).
While Vaupotic discloses each of the conductor sets (410, 410, 410) being surrounded by a shielding layer (416, 416, 416), and an overall third shielding layer (426), Vaupotic doesn’t necessarily disclose the shielding layer comprising an electrically conductive first and second shielding films disposed on opposite corresponding first and second sides of the conductor set, the first and second shielding films including cover portions and pinched portions arranged such that, in a transverse cross-section, the cover portions of the first and second shielding films in combination substantially surround the conductor set, and the pinched portions of the first and second shielding films in combination form pinched portions of the conductor set on each side of the conductor set, each pinched portion comprising an edge extending along the length of the cable, nor the third shielding layer comprising a polymeric substrate layer; an electrically conductive third shielding layer disposed on the substrate layer and comprising a metal foil (claim 1), nor each conductor set comprising two uninsulated drain grounding wires disposed on opposite lateral sides of the two insulated conductors (claim 2), nor the plurality of separate individual conductor sets comprises at least four conductor sets (claim 3), nor the shielded electrical cable, wherein a wire diameter of each of the insulated conductors of each of the conductor sets is between AWG 26 and AWG 30 (claim 4), nor the nominal characteristic impedance being in the range of between about 40-60 ohms (claim 6), nor the edges of each of the conductor sets being not sealed (claim 9).
Gundel teaches a shielded electrical cable (Fig 1) that can be mass terminated and provides high speed electrical properties (Paragraph 2). Specifically, with respect to claim 1, Gundel teaches a shielded electrical cable (2) comprising a plurality of separate individual conductor sets (4, 4, 4, 4), each conductor set (4, 4, 4, 4) extending along a length of the cable (2) and comprising two or more insulated conductors (6, 6, 6, 6), at least one uninsulated drain grounding wire (12, 12) and electrically conductive first and second shielding films (top and bottom 8) disposed on opposite corresponding first and second sides (top and bottom) of the conductor set (4, 4, 4, 4), wherein the first and second shielding films (top and bottom 8) includes cover portions (7) and pinched portions (9) arranged such that, in a transverse cross-section, the cover portions (7) of the first and second shielding films (top and bottom 8) in combination substantially surround the conductor set (4, 4, 4, 4), and the pinched portions (9) of the first and second shielding films (top and bottom 8) in combination form pinched portions (9) of the conductor set on each side of the conductor set (4, 4, 4, 4, Fig 1), wherein each pinched portion (9) comprising an edge extending along the length of the cable (2, Fig 1), and an electrically conductive multilayer third shielding film (not shown) that may be wrapped at least once around the plurality of separate individual conductor sets (4, 4, 4, 4, Fig 1) along the length of the cable (2) and comprising a substrate layer (i.e. the top and bottom 8, may comprise conductive layers (708a, Fig 7a-7b) laminated to substrate layers (708b, Paragraph 73), and an electrically conductive third shielding layer disposed on the substrate layer (708b) which may be wrapped at least once around the plurality of separate individual conductor sets (4, 4, 4, 4) along the length of the cable (2, Paragraph 80). With respect to claim 2, Gundel teaches that each conductor set (4, 4, 4, 4) comprises two insulated conductors (6, 6) and two uninsulated drain grounding wires (12, 12) disposed on opposite lateral sides of the two insulated conductors (6, 6, Fig 1). With respect to 3, Gundel teaches that the plurality of separate individual conductor sets (4, 4, 4, 4) may comprises at least four conductor sets (Fig 1). With respect to claim 4, Gundel teaches that the wire diameter of each of the insulated conductors (6, 6) of each of the conductor sets (4, 4, 4, 4) may be between AWG 26 and AWG 30 (Paragraph 6). With respect to claim 6, Gundel teaches that each of the insulated conductors (6, 6) of each of the conductor sets (4, 4, 4, 4) has a nominal characteristic impedance in a range of between about 40 and about 60 ohms (Paragraph 104). With respect to claim 9, Gundel teaches that the edges (located adjacent 12) of each of the conductor sets (4, 4, 4, 4) may be not sealed (i.e. the bonding adhesive layer is optional, Paragraph 51). With respect to claim 10, Gundel discloses that the cover portions (7) of the first and second shielding films (top and bottom 8) of each conductor set (4, 4, 4, 4) in combination substantially surround the conductor set (4, 4, 4, 4) by encompassing at least 70% of a periphery of the conductor set (4, 4, 4, 4, Paragraph 45).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of cables at the time the invention was made to modify the shielded electrical cable of Vaupotic to comprise the conductor configuration as taught by Gundel because Gundel teaches that such a configuration provides a shielded electrical cable (Fig 1) that can be mass terminated and provides high speed electrical properties (Paragraph 2).
Vaupotic also doesn’t necessarily disclose the electrically conductive third shielding film being an electrically conductive multilayer third shielding film comprising an intumescent layer disposed on the substrate layer or electrically conductive third shielding layer and comprising an intumescent material and an electrically insulative braided sleeve disposed on the multilayer third shielding film along the length of the cable (claim 1), nor the third shielding film being helically wrapped around the plurality of separate individual conductor sets along the length of the cable (claim 18), nor the third shielding film is helically and overlappingly wrapped around the plurality of separate individual conductor sets along the length of the cable (claim 19), nor the third shielding film is longitudinally wrapped around the plurality of separate individual conductor sets so that opposing longitudinal edges of the third shielding film overlap to form an overlap seam along the length of the cable (claim 20).
Gotfried teaches a cable wrap system (Figs 1-4) for the protection of transmission wires (abstract), which is very flexible and easy to install, very durable, resistant to abrasion, impact, water, chemicals and all environment factors that may be present in cable installations (Col 10, lines 59-64), while also reducing or eliminating fire spread and the emission of smoke or toxic products of combustion and prevents the spread of cable failure to adjacent cables during insulation breakdown due to heat or arcing, environment factors or catastrophic cable failure (Col 1, lines 5-14). Specifically, with respect to claims 1 and 18-19, Gotfried teaches a cable (100, Fig 1-4) comprising a plurality of separate conductors (12) extending along a length of the cable (100) and an multilayer third shielding film (10) wrapped at least once around the plurality of conductors (12, Col 8, lines 17-19) along the length of the cable (100), wherein the film (10) comprises a substrate layer (52), an intumescent layer (42) disposed on the substrate (52) and an electrically insulative braided sleeve (32, i.e. woven, knitted, netted polyester) helically wrapped (i.e. Fig 4 shows overlapped helically edges) and disposed on the multilayer film (52 & 42) along the length of the cable (100, Col 7, lines 30-46).
With respect to claims 1 and 18-19, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of cables at the time the invention was made to modify third shield layer of the shielded electrical cable of modified Vaupotic to comprise the additional multilayer film layers configuration as taught by Gotfried because Gotfried teaches that such a helically wrapped configuration provides a cable wrap system (Figs 1-4) for the protection of transmission wires (abstract), which is very flexible and easy to install, very durable, resistant to abrasion, impact, water, chemicals and all environment factors that may be present in cable installations (Col 10, lines 59-64), while also reducing or eliminating fire spread and the emission of smoke or toxic products of combustion and prevents the spread of cable failure to adjacent cables during insulation breakdown due to heat or arcing, environment factors or catastrophic cable failure (Col 1, lines 5-14).
With respect to claim 20, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the modified multilayer film of modified Vaupotic to be longitudinally wrapped with overlapped edges, since it is well known in the art of cables that longitudinally wrapped shields provide 100% coverage and protection to interior conductors from NEXT.
Vaupotic also doesn’t necessarily disclose any electrical connection between the third shielding film and the at least one uninsulated drain grounding wire of each of the conductor sets is only a capacitive connection (claim 5), nor the conductor sets have a nominal differential characteristic impedance in a range of between about 70 and about 120 ohms (claim 7), nor the average thickness of the dielectric material being between about 100 µm and about 500 µm (claim 17).
With respect to claim 5, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify Vaupotic wherein the modified multilayer film layer forming any electrical connection between the third shielding film and the at least one uninsulated drain grounding wire of each of the conductor sets to be only a capacitive connection, since the applicant has not disclosed that such a modification solves any stated problems or is for any particular purpose and it appears that modified Vaupotic would perform equally well with the modification.
With respect to claims 7 & 17, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the conductor sets of modified Vaupotic to comprise the conductor sets have a nominal differential characteristic impedance in a range of between about 70 and about 120 ohms and the average thickness of the dielectric material being between about 100 µm and about 500 µm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to the enclosed PTO-892 form for the citation of pertinent art in the present case, all of which disclose various shielded electrical cables.
Communication
/William H. Mayo III/
William H. Mayo III
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
WHM III
February 21, 2016