DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/02/2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Applicant's request for reconsideration of the finality of the rejection of the last Office action is persuasive and, therefore, the finality of that action is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6-7, 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueno et al. (US 2018/0022076) in view of Shimizu (JP H10-217407) and Nakamura et al. (JP 2005-225127).
Regarding claim 1, Ueno teaches a decorative sheet which is formed from, in order, a base sheet (“a substrate sheet”), a decorative layer (“a picture layer”), a transparent resin layer (“a transparent resin layer”), and a surface protective layer (“ surface protective layer”) (Paragraph [0018], [0059]; Fig. 1). The decorative layer may include woodgrain patterns (“the picture layer having a wood-grain pattern including a characteristic portion and a non-characteristic portion”) (Paragraph [0043]). The base sheet may be formed from a polyester resin, such as PET, or polyolefin resins, both of which may be colored (Paragraphs [0019]-[0025]). PET and polyolefin resins are designated as being a suitable material for a “non-halogen thermoplastic resin and showing softer behavior in a high-temperature environment than in an ambient-temperature environment” (Instant Specification, PGPUB, Paragraph [0044]). The decorative sheets may be formed with recesses in order to improve the tactile impression of the sheet which extend to each of the layers of the decorative sheet (Paragraph [0067]).
Ueno is silent with respect to the recesses harmonizing with the characteristic portion of the picture layer on a side opposite to a side facing the picture layer.
Shimizu teaches a decorative sheet which comprises a base sheet, a printed ink layer, a transparent olefin-based thermoplastic elastomer resin layer and a surface protective resin coat, in that order (Paragraphs [0005]; [0009]; Figs. 1-2). The printed ink layers are designed to be the same or similar to vessels of a wood grain pattern (Paragraphs [0001]; [0040]; [0042]). The surface protective coat and the transparent olefin-based thermoplastic elastomer resin layer are provided with a recessed pattern that matches, and is in harmony with, the design of the printed ink layer (Paragraphs [0004]-[0005]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to form the recesses to match the woodgrain characteristics of in order to provide the decorative sheet with improved tactile impressions along with a harmonized design.
Ueno is silent with respect to the base sheet having a modulus of elasticity in a machine direction of 350 MPa or higher and 600 MPa or lower in an environment of 40°C.
Nakamura teaches laminated films for decorative sheets comprising polyolefin resin susbtrates having a tensile modulus of from 100 to 1200 MPa (Paragraphs [0001]; [0008]). The tensile modulus is in this range in order to provide sufficient adhesion and flexibility (Paragraph [0008]). Furthermore, the substrates are preferably formed from polypropylenes, including homopolymers of propylene or copolymers of propylene, which have flexural modulus values of 100 to 700 MPa (Paragraph [0009]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to form the base sheet from the polypropylenes having tensile moduli values of 100 to 1200 MPa in order to provide sufficient adhesion and flexibility as taught by Nakamura. Furthermore, it would have been obvious that the moduli values for the polypropylene sheets would be sufficient to teach a modulus of elasticity in a machine direction of 350 MPa or higher and 600 MPa or lower in an environment of 40°C such that a colored polyolefin resin material is preferred for the substrate sheet of the claimed invention and the combination of Ueno and Nakamura teaches base sheets formed from colored polypropylenes which are used for decorative sheets for the same purposes as applicant’s invention, being flexibility or not being too rigid. MPEP 2112.01: Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Ueno is silent with respect to the decorative sheet having an elongation rate in a machine direction of 6% or higher and 10% or lower at a loading rate of 50 mN/min in an environment of 120°C, relative to a length in an environment of 20°C, in thermomechanical analysis.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that identical products which are formed from identical methods must have identical properties. MPEP 2112.01: Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
In the instant case, the decorative sheets require each of the layers as required by instant claim 1. The substrate sheet is preferably a colored polyolefin (PGPUB, Paragraphs [0040]-[0059]). Additionally, the picture layer is formed from the inks in a matrix, as described in paragraphs [0060]-[0082], and the transparent resin layer is preferably a thermoplastic resin formed from lamination methods, as described in paragraphs [0083]-[0100]). The surface protective layer is formed from either a two-component curable resin or an ionizing radiation curable resin (Paragraph [0105]). Lastly, the methods of forming the decorative sheets include lamination and embossing (Paragraph [0180]).
The combination of Ueno, Shimizu and Nakamura teaches each of the preferred materials as discussed above, including the decoration layer including an ink in a binder resin, the resin layer is a thermoplastic resin, and the surface protective layer is an ionizing radiation curable resin (Paragraphs [0032]-[0061]). The base sheet of Ueno is formed from the propylene polymers of Nakamura having a tensile modulus range of 100 to 1200 MPa. Lastly, the methods of forming the decorative sheets of Ueno are lamination and embossing (Paragraphs [0071]; [0075]-[0086]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the decorative sheets of Ueno, Shimizu and Nakamura are formed from identical materials and methods as applicant’s invention, resulting in identical properties, including sheet having an elongation rate in a machine direction of 6% or higher and 10% or lower at a loading rate of 50 mN/min in an environment of 120°C, relative to a length in an environment of 20°C, in thermomechanical analysis.
Regarding claim 4, Ueno teaches the decorative sheet as discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Ueno is silent with respect to the decorative sheet having a modulus of elasticity in a machine direction and a modulus of elasticity in a cross direction of the decorative sheet are both 750 MPa or higher and 1100 MPa or lower in an environment of 20°C, and the modulus of elasticity in the machine direction and the modulus of elasticity in the cross direction give a ratio of 1.00 or higher and 1.20 or lower.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that identical products which are formed from identical methods must have identical properties. MPEP 2112.01: Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
In the instant case, the decorative sheets require each of the layers as required by instant claim 1. The substrate sheet is preferably a colored polyolefin (PGPUB, Paragraphs [0040]-[0059]). Additionally, the picture layer is formed from the inks in a matrix, as described in paragraphs [0060]-[0082], and the transparent resin layer is preferably a thermoplastic resin formed from lamination methods, as described in paragraphs [0083]-[0100]). The surface protective layer is formed from either a two-component curable resin or an ionizing radiation curable resin (Paragraph [0105]). Lastly, the methods of forming the decorative sheets include lamination and embossing (Paragraph [0180]).
The combination of Ueno, Shimizu and Nakamura teaches each of the preferred materials as discussed above, including the decoration layer including an ink in a binder resin, the resin layer is a thermoplastic resin, and the surface protective layer is an ionizing radiation curable resin (Paragraphs [0032]-[0061]). The base sheet of Ueno is formed from the propylene polymers of Nakamura having a tensile modulus range of 100 to 1200 MPa. Lastly, the methods of forming the decorative sheets of Ueno are lamination and embossing (Paragraphs [0071]; [0075]-[0086]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the decorative sheets of Ueno, Shimizu and Nakamura are formed from identical materials and methods as applicant’s invention, resulting in identical properties, including sheet having a modulus of elasticity in a machine direction and a modulus of elasticity in a cross direction of the decorative sheet are both 750 MPa or higher and 1100 MPa or lower in an environment of 20°C, and the modulus of elasticity in the machine direction and the modulus of elasticity in the cross direction give a ratio of 1.00 or higher and 1.20 or lower.
Regarding claim 6, Ueno teaches the decorative sheet as discussed above with respect to claim 1. The base sheet has a thickness of 40 to 90 microns and is formed from a colored polyolefin (Paragraph [0019]-[0025]).
Regarding claim 7, Ueno teaches the decorative sheet as discussed above with respect to claim 1. The thickness of the resin layer is 20 to 130 microns and the thickness of the surface protective layer is 2 to 25 microns (Paragraph [0054]; [0060]).
Regarding claim 15, Ueno teaches the decorative sheet as discussed above with respect to claim 4. The base sheet has a thickness of 40 to 90 microns and is formed from a colored polyolefin (Paragraph [0019]-[0025]).
Regarding claim 17, Ueno teaches the decorative sheet as discussed above with respect to claim 4. The thickness of the resin layer is 20 to 130 microns and the thickness of the surface protective layer is 2 to 25 microns (Paragraph [0054]; [0060]).
Claims 5 and 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueno et al. (US 2018/0022076) in view of Shimizu (JP H10-217407) and Nakamura et al. (JP 2005-225127) as applied to claims 1 and 4 above, and further in view of Vanhooydonck (US 2020/0230989).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Ueno teaches the decorative sheet as discussed above with respect to claim 1. As discussed above, Shimizu teaches the printed ink layers are designed to be the same or similar to vessels of a wood grain pattern.
Ueno and Shimizu are silent with respect to the decorative layer having a color difference between the characteristic portion and non-characteristic portion of 1.3 or more.
Vanhooydonck teaches decorative panels that look and feel like wood (Paragraph [0002]). The panels are provided with contrasting colors which simulate the wood pattern on a background color producing a high delta E in CIELab (Paragraphs [0062]-[0067]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to form the wood grain pattern of the decorative layer such that a contrast color is produced on a background color having a highest possible delta E in order to produce a realistic wood grain pattern as taught by Vanhooydonck. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would optimize the delta E to be as high as possible in order to produce the realistic wood pattern, including having a delta E greater than 1.3. MPEP 2144.05 (II)(A): "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4-7, 14-15 and 17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12, 16-18 and 20 of copending Application No. 17/794,762 (‘762) in view of Ueno et al. (US 2018/0022076), Shimizu (JP H10-217407), Nakamura et al. (JP 2005-225127) and Vanhooydonck (US 2020/0230989).
Application ‘762 teaches a decorative sheet as required by claim 1. Claims 3 and 4 further require a surface protective layer and the picture layer to comprise a wood-grain pattern.
Application ‘762 is silent with respect to the substrate of the decorative sheet of claim 1 to contain a non-halogen thermoplastic resin and showing softer behavior in a high-temperature environment than in an ambient-temperature environment.
Ueno teaches a decorative sheet including a base sheet which is formed from PET or a polyolefin which are both suitable as a non-halogen thermoplastic resin and showing softer behavior in a high-temperature environment than in an ambient-temperature environment (Paragraph [0091]-[0025]; Instant Specification, PGPUB, Paragraph [0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the substrate of application ‘762 from PET or a polyolefin which are both suitable as a non-halogen thermoplastic resin and showing softer behavior in a high-temperature environment than in an ambient-temperature environment which is taught to be a suitable material for a base sheet of a decorative sheet as taught by Ueno.
‘762 is silent with respect to the substrate having a modulus of elasticity in a machine direction of 350 MPa or higher and 600 MPa or lower in an environment of 40°C and the decorative sheet having an elongation rate in a machine direction of 6% or higher and 10% or lower at a loading rate of 50 mN/min in an environment of 120°C, relative to a length in an environment of 20°C, in thermomechanical analysis.
However, these limitations are taught by Ueno, Shimizu and Nakamura as discussed above in the 35 U.S.C 103 rejection of claim 1.
Claims 4-7, 14-15 and 17 are further taught by application ‘762, Ueno, Shimizu, Aoki and Vanhooydonck as applied to the 35 U.S.C 103 rejections above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-6, filed 07/21/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive.
On pages 5-6, applicant argues that the limitation of “the substrate sheet having a modulus of elasticity in a machine direction of 350 MPa or higher and 600 MPa or lower in an environment of 40°C” is not taught by Aoki which instead aims to provide a highly crystalline polypropylene having an elastic modulus of 1000 to 2000 MPa as cited in paragraph [0058], far above the range of 350 to 600 MPa.
The examiner concedes in that the base sheets of Aoki were considered good when the elastic modulus is in the range of 1000 to 2000 MPa and poor when tested below 1000 MPa as described in paragraph [0058]). Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in further view of Nakamura which teaches the tensile modulus of 100 to 1200 MPa in order to provide sufficient flexibility for a base sheet for a decorative sheet similar to that of applicant’s substrate sheet.
Furthermore, it is noted that the claims are being entered in the After-Final Response, but the current rejection in view of Nakamura is made FINAL.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL P DILLON/Examiner, Art Unit 1783
/MARIA V EWALD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1783