DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
The applicant’s response dated 12/29/2025 to the restriction requirement is acknowledged. The applicant elected, with traverse, Group II corresponding to claims 28-30. The examiner notes that claim 28 requires the limitations of claim 16, so claims 16 and 28-30 will be examined.
The applicant traverses the restriction requirement on the grounds that there would be no serious search burden and that since claim 28 requires the limitations of claim 16, the two groups are linked to form a single general inventive concept. The examiner does not agree with the applicant’s arguments for the reasons discussed in the restriction requirement dated 10/29/2025.
With respect to the argument that there would be no serious search burden, this argument is not on point. The present application is a 371 application and restrictions are not based on the serious search burden standard for 371 applications.
With respect to the argument the two groups are linked to form a single general inventive concept, the argument is not persuasive. As noted in the restriction requirement. The limitations of claim 16 are a shared technical feature between the two groups. However, the limitations of claim 16 do not make a contribution over the prior art (see below rejection and restriction requirement). Thus, the two groups lack unity of invention.
The restriction requirement is deemed proper and made final. Accordingly, claims 17-27 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sawai (US 2019/0047404).
Regarding claim 16: Sawai discloses an arrangement comprising: a pressure vessel system cover (70, fig 4, title, abstract) with an opening (86, fig 4); and a closure element (i.e., valve 46, figs 2-4), fastened in the opening (as shown in fig 4), configured to at least partially close the opening (fig 4), wherein the closure element comprises a covering portion (i.e., the body of 46, fig 4) with at least one sacrificial portion (54, fig 4, ¶0060) and a fastening portion (i.e., the bottom portion of 46 that connects to tube 44, figs 3, 4 and above annotated figure), the closure element is fastened to the pressure vessel system cover in a region of the opening via the fastening portion (see figs 2-4), sealing the covering portion with respect to the pressure vessel system cover, and the at least one sacrificial portion is configured to be destroyed and thus at least partially expose a cutout in the covering portion when a temperature of the covering portion rises above a first temperature threshold value (as discussed in ¶0060).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 28 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawai (US 2019/0047404), as applied to claim 16 above.
Regarding claim 28: Sawai discloses a vehicle subassembly (figs 1-4, title, abstract) comprising: a pressure vessel system (fig 2) having a pressure vessel (22, fig 2); a pressure line (i.e., second manifold 38, fig 2) fluidically connected to the pressure vessel; and at least one arrangement according to claim 16 (see above discussion of claim 16), wherein the pressure vessel system cover (70, fig 4) covers the pressure vessel system.
The valve 46 of Sawai is a thermal pressure relief device (¶0060) fluidically connected to the pressure line (figs 2-4); and the opening is adjacent to the pressure relief device (see figs 2-4). But the claim requires a thermal pressure relief device in addition to the closure element of claim 16. In other words, Sawai only disclose one of the two elements in question.
Before the claimed invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Sawai to include a second valve 46 (i.e., thermal pressure relief device) fluidically connected to the pressure line and the opening is adjacent to the pressure relief device because such addition would be a simple duplication of parts (MPEP 2144.04 VI B). For example, the inlet of the second valve could be placed in fluid connection with the outlet of the first valve. The addition of a second valve 46 would have the predictable effect of providing redundancy so that the hydrogen would not be drained in the event that the sacrificial portion (54) in one of the valves failed due to mechanical wear or a manufacturing defect.
Regarding claim 30: Sawai wherein the vehicle subassembly is mounted on the underbody of the vehicle (see figs 1 and 4; ¶0076).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 29 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 29: Sawai does not reasonably disclose or render obvious the limitations that wherein the fastening portion has a conducting element, which extends transversely to the covering portion and is configured to conduct radiation propagating through the opening or a fluid propagating through the opening along the conducting element, when the closure element is fastened to the pressure vessel system cover, and the conducting element extends along a connecting axis between the opening and an outlet of the pressure relief device.
In particular, Sawai fails to teach wherein the conducting element extends along a connecting axis between the opening and an outlet of the pressure relief device. And there is no reference of record that would have reasonably motivate a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Sawai to include said limitation.
Conclusion
/DON M ANDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733