Claims 26-28 and 30-45 are examined in this office action.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 1 "operative" should read "operatively".
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 26-28 and 30-42 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 26 recites the limitation "the location of an air leak" in 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 28 recites the limitation "the posterior side" and “the anterior side” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
All remaining claims are rejected as they depend from independent claim 26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 26, 27, 30-34, and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whitman et al. (US Patent No. 6,368,286 B1) in view of Hulings et al. (US Pub No. 20220249024 A1) and in further view of Salamini et al. (CN 109310338 A).
Regarding claim 26, Whitman in view of Huling and Salmini disclose a non-invasive apparatus for detecting pulmonary air leaks of a human patient (Whitman, "Method and device for detecting life-threatening pneumothorax …" - Abstract), comprising:
a garment (Whitman, self-adhesive patch 25, Fig. 9) having a plurality of sensors (Whitman, transducers 24, Fig. 9) adapted to detect acoustic signals (Whitman, "… digital sound signal [is] received from transducers 24 in such a way as to detect the presence of a pneumothorax." - Col. 4 Line 3) produced by a pulmonary air leak internal to a wearer of the garment (Whitman, "…the device … is used to detect an unnatural pocket of air in the thoracic cavity." - Col. 2 Line 67); an amplifier (Whitman, central processing unit 20, Fig. 9) operatively engaged to the plurality of sensors (Whitman, "The novel transducer 22 of the present invention includes a series of … transducers … wired in parallel, for example with wires 26 to the central processor 20." - Col. 3 Line 54), the amplifier configured to amplify the acoustic signals detected by the plurality of sensors and to thereby produce amplified acoustic signals (Whitman, "The software also shifts the frequencies to maximize the auditory detection of the pneumothorax." - Col. 4 Line 9); an acoustic analyzer (Whitman, central processing unit 20, Fig. 9) adapted to receive the amplified acoustic signals produced by the amplifier (Whitman, "The basic function of the software is to receive a digital sound signal received from transducers 24 …" - Col. 4v Line 1), the acoustic analyzer being programmed with sound localization algorithms (Whitman, "The software uses data obtained during product development using either a neural network, genetic algorithms, or rule-based decision making." - Col. 4 Line 13) to determine the location of an air leak represented by the acoustic signals detected by the plurality of sensors (Whitman, "For gross location of a suspected area, a filtered electronic listening device will be used which coupled high-sensitivity listening device to the exterior of the body (ex. Transducers 24)." - Col. 4 Line 36); and the location of an air leak represented by the acoustic signals detected by the plurality of sensors (Whitman, "For gross location of a suspected area, a filtered electronic listening device will be used which coupled high-sensitivity listening device to the exterior of the body (ex. Transducers 24)." - Col. 4 Line 36)
Whitman does not expressly disclose a therapeutic delivery system operatively coupled to the garment, the therapeutic delivery system including a steerable therapeutic applicator having a longitudinal body with a proximal end, a distal end and a length therebetween, the therapeutic applicator further including a plurality of channels extending along at least a portion of the length of the longitudinal body, a first channel of the plurality of channels being configured to receive and deliver a therapeutic to.
Hulings teaches a therapeutic delivery system (therapy electrodes 1414, Fig. 14A) operatively coupled to the garment (belt 1450, Fig. 14A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the apparatus of Whitman to include a therapeutic delivery system operatively coupled to the garment as taught by Hulings to deliver one or more therapeutic shocks to the patient (Hulings, Para [0013]).
Hulings does not expressly disclose the therapeutic delivery system including a steerable therapeutic applicator having a longitudinal body with a proximal end, a distal end and a length therebetween, the therapeutic applicator further including a plurality of channels extending along at least a portion of the length of the longitudinal body, a first channel of the plurality of channels being configured to receive and deliver a therapeutic to.
Salamini teaches the therapeutic delivery system (See annotated Fig. 3) including a steerable therapeutic applicator having a longitudinal body with a proximal end (See annotated Fig. 3), a distal end (See annotated Fig. 3) and a length therebetween (See annotated Fig. 3), the therapeutic applicator further including a plurality of channels extending along at least a portion of the length of the longitudinal body (sensor port 112, Fig. 3) (delivery/sampling lumen 110, Fig. 3), a first channel of the plurality of channels being configured to receive and deliver a therapeutic ("… the controller is configured to determine at least one parameter … and is further configured to obtain the location of the sensor within the body of the subject." - Page 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the apparatus of Whitman to include the therapeutic delivery system including a steerable therapeutic applicator having a longitudinal body with a proximal end, a distal end and a length therebetween, the therapeutic applicator further including a plurality of channels extending along at least a portion of the length of the longitudinal body, a first channel of the plurality of channels being configured to receive and deliver a therapeutic to as taught by Salamini so fluid can be injected (Salamini, Para [0131]).
Regarding claim 27, Whitman in view of Huling and Salmini disclose the apparatus (Whitman, "Method and device for detecting life-threatening pneumothorax …" - Abstract) as recited above, wherein
the plurality of sensors (Whitman, transducers 24, Fig. 9) is arranged in an array (Whitman, "The array of transducers …" - Col. 3 Line 63).
Regarding claim 30, Whitman in view of Huling and Salmini disclose the apparatus (Whitman, "Method and device for detecting life-threatening pneumothorax …" - Abstract) as recited above, wherein
the acoustic analyzer (Whitman, central processing unit 20, Fig. 9) is a computer (Fig. 9) programmed to use the sound localization algorithms (Whitman, "The software uses data obtained during product development using either a neural network, genetic algorithms, or rule-based decision making." - Col. 4 Line 13) to assess differences in time- arrival and intensity of the acoustic signals detected by the plurality of sensors (Whitman, "… the strength of the reflection in association with the time that the reflection is received will allow the system/user to determine the nature of the boundary." - Col. 3 Line 8).
Regarding claim 31, Whitman in view of Huling and Salmini disclose the apparatus (Whitman, "Method and device for detecting life-threatening pneumothorax …" - Abstract) as recited above, wherein
the computer is programmed with noise filtering algorithms (Whitman, "The software processes a digital sound signal by filtering out frequencies far away from a set point, which is the frequency of air bubbling out of the lung." - Col. 4 Line 4) to isolate acoustic signals unique to an air leak (Whitman, "The transducers 24 algebraically eliminate motion artifacts and room noise, as shown in FIG. 4." - Col. 4 Line 7).
Regarding claim 32, Whitman in view of Huling and Salmini disclose the apparatus (Whitman, "Method and device for detecting life-threatening pneumothorax …" - Abstract) as recited above, wherein
the computer is programmed to filter out ambient noise (Whitman, "The transducers 24 algebraically eliminate motion artifact and room noise, as shown in FIG. 4." - Col. 4 Line 7), as well as heartbeat and other background noises of a wearer of the garment (Whitman, "… the filtering of the signal before presentation to the user will allow large low-frequency sounds such as the heart to be attenuated …" - Col. 4 Line 32).
Regarding claim 33, Whitman in view of Huling and Salmini disclose the apparatus (Whitman, "Method and device for detecting life-threatening pneumothorax …" - Abstract) as recited above, wherein
Whitman does not expressly disclose that the plurality of channels of the therapeutic applicator further includes a second channel configured to receive a microphone for air leak sound recording and a third channel configured to receive an optical fiber for optical guidance of the therapeutic applicator inside a wearer's chest cavity.
Salamini teaches that the plurality of channels of the therapeutic applicator (as shown in Fig. 3) further includes a second channel (sensor port 112, Fig. 3) configured to receive a microphone for air leak sound recording ("… the measurable parameter may use a sensor (… a microphone, etc.) to detect." - Para [0019]) and a third channel ("However, there may be more than one infusion/sampling lumen and/or more than one sensor." - Para [0081]) configured to receive an optical fiber for optical guidance of the therapeutic applicator ("… three-tube cavity device and a double-cavity device each having two fiber optic cables." - Para [0209], Figs. 45-46) inside a wearer's chest cavity (“The location of the sensor within the vascular system of the subject's body.” – Page 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the apparatus of Whitman to include that the plurality of channels of the therapeutic applicator further includes a second channel configured to receive a microphone for air leak sound recording and a third channel configured to receive an optical fiber for optical guidance of the therapeutic applicator inside a wearer's chest cavity as taught by Salamini so the system has been navigated to its desired position (Salamini, Para [0158]).
Regarding claim 34, Whitman in view of Huling and Salmini disclose the apparatus (Whitman, "Method and device for detecting life-threatening pneumothorax …" - Abstract) as recited above, wherein
Whitman does not expressly disclose that the first channel has a diameter of 2 mm, the second channel has a diameter of 1 mm and the third channel has a diameter of 1 mm.
Salamini teaches that the first channel has a diameter of 2 mm ("… diameter or size of the flow path can be from about .01mm to 2.0mm." - Para [0145]), the second channel has a diameter of 1 mm ("… the diameter or size of the cross section of the flow path can be from bout .1mm to 1.0mm." - Para [0145]) and the third channel has a diameter of 1 mm ("… the diameter or size of the cross section of the flow path can be from bout .1mm to 1.0mm." - Para [0145]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the apparatus of Whitman to include that the first channel has a diameter of 2 mm, the second channel has a diameter of 1 mm and the third channel has a diameter of 1 mm as taught by Salamini so fluid can be injected (Salamini, Para [0131]).
Regarding claim 38, Whitman in view of Huling and Salmini disclose the apparatus (Whitman, "Method and device for detecting life-threatening pneumothorax …" - Abstract) as recited above, wherein
Whitman does not expressly disclose that the therapeutic applicator is configured to target and deliver therapeutic by optoacoustic guidance.
Salamini teaches that the therapeutic applicator (Fig. 3) is configured to target and deliver therapeutic by optoacoustic guidance ("… the measurable parameter may use a sensor (… a light sensor … a microphone etc.) to detect … whether the catheter tip is advanced to a desired location …" - Para [0019]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the apparatus of Whitman to include that the therapeutic applicator is configured to target and deliver therapeutic by optoacoustic guidance as taught by Salamini so the system has been navigated to its desired position (Salamini, Para [0158]).
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whitman et al. (US Patent No. 6,368,286 B1) in view of Hulings et al. (US Pub No. 20220249024 A1) and Salamini et al. (CN 109310338 A) and in further view of Ghosh (US Pub No. 20200352470 A1).
Regarding claim 28, Whitman in view of Huling and Salmini disclose the apparatus (Whitman, "Method and device for detecting life-threatening pneumothorax …" - Abstract) as recited above, wherein
Whitman does not expressly disclose that the plurality of sensors is arranged in a 3x3 array or a 6x6 array on the posterior side and/or the anterior side of the garment.
Ghosh teaches that the plurality of sensors (electrodes 112, Fig. 3) is arranged in a 3x3 array or a 6x6 array (as shown in Fig. 3) on the posterior side and/or the anterior side of the garment (vest 114, Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the apparatus of Whitman to include that the plurality of sensors is arranged in a 3x3 array or a 6x6 array on the posterior side and/or the anterior side of the garment as taught by Ghosh to delivery cardiac therapy thereto (Ghosh, Para [0098]).
Claim(s) 35, 36, and 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whitman et al. (US Patent No. 6,368,286 B1) in view of Hulings et al. (US Pub No. 20220249024 A1) and Salamini et al. (CN 109310338 A) and in further view of Kesner et al. (WO 2011137336 A1).
Regarding claim 35, Whitman in view of Huling and Salmini disclose the apparatus (Whitman, "Method and device for detecting life-threatening pneumothorax …" - Abstract) as recited above, wherein
Whitman does not expressly disclose that the therapeutic applicator is steered by visual servoing based upon information collected via the optical fiber received in the third channel.
Salamini teaches the optical fiber received in the third channel ("However, there may be more than one infusion/sampling lumen and/or more than one sensor." - Para [0081]) ("… three-tube cavity device and a double-cavity device each having two fiber optic cables." - Para [0209], Figs. 45-46).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the apparatus of Whitman to include the optical fiber received in the third channel as taught by Salamini so the system has been navigated to its desired position (Salamini, Para [0158]).
Salamini does not expressly disclose that the therapeutic applicator is steered by visual servoing based upon information collected via the optical fiber.
Kesner teaches that the therapeutic applicator (catheter system 104, Fig. 1) is steered by visual servoing ("… 3D ultrasound visual servoing system that tracks the tissue and commands the catheter to follow the motion." - Para [0101]) based upon information collected via the optical fiber ("… a first and a second fiber optic cable extend through the hollow catheter guide-wire into the sensor." - Para [0104]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the apparatus of Whitman to include that the therapeutic applicator is steered by visual servoing based upon information collected via the optical fiber as taught by Kesner to make contact with the target tissue (Kesner, Para [0104]).
Regarding claim 36, Whitman in view of Huling and Salmini disclose the apparatus (Whitman, "Method and device for detecting life-threatening pneumothorax …" - Abstract) as recited above, wherein
Whitman does not expressly disclose that the therapeutic delivery system further includes a motor and motor controller operatively engaged to the therapeutic applicator.
Kesner teaches that the therapeutic delivery system further includes a motor ("… the catheter can be controlled and actuated by one or more actuators (e.g., motors …" - Para [0012]) and motor controller operatively engaged to the therapeutic applicator (controller 154, Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the apparatus of Whitman to include that the therapeutic delivery system further includes a motor and motor controller operatively engaged to the therapeutic applicator as taught by Kesner to control the tip (Kesner, Para [0012]).
Regarding claim 42, Whitman in view of Huling and Salmini disclose the apparatus (Whitman, "Method and device for detecting life-threatening pneumothorax …" - Abstract) as recited above, wherein
Whitman does not expressly disclose that the therapeutic applicator is steered manually or using computer vision guidance.
Kesner teaches that the therapeutic applicator is steered manually or using computer vision guidance ("… 3D ultrasound visual servoing system that tracks the tissue and commands the catheter to follow the motion." - Para [0101]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the apparatus of Whitman to include that the therapeutic applicator is steered manually or using computer vision guidance as taught by Kesner to make contact with the target tissue (Kesner, Para [0104]).
Claim(s) 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whitman et al. (US Patent No. 6,368,286 B1) in view of Hulings et al. (US Pub No. 20220249024 A1) and Salamini et al. (CN 109310338 A) and in further view of Landon et al. (CN 114585329 A).
Regarding claim 37, Whitman in view of Huling and Salmini disclose the apparatus (Whitman, "Method and device for detecting life-threatening pneumothorax …" - Abstract) as recited above, wherein
Whitman does not expressly disclose that the therapeutic applicator includes a plurality of pulling wires along the length of the body thereof, the therapeutic applicator being steerable by at least one motor attached to the pulling wires.
Landon teaches that the therapeutic applicator includes a plurality of pulling wires along the length of the body thereof (pulling wires 138, 140) (delivery system 10, Fig. 1), the therapeutic applicator being steerable by at least one motor attached to the pulling wires ("The motor 500 can be configured to operate the track assembly 20, for example, by actuating the traction wire 138 or 140." - Para [0412]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the apparatus of Whitman to include that the therapeutic applicator includes a plurality of pulling wires along the length of the body thereof, the therapeutic applicator being steerable by at least one motor attached to the pulling wires as taught by Landon for catheter delivery (Landon, Para [0140]).
Claim(s) 39 and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whitman et al. (US Patent No. 6,368,286 B1) in view of Hulings et al. (US Pub No. 20220249024 A1) and Salamini et al. (CN 109310338 A) and in further view of Krimsky (EP 3299058 A1).
Regarding claim 39, Whitman in view of Huling and Salmini disclose the apparatus (Whitman, "Method and device for detecting life-threatening pneumothorax …" - Abstract) as recited above, wherein
Whitman does not expressly disclose that the first channel of the therapeutic applicator is preloaded with therapeutic for air leak repair.
Krimsky teaches that the first channel of the therapeutic applicator is preloaded with therapeutic ("… guiding catheter through the bronchoscope, dispensing medium to the target area from a distal end of the catheter …" - Para [0007])) for air leak repair ("… the medium is at least one of a … sealant." - Para [0014]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the apparatus of Whitman to include that the first channel of the therapeutic applicator is preloaded with therapeutic for air leak repair as taught by Krimsky to bind openings in the lung walls (Krimsky, Para [0079]).
Regarding claim 40, Whitman in view of Huling and Salmini disclose the apparatus (Whitman, "Method and device for detecting life-threatening pneumothorax …" - Abstract) as recited above, wherein
an air leak represented by the acoustic signals detected by the plurality of sensors (Whitman, "… digital sound signal [is] received from transducers 24 in such a way as to detect the presence of a pneumothorax." - Col. 4 Line 3).
Whitman does not expressly disclose that the therapeutic is a biosealant hydrogel composition adapted to seal an air leak.
Krimsky teaches that the therapeutic is a biosealant hydrogel composition adapted to seal an air leak ("… guiding catheter through the bronchoscope, dispensing medium to the target area from the a distal end of the catheter …" - Para [0007])) ("… the medium is at least one of a … sealant." - Para [0014]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the apparatus of Whitman to include that the therapeutic is a biosealant hydrogel composition adapted to seal an air leak as taught by Krimsky to bind openings in the lung walls (Krimsky, Para [0079]).
Claim(s) 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whitman et al. (US Patent No. 6,368,286 B1) in view of Hulings et al. (US Pub No. 20220249024 A1) and Salamini et al. (CN 109310338 A) and in further view of Ginn (US Pub No. 20050085856 A1).
Regarding claim 41, Whitman in view of Huling and Salmini disclose the apparatus (Whitman, "Method and device for detecting life-threatening pneumothorax …" - Abstract) as recited above, wherein
Whitman does not expressly disclose that the plurality of channels comprises flexible polymeric conduits with guidewire disks attached to an outer surface of a distal end of each of the conduits.
Salamini teaches that the plurality of channels comprises flexible polymeric conduits (as shown in Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the apparatus of Whitman to include that the plurality of channels comprises flexible polymeric conduits as taught by Salamini so the system has been navigated to its desired position (Salamini, Para [0158]).
Salamini does not expressly disclose conduits with guidewire disks attached to an outer surface of a distal end of each of the conduits.
Ginn teaches conduits with guidewire disks (guidewire disks 43, Fig. 9) attached to an outer surface of a distal end of each of the conduits (guidewire tube 34, Fig. 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the apparatus of Whitman to include conduits with guidewire disks attached to an outer surface of a distal end of each of the conduits as taught by Ginn for a more precise positioning of the sealing element (Ginn, Para [0020]).
Claim(s) 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whitman et al. (US Patent No. 6,368,286 B1) in view of Krimsky (EP 3299058 A1) and in further view of Salamini et al. (CN 109310338 A).
Regarding claim 43, Whitman in view of Krimsky and Salamini disclose a method for treating pulmonary air leaks of a human patient (Whitman, "Method and device for detecting life-threatening pneumothorax …" - Abstract), the method comprises the steps of:
determining a location of a pulmonary air leak (Whitman, "For gross location of a suspected area, a filtered electronic listening device will be used which coupled high-sensitivity listening device to the exterior of the body (ex. Transducers 24)." - Col. 4 Line 36);
visualizing the determined location of the pulmonary air leak (Whitman, "The reflection from the chest is analyzed and presented to the user either auditorily or visually. For example, a display unit as shown in FIG. 8 can be adapted for display of the ultrasound results." - Col. Line);
Whitman does not expressly disclose inserting a therapeutic applicator into a patient's chest; a microphone operatively coupled to the therapeutic applicator; steering the therapeutic applicator to the determined location of the pulmonary air leak; an optical fiber imaging probe operatively coupled to the therapeutic applicator; and delivering a therapeutic to the determined location of the pulmonary air leak.
Krimsky teaches inserting a therapeutic applicator into a patient's chest (Navigate bronchoscope with EM sensor through lungs to target 612, Fig. 6); steering the therapeutic applicator to the determined location of the pulmonary air leak (Navigate bronchoscope with EM sensor through lungs to target 612, Fig. 6); and delivering a therapeutic to the determined location of the pulmonary air leak (Dispense medium to isolated segment of the lungs 622, Fig. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the apparatus of Whitman to include inserting a therapeutic applicator into a patient's chest; steering the therapeutic applicator to the determined location of the pulmonary air leak; and delivering a therapeutic to the determined location of the pulmonary air leak as taught by Krimsky to bind openings in the lung walls (Krimsky, Para [0079]).
Krimsky does not expressly disclose a microphone operatively coupled to the therapeutic applicator; an optical fiber imaging probe operatively coupled to the therapeutic applicator.
Salamini teaches a microphone operatively coupled to the therapeutic applicator (sensor port 112, Fig. 3) ("… the measurable parameter may use a sensor (… a microphone, etc.) to detect." - Para [0019]); an optical fiber imaging probe operatively coupled to the therapeutic applicator ("However, there may be more than one infusion/sampling lumen and/or more than one sensor." - Para [0081]) ("… three-tube cavity device and a double-cavity device each having two fiber optic cables." - Para [0209], Figs. 45-46).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the apparatus of Whitman to include a microphone operatively coupled to the therapeutic applicator; an optical fiber imaging probe operatively coupled to the therapeutic applicator as taught by Salamini so the system has been navigated to its desired position (Salamini, Para [0158]).
Claim(s) 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whitman et al. (US Patent No. 6,368,286 B1) in view of Krimsky (EP 3299058 A1) and Salamini et al. (CN 109310338 A) and in further view of Hulings et al. (US Pub No. 20220249024 A1).
Regarding claim 44, Whitman in view of Krimsky, Salamini, and Hulings disclose the method (Whitman, "Method and device for detecting life-threatening pneumothorax …" - Abstract), as recited above, wherein
Whitman does not expressly disclose that the therapeutic applicator is operative engaged to a garment adapted to be worn by the patient.
Hulings teaches that the therapeutic applicator (therapy electrodes 1414, Fig. 14A) is operative engaged to a garment adapted to be worn by the patient (belt 1450, Fig. 14A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the apparatus of Whitman to include that the therapeutic applicator is operative engaged to a garment adapted to be worn by the patient as taught by Hulings to deliver one or more therapeutic shocks to the patient (Hulings, Para [0013]).
Claim(s) 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whitman et al. (US Patent No. 6,368,286 B1) in view of Krimsky (EP 3299058 A1) and Salamini et al. (CN 109310338 A) and in further view of Ghosh (US Pub No. 20200352470 A1).
Regarding claim 45, Whitman in view of Krimsky, Salamini, and Hulings disclose the method (Whitman, "Method and device for detecting life-threatening pneumothorax …" - Abstract), as recited above, wherein
Whitman does not expressly disclose that the garment is in the form of a vest or chest strap.
Ghosh teaches that the garment is in the form of a vest or chest strap (vest 114, Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the apparatus of Whitman to include that the garment is in the form of a vest or chest strap as taught by Ghosh to deliver cardiac thereby thereto (Ghosh, Para [0098]).
Conclusion
/ESHA PRAKASH KASHYAP/ Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/CHELSEA E STINSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783