Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on 07/17/2026 has been entered. Independent Claims 1, 13, 25 and 28 have been amended. Dependent claims 2, 4-6, 10, 12, 14, 16-18, 22, 24, 26, and 29 have been amended. Claims 3 and 15 have been cancelled. Claims 31 and 32 are new and have been entered. Claims 1-2, 4-14, and 16-32 are still pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/amendments with respect to Claim Objections have been considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the Objections are withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 07/17/2026 on page 13, with respect to the rejection of Claims 28-30 and 32 under 35 USC § 112f, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection of Claims 28-30 and 32 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 under 35 USC § 103, are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specified challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 13, 16, 18, 25, and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai (Pub. No.: US 20200350968 A1, hereafter “Tsai”) in view of Kang (Pub. No.: US 20220167298 A1, hereafter “Kang”).
Regarding Claim 1, Claim 13, Claim 25 and Claim 28
Tsai teaches a UE, method, non-transitory medium, and apparatus comprising
A user equipment (UE) (Tsai Fig. 7: 704, UE) for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories (Tsai Fig. 2: 260); and one or more processors (Tsai Fig. 2: 259), coupled to the one or more memories, configured to: assign (Tsai ¶0082: determine the occupancy order of CSI results) a low priority (Tsai ¶0082: priority rule) to a multi-radio access technology (multi-RAT) dual connectivity (DC) (MR-DC) capable cell (Tsai ¶0082: MR-DC; Tsai teaches a UE with a memory system coupled with a processor being used to generate an ordered list of priorities for MR-DC, see Fig. 2, Fig. 7, and ¶0082) based at least in part on: the information being unavailable (Tsai ¶0082: if the remaining available processing units are enough to support), system information block (SIB) information (Tsai ¶0082: CSI trigger DCIs, e.g. an SIB, see ¶0035 for functionality for DL transmissions by the base station), indicating frequency bands (Tsai ¶0082: two NR bands, examiner’s note, slots can be used in a priority determining scheme, see ¶0079 for multi-TRP transmissions, which multi-TRP techniques may be applied to multi-RAT scenarios) supported by a network for MR-DC operation in the MR-DC capable cell being available (Tsai ¶0082: may support Multi-radio access technology (RAT) Dual Connectivity (MR-DC)), and MR-DC connectivity information (Tsai ¶0079: CSI reports for a given slot, examiner’s note, multi-TRP techniques may be applied to multi-RAT scenarios, see ¶0082) indicating that no frequency band is available to support the MR-DC operation (Tsai ¶0082: determine the processing units occupancy order of CSI reports; Tsai teaches a check for the support capability of a MR-DC through different bands and assigning a priority system for multi-RAT scenarios, with the possibility of not enough space, see ¶0035 and ¶0079-¶0082);
and perform a cell selection procedure (Tsai ¶0082: occupancy order) or a cell reselection procedure (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim) based at least in part on the low priority being assigned to the MR-DC capable cell (Tsai ¶0082: priority rule among the CSI reports triggered may be needed to determine the processing units occupancy order of CSI reports; Tsai teaches the UE generating an occupancy order for the plurality of CSI reports in a MR-DC environment, see ¶0082).
Youtz does not explicitly teach
information, indicating whether dual connectivity is supported for the UE in a tracking area (TA) associated with the MR-DC capable cell, being available, and the information indicating that dual connectivity is not supported for the UE in the TA associated with the MR-DC capable cell
However, Kang teaches
information (Kang ¶0117: information on the neighboring cell, including a list of neighboring cells included in the system information), indicating whether dual connectivity is supported (Kang ¶0118-¶0121: cell of second RAT is possible) for the UE in a tracking area (TA) (Kang ¶0118-¶0121: tracking area update request message) associated with the MR-DC capable cell (Kang ¶0079: MR-DC environment), being available (Kang ¶0118-¶0121: second RAT is supported in operation 603; Kang teaches an indication for a second RAT is available from a first RAT in an MR-DC environment that can include the tracking area, see ¶0118-¶0121), and the information indicating that dual connectivity is not supported for the UE (Kang ¶0118-¶0121: UECapabilityInformation message, the message can contain information relating to MR-DC capability, see ¶0108) in the TA associated with the MR-DC capable cell (Kang ¶0118-¶0121: message generated at 603 can contain UECapabilityInformation message; Examiner’s note, this section does not inherently require patentable weight due to a non-selective option, however, for the sake of compact prosecution, has been given weight; Kang teaches the UE capability information being transferred relating to dual connectivity being derived from the list of neighborhood cells, see ¶0079, ¶0108 and ¶0117-¶0121),
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Tsai by way of Kang, to include an element that teaches the UE capability information being transferred relating to dual connectivity being derived from the list of neighborhood cells, as taught by Kang in ¶0079, ¶0108, and ¶0117-¶0121, to better improve RAT communication among different communication systems and use the optimal elements of both elements and allow systems to use un-upgraded systems.
Claim 25 differs by the following limitation, which is also taught by the prior art, Tsai teaches
A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions for wireless communication (Tsai Fig. 2: 260)
Regarding Claim 4 and Claim 16
Tsai in view of Kang teaches a UE, method, non-transitory medium, and apparatus comprising the method and system as explained above in Claim 1. Tsai teaches
wherein a high priority (Tsai ¶0082: Priority rule) is assigned to the MR-DC capable cell (Tsai ¶0082: two NR bands) based at least in part on: dual connectivity being supported for the UE in the TA (Tsai ¶0082: UE may support MR-DC), and the SIB information being unavailable (Tsai ¶0082: if the remaining available processing units are enough to support; Tsai teaches a priority system containing two NR bands including MR-DC information, and the chance for support to fail, see ¶0082).
Regarding Claim 6 and Claim 18
Tsai in view of Kang teaches a UE, method, non-transitory medium, and apparatus comprising the method and system as explained above in Claim 1. Tsai teaches
wherein a low priority (Tsai ¶0082: Priority rule) is assigned to the MR-DC capable cell based at least in part on (Tsai ¶0082: two NR bands): dual connectivity is supported for the UE in the TA (Tsai ¶0082: UE may support MR-DC), the SIB information being available (Tsai ¶0082: receive two CSI trigger DCIs), and MR-DC connectivity information indicating that no frequency band is available to support MR-DC operation (Tsai ¶0082: remaining available processing units are enough; Tsai teaches a priority system for the two NR bands in a MR-DC environment with the band support information being suggested, or the lackthereof, see ¶0082).
Claim(s) 2, 5, 14, 17, 26, and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai (Pub. No.: US 20200350968 A1, hereafter “Tsai”) in view of Kang (Pub. No.: US 20220167298 A1, hereafter “Kang”), further in view of Youtz (Pub. No.: US 20210337448 A1, hereafter “Youtz”).
Regarding Claim 2, Claim 14, Claim 26, and Claim 29
Tsai in view of Kang teaches a UE, method, non-transitory medium, and apparatus comprising the method and system as explained above in Claim 1. Tsai in view of Kang does not explicitly teach
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to determine MR-DC connectivity information based at least in part on the SIB information indicating the frequency bands supported for MR-DC operation and UE capability information indicating frequency bands supported by the UE for MR-DC operation.
However, Youtz teaches
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to determine MR-DC connectivity information (Youtz Fig. 1: 105, access network, for example a multi-RAT (MR-DC), see ¶0023) based at least in part on the SIB information indicating (Youtz ¶0033: SIB) the frequency bands supported for MR-DC operation (Youtz ¶0032: FR1 and FR2) and UE capability information indicating frequency bands supported by the UE for MR-DC operation (Youtz ¶0032: FR1 and FR2 dual connectivity; Youtz teaches indicating the frequency bands used for dual connectivity, see Fig. 1, ¶0023, and ¶0032-¶0033).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Tsai in view of Kang by way of Youtz, to include an element that teaches indicating the frequency bands used for dual connectivity, as taught by Youtz in Fig. 1, ¶0023, and ¶0032-¶0033, to better improve communication techniques by combining a known process with another known process for a known result, to improve communication systems by allowing a more dynamic allocation system within a multi-RAT system.
Regarding Claim 5 and Claim 17
Tsai in view of Kang teaches a UE, method, non-transitory medium, and apparatus comprising the method and system as explained above in Claim 1. Youtz teaches
wherein a high priority (Youtz ¶0033: priority list order) is assigned to the MR-DC capable cell (Youtz ¶0012: access network may include a MR-DC) based at least in part on: dual connectivity is supported for the UE in the TA (Youtz ¶0033: FR1 and FR2 dual connectivity), the SIB information being available (Youtz ¶0033: SIB message to end device), and MR-DC connectivity information indicating that at least one frequency band is available to support MR-DC operation (Youtz ¶0033: followed by LTE bands; Youtz teaches a priority list order of MR-DC relating to the dual connectivity and their associated bands).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Tsai in view of Kang by way of Youtz, to include an element that teaches a priority list order of MR-DC relating to the dual connectivity and their associated bands, as taught by Youtz in ¶0033, to better improve communication techniques by combining a known process with another known process for a known result, to improve communication systems by allowing a more dynamic allocation system within a multi-RAT system.
Claim(s) 7-9, 11, 19-21, 23, 27, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai (Pub. No.: US 20200350968 A1, hereafter “Tsai”), in view of Kang (Pub. No.: US 20220167298 A1, hereafter “Kang”), and even further in view of Mattam (Pub. No.: US 20210185753 A1, hereafter “Mattam”).
Regarding Claim 7, Claim 19, Claim 27, and Claim 30
Tsai in view of Kang teaches a UE, method, non-transitory medium, and apparatus comprising the method and system as explained above in Claim 1. Tsai in view of Kang does not explicitly teach
wherein the MR-DC capable cell is identified based at least in part on a database, stored on the UE, that identifies one or more MR-DC capable cells.
However, Mattam teaches
wherein the MR-DC capable cell (Mattam Fig. 5A: 106, eNB) is identified based at least in part on a database (Mattam ¶0061: capabilities of the UE in its database), stored on the UE (Mattam Fig. 5A: 100, UE), that identifies one or more MR-DC capable cells (Mattam ¶0057: detects the change in MR-DC capability; Mattam teaches an eNB detecting a change on MR-DC capability related to a UE related to a database).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Tsai in view of Kang, by way of Mattam, to include an element that teaches an eNB detecting a change on MR-DC capability related to a UE related to a database, as taught by Mattam in Fig. 5A and ¶0057-¶0061, to better improve multi-RAT communication systems to activate and de-activate UE capabilities dynamically for certain scenarios such as low battery or high temperature triggers.
Regarding Claim 8 and Claim 20
Tsai in view of Kang further in view of Mattam teaches a UE, method, non-transitory medium, and apparatus comprising the method and system as explained above in Claim 7. Mattam teaches
wherein information identifying the MR-DC capable cell is stored in the database based at least in part on a secondary cell group (SCG) (Mattam ¶0059: SCG indication message) addition associated with the MR-DC capable cell (Mattam ¶0059: MR-DC connectivity; Mattam teaches an SCG indication message associated with MR-DC connectivity).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Tsai in view of Kang, by way of Mattam, to include an element that teaches an SCG indication message associated with MR-DC connectivity, as taught by Mattam in ¶0059, to better improve multi-RAT communication systems to activate and de-activate UE capabilities dynamically for certain scenarios such as low battery or high temperature triggers.
Regarding Claim 9 and Claim 21
Tsai in view of Kang further in view of Mattam teaches a UE, method, non-transitory medium, and apparatus comprising the method and system as explained above in Claim 7. Mattam teaches
wherein information identifying the MR-DC capable cell is stored in the database based at least in part on the UE receiving a measurement configuration (Mattam ¶0052: deactivate the secondary RAT from the dual connectivity of the UE) for the MR-DC capable cell that is associated with a particular RAT (Mattam ¶0052: secondary RAT; Mattam teaches the UE deactivating a dual connection with a secondary RAT cell).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Tsai in view of Kang by way of Mattam, to include an element that teaches the UE deactivating a dual connection with a secondary RAT cell, as taught by Mattam in ¶0052, to better improve multi-RAT communication systems to activate and de-activate UE capabilities dynamically for certain scenarios such as low battery or high temperature triggers.
Regarding Claim 11 and Claim 23
Tsai in view of Kang further in view of Mattam teaches a UE, method, non-transitory medium, and apparatus comprising the method and system as explained above in Claim 7. Mattam teaches
wherein the MR-DC capable cell is an Evolved Universal Terrestrial Radio Access Network (EUTRAN) New Radio (NR) dual connectivity (EN-DC) capable cell (Mattam ¶0061: procedure between UE and EUTRAN; Mattam teaches the communication with the EN-DC cell is a EUTRAN).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Tsai in view of Kang, by way of Mattam, to include an element that teaches the communication with the EN-DC cell is a EUTRAN, as taught by Mattam in ¶0061, to better improve multi-RAT communication systems to activate and de-activate UE capabilities dynamically for certain scenarios such as low battery or high temperature triggers.
Claim(s) 10 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai (Pub. No.: US 20200350968 A1, hereafter “Tsai”), in view of Kang (Pub. No.: US 20220167298 A1, hereafter “Kang”), and even further in view of Mattam (Pub. No.: US 20210185753 A1, hereafter “Mattam”), and then even further in view of Youtz (Pub. No.: US 20210337448 A1, hereafter “Youtz”).
Regarding Claim 10 and Claim 22
Tsai in view of Kang further in view of Mattam teaches a UE, method, non-transitory medium, and apparatus comprising the method and system as explained above in Claim 7. Tsai in view of Kang further in view of Mattam does not explicitly teach
wherein information identifying the MR-DC capable cell is stored in the database based at least in part on an upper layer indication received by the UE in system information block 2 (SIB2)
However, Youtz teaches
wherein information identifying the MR-DC capable cell is stored in the database based at least in part on an upper layer indication received by the UE in system information block 2 (SIB2) (Youtz ¶0034: suitable SIB message type SIB 2; Youtz teaches an SIB 2 message sent to the end device).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Tsai in view of Kang by way of Youtz, to include an element that teaches an SIB 2 message sent to the end device, as taught by Youtz in ¶0034, to better improve communication techniques by combining a known process with another known process for a known result, to improve communication systems by allowing a more dynamic allocation system within a multi-RAT system.
Claim(s) 12, 24, and 31-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai (Pub. No.: US 20200350968 A1, hereafter “Tsai”), in view of Kang (Pub. No.: US 20220167298 A1, hereafter “Kang”), further in view of NTT Docomo (3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 #111 electronic, 17th – 28th August 2020 [online], Retrieved from the Internet <URL: https://view.officeapps.live.com/op/view.aspx?src=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.3gpp.org%2Fftp%2Ftsg_ran%2FWG2_RL2%2FTSGR2_111-e%2FInbox%2FDrafts%2F%255BOffline-009%255D%255BNR15%255D%2520LTE%2520SIB%2520extension%2520issue%2520(NTT%2520DOCOMO)%2FDRAFT_R2-20xxxxx_Report_LTE-SIB-Ext_v3_ERI.docx&wdOrigin=BROWSELINK > [retrieved on 3-3-2026], hereafter “NTT Docomo”).
Regarding Claim 12, Claim 24, Claim 31, and Claim 32
Tsai in view of Kang teaches a UE, method, non-transitory medium, and apparatus comprising the method and system as explained above in Claim 1. Tsai in view of Kang does not explicitly teach
wherein the SIB information is associated with system information block 26a (SIB26a)
However, NTT Docomo teaches
wherein the SIB information is associated with system information block 26a (SIB26a) (NTT Docomo, 2.3, Option 2: system information block 26a).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Tsai in view of Kang, further by way of NTT Docomo, to include an element that teaches a system information block with the value of 26a, as taught by NTT Docomo in 2.3, Option 2, to improve communication systems by allowing further information density and allow more efficient systems.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN MICHAEL WHITAKER/Examiner, Art Unit 2415
/Sudesh M. Patidar/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2415