DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
This action is written in response to applicant’s correspondence received on 03/10/2025. Claims 1, 8, 10, 11, 66, 67, 75, 77, 78, 82, 83, 90, 95-102 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. This application is a 371 of PCT/US2023/011200 filed on 01/20/2023, claiming priority to PRO 63/328,629 filed on 04/07/2022 and PRO 63/301,454 filed on 01/20/2022.
Claim Objections
Claims 96 & 97 are objected to because of the following informalities: “clam” should be “claim”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 8, 10, 11, 66, 67, 75, 77, 78, 82, 83, 90, 95-102 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 83, it is noted that the claims recite “the antisense strand comprises a region of complementarity to a CFB mRNA target sequence of SEQ ID NO: 13 or 14, and wherein the region of complementarity is at least 20 contiguous nucleotides in length”, once in claim 1, and in each alternative steps i) and ii) of claim 83. This language is considered to be indefinite because both SEQ ID NOs: 13 & 14 are 19nt in length. A person of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) would not be appraised of the metes and bounds of the claims.
Regarding claim 97, the phrase "e.g." renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation following the phrase is part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claims 8, 10, 11, 66, 67, 75, 77, 78, 82, 90, 95-102 are also rejected for depending from a rejected claim 1 but failing to remedy the indefiniteness therein.
Claims 8, 10, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
As evidenced by FIG. 2D (see below), the sequences of the claimed RNAi oligonucleotide, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof in claim 1, wherein the sense strand comprises a nucleotide sequence as set forth in SEQ ID NO: 37 and the antisense strand comprises a nucleotide sequence as set forth in SEQ ID NO: 38, inherently meets the claim limitations of claims 8, 10, 11., e.g. “a stem loop set forth as S1-L-S2, wherein S1 is complementary to S2, and wherein L forms a loop between S1 and S2 of 3-5 nucleotides in length” of claim 8, or “wherein L is a tetraloop” of claim 10, or “wherein the tetraloop comprises nucleic acid sequence of GAAA” of claim 11. Hence, claims 8, 10, 11 fail to further limit the scope of claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Interpretation
To advance prosecution, claims 1 and 83 are interpreted to recite “at least 19 contiguous nucleotides in length”.
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) consistent with the specification, the phrase "nucleotide sequence as set forth in SEQ ID NO: 37" and "nucleotide sequence as set forth in SEQ ID NO: 38" is interpreted to refer to the base sequences as recited in the ST.26 sequence listing, without importing the sugar, base, or internucleotide modifications annotated in the feature table. ST.26 represents modified residues by their parent base letter in the residue string with chemical modifications recorded separately in the feature table; accordingly, "as set forth in" SEQ ID NOs: 37 and 38 encompasses those base sequences with any modification scheme, including no modifications. Claim 1 has been examined under this interpretation.
Applicant is invited to clarify whether the recitation "as set forth in SEQ ID NO: 37 or 38" is intended to incorporate the specific nucleoside and internucleotide modifications of the sequence listing feature table. If so, applicant should amend the claim language to expressly recite those modifications, as such an amendment would be examined on its merits upon entry.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, 10, 11, 66, 67, 75, 77, 78, 82, 83, 90, 95-102 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McIninch (US11965166B2, issued on 04/23/2024, has priority to PRO63/273,215 on 10/29/2021), in view of Koser (WO2019079781A2, published on 04/25/2019), further in view of Elbashir (EMBO J. 2001;20(23):6877-88).
McIninch (2021) teaches an RNAi oligonucleotide for reducing complement factor B (CFB) expression, compound AD-1724698 (Col 135, Table 2) and AD-1726934 (Col 155, Table 2) with sequences set forth in SEQ ID NO: comprising a sense (SEQ ID NO: 44, 21nt, ACAAUGUGAGUGAUGAG AUCU) and an antisense strand (SEQ ID NO: 437, 21nt, AGAUCUCAUCACUCACAUUGUAG), wherein both form a duplex region, wherein the antisense strand comprises a region of complementarity to a CFB mRNA target sequence of SEQ ID NO: 14, see alignment below. As interpreted above, the region of complementarity is 19 contiguous nt in length, as is SEQ ID NO: 14, which matches the claimed region of complementary sequence.
Query 1: Instant SEQ ID NO: 14 acaatgtgagtgatgagat
Query 2: McIninch SEQ ID NO: 44 5’- ACAAUGUGAGUGAUGAGAUCU -3’
|||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct: McIninch SEQ ID NO: 437 3’- GAUGUUACACUCACUACUAGA -5’
McIninch further teaches 7 selected compounds with the same 19nt target regions in the CFB mRNA with full modifications (AD-1724691-1724693, AD-1724695, AD-1724698-1724700; Col 176-Col 177, Table 3; see screenshot below), indicating that the claimed target region set forth in the claimed SEQ ID NO: 14 is a known “hotspot” for developing effective RNAi agents against CFB.
McIninch does not teach “wherein the sense strand comprises a nucleotide sequence as set forth in SEQ ID NO: 37, the antisense strand comprises a nucleotide sequence as set forth in SEQ ID NO: 38”.
However, Koser (2019) discloses nicked GalXC tetraloop architecture comprising: a 36-nt sense strand having a 5' duplex region followed by a 3' stem-loop of the structure S1-L-S2, wherein S1 is 5'-GCAGCC-3', L is the GAAA tetraloop, and S2 is 5'-GGCUGC-3' (Page 6, ¶[00018]; FIG. 10); a 22-nt antisense strand comprising a 19-nt complementary core, a non-complementary 5' nucleotide, and a GG 3' overhang; three monovalent GalNAc moieties individually conjugated to each adenosine of the GAAA loop for ASGPR-mediated hepatocyte delivery; and stabilizing 2'-OMe and 2'-F modifications with phosphorothioate linkages (Page 50, ¶[000174]; FIG. 10; Claims 23-24). Koser further teaches that " In some embodiments, a stem-loop provides the molecule better protection against degradation (e.g., enzymatic degradation) and facilitates targeting characteristics for delivery to a target cell… a loop provides added nucleotides on which modification can be made without substantially affecting the gene expression inhibition activity of an oligonucleotide" (Page 27, ¶[00103], lines 4-8).
Elbashir (2001) teaches that the canonical RISC-active element of an siRNA duplex is a 19-nt base-paired region and that the most potent siRNA duplexes are 21 nt in length comprising a 19-nt complementary core with 2-nt 3' overhangs (Page 6877, Abstract, lines 8-10; Page 6879, Figure 2C, bottom panel). This confirms that reformatting a validated guide sequence into the GalXC nicked-tetraloop architecture taught by Koser preserves the functionally active region intact.
Regarding claims 1, 8, 10, 11, it would have been obvious for a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the siRNA duplex of McIninch, AD-1724698 or AD-1726934 (symmetrical 21nt duplex with 2nt overhangs on 3’ ends of both strands set forth in SEQ ID NO: 44 and SEQ ID NO: 437), by preserving the 19nt complementary region of the duplex that targets the CFB mRNA region as claimed set forth in the claimed SEQ ID NO: 14 based on Elbashir’s discovery that 19nt complementary region with 2nt overhang designs are the most potent RNAi design, and explored replacing the 3’ overhang of the sense strand (CU dinucleotide in McIninch’s SEQ ID NO: 44) with the sense strand 3’ end GalXC S1-L-S2 scaffold and stemloop architecture of Koser. It would have merely amounted to a simple substitution of interchange-able prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. One would have been motivated to do so because Koser teaches advantages of the GalXC stemloop architecture such as “better protection against degradation” and “facilitates targeting characteristics for delivery”. One would have reasonable expectations of success because Koser teaches that “… loop provides added nucleotides on which modification can be made without substantially affecting the gene expression inhibition activity of an oligonucleotide" (Page 27, ¶[00103], lines 4-8).
Regarding claim 66, McIninch further teaches pharmaceutical compositions comprising the claimed dsRNA RNAi agent, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof in claim 15, and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, excipient, or diluent, such as unbuffered or buffered solutions in claims 16-20.
Regarding claims 67 and 99, McIninch further teaches “a method of treating a subject having a disorder that would benefit from reduction in complement factor B (CFB) expression. The method includes administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of any of the dsRNAs of the invention or any of the pharmaceutical compositions of the invention, thereby treating the subject having the disorder that would benefit from reduction in CFB expression” (Col 9, lines 33-40).
Regarding claim 75, both McIninch (Col 9, line 54) and Koser (Page 18, ¶[00080], line 2) teach the subject is a human for the claimed methods.
Regarding claims 77 and 78, McIninch further teaches a range of diseases, disorders, or conditions mediated by complement pathway activation or dysregulation (Col 8, line 31-Col 9, line 21) that includes Rheumatoid Arthritis (Col 9, lines 3-4).
Regarding claim 82, McIninch further teaches the RNAi oligonucleotide, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, is administered at a dose of between about 0.01 mg/kg to about 50 mg/kg (Col 9, lines 55-56), which overlaps the range of about 0.1 mg/kg to about 150 mg/kg.
Regarding claim 83, McIninch further teaches a method of reducing CFB expression in a cell (Col 7, lines 62-67), or in a subject (Col 9, lines 35-40) the method includes contacting the cell with the claimed dsRNA agent in claim 1 or administering the dsRNA agent of claim 1 to a subject in need thereof. The sequences and target mRNA sequence region are discussed above regarding claim 1.
Regarding claim 90, McIninch further teaches kits comprising the claimed RNAi agent or pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof (Col 10, lines 51-54).
Regarding claim 95, McIninch further teaches the RNAi agent is a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof (Col 10, lines 58-67).
Regarding claim 96, McIninch further teaches that the pharmaceutical composition, “wherein the buffer solution comprises acetate, citrate, …, or phosphate or any combination thereof” (Claim 19).
Regarding claims 97 and 98, McIninch further teaches that “Pharmaceutically acceptable salts" of each of RNAi agents herein include, but are not limited to, a sodium salt, a calcium salt, a lithium salt, a potassium salt, an ammonium salt, a magnesium salt, and mixtures thereof” (Col 10, lines 59-62).
Regarding claim 100, Koser further teaches “… the oligonucleotides of the instant disclosure would typically be administered quarterly (once every three months), bi-monthly (once every two months), monthly, or weekly. For example, the oligonucleotides may be administered every one, two, or three weeks. The oligonucleotides may be administered daily” (Page 46, ¶[000163]).
Regarding claim 101, Koser further teaches “…Examples of routes of administration include parenteral, e.g., intravenous, intradermal, subcutaneous, oral (e.g., inhalation), transdermal (topical), transmucosal, and rectal administration…” (Page 41, ¶[000148]).
Regarding claim 102, in addition to Koser’s teaching above, McIninch also teaches subcutaneous route as one alterative of “depot injection” to reduce administration frequency (Col 123, lines 6-15).
Conclusion
No claims are allowable.
/DELPHINUS DOU YI YU/Examiner, Art Unit 1636
/NEIL P HAMMELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1636